Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 166 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

166 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

166 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 stars
13
1-20 of 163 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
Superior suction and filtration!
3/31/2016

Customer review by TF2000

5.0 stars 3/31/2016 by TF2000
by TF2000

After using bagless for about 10 years and getting extremely frustrated when emptying them I finally decided to go back with a bagged machine. And I am glad that I made that choice. This vacuum has a HUGE dust capacity and the best filtration system I've ever used. Never once has this machine clogged and I accidentally vacuumed up a few fabric sheets by mistake. Now, as for the suction... AMAZING! This machine just eats hair, dust, fine powders and dirt. Even when the bag is near full I noticed no drop in suction. Plus this machine weighs about 10 lbs and you could easily lift it over your head! My only complaint is that when vacuuming hard floors it has trouble picking up (and sometimes kicks them back) larger pieces (ie cereal) and certain types of cumbs while dirt, dust, fine powders are sucked up perfectly. Other than that it's a highly recommend machine!

TF2000
Texas
Gender:Male
Piece of junk
6/19/2016

Customer review by bissell sucks

1.0 stars 6/19/2016 by bissell sucks
by bissell sucks

The worst vacume I have ever bought. DONT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment from Juan - 6/22/2016

Sorry to hear you're not happy with the vacuum. If you can tell us what's wrong or what you're not happy with, we can help! Give us a call at 1-800-237-7691.

bissell sucks
EXCELLENT VACUUM FOR THE PRICE!
5/22/2016

Customer review by NO FLEA GAL

5.0 stars 5/22/2016 by NO FLEA GAL
by NO FLEA GAL

Had a de-flea project 1700 sq ft. home. Rental with large carpeted living, dining and bedrooms was never de-flead from prior tenants with pets. This vacuum has awesome suction and a low setting to really scrub the carpet dirt up into the vacuum. Once over does the job! No repeat strokes, gets it first time. I have 3 furry shedding cats. Easy small product assembly, didn't even have to read the instructions. This is the only vacuum I will ever purchase. I hope they keep making them and never stop!

NO FLEA GAL
Weeki Wachee, FL, USA
Gender:Female
1398-bad all over
6/1/2016

Customer review by chas1955

1.0 stars 6/1/2016 by chas1955
by chas1955

worse vacuum I have ever had--no suction power-clogged easily-gave up on it in a few months--waste of money

chas1955
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Blown away
12/9/2012

Customer review by Diabeticdoode

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Diabeticdoode
by Diabeticdoode

AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING! Okay, I know all caps is a turn off for some people, but this vacuum warrants them. This vacuum is powerful, very lightweight, built amazingly well, and get this, it's BAGGED! That may turn off some people at first, it certainly did me, but after 4 months of use now I can confirm that I'm never using a bagless vacuum again. It sucks up the dirt and keeps it sealed in. The HEPA filter on the side has no dust in or around it (visible at least). My old bagless unit's HEPA compartment would get all dusty after a couple weeks use, and you'd have to practically take apart the whole machine and clean it. Not this one! Also, I'd like to mention that the Febreeze bags are awesome. They actually have a nice scent, and they last! I change my bag about once a month, and the scent has always lasted through the bag change. What else... I think that's it for now. Don't let the low price fool you, it's amazing. I definitely recommend it!

Diabeticdoode
Tulsa, Ok
Gender:Male
Nice!
11/14/2010

Customer review by aprilnmarcus

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by aprilnmarcus
by aprilnmarcus

Had my old Bissell for about 6 yrs and it needed to be replaced so I bought this one and boy was I happy to have bought another Bissell. I bought the orange one which I love how they had several color options. I think this is even more powerful than my old Bissell was when I bought it. This one has a lot of power and works great on hard carpet. Very easy to assemble as well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aprilnmarcus
Machias, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very good basic vacuum
5/2/2016

Customer review by Betty56

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Betty56
by Betty56

I really like my powerforce vacuum. I have had it about a year now, nothing has broken, and it's still working just fine. It always smells good when vacuuming using the febreze bag. And I like that it uses a bag. Just throw it away, no dust when you empty it.

Betty56
Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
An okay vacuum
4/4/2016

Customer review by Kiley16

3.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Kiley16
by Kiley16

This vacuum worked perfectly until I changed the bag. I've had bagged vacuums before so I know I put it in there correctly but ever since I changed the bag it won't pick anything up and it started making a weird sound. I already made sure that the bags were to right size and that nothing was clogging the vacuum. So I don't know if this vacuum just sucks after you change the bag or what but I'm definitely wishing I had a baggless right now. I use my vacuum constantly for my house and when cleaning other people's houses so it's displeasing when you put money into vacuum that you can barely even use anymore.

Kiley16
Girard,Ohio
Gender:Female
Light and easy to push around
8/24/2014

Customer review by Sandra

4.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Sandra
by Sandra

I have allergies to dust and dust mites and this vacuum has been helpful in controlling those allergies. It is easy to push around. The reason I did not give 5 stars is that the hose does pop off quite frequently as does the power cord from the groove above the slot for the hose. Otherwise, it is easy to fix if the belt comes off (I vacuum from tile to carpet. This has only happened once in 3 years). It does an EXCELLENT job vacuuming tile. My water after mopping is barely soiled. So much cleaner than when I would use a broom. Also, it is very easy to change the bags. For those reviewers that say dirt blows everywhere, I ask if you have checked the filters and ensured they are intact. Also, it has been my experience that if you have these problems so soon after purchasing it, the retailer will exchange it. In addition, the on board tools are handy and easy to quickly access when cleaning. I would recommend this vacuum.

Comment from Lisa - 8/28/2014

Thank you for your review. To secure the upholstery hose, make sure to pull the hose tightly to clip into the holder.

Sandra
Ft. Myers, Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Great Value
10/11/2010

Customer review by twinplus1

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by twinplus1
by twinplus1

This vacuum is a great value for the price. I have 3 kids and 2 dogs and it works great to pick up all their messes. So far the only thing I don't like about it is the cord is a little shorter than what I am use to. Other than that I haven't had any problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twinplus1
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent vacuum
4/6/2016

Customer review by shorty23

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by shorty23
by shorty23

Only type of vacuum I have purchased for the past 10+ years, have 3 of them. One for each house and dad n laws house. One even has a light! Lol. Only problem is the handle lock to keep the handle upright when its not being used breaks kinda to easily... But they just are so reliable. Hope they never stop making them...

shorty23
Arizona
Gender:Female
Great for mom
2/21/2016

Customer review by Barbara82

4.0 stars 2/21/2016 by Barbara82
by Barbara82

My mother, in her 70's, needed a new vacuum to replace her 1970's upright with a cloth bag. I wanted something lightweight so she could handle it and with a bag so she didn't have to deal with the mess of dumping a dirt cup. It is getting harder to find bagged vacuums which, being a professional cleaning person for over 30 years, I prefer. This model fits the bill; it was so light I could get it off an upper shelf(above my head), it seems capable of cleaning the low nap carpets in her small apartment, the cord is long enough to vacuum the entire place without having to switch outlets and it has a dandy handle for the attachment hose!

Barbara82
Charlotte, MI
Gender:Female
Pretty great for a carpet for a cheap vacuum
10/22/2013

Customer review by petowner

4.0 stars 10/22/2013 by petowner
by petowner

I am on my third one of these. They do tend to break with heavy use after 2-3 years, but they are so economical and do a decent job. I like that it is lightweight and really great on carpets, even with pet hair, and I like the bag. I always hated emptying a dusty cartridge. My main trouble is that it's pretty useless on hard surface floors - it will definitely just blow around the dirt vs sucking it up, even on the lowest pile setting. I usually sweep and then suck it up with the crevice tool. The first thing to go is typically the plastic piece that locks the vacuum upright allowing it to stand on its own, then various other pieces of plastic. The vacuums tend to remain functional in spite of that, you just have to lean it against the wall. The cord length has become shorter with every newer model, which is a pain. Wasn't so bad in a smaller house, but now it gets on my nerves.

petowner
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Ease of use.
9/28/2013

Customer review by Ladybug

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Ladybug
by Ladybug

I never like to vacuum so I keep buying cleaners but this one is the easiest for me to use and to store. I have paid 6 times this price for vacuums that were too difficult for me to use. I am 79 years old and dragging around a heavy canister or emptying a bag less one, proved too labor intensive. I went back to this Bissell because of it's ease of use, and convenient access to the tools. This is the second one that I have purchased . I had given the first to my daughter and she used it until it would no longer stand upright, so she donated it to Goodwill and lamented that she missed it and regretted that donation. I had given her the expensive canister and the bag less ones, that I no longer wanted. I guess I should buy her another Bissell. This is a great value at a very reasonable price. I don't need the bells and whistles that are promoted on the more expensive models.

Ladybug
North Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
This Vacuum glides easily
7/29/2014

Customer review by DeeDee

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by DeeDee
by DeeDee

I had a minor stroke a year ago & our old vaccum became very hard for me to use. We bought the Bissell PowerForce at our local retailer & I'm so pleased with it. I have no problem pushing it on our carpets, it glides so easily. I'm able to put the attachments together and pull apart easily for along the baseboards in the rooms with hardwood floors, even on days that my muscles aren't cooperating. I was so thrilled with my vaccuum, we went and bought one for my mother who had knee replacement surgery and bought us another one for upstairs! We did however have to replace the roller in our first vaccuum, but it could be due to going from carpet to hardwood throughout our home. I would still highly recommend this sweeper! :) I also own a Bissell Carpet Cleaner and everyone borrows it! Guess that says how great it works too! Thank you Bissell!

DeeDee
Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Female
Lose the fabreze bag!!!
1/16/2016

Customer review by Nika

4.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Nika
by Nika

I love my powerforce, but I bought a new one today, and it came with a fabreze bag installed. HORRIBLE! We had to open the box outside and throw the bag in the outside bin because the overpowering stench! It makes everyone in our home gag and get lightheaded. I know lots of people like them, but they used to be included in the box in their own bag, not already installed and overpowering.

Nika
Cheyenne, Wy
Gender:Female
ronnie from florida
1/19/2016

Customer review by bigron330

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by bigron330
by bigron330

love the vaccum this is my fourth one. The only issue i have is when I am vacuuming a carpet the wheels seem to stick and its hard to push I roll it backwards and lift it up then its good for a while I had this issue with everyone i owned.. I could see nothing wrong with the wheels so i am hopeing that you might give me a clue as what to do

bigron330
Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Great lightweight vacuum with a design flaw
9/15/2014

Customer review by Bissell user

4.0 stars 9/15/2014 by Bissell user
by Bissell user

I've used this style vacuum for years now. My father has one also. It has great suction and is lightweight. I love that I don't have to make a mess emptying a dirt cup. The onboard hose with attachments is great for quick upholstery cleaning and getting in corners. The hose does stretch over time which makes it difficult to keep in it's clip, so it tends to pop out of the base easily. My only real issue with the design of this vacuum is the wheel assembly with axle. I have had to replace this multiple times on more than one machine due to the cheap plastic nubs used to hold it in place. They break off quickly with normal use. A simple metal pin through them could deter this. I have already contacted the company to fix this flaw, but apparently that has not been done. I am once again having to order this part which broke again recently. I have to buy a few to be sure I have a replacement for when the new one breaks...which it definitely will. I like this vacuum enough so that it's still worth the additional trouble and expense, but it's a shame that such a simple flaw that could be easily corrected keeps this from being a great product. It's not a high-end machine, but for the price, it's hard to beat.

Bissell user
Maine, USA
Gender:Female
Better than most high end vacuums!!
8/31/2012

Customer review by melissa803

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by melissa803
by melissa803

I have a cleaning business and bought the bissell for my own house. My clients vacuums would always do a terrible job and it always took longer for job to get done. started bringing my bissell to work and have not stopped since. Have purchased only the powerforce every time the vacuum breaks. Can always tell when it is starting to not work as well that its a clog due to the suction power, Its awesome!! Only issue i have is that i clean about 5 houses a day and needless to say there is a lot of vacuuming..the bissell always breaks in the same spot. the vacuum will eventually stop standing up by itself and the bottom part for the levels breaks eventually. maybe a manufacture problem?? but would not by any other besides the powerforce!!!

Comment from Joe - 9/6/2012

If you are interested in some of our high use commercial grade vacuums here is a link to purchase them. Their warranties cover non-residential use: http://www.bissellcommercial.com/Products?pcat=Vacuum

melissa803
Newburgh, NY, USA
Gender:Female
This is a tough vacuum
5/5/2012

Customer review by Cynthia

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Cynthia
by Cynthia

I bought this product as my first vacuum when I moved out of my parents house. I knew nothing about vacuum maintenance so naturally the bristles were never cleaned, belts never replaced, and filters and bags were only changed/cleaned when it stopped working. Four years later I have my first clog. I bought this vacuum as my "starter vacuum" that I assumed would only last me a couple years. After clearing the clog and doing the maintenance that I should have been doing all along, I realize what a great product this really is. I'm sure many more expensive vacuums would be destroyed after the years of neglect I've put this one through. I highly recommend it and I will definitely be purchasing my steam cleaner from Bissell.

Cynthia
DeLand, FL, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews