Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 155 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
ronnie from florida
1/19/2016

Customer review by bigron330

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by bigron330
by bigron330

love the vaccum this is my fourth one. The only issue i have is when I am vacuuming a carpet the wheels seem to stick and its hard to push I roll it backwards and lift it up then its good for a while I had this issue with everyone i owned.. I could see nothing wrong with the wheels so i am hopeing that you might give me a clue as what to do

bigron330
Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lose the fabreze bag!!!
1/16/2016

Customer review by Nika

4.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Nika
by Nika

I love my powerforce, but I bought a new one today, and it came with a fabreze bag installed. HORRIBLE! We had to open the box outside and throw the bag in the outside bin because the overpowering stench! It makes everyone in our home gag and get lightheaded. I know lots of people like them, but they used to be included in the box in their own bag, not already installed and overpowering.

Nika
Cheyenne, Wy
Gender:Female
Blown away
12/9/2012

Customer review by Diabeticdoode

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Diabeticdoode
by Diabeticdoode

AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING! Okay, I know all caps is a turn off for some people, but this vacuum warrants them. This vacuum is powerful, very lightweight, built amazingly well, and get this, it's BAGGED! That may turn off some people at first, it certainly did me, but after 4 months of use now I can confirm that I'm never using a bagless vacuum again. It sucks up the dirt and keeps it sealed in. The HEPA filter on the side has no dust in or around it (visible at least). My old bagless unit's HEPA compartment would get all dusty after a couple weeks use, and you'd have to practically take apart the whole machine and clean it. Not this one! Also, I'd like to mention that the Febreeze bags are awesome. They actually have a nice scent, and they last! I change my bag about once a month, and the scent has always lasted through the bag change. What else... I think that's it for now. Don't let the low price fool you, it's amazing. I definitely recommend it!

Diabeticdoode
Tulsa, Ok
Gender:Male
The Belt keeps coming off
12/6/2015

Customer review by BigQ

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by BigQ
by BigQ

Everytime I use these vacuums I have to fix the belts. They keep coming off .

Comment from Juan - 12/8/2015

Oh no! That definitely should not happen. Make sure you are using genuine BISSELL belts when replacing. You may also want to check the brush to ensure it's working correctly. Unplug the vacuum and try spinning it by hand. If its hard to turn, it should be replaced.

BigQ
Baltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Nice!
11/14/2010

Customer review by aprilnmarcus

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by aprilnmarcus
by aprilnmarcus

Had my old Bissell for about 6 yrs and it needed to be replaced so I bought this one and boy was I happy to have bought another Bissell. I bought the orange one which I love how they had several color options. I think this is even more powerful than my old Bissell was when I bought it. This one has a lot of power and works great on hard carpet. Very easy to assemble as well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aprilnmarcus
Machias, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Power Force Bagged Vacuum Review
11/19/2015

Customer review by MamaJenn456

2.0 stars 11/19/2015 by MamaJenn456
by MamaJenn456

I had bought one years ago for my apartment back in my home state. I freaking LOVED that thing. It got everything up and tremendously helped out with our allergies. It had a full bag indicator, and was just the stuff old(but quality) vacuums were made of. But, due to us moving to another state, I had to give my beloved away. I figured once we found our next place, I would buy another one. Went to state #2, found the bagless version...LOVED that even MORE, because I didn't have to buy the bags and could see how much was being picked up every time. Then we moved to state #3(I know, we moved around a lot the past three years). My second, more loved bagless, after two years, decided its motor could handle no more, and died. I cried bitterly, begging my husband to just buy a motor. But considering the cost of motors, he figured, we could get a brand new one. Being an obedient wife, I obeyed. So...we went to the nearest mega store, only to be told the bagless was "in the back" and "was too far to reach". Still not sure why we shop there, but I was desperate to get my carpets back to their former clean. So, seeing this as the only option, we bought it. As soon as I took it out of the box and assembled it, I was surprised at how freakishly light it was. Nothing like my one back home, which was much heavier. I went to town, joyfully making up lost time with a vacuum and my carpets. I#out of habit...I did have a bagless before, remember?) opened the area where the bag was, only to discover that, after almost 15-20 minutes per room and completing 3 rooms...the vacuum barely had anything in it. Considering it usually took 3 trips to empty the canister just for my living room alone, I worried a bit that it wasn't doing as great of a job. But, not one to give up, I tried it for a week to see if maybe I was missing something. I was not missing anything. The vacuum was. I'm not sure what they did to the more current model, but I am extremely disappointed with this. Bottom line-not like the older models. Barely picks up anything. You're basically paying for an oversized air freshner that picks up as much as a bagless vacuum when its motor is broken. Don't waste your money-get the bagless or another brand instead.

Comment from Rick - 11/23/2015

Thanks for the feedback, Jenn. It sounds like something may not be connected right as it definitely should have the same suction as your other units. Here are a few steps to to check that should help! http://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=e457a5da-fa7c-4dee-a80a-c4edf36a8b13&cid=ccsocial2107

MamaJenn456
Homedale, ID
Gender:Female
Light and easy to push around
8/24/2014

Customer review by Sandra

4.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Sandra
by Sandra

I have allergies to dust and dust mites and this vacuum has been helpful in controlling those allergies. It is easy to push around. The reason I did not give 5 stars is that the hose does pop off quite frequently as does the power cord from the groove above the slot for the hose. Otherwise, it is easy to fix if the belt comes off (I vacuum from tile to carpet. This has only happened once in 3 years). It does an EXCELLENT job vacuuming tile. My water after mopping is barely soiled. So much cleaner than when I would use a broom. Also, it is very easy to change the bags. For those reviewers that say dirt blows everywhere, I ask if you have checked the filters and ensured they are intact. Also, it has been my experience that if you have these problems so soon after purchasing it, the retailer will exchange it. In addition, the on board tools are handy and easy to quickly access when cleaning. I would recommend this vacuum.

Comment from Lisa - 8/28/2014

Thank you for your review. To secure the upholstery hose, make sure to pull the hose tightly to clip into the holder.

Sandra
Ft. Myers, Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Best Vacuum
11/5/2015

Customer review by none

5.0 stars 11/5/2015 by none
by none

This vacuum is great. Would recommend to anyone. Way to go Bissell !

none
Schaumburg, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Great Value
10/11/2010

Customer review by twinplus1

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by twinplus1
by twinplus1

This vacuum is a great value for the price. I have 3 kids and 2 dogs and it works great to pick up all their messes. So far the only thing I don't like about it is the cord is a little shorter than what I am use to. Other than that I haven't had any problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twinplus1
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE MY VACUUM
10/17/2015

Customer review by EJULIA1

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by EJULIA1
by EJULIA1

I HAVE HAD MY BISSELL FOR 9 YEARS AND I LOVE IT. IT WORKS GREAT. IT IS THE SECOND ONE I HAVE OWNED AND I WOULDN'T HAVE ANY OTHER VACUUM. I JUST BOUGHT MY THIRD BISSELL . IT IS THE SAME MODEL THE 1398. MY DAUGHTER NEEDED A VACUUM SO SHE HAS THE ONE I HAD FOR 9 YEARS IT IS STILL WORKING. I HOPE I LOVE THIS ONE AS MUCH AS THE OLD ONE. BUY ONE YOU WON'T BE SORRY. AND YOU CAN'T BEAT THE PRICE.

EJULIA1
Ocala, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Pretty great for a carpet for a cheap vacuum
10/22/2013

Customer review by petowner

4.0 stars 10/22/2013 by petowner
by petowner

I am on my third one of these. They do tend to break with heavy use after 2-3 years, but they are so economical and do a decent job. I like that it is lightweight and really great on carpets, even with pet hair, and I like the bag. I always hated emptying a dusty cartridge. My main trouble is that it's pretty useless on hard surface floors - it will definitely just blow around the dirt vs sucking it up, even on the lowest pile setting. I usually sweep and then suck it up with the crevice tool. The first thing to go is typically the plastic piece that locks the vacuum upright allowing it to stand on its own, then various other pieces of plastic. The vacuums tend to remain functional in spite of that, you just have to lean it against the wall. The cord length has become shorter with every newer model, which is a pain. Wasn't so bad in a smaller house, but now it gets on my nerves.

petowner
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Ease of use.
9/28/2013

Customer review by Ladybug

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Ladybug
by Ladybug

I never like to vacuum so I keep buying cleaners but this one is the easiest for me to use and to store. I have paid 6 times this price for vacuums that were too difficult for me to use. I am 79 years old and dragging around a heavy canister or emptying a bag less one, proved too labor intensive. I went back to this Bissell because of it's ease of use, and convenient access to the tools. This is the second one that I have purchased . I had given the first to my daughter and she used it until it would no longer stand upright, so she donated it to Goodwill and lamented that she missed it and regretted that donation. I had given her the expensive canister and the bag less ones, that I no longer wanted. I guess I should buy her another Bissell. This is a great value at a very reasonable price. I don't need the bells and whistles that are promoted on the more expensive models.

Ladybug
North Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
Old school simplicity
8/26/2015

Customer review by AR

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by AR
by AR

Best value all round. I've fought bag-less designs and for what, then I notice that the building maint/cleaning staff are using these. Tip over a bag-less design and all your dirt ends up in the post filter... grrr. With this, the bag is your filter and disposal unit. Little to no mess swapping them out. Try that with some crazy trapdoor flippy thing. Bags are cheap and worth every penny avoiding the troubles associated with bag-less designs.

AR
Lou KY
Gender:Male
Outstanding value
9/6/2015

Customer review by Tom1707

5.0 stars 9/6/2015 by Tom1707
by Tom1707

I like the clean filtering that this bagged model offers, plus the capture of debris for easy disposal. No messy cups to clean, and only occasional replacement of post-motor filter is required. Another plus was the quiet operation. I am very pleased with this model.

Tom1707
Buffalo New York
Gender:Male
Love this vaccum
9/9/2015

Customer review by Michelle96

5.0 stars 9/9/2015 by Michelle96
by Michelle96

I've this vaccum 11 years and never had a problem with it. Shows y'all make sturdy equipment for a fair price. Love my Bissell, with two cats and a dog works great.

Michelle96
Va
Gender:Female
This Vacuum glides easily
7/29/2014

Customer review by DeeDee

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by DeeDee
by DeeDee

I had a minor stroke a year ago & our old vaccum became very hard for me to use. We bought the Bissell PowerForce at our local retailer & I'm so pleased with it. I have no problem pushing it on our carpets, it glides so easily. I'm able to put the attachments together and pull apart easily for along the baseboards in the rooms with hardwood floors, even on days that my muscles aren't cooperating. I was so thrilled with my vaccuum, we went and bought one for my mother who had knee replacement surgery and bought us another one for upstairs! We did however have to replace the roller in our first vaccuum, but it could be due to going from carpet to hardwood throughout our home. I would still highly recommend this sweeper! :) I also own a Bissell Carpet Cleaner and everyone borrows it! Guess that says how great it works too! Thank you Bissell!

DeeDee
Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Female
Woks great if you have dog hair
8/27/2015

Customer review by Grizzly

5.0 stars 8/27/2015 by Grizzly
by Grizzly

This is my 2nd powerforce bagged vac. We have a Newfoundland/Sheepdog with lots of hair and this vac has lasted the longest. I have tried other brands before getting the Powerforce and usually had to replace them within 6 months. Great vac for the money. P.S. Just make sure you cut the hear off the roller.

Grizzly
New Berlin, WI, USA
Gender:Female
2nd Bissell I bought
3/31/2015

Customer review by Darren H

4.0 stars 3/31/2015 by Darren H
by Darren H

I bought this because after 3 years of heavy use of my 12 Amp Power Force, I finally broke off a wheel. I wish the twelve amp version was still around, but this 8/10 amp version should do well for me over the next few years. Plus, it takes the same bags I already have. I hate the bagless vacs. Every time you open them up to empty them, all the dust just come flying out. What good is it to have a super allergen filter if you're just gong to release them all when you go to empty the vacuum? Not to mention that by the third use they look like they've been through World War III. Scratches and streaks all across the clear plastic case. Yuck. I'd recommend this bagged vac to anyone.

Darren H
Glendora, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Great lightweight vacuum with a design flaw
9/15/2014

Customer review by Bissell user

4.0 stars 9/15/2014 by Bissell user
by Bissell user

I've used this style vacuum for years now. My father has one also. It has great suction and is lightweight. I love that I don't have to make a mess emptying a dirt cup. The onboard hose with attachments is great for quick upholstery cleaning and getting in corners. The hose does stretch over time which makes it difficult to keep in it's clip, so it tends to pop out of the base easily. My only real issue with the design of this vacuum is the wheel assembly with axle. I have had to replace this multiple times on more than one machine due to the cheap plastic nubs used to hold it in place. They break off quickly with normal use. A simple metal pin through them could deter this. I have already contacted the company to fix this flaw, but apparently that has not been done. I am once again having to order this part which broke again recently. I have to buy a few to be sure I have a replacement for when the new one breaks...which it definitely will. I like this vacuum enough so that it's still worth the additional trouble and expense, but it's a shame that such a simple flaw that could be easily corrected keeps this from being a great product. It's not a high-end machine, but for the price, it's hard to beat.

Bissell user
Maine, USA
Gender:Female
Better than most high end vacuums!!
8/31/2012

Customer review by melissa803

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by melissa803
by melissa803

I have a cleaning business and bought the bissell for my own house. My clients vacuums would always do a terrible job and it always took longer for job to get done. started bringing my bissell to work and have not stopped since. Have purchased only the powerforce every time the vacuum breaks. Can always tell when it is starting to not work as well that its a clog due to the suction power, Its awesome!! Only issue i have is that i clean about 5 houses a day and needless to say there is a lot of vacuuming..the bissell always breaks in the same spot. the vacuum will eventually stop standing up by itself and the bottom part for the levels breaks eventually. maybe a manufacture problem?? but would not by any other besides the powerforce!!!

Comment from Joe - 9/6/2012

If you are interested in some of our high use commercial grade vacuums here is a link to purchase them. Their warranties cover non-residential use: http://www.bissellcommercial.com/Products?pcat=Vacuum

melissa803
Newburgh, NY, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews