Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 29 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Disappointed
11/23/2010

Customer review by SpendtotheEnd

2.0 stars 11/23/2010 by SpendtotheEnd
by SpendtotheEnd

After doing extensive research, I settled upon this Panasonic 42" S2 model, and I am extremely disappointed. I bought it for it's "anti-reflective filter", which cuts the glare on the screen. Unfortunately, that same anti-reflective feature also decreases picture clarity, and has a negative impact on picture quality. In short, the picture looks flat and dull. Instead, I would recommend Panasonic's 42" U2 model, which is basically the same as the S2 (1080p), but has an ultra-clear screen, and superb picture clarity. The U2 model does not get much press, as everyone seems to think that the S2 is inherently better....but it's not. The U2 line is Pansonic's entry level 1080p line, and is also deemed a "best buy" according to Consumer Reports. If budget is important, I must add that the C2 line, which is Panasonic's lowest level plasma, is superb. It's only 720p, but at 42", you cannot tell. While the C2 and U2 models do not have anti-reflective filters, I can attest that it's not a problem...it's really a non-issue. So if 1080p is important to you, get the U2 line. But if money is more important, the C2 line is also a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (54) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpendtotheEnd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Best value on the market!
12/7/2010

Customer review by notalmeda

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by notalmeda
by notalmeda

After researching HDTV's for over a year, (bought a SONY Bravia 32" in the meantime) I finally found one that my fiance would love! I had to choose between LCD-LED and plasma and am very happy with the plasma! I chose the plasma because it is ideal for low lighting situations and we usually dim the lights for movies. For those concerned with well lit rooms, Panasonic has developed an automatic light ambience detector that adjusts brilliance and contrast according to room light conditions. Perfect! With a 2,000,000:1 contrast ratio, the images are sharp and crisp. A 600 refresh rate surpasses any LED-LCD capability and assures blur free fast action. Ideal for sports as well as special effect movies. The HDMI inputs allow WiFi viewing of Netflix from a laptop or desk top PC with no additional USB adapter. There are also various digital component inputs and out puts to retain the integrity of digital signals. Setup is a breeze and the remote is adequate. Not a lot of bells and whistles but easy to use. Sound quality is good enough without hooking up to home theater although there is a tendency toward distortion and high treble when played at maximum volume. The feature is two 10 watt speakers that can be adjusted for bass, treble and balance. If you're an audiophile, you'll probably want to set up external speakers. Overall, the picture adjusts easily for natural flesh tones and colors and provides a sharp, crisp scenic view. I purchased this set for $599 with free shipping (took a little over a week from CA to NY). A true value driven HDTV that should please even fussy folks. And don't worry about burn in or loss of pixel resolution. Panasonic has developed a screen that makes burn in less hazardous (although they do warn about a still shot for over 15-20 minutes) as well as a screen "eraser". Also has a slot for SD cards so you can shoot pictures or video digitally and view them right away. A great value for the money and better than many 42" HDTV's that are higher priced! I love it!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notalmeda
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/14/2010

Customer review by ports72

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by ports72
by ports72

For the price category, this flat screen is on top of the list, as well as its features and display quality.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ports72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME!
12/8/2010

Customer review by enpsmooth

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by enpsmooth
by enpsmooth

We go this TV online through Walmart for $578!!! And OH BOY was it money well spent. THe picture exceeds my expectations. Sound is good for built in speakers. Set up was so easy a caveman could do it. =) I set the set up last night and was blown away by the picture quality. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HDTV. To get an LCD with this picture quality you'd spend well over 1k. I used these calibration specs I found online and they worked extremely well: Picture Settings o Picture Mode : Cinema o Contrast : 71 o Brightness : 60 o Color : 47 o Tint : +9 o Sharpness : 0 o Color Temp : Warm o x.v. Color : Off o C.A.T.S. : Off o Video NR : Off o Blur Reduction : Off (turning this to On supposedly gives the full 1080 lines of motion resolution, but does some frame interpolation/insertion) * Aspect Adjustments o Screen format : FULL o HD size : Size 2 * Advanced picture o MPEG NR : Off o Black level : Light o 3:2 pulldown : On Service Menu Offsets WB-ADJ MENU R-DRV: +5 G-DRV: -11 B-DRV: -11 R-CUT: -2 G-CUT: 0 B-CUT: +4 Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03. The thread can be found on the AVS forums if you want to do the service menu offsets and want to learn more about the set. Ok so stop searching and buy this TV. Seriously! =)

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enpsmooth
sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/14/2010

Customer review by minco12

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by minco12
by minco12

Lots of features, crisp colors, clear sound are the offerings of this beautiful tv.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
minco12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE
10/27/2010

Customer review by CREDITCARDBURNOUT

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by CREDITCARDBURNOUT
by CREDITCARDBURNOUT

EASY SET UP. LOOKS GREAT, SOUNDS GREAT AND HAS A OUTSTANDING PICTURE. LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CREDITCARDBURNOUT
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product...poor shipping!
12/20/2010

Customer review by bwhntr30

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by bwhntr30
by bwhntr30

This TV is amazing for the price. We had a 32" LCD, but wanted to get a larger plasma for sports and movies. We've only had it for about 3 days, but the contrast is amazing and the colors really "pop." Took us awhile to get the settings figured out because they recommend using the cinema setting, but it seemed really dark. It just took some getting used to because it really looks amazing now. It really picks up on the different colors. Just watched a football game and a basketball game on it today and we love it. The colors on the field/court, in the stands, and the on the players are great. You can see the grain on the baskeball court and even the beads of sweat on the players. We are just blown away by this. We haven't watched a movie yet, but I'm sure it will be great because the sports were the true test for me. I would highly recommend this product. Just make sure you pick it up from the store, because it was the worst shipping I've ever had. It took over three weeks for us to get the TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bwhntr30
West Lebanon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/3/2011

Customer review by naturelvr

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by naturelvr
by naturelvr

This is our 2nd Panasonic Tv, we love them. I love the new one is all black. The only thing I don't care for is the gaming jack are on the side of the Tv.We have our Tv built into a custom entertainment system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naturelvr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/14/2010

Customer review by fishville50

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by fishville50
by fishville50

I am quite impressed by this tv, and its performance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishville50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Plasma
12/17/2010

Customer review by ChrisLD

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by ChrisLD
by ChrisLD

I did my research and I was not disappointed. Awesome TV for my bedroom, easy setup, sound quality is above my expectations.. especially for TV speakers there arent typically all that great. Overall I am very satisfied, I will be looking for a bigger one for the living room. Great product. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the freight company chosen by Walmart to ship this product, Seko Worldwide. They are very slow and seem to be extremely backed up with deliveries. I ended up going right to their dock for a pickup.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisLD
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Plasma TV
12/28/2010

Customer review by kbd1125

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by kbd1125
by kbd1125

After plugging in this TV, I found that there is a line on the right side of the screen that only disappears after it warms up. I am returning the TV for a non-Plasma TV. Very disappointed especially since it was highly recommended by many to purchase this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbd1125
Mapleville, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2010

Customer review by flowerbabe57

1.0 stars 12/9/2010 by flowerbabe57
by flowerbabe57

Could not review this product, because when we opened the box the television was broken. There was a huge shatter mark on the screen. Don't know if it was because we had it shipped site to store, but what a huge disappointment!! Not sure, if i would use that option again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flowerbabe57
Would recommend to a friend? No
An excellent value in a 42" Plasma TV 1080p
12/13/2010

Customer review by bobmunch

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by bobmunch
by bobmunch

I and my wife are really pleased with our new TV and its performance - especially with movies! So far, we haven't gotten the HD tuner from DirectTV for true 1080p performance, or a Blue Ray player, but it does amazingly well even at 480 and its signal processing is generally very good at making the best of a lower standard signal. If it performs as well as other 42" Panasonics in HD mode we have seen, it should be stunning! The setup and the remote have been both easy and genuinely intuitive with no weird programming/adjustment rituals like with some other units we've had. Also, I would definitely recommend serious consideration of a Plasma set like this over the majority of LCD units as they really seem to be able to overcome some problems, like motion glitches and image transformations more gracefully than many LCD units. Audio is very good given we are using only the set's speakers at present. Panasonic has always delivered decent sound in all their products I've had, so no surprise. And it should get better once it is connected to our home sound system. Our only negative in this whole experience so far has been that "free to the home" shipping was slow (almost 2 weeks). Probably due to both Xmas and cost savings by Walmart for the free shipping offer. Still, the unit came in "as left the factory" condition, so I don't guess we can complain too much. We would rate it a 5 star bargain as well as a 5 star TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobmunch
Eastern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value
12/13/2010

Customer review by skylloyd

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by skylloyd
by skylloyd

Received the product in about 10 days, bad weather hampered delivery. First plasma we have owned it was great from the gitgo. With delivery included right to the door, You just can't beat the value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skylloyd
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a great price!
12/22/2010

Customer review by Tigerfantothebone

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Tigerfantothebone
by Tigerfantothebone

Consumer Reports listed this tv as a great tv and recommended it, and I couldn't agree more. The picture quality (the most important thing) is excellent. I had to play with the colors a little bit to get it to my liking, but it was very simple to do so. I chose a plasma because it has a better, crisper picture than an LCD, and watching football over the weekend helped reinforce why I made that decision. No "motion lag" with 600hz, and the blue ray and true 1080 lines of moving picture resolution was amazing! Panasonic is the top manufacturer of plasma televisions, and I would recommend this tv to anyone. The only problem is that it takes a while to receive it through Wal Mart since they don't carry this tv in stores. It also lacks some of the "extras" but you don't have to pay for them with this tv. Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tigerfantothebone
Marana, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be happier
12/28/2010

Customer review by tnmidwife

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by tnmidwife
by tnmidwife

Great picture on HD and regular channels. Could not be any happier. It was easy to set up. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnmidwife
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal
12/29/2010

Customer review by Tevee

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Tevee
by Tevee

We ordered this product online on Thanksgiving Day and were pleased with the incredible price for a plasma TV and the fact that it could be shipped directly to my daughter's house for hiding until Christmas Day!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tevee
Kalispell, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
meets all expectations
12/31/2010

Customer review by slbrtr

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by slbrtr
by slbrtr

So far we are very happy with our Panasonic plasma TV. No problems and exactly what I had expected. The price through WalMart was the best I found anywhere, and I did my research!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slbrtr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeds expectations
1/1/2011

Customer review by metro1

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by metro1
by metro1

The picture is fantastic .The color is true and I couldn't have asked for a better TV for the money...the sound isn't the greatest but that's what a surround sound system is for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metro1
Knightstown, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great choice for TV
12/16/2010

Customer review by wyobirder

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by wyobirder
by wyobirder

My wife and I consulted several rating sources to come up with this choice, and we have not been disappointed. We set it up right out of the box with no assistance. Selections on the remote provide flexibility in choosing color and contrast settings, and the format for viewing, so you can satisfy your own preferences. Standard pictures (at 480i) are pretty sharp, and the HD programming (and even HD ads, at 1080i) are even more clear and sharp. Many of our cable channels are viewable without an additional set-top box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wyobirder
Cheyenne WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews