Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 355 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

355 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

355 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
176
4 stars
119
3 stars
28
2 stars
10
1 stars
22
1-20 of 323 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 323 total reviews
1-20 of 323 reviews
There were handling dents in one of them.
4/17/2014

Customer review by HLCallender

3.0 stars 4/17/2014 by HLCallender
by HLCallender
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recieved both of them in good time, but there were handling dents in one of them. The dent is just in front of the lock on the side and in the middle of gun case. I would have returned it but it wasn't worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HLCallender
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a bad product...
9/2/2010

Customer review by Xtreme02r6

4.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Xtreme02r6
by Xtreme02r6

Bought this to store some firearms and ammunition. It seems pretty well built and if bolted to the floor and wall (which i did) it is very secure and nearly impossible to move. the size is pretty good, and can hold quite a bit. Will keep anyone out that you dont want getting into it. A would be robber could get into it with a crowbar and about 20 mins worth of beating and prying on it but it is a great deterant from a would be robber. Great product for the value. Does what its supost to do. If you have firearms and dont want to spend a ton of money on a big heavy safe and want to protect them from children, robbers ex this is a good product just make sure you bolt it down because it is not very heavy. My only issue is it is packaged very porly and there are some dings and dents on the corners from shipping but for being under $100 dollars im not to worried about it.

Was this review helpful? (81) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xtreme02r6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great for ammo storage
11/24/2013

Customer review by JimBeam777

4.0 stars 11/24/2013 by JimBeam777
by JimBeam777

This arrived to my house very quickly and having no damage at all, with free shipping. I am using it for ammo storage. I probably would not trust storing my firearms inside because it probably could not withstand a prying attack for long at all. This is just to keep my kids safe from the ammo. I built wood shelves inside using 1/2" MDF for shelves and 1/2" ply for the top/bottom and sides of the shelf frame. I drilled holes for shelf pins in the sides of the shelf frame I built so I can easily vary the height of the shelves or add more. I use six ea 1/4" shelf pins per shelf and they are very sturdy. I am very happy with this as an ammo storage cabinet. I left in the original plastic shelf and the plastic rifle supports in case I want to store pellet guns or something in it later, but I will probably remove all the original plastic parts and build up my shelves even higher. Using an Amex promotion and also finding this on sale, I paid less than 60 dollars for this with free shipping.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimBeam777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product Would Be OK Other Than Poor Packaging
9/2/2014

Customer review by SpokanistanSam

1.0 stars 9/2/2014 by SpokanistanSam
by SpokanistanSam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Think everyone knows what they're getting when they order; just a steel cabinet but that's all I was looking for and that's all I got. However, if you read the reviews, you also know if will be dented. And it was dented when received, which is a function of how these are protected (or not protected) by the very poor packaging used. Unfortunately, almost all of the reviews of these Stack-Ons include the fact that they're dented when recd - so I expected it and accepted it as it still functioned OK, and of course, by the time you get it out of the packaging, way too much trouble to send it back. But frankly, I resent the fact that Stack-On and Walmart are apparently completely OK with lowering everyone's expectations and selling/delivering a product that they must know won't be 100%. For that reason, I would not buy another Stack-On product, at least not from Walmart/to be delivered and before I inspected it in person in a store (other than Walmart).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpokanistanSam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good deal
1/26/2016

Customer review by Todd

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Todd
by Todd

This cabinet fit my needs perfect- the price and free shipping can't really be beat on the internet. The cabinet must be anchored to a wall or it will tip forward when the door is opened. Also, the large sticker on the front is horrible to get off so that is why I dropped my rating to 4 stars. There are many accessories online to make the cabinet more functional considering there is only 1 small shelf. The cabinet came already assembled with no damage, so setting it up was a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Todd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good cabinet. Great price. Fast delivery
10/4/2013

Customer review by LLBill

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by LLBill
by LLBill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with the cabinet. I considered the cheaper, unassembled GCB-8RTA, and am very glad I chose the GCB-908-DS. The GCB-908-DS is a much better cabinet. Heavier steel, fully assembled, and mine was very well packaged. Not one dent. Best of all, you can put your guns in the right way--all in a line, triggers out. A little customizing, like a carpet on the bottom and thin foam pads in the rifle rests, goes a long way. You can even put some well placed bumpers in to quiet the door. I am very pleased with the cabinet, and am pleasantly surprised with Walmart on this. Great price, free shipping, and lightspeed delivery.

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLBill
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My second one!
9/27/2014

Customer review by Smedley54

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Smedley54
by Smedley54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Happiness is needing two gun lockers? Okay, so most of the rifles belong to our adult sons, but that's beside the point. These well made metal lockers are just about the right size for three scoped hunting rifles, plus up to four un-scoped rifles or shotguns. Because the top shelf installs toward the front of the cabinet, there is a gap between the trailing edge of the shelf and the back wall of the cabinet. Thanks to this, very long barreled rifles or shotguns (like a couple of heirloom pieces) can be manuevered into the cabinet. Nicely thought out or happy accident, I'm grateful. A bit of installation advice: Put a board along the wall, and screw that into wall studs. Then bolt the cabinet to the board, especially if you live in a newer home. Never use anchor bolts unless you like holes in the wall. It seems like contemporary wallboard is brittle, and adherence to code on wall stud placement is - well - unreliable. I use 1x4 trimmed to length for these wall shims, and level the cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smedley54
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I have 8 of these now!
12/24/2015

Customer review by clintm

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by clintm
by clintm

This gun storage cabinet is just the ticket for inexpensive firearms storage. It is solid and well built, comes with a foam pad for the bottom and plastic molded wall supports for the barrels of 8 long guns. This cabinet is designed with open sighted weapons in mind, but f you have scoped arms, then you will need to use one of the several plastic barrel stand-offs that are included. This cabinet will likely not hold 8 bolt action rifles because it may not be wide enough to keep all of the bolts from hitting the next gun to the left, but a half and half mix of bolt guns non-bolt guns will usually work out OK. All in all, money well spent if you don't need a true 'fire safe'.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clintm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value for the price
11/28/2013

Customer review by NAGR47

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by NAGR47
by NAGR47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is exactly what I expected for the price , it will protect little hands and some big ones from gaining access to what is being stored within . I do not expect this safe to beat the real professional thief but then a real professional can open safes costing thousands of dollars , however I do believe this would be a deterrant to most opportunists. Its well made and very easy to assemble , the nuts and bolts are all supplied even the bolts to secure the safe to the wall . Its a very handy size and I have stored four rifles which include a shotgun to a AR15 with mags and boxes of ammo. The shelf is a little small but with only four guns there is ample room on the base. I am happy with this product and now have some peace of mind not having guns and ammo out in the open .

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NAGR47
NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stackon 8gun
11/2/2013

Customer review by Thinker88

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Thinker88
by Thinker88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not everything I want, but what I want would run me close to a grand not feasible for me at the moment ,however this unit was everything I needed and would indeed recommend this buy to anyone looking to safely store firearms.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thinker88
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product and price!
1/4/2016

Customer review by Gail

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Gail
by Gail

Made in USA!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gail
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received damaged and keys missing
4/7/2014

Customer review by boarding2427

3.0 stars 4/7/2014 by boarding2427
by boarding2427

I ordered this to store ammo and a long gun. After reading reviews of people saying they received it damaged/ keys missing I thought I might get lucky and get a non damaged unit and have the keys in it as well. I received it very quickly(under 4 business days) at my house and one end of the box ends was open, but no other damage to the shipping box. I removed it from the box and found 2 sledge hammer size dents in the corners of the cabinet. Then I checked for the keys. Well, the bag for the keys was there, however the bottom of the bag was ripped and no keys anywhere. Needless to say I returned it and am waiting for a replacement(site-to-store). Overall a very decent cabinet for the money, if you get a non damaged unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boarding2427
plaistow, nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
9/20/2010

Customer review by socal425

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by socal425
by socal425

Nice Gun Cabinet for the money. Did arrive via FedEx with noticeable dents around edges. Knowing it wasn't going to be a display piece, the dents did not bother me. It's being used to store my M4, Mossberg Defender shotgun, sidearm, mags, ammo, and some additional accessories. Did some mods that included: lowering the rack to support the M4. thus allowing more space above to add an additional shelf. Lining the interior with padded shelf liner. Bought some double sided carpet tape to attach the liner. Used longer screws to bolt down onto the wall. Will definitely keep my "toys" safe from the kids. Overall I'm pretty satisfied for what it does.

Was this review helpful? (40) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
socal425
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor quality control
12/26/2015

Customer review by Disapptd

1.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Disapptd
by Disapptd

Cannot make a judgement since the cabinet arrived with no instructions...NO KEYS!! Cannot get into to check it out.. Poor quality assurance...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disapptd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy customers.
12/20/2015

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Chris
by Chris

This is a good product for the money. The size is perfect. It's not a safe, but it is quite secure. It would take quite a bit of effort and time to break into this security cabinet. The only issue we have is it would be very good if there were an option to pick the side we need the door to open from. Other than that, we're very happy with this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Arrived without a key!
12/24/2015

Customer review by Catlady

4.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Catlady
by Catlady

Nice little cabinet. Does the job of keeping firearms locked away from 4 yr old. Ours came without a key. Emailed Stack On company and we recieved a set in the mail about 1 wk later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catlady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Damage
12/25/2015

Customer review by Larry

3.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Larry
by Larry

The cabinet arrived dented.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value!
7/13/2012

Customer review by phojo27

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by phojo27
by phojo27

An excellent choice for a first gun cabinet. Remember, it's NOT a safe. It's not fire rated, waterproof, or hundreds of pounds of thick metal. If you have a small investment of firearms and are trying to keep them away from little curious hands or want a solid lockable place to store them, this will do it. A thief could certainly pry or cut it open if he was given enough time, so do not put your most prized assets in it. One thing to note is it MUST be secured to the floor and/or wall, because with the door open, it becomes unbalanced and will tip over. This can also make assembly a little tricky, but can still be done with only one person. The shelf makes it a little tough to get a really long gun in, but it can be done as advertised. Just do not expect to be able to pull it straight out without carefully moving it to the side at an angle while likely having to remove any other gun(s) in its path. The shelf is also not very large and is really only useful for boxes of ammo and smaller accessories. Having the ability to expand it with the matched ammo/handgun cabinet on the top is a real plus and I will likely purchase that in the future. Mine was delivered site-to-store without any damage to the unit. The box itself had some wear, but the packaging to protect the cabinet did its job. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phojo27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Christmas gift
12/22/2015

Customer review by Jax81

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Jax81
by Jax81

I haven't actually used this safe as I purchased it as a gift for my dad. Seems well built and a good value. We'll see I guess.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jax81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Invoice
12/14/2015

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Bill
by Bill

I charge $50.00 for Surveys Nobody rides for free. You will be recieving an invoice for my fees. This is a very good item with room to grow for more weapons. It is secure and I feel in its design Kids/Grandkids will not have access to the contents. It arived 3 days early and in good shape the only assembly was to add a small shelf (quick and simple). Merry Christmas to me and you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 323 total reviews
1-20 of 323 reviews