Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 95 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews
first alert motion sensing light
7/29/2016

Customer review by Chip

4.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Chip
by Chip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product seems to work fine - it has gaps in sensing but after jumping around a few times it seems to work fine and I get a short workout.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does the job
7/29/2016

Customer review by thatguy51

5.0 stars 7/29/2016 by thatguy51
by thatguy51
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works well for the area I use it in. This is my second one, and It performs well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thatguy51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Right For Me
4/1/2016

Customer review by nameit

1.0 stars 4/1/2016 by nameit
by nameit

I bought it thinking it would work in any position. It didn't work when the bulb is in an upright position. The sensor can't read the movement unless it is facing down. Returned.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nameit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent for the garage light
7/1/2016

Customer review by SPower

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by SPower
by SPower
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Before getting this socket, we used to often forget to turn the garage light off. It would stay on for long periods of time, wasting a lot of electricity. Initially we tried a similar socket from another company, but that one stopped working after a couple of months. This First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket works so well in the garage, that I'm now looking for more places to install them throughout the house. Who needs an Internet connected home, when systems like this make your lights just as smart?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SPower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lights garage
8/16/2016

Customer review by Jamie456

5.0 stars 8/16/2016 by Jamie456
by Jamie456
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Lights the garage and I don't need to remember to turn it off. Replacing the light on the door opener that only works when it wants to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamie456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE ANSWER TO MY DILEMA
6/19/2016

Customer review by PRINCESSPRECIOUS

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by PRINCESSPRECIOUS
by PRINCESSPRECIOUS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I WAS TIRED OF KIDS AND SIG OTHER LEAVING LIGHTS ON IN THE PANTRY AND LAUNDREY ROOM. I TOOK OT THE OLD BULB PLACED THIS PRODUCT IN THE SOCKET, REPLACED THE BULB, TURNED THE LIGHT ON AND WAAAA LAAA THAT WAS IT. IF THEY ACCIDENTLY LEAVE THE LIGHT ON IT WILL AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF IN 4 MINUTES, I LIKE THAT AS LONG AS YOU LEAVE THE LIGHT SWITCH ON THE MOTION OF SOMEONE ENTERING SWITCHES THE LIGHT ON AUTOMATICALLY. IVE TRIED A CHEAPER BRAND PRIOR TO THIS WITH NO SUCESS. THIS IS THE ONE THAT WORKS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PRINCESSPRECIOUS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works ok for my needs, but . . .
10/25/2010

Customer review by Living4Cheap

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Living4Cheap
by Living4Cheap

I needed an automatic light in my garage to turn on whenever a car pulled in because the ancient (but still working quite well) garage door opener doesn't have a light. Opted for the 360 degree version because I wanted it to also turn on automatically when a person entered the garage from the house, the opposite direction. Worked ok with some directional tweaking, but be warned it is not a full 360 degrees, has some dead or blind areas. Otherwise, works well for me.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Living4Cheap
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best motion detector out there!
5/7/2016

Customer review by sanj256

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by sanj256
by sanj256

I have a basement light that is usually operated by a pull string. This First Alert Motion Sensing light socket eliminates having to fumble in the dark to turn it on. As soon as I come in from the garage or down the stairs, the light automatically turns on. I used to have this item years ago, then when I needed to replace it, I couldn't find it in the stores any more and had to settle for another type of motion detector. i'm glad I was able to find the First Alert once again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sanj256
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Magic closet light
6/15/2016

Customer review by nanatex

4.0 stars 6/15/2016 by nanatex
by nanatex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since we were often forgetting to turn off our walk in closet light thought this would be a good option. Took awhile to rotate the it to ensure it saw us entering, Unfortunately this means it is not snug. We had to change the bulb when we realized halogen are not allowed. Shame too because we purposely purchased GE Reveal bulbs to show off clothing colors but turned out they are halogen so changed to LED.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanatex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works as promised BUT
5/31/2011

Customer review by LuvWalmart4Evaaa

3.0 stars 5/31/2011 by LuvWalmart4Evaaa
by LuvWalmart4Evaaa

this is my third unit. they work well but for only about 1 year. don't know why such a short life-span especially when they are never touched. mine is in the ceiling of the garage but dies each year....just bought a new one for MY LAST TIME. I am trying another company next. This unit is poorly made to only last 1 year......my one light bulb has out-lived two of these units....let's hope the third times a charm.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvWalmart4Evaaa
palm springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product but has limitations
2/15/2014

Customer review by Windmist

4.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Windmist
by Windmist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to put in a ceiling light fixture. I was not made aware that it does not work through glass. That detail was on the packaging, but not on the website. I ended up using it in a bare garage fixture, where it actually works well. It did not work where I originally intended to use it because of the glass fixture.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Windmist
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/12/2012

Customer review by Sebring97

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Sebring97
by Sebring97

I have had an earlier model of this device set up in my basement stairwell for a number of years. It recently stopped sensing motion, and not turning the light on. I was very pleased to see that the product is still available thru the Walmart website. This unit is improved as it now allows the use of the new CFL bulbs. Which I am using. I had the product shipped directly to the Walmart by me. The price was resonable, the whole process of purchase, and pick-up was flawless. The product functions as indicated in the description, and is a God send for my Irish setter which is partially blind, and very terrified of navigating the steps without a light on. We no longer have to get up to turn on, or off a light for our dog, as it senses her also.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sebring97
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product
4/4/2011

Customer review by IndependenceShopper

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by IndependenceShopper
by IndependenceShopper

We put this up in our garage. On dark mornings or late evenings we no longer have to turn the light on, start up the car and go back to turn the light off. It works perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndependenceShopper
Independence, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Replaces my garage door opener light!
2/29/2016

Customer review by SueB

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by SueB
by SueB

I didn't understand that I had to screw it into a socket that was constantly "on". That's ok though. I just mostly unscrewed the other bulbs in the garage and can easily screw them back in if I am working in there for an extended period of time. The lights in my garage door opener are ruined and I hated driving/walking into a dark garage. I purchased one and liked it so much that I just got another one, also for the garage. That way the whole thing is pretty well lit with just 2 100w bulbs. I just love it. I think I may get one for my laundry room as well! I didn't pay $29--more like $18.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For safety and to save money.
4/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product works as advertised. It is an inexpensive way to convert an exposed light on your porch or in your garage to a motion detection light, for safety and to save money. Works every time. I had the same one for years and decided to purchase a second one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
And then there was light !!!
1/14/2016

Customer review by RomeoKilo

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by RomeoKilo
by RomeoKilo

Garage door opener lighting won't last. Do you really want to replace the motorized opener unit for big bucks to get garage illumination? I don't think so!! ALAS we have the FirstAlert motion sensing light socket and can use low wattage CFL bulb. This is one real cost saving use for an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RomeoKilo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works but it has two blind spots
4/14/2016

Customer review by Bofo

3.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Bofo
by Bofo

It is not 360 degrees motion sensing. It has two blind spots , two pieces of plastic that cover the sensor. Its range of 12' seem to be accurate. If you want a true 360 degrees coverage, I wouldn't recommend this item. I gave it three stars because i was able to make it work in my dad's garage, by making sure the two blind spots were positioned away from the two door entrances to the garage, by doing this the sensor works and the light turns on right away when any of those two doors are open. The light stays on for about 3 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bofo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
5/18/2011

Customer review by barginhunter3136

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by barginhunter3136
by barginhunter3136

We use this in our laundry room where the switch is hard to reach. Walk in and the light comes on and stays on as long as you are in the room. Walk out and 4 minutes later is goes off.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barginhunter3136
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Gtreat !!!
12/6/2013

Customer review by Suzey2013

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Suzey2013
by Suzey2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my laundry room/entry way. Love it the light comes right on. The first time it takes a few seconds to come on but after that it comes right on.The light goes out about 3-4 minutes after you leave the room so no more forgetting to turn the light off.Wish I had them when my kids lived at home, they were always leaving the lights on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suzey2013
Taylorsville North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Motion Sensing Light Socket
2/9/2016

Customer review by trebork

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by trebork
by trebork

Top notch. Put it in my garage to light the garage when I entered. Couldn't be better. It works great and light my way..

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trebork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews