Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 891 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

891 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

891 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
461
4 stars
296
3 stars
64
2 stars
23
1 stars
47
1-20 of 809 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 809 total reviews
1-20 of 809 reviews
Jim's review of the Sentinel 10 Gun Cabinet
4/26/2011

Customer review by GunenthusiastJim

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by GunenthusiastJim
by GunenthusiastJim

I have grandchildren visiting now and the last thing I wanted was to have to worry about a child getting into danger. I had shopped around all the sporting goods outlets and home remodeling outlets and was shocked at the prices. I checked Wal-mart.com and was pleasantly surprised at the prices. I read the reviews and saw a few shipping problems but other than that the reviews were mostly positive. I ordered my 10 gun model and in a few days it arrived. The store let me take a four wheel cart out to my van so loading was no problem at all. Once home, I opened the package and found no shipping damage at all and not a scratch anywhere. Whatever the shipping problems were in the past, they must be gone now. The cabinet has a nice shelf in the top where I place my pistols. The cabinet is large enough that I store my long guns in their cases. My extra long 870 Remington pump fits in the front of the cabinet. This has worked out very well for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (235) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GunenthusiastJim
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
11/5/2010

Customer review by tjmutt

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by tjmutt
by tjmutt

I was not expecting much for this price.This cabinet is a deal for the money.It is nice looking and all i had to do was put in the shelf and mount it to the wall.It probably would be a little tight for 10 guns,but i put 6 in it and they fit pretty well.also the lock is better than i expected,it would take a little work to get in to it.

Was this review helpful? (135) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjmutt
sunrise beach mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Exactly what I wanted
10/30/2010

Customer review by Browningman

4.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Browningman
by Browningman

For the money, it is a good value and functional. Probably won't keep out a professional thief, but well enough constructed to slow them down and make a lot of noise. I am pleased and have two of them.

Was this review helpful? (83) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Browningman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
great gun storage, looks nice very functional
8/27/2012

Customer review by tallguy89

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by tallguy89
by tallguy89

If you get one of these safes, Bolt it to the ground and wall at the same time. Remove the wall's base board so it will sit flush with the walls. Make sure the lock is close to a wall, doing this will make it difficult to pry the door open. I bolted it the floor using 5/16 lag shields and 5/16x2" lag bolts(not provided). i used the included bolts for the wall. It's a pretty good cabinet once its bolted down, nice glossy finish . 3 point locking mechanism works great the door is surprisingly sturdy. good for the money. if it's not bolted down, it can be man handled and opened up. would of given it 5 stars if it would have included all hard ware to mount it correctly to floor and wall.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tallguy89
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Measure your guns
10/24/2012

Customer review by MarkinHickoryNC

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by MarkinHickoryNC
by MarkinHickoryNC

Comes assembled with the exception of the interior shelf (4 screws), foam rubber serpentine rub rails (adhesive back), and floor pad. It took under 5 minutes to unpack and fully assemble. The only drawback is that, while it will hold 10 firearms, the 6 that are held along the back may only have a length of no more than 43 1/2 inches if you install the interior shelf. The two on either side are able to go to the top of the cabinet. NOTE: My keys came in a, not so transparent, plastic bag taped to the top of the plastic cover over the cabinet and were difficult to see when unpacking. I can see how someone would not see them and put them in the trash. That may account for the reviews saying that they didn't get keys with their cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (89) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkinHickoryNC
Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/3/2011

Customer review by heidenp

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by heidenp
by heidenp

this gun locker is perfect for my closet ! easy to secure to my wall and floor ,and easy to remove for trans port. holds my cleaning kit 4 rifles 1 shot gun 2 pistals and plenty of space on the shelf for my rounds!

Was this review helpful? (81) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heidenp
Seveirville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent buy
4/20/2012

Customer review by Frodo2b

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Frodo2b
by Frodo2b

Ordered this with trepidation as it is my first gun cabinet. I don't have a lot of expensive guns but I needed something to keep the grandkids safe. No, I put the rifles in it. Received in time allotted and when I got it home I was very, very impressed with the packaging. Stack-On does an excellent job of padding and protecting their product. No dents or scratches. No assembly required for this item and once I found the right location for it there was no problem installing it. Construction is very good, not flimsy as some I have seen. At $99 it was $20 cheaper than Dick's who had it on sale! Very pleased with the purchase on all fronts.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frodo2b
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for the money
2/24/2012

Customer review by Michael363

5.0 stars 2/24/2012 by Michael363
by Michael363

My storage cabinet came without scraches or dents, im please about that. I say for the money paid it was a good deal,it's better to have some type of gun storage than none at all. Thats part of being a responsible gun owner. I will be getting an actual gun safe in the future. Fits nicely in my closet.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michael363
Phoenix AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good deal for the money
8/3/2013

Customer review by Fatherof3NC

4.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Fatherof3NC
by Fatherof3NC

As many other reviewers have said, this is not really a safe--a dedicated wrong doer with an angle grinder or a crow bar could break this in less than 30 minutes. It is, however, perfect for keeping small fingers away from your weapons, and it at least looks sturdy enough to deter a lesser thief. Shipping was fast and free from walmart.com. I was scared when it showed up because other reviews had complained of dents, and the box had some dings. I was pleasantly surprised, however, when I unboxed it, and it was flawless. Be sure to look on top of the packaging when you open this to find the keys. If you opened the box upside down, it would be very easy to throw the keys out with the extra packing, which I suspect other reviewers who claim to have lost keys did. Fitting 10 long guns in this would be mighty tight, although theoretically possible--it will comfortably hold 6-7 firearms. For the price, you will not find a better way to keep your weapons secure from little hands.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fatherof3NC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY!!
6/3/2013

Customer review by spgfld1903A3

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by spgfld1903A3
by spgfld1903A3

I EXPECTED ALOT LESS...THIS SAFE IS GREAT..NOT TOP OF THE LINE, BUT IT AINT NO JOKE...I HAVE OLD RIFLES,(FLINTLOCKS,ETC. i HAD TO TAKE OUT THE SHELF TO FIT THEM ALL..I KNOW IT SAYS TEN GUNS, I HAVE 16 IN GUN SOCKS IN HERE...FITS GREAT...AAA+++

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spgfld1903A3
ANYTOWN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great compact storage cabinet.
1/3/2014

Customer review by martysullivan

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by martysullivan
by martysullivan

Arrived well package with good corner foam protection and plastic bag completely covering the cabinet. Minor ding due to cardboard penetration during shipment. Assembly was easy. Tip on the foam double backed tape, pull the entire white paper piece off the foam. Excellent quality on finish, strength of full length piano hinge. Three point locking is well designed with a good lock set. The capacity is listed as 10 guns but with standard sized rifles with scopes you would run out of floor space due fitting the stock butts. I put 3 on the side to accommodate long rifles and shotguns and 4 in the back below the shelf (about 43" clearance). Bought the 4 pistol stack-on pistol rack and it fits on half shelf. Fitting a 5" barreled automatic is tight because the rack footprint has about 3/4" clearance on the shelf depth. Very satisfied with the cabinet but it is compact in width and depth.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
martysullivan
Weston, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A good value
1/2/2011

Customer review by LBosley

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by LBosley
by LBosley

It's made by Stack-On in the USA and appears sturdy in every respect. Mine is a second safe, a coming-of-age present to my teenage son. While it won't keep out a real professional, my better, heavier, more expensive safe probably would not, either. It will keep out stupid kids, lightweight thieves, etc. If you have guns and small children you should have a gun safe, and at this price there is no reason to say that you can't afford one.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LBosley
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value For My Needs
6/12/2011

Customer review by IrishRover3

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by IrishRover3
by IrishRover3

Was looking for additional space to store long guns. This cabinet is easy to install and make ready. The "Site To Store" free shipping arrangement saved about 50% of the potential cost. It was delivered before the week was ended. In-Store personnel were very helpful. Packaging was secure and the cabinet contained only one barely noticeable minor "ding" on a botom corner. Interior space might comfortably fit 10 guns, if they are all the size of non-scoped .22's but 6 - 8 larger sized rifles and/or shotguns is a tight but reasonable expectation. This is not designed to replace a heavy-duty fire-proof safe, but fills the storeage need in a secure location.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrishRover3
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
All the concerns and reservations are gone
10/19/2013

Customer review by HappyDadWithGuns

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by HappyDadWithGuns
by HappyDadWithGuns

The main concerns and reservations I had about this gun cabinet were: 1)Condition. I was worried, because some reviewers complained about their products were delivered in a poor condition, with corners bashed in, and walls dented. However, mine arrived in a pristine form. The packaging has 2-inch thick protective foam paddings between all 8 corners of the gun cabinet and delivery box. 2)Quality. Given its low price, I had reservations about it's built qualities. After carefully inspecting mine, I am happy to find that, this product is very well built. The powder coat finish is beautiful, corners and joints are nice and smooth, and, the lock and door hinges are solid. I bought this Stack-On Sentinel 10-Gun Security Cabinet to keep my guns safely away from my little boy, just in case he or his friends get curious. I have no doubt this gun cabinet will do the job. I am not too concerned with whether or not, it would stand up to a determined and skilled burglar, nor the question, would it be fire proof. After all, I live in a low crime area, and if anything, I have insurance coverage. The storage capacity is adequate for my needs. I current have a Spike's Tactical LE AR15, a Mossberg 590 shotgun, a Crosman Nitro Venom air rifle with scope, and a Glock 19. Although I don't see how 10 rifles could fit in the cabinet, other than everyone being without a pistol grip and scope. However, I see no problem if I choose to add 3-4 guns to my current collection, while still using this security cabinet. If you live in Southern California, the gun cabinet would be shipped from Ontario/Bloomington. It arrives in just 2 day, even with the "Value Shipping" option selected. For $99, the value is simply unbeatable.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyDadWithGuns
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/30/2013

Customer review by XP100

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by XP100
by XP100

The shopping experience was excellent and delivery was very prompt. I now own 3 of these gun cabinets. The quality is good and it is a good value considering the cost of steel these days. The unit would be more usefull if the door was 4 inches wider. I do not understand why the door is so narrow as the cabinet could be built with a wider and taller door and not use more steel material. I find that for bolt action and semi-auto scoped rifles that one can only put 8 rifles in the unit in a staggered array of 4 on each side. This will allow proper clearances to prevent stacking the firearms against one another. I do however store 10 scoped, bolt action rifles in my cabinets. I find the foam rack is worthless and create my own wood racks to allow proper clearances for the scoped rifles. I converted one of these units into an 8 shelf unit for the storage of other shooting items and pistols. I wish an item like this was available from the manufacturer to save me some work. All in all; I am satisfied with my purchases of this item.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XP100
Seguin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So secure you can't even get in!
3/18/2012

Customer review by GFLakeChic

1.0 stars 3/18/2012 by GFLakeChic
by GFLakeChic

I saw this product on the site and it seemed to fit all my needs, mainly my price range and aesthetics. I ordered it to be site-to-store and I got it within a week, which was a week earlier than planned. YAY! Once I got it home and unpacked it, I realized the keys didn't work. I tried contacting the company to get my issue resolved but no one ever contacted me back. So needless to say that I returned in to my local walmart with no problem but will not be ordering anything else by Stack-On.

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GFLakeChic
Heber Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/26/2012

Customer review by dadofmoos

1.0 stars 3/26/2012 by dadofmoos
by dadofmoos

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT! Never had the chance to actually OPEN the cabinet because the Mfg. neglected to send the KEY! I was advised to submit two forms, (notarized), sales receipt, and $10.00 payment to get a key to my own cabinet!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadofmoos
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very Solid Gun safe
5/6/2014

Customer review by FordMechanic83

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by FordMechanic83
by FordMechanic83

Wow I ordered this gun safe yesterday and this morning at 10 A.M it was sitting on my door step. Walmart has the fastest shipping I have ever seen. I was kind of expecting the safe to be dented and scratched by all the reviews. However, the safe was in excellent condition. Not a single scratch or dent on the safe. It also comes assembled all you have to do is throw on four bolts for the shelf inside the safe and mount it to the wall. This safe is actually pretty sturdy. This is not a flimsy safe at all. I mounted this to my studs in my closet. If someone wants to steal this safe it is going to take some energy to steal and that at cost no safe I could buy would prevent someone from stealing my contents. This safe would take a saw, crowbar, or something pretty serious to break into it. I am very pleased with this safe and it was $50 dollars cheaper at Walmart then Bass Pro. Thanks Walmart for such a great safe and protecting my firearms.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FordMechanic83
Cape Coral, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
10 Gun Security Cabinet
5/10/2011

Customer review by safeman99

4.0 stars 5/10/2011 by safeman99
by safeman99

The cabinet was delivered by Fedex and there where no nicks on the box, however, there were minor scratches on the corners and there was a dent inside the cabinet. I decided to keep the cabinet, it is actually not bad looking. I also installed a hasp lock on the outside with a second lock for additional security. All in all a good value but Walmart should take better control of deliver and insist that all their safes and cabinets arrive undamaged.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
safeman99
North East
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/16/2012

Customer review by THISICKNAMETHINGISDUMB

2.0 stars 4/16/2012 by THISICKNAMETHINGISDUMB
by THISICKNAMETHINGISDUMB

Not a 10 gun as advertised, maybe a 5 or 6 rifle cabinet. light, can be forced open with pry bar or flat head scre driver. Top shelf, large ebough for; -100 rounds .308 - 200 rounds 5.56 - 40 rounds buck shot 3 ar10 mags / 3 ar15 mags I have stored in the cabinet very tight, ugly stacked over packed; 1 ar15 1 ar10 2 12 gauge, short home defense 1 HK91 1 stoger 12 gauge field gun GOOD for the price but not good for a 10 gun cabinet REALITY; overall a fair priced 5 gun cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THISICKNAMETHINGISDUMB
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 809 total reviews
1-20 of 809 reviews