Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 232 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

232 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

232 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
61
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 stars
46
1-20 of 199 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews
Good phone, DON'T BUY IT OFF THE STRAIGHT TALK WEB
2/18/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 2/18/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The phone itself is a very good phone, pretty durable and has plenty of features for someone not wanting a smartphone. HOWEVER, DO NOT buy off the Straight Talk website. They charged my card THREE TIMES for one purchase. I HOPE they'll fix the problem. You cannot understand a WORD any of the customer service people say, nor can they understand you. The right had does not know what the left hand is doing, as they have NO CLUE about any online transactions. Buy the phone from the store, or ask walmart to order it for you. DO NOT buy it from straight talk's site. DON'T DO IT!!!! lol (reason I posted on here is because when you look up this phone, this is one of the first websites people see. Wanted to warn people)

Was this review helpful? (559) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BASIC, good value
10/2/2010

Customer review by J30G

5.0 stars 10/2/2010 by J30G
by J30G

I use the $30 plan, more than meets my needs. I put a 2gigabyte micro SD card in, and for some reason, the phone didn't recognize it. . . then one day like magic; the icon for the card appeared on the screen. If anyone has a "RELIABLE" source for accessories for this phone please post the http:// address in this column. I'm still looking for a dedicated USB cable for around $5.00; (I ordered one from cellphoneshop.com and it turned out to be the wrong one.) I don't want one of the cheap, one-size-fits-all commonly sold for $15. There is a lot of mis-use of terminology when talking about the connector on this phone: It is properly termed a "Micro, USB B, four pin." NOT a mini, but even the accessory shops can't keep the terms straight. I ordered an extra battery from cellphoneshop.com, they were the only ones I found who had an exact replacement 900mAh battery, price was good. I am hoping that once I get a cable, and get it hooked to my computer; I'll be able to play with installing a different Browser. The phone comes with an "Edge" browser, and I haven't had a lot of success with it, some webpages use up all available memory, and the phone exits the browser. I did find a nice little tool called "Skweezer" (skweezer.com); which cuts all but the neccessary data out of pages, but it's not perfect. I am hoping to be able to install the "Opera" Browser, and get the phone to use the Micro-SD card for cache memory in opening web pages. I am still looking for a set of earbuds with a micro USB B four pin connector. If anyone has found these on the web, or the USB cable, please post the URL. Overall, I am happy with this phone and the $30 a month plan. To clear up a slight bit of confusion about what towers these Straigh Talk phones operate on; if the phone model ends with a "C" it uses CDMA technology and uses the Verizon system which does not allow Roaming. If the phone model ends with a "G" it uses ATT/T-Mobile systems, and Allows free Roaming, which is why I chose this model. If I were going to spend $45 a month I would have gone with the T-Mobile TAP instead of this phone and the unlimited cards. Stay in touch if we can help each other!

Was this review helpful? (357) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
J30G
Greenville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome phone!
1/17/2011

Customer review by Musicfreak88

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Musicfreak88
by Musicfreak88

I've had this phone for quite a while and I can honestly say it's been the most reliable phone I've ever owned including outstanding service. I've rarely ever dropped a call since Straight Talk rides on both the Verizon and At&t networks (CDMA and GSM)... so the nationwide coverage is extremely expansive. As for the phone, it was a breeze to swap my previous one for this one and It was super easy to set up. Since switching from a Sprint contract I've saved around 470 dollars from using Straight Talks unlimited plan. Get this phone!

Was this review helpful? (236) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Musicfreak88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Halfway decent phone
12/14/2010

Customer review by wallymanZX2

3.0 stars 12/14/2010 by wallymanZX2
by wallymanZX2

Decent phone for the money. I got it to replace my Virgin Mobile "Shuttle" that's 2 years old & showing it's age. I've had it for going on 3 months. It's a GSM phone using At&t network, which is the reason why I bought it. Sprint (Virgin uses Sprint) & Verizon are horrible around here. I've never had a signal problem with this phone, unlike the Shuttle that seemed to never work anywhere indoors. I have had troubles with this phone though. After downloading one ringtone & one graphic from the Straighttalk website it has a tendency to give a weird error message, "too many applications or memory full". Powering the phone off and on solves the problem, but that's not very convenient when you want to take a picture. I've found that this happens less if I just power the phone off every couple of days. Other times my graphic will disappear, it will go back to the default graphic all by itself, I have to reload it manually. Also the MP3 function takes FOREVER to load and play songs from my memory card from the Shuttle (it's full, 500 songs), takes up to 3 minutes sometimes, that's no joke. Pros: great signal, excellent call quality, easy to use/navigate, and you can't beat the Straightalk plans. Cons: Too many glitches with the software/features, be wary. I wish it had the voice command dialing like the Shuttle had (It actually worked very well)

Was this review helpful? (168) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallymanZX2
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/18/2011

Customer review by Memphisharry

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by Memphisharry
by Memphisharry

I read a few reviews before I purchased the 620.I'm glad I got it !!!....Small,compact and everything I expected.True you need to order the headset to hear the FM radio and listen to the MP3.I lucked out.....My BlueAnt Q2 bluetooth has the same connection for the battery charger (It has a USB connection) and I use it for my data cable to upload songs to the phone.I listen to my music on my bluetooth.The sound is great.I recorded my own ring tone ;)....Once you master the buttons you are ok.The internet is ok (sort of basic)... Great phone,great price.

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Memphisharry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's Decent
11/22/2010

Customer review by PaleDragon

3.0 stars 11/22/2010 by PaleDragon
by PaleDragon

I saw a lot of things in the reviews saying that the phone was good and in the questions is suggested it could do Instant Messaging, which is the main reason I got the phone. It can't do instant messaging, but it's a decent phone. You can hear the other person, they can hear you. It sends texts and pictures. The main issues I have with it are as follows: - It can only send texts to three people at one time - It can't save pictures sent to you for you to check later. Say if you're at work or asleep and receive a picture or video you can't open it, it won't allow it after a certain time limit has been reached. - It's picture messaging can fail quite often. - I'm having a hard time getting it to work directly with mytinyphone.com or any other sites that would send ring tones or pictures. - I had a hard time connecting it to the PC without a Micro SD card. Other than all that I suppose it's a decent phone. I would recommend it for those who want something for basic use. But if you want the more high tech options I recommend dishing out a little more money for the touch screen or the qwerty key pad type phones.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaleDragon
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Hassle, No Customer Service Reps!
11/20/2010

Customer review by AME83

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by AME83
by AME83

Heard about StraightTalk on a tv commercial, researched and read reviews online because I wasn't sold on it yet...I can't believe how easy and straightforward this is (hence the name). I came home hoping I didn't make a bad purchase, but followed the easy activation directions and activated my phone online in a few minutes. It was too easy! I had a Blackberry with all the works and a fancy plan that I was overpaying for. This phone is great. I talk a little and text moderately, sometimes a lot, so it works for me. Coverage is great here in the city of Chicago. I'm happy with my purchase but more happy that I'm saving a TON of money. I was paying $90 a month for "regional" coverage...I'm paying $30/month with StraightTalk for nationwide coverage! That's a HUGE annual savings! If you can't decide, do what I did...I left my current phone service on for a few more days until I saw if I liked StraightTalk. A few days later, I dropped my wallet-abusing phone service like a bad habit, which, really, is what it was.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AME83
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good phone
9/2/2010

Customer review by Lovestoshopfordeals

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Lovestoshopfordeals
by Lovestoshopfordeals

i just got this phone today, i switched from verizon and the web and text are so much faster!!! i would highly recommend this phone to anyone that needs a cheaper phone bill!!! i even get signal where verizon i didnt!! very good phone and service

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovestoshopfordeals
Sterlington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG 690G GETS 5 STAR RATING!
11/15/2010

Customer review by LoveLGPhones

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by LoveLGPhones
by LoveLGPhones

Just got this phone with Straight Talk and not only did my cell bill drop from $158 to $45 per month but this phone met my expectations and beyond. Yes you can get custom mp3 ringtones & wallpapers. The memory card slot is there even though it is very hard to get the back piece off to access it. Ringers are loud and the screen resolution is nice & big making web browsing a breeze. I had to play with this phone for about 4 hours to figure out how to operate and the manual does little to help you. Due to its slippery feel...I would suggest going to Ebay and purchasing a faceplate to avoid damage by dropping. I live in a rural area but I get great reception as this phone uses the ATT network....not VERIZON. My phone also has 2 email addresses (one for text messages and one for Picture/video messages). This phone gets a 5 star rating all the way across the board!

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveLGPhones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Signal if you get AT&T or T-Mobile service.
8/10/2010

Customer review by Lowery02

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by Lowery02
by Lowery02

It should be noted that this is a GSM phone, as apposed to the other CDMA Straight Talk phones. This means that this particular phone uses AT&T or T-Mobile Network towers instead of Verizon. That said, this is a slick little phone and Straight Talk is an excellent bang for your buck!

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lowery02
Ashtabula, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 100 contributor
You get what you pay for.
4/7/2011

Customer review by KristinLee123

3.0 stars 4/7/2011 by KristinLee123
by KristinLee123

If you're used to popular styles of phones this one is a little less than average. No side buttons so you can't easily change the volume, but also means you won't pocket dial people. It's got great service, and the battery lasts forever! Even comes with some fun games. It's great for a new cell user and okay for others.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KristinLee123
Fredonia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Savings
4/1/2011

Customer review by Smithers1087

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Smithers1087
by Smithers1087

My aunt in NYC has been unemployed for 4 months now and was really looking to cut down on her phone bill. I told her about straight talk which I have been using for over a year now and she decided to give it a try even though her contract wasn’t up and had to pay a fee to cancel. The savings actually outweighed the cancellation fee and with the unlimited she can call and email for interviews and all that without worrying about going over or anything.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smithers1087
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do Not Order from Website
6/5/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/5/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The phone I ordered from the Website arrive 5-7 days after I ordered it in January. Worked fine until a Sunday afternoon in May when I went to place a phone call the screen was dead. The phone still functioned but obviously you need the screen for a lot of information. Now here is where the story gets interesting, phoned customer service using my straight talk phone but was informed that I would have to call back from another line so they could "troubleshoot" the phone. I explained the difficulty this would cause me because I don't have another phone line and would have to borrow someones phone in order to do this and this was not possible at this time. I also explained that I had turned the phone on and off, removed the battery, placed it on the charger and all of the other things that their "troubleshooting" involved. No matter still had to call back on another line. Next day, having acquired another phone I once again called customer service and proceeded with the "troubleshooting" which, surprise, consisted of turning the phone off and back on, removing the battery and placing it on the charger. After this it was determined that my phone was indeed defective and that I would be Fed-ex'd a package to return my phone in. I would not be given a replacement phone until the defective phone was received by them. I explained to them that this was my sole means of communication since I am self employed and had my home phone disconnected a while back to cut down on expenses. At is point I offered to simply purchase another phone as an "upgrade" and simply have my number transferred to the new phone as it seems you can do via internet but was informed that since this was a refurb I would have to send the phone in to rectify the situation. I reluctantly did so. Wait, it only gets better. Sent phone on 5/20, received package on 5/31 was out of town that week so didn't get it until 6/4. OK, so far so good right? just out a couple of weeks of service no biggie there, right? WRONG! but I digress. Let me add that during this time my credit card was billed for a new month of service (on 5/25). Upon opening the replacement phone and charging it properly, I proceeded to carefully follow the printed instructions included with the phone, imagine my surprise when this did not work. Off to borrow phone in order to call customer service (insert obligatory hold time here). Ah ha, I'm finally speaking to someone. I carefully explain entire problem. give the rep the ticket number, SIM card number, serial number, name, phone #, billing address and pet's name (No, I'm not kidding). After approx 22 minutes I was informed my replacement phone was activated and ready to go.......I said thank you and thought to myself, thank goodness this whole ordeal is finally over.......once again WRONG! I dialed the phone I had borrowed with the replacement phone and guess what.....Caller ID shows an entirely new phone number. I immediately dialed the service number and (insert wait time here) when I was finally connected again explained the problem, gave all the numbers, SIM, serial, old phone #, new phone # the whole 9 yards. Explained that my phone number is very important, never intended to be reassigned another number, have countless contacts, business cards, stationary, etc. that are all tied to this phone number that I've had for the last 8 years. Was informed that their was no way to guarantee that I could retrive my "now old" number. Mind you that less than half an hour has passed since their service dept., inactivated my "old" number. It took a lot of effort to not go ballistic at this point, keep in mind that my account has always been paid and in good standing despite not having a working phone since 5/8 and was billed/paid again via auto refill while the phone was in their possesion. Have spent over 3 hours of actual phone time with service so far over the las 2 days trying to get this cleared up.....spoken with 5 different tech's going through the entire explanations, numbers, etc., etc. with each one (there is no way to get the same person twice) and still have no phone. The lastest is they are going to send me another SIM card that is supposed to clear it up, will it? I have serious, serious doubts and I just hope I have some kind of service by the next bill date. It may be different if you purchase through a store but beware of the online service, it is horrible and that is being kind.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works for me
2/8/2011

Customer review by SunshineBlue

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by SunshineBlue
by SunshineBlue

I recently purchased the Samsung cell phone offered through Straight Talk and I was extremely disappointed. Once I activated that phone and added the service minutes, it became apparent that I didn't have any signal on my phone anywhere in my house. I was upset about this because even though it was the cheapest phone, I still spent good money on it. So I returned the phone to Walmart in exchange for LG 620. I had my receipt and the original packaging and they were very helpful. I only had to pay the difference between the two phones. Once I came home, I called Straight Talk customer service and talked to a representative who help activate my new phone AND transfer my old airtime minutes to my new phone. After activation, I was afraid that I wouldn't have any service on this phone, and to my surprise I have signal bars all throughout my house. Needless to say (but I'm going to say it anyway), I was extremely happy about this. The phone isn't a fancy phone (such as all the smartphones that are available), but for simple calling and texting, it works just fine. I hope this review has helped others in making their decision.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineBlue
Beaufort, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the service and money spent
2/2/2011

Customer review by f250jbh

4.0 stars 2/2/2011 by f250jbh
by f250jbh

After being with ATT for 2 yrs ...I will not go back . I live in a semi rural area and get better service than i did on the ATT network The "G" series is the best for my area (northern Calif) ... for the cost on line at wall mart and the 30.00 for 1000 min it the best for me !! ATT tried to get me to stay and just did not have the best deal... The phone has so many features compared to the FREE NOKIA thing that i am so glad i switched !!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
f250jbh
northern Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
8/17/2010

Customer review by SVWS

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by SVWS
by SVWS

The phone works for me. I really only needed talk and text but this has that and more just in case I need it. I really love it and find it easy to use. The keys are big and the font is large enough. Great phone for the price and for those that need bigger keys. Great so far.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SVWS
Memphis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This phone is great.
3/5/2011

Customer review by sherie102

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by sherie102
by sherie102

I bought this phone a few days ago and I just love it. I use to have a contract with tmobile and my cell phone bill was over $170 a month and I did not get signal in a lot of places. Well this phone is a basic phone and it is easy to use. The phone has mp3 player and fm radio which you will have to buy an adapter but you can buy one from a dollar store or go to amazon. I get signal everywhere I go. This phone is very light and you can also get ringtones from the straight talk website. I love straight talk for the great service and the great price of $45 a month.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sherie102
Bossier City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For the price....
3/30/2011

Customer review by handyman45

4.0 stars 3/30/2011 by handyman45
by handyman45

Both my parents have this phone with the straight talk plan and for the price, it is a great deal. They have it with the 30 dollar a month plan that gives them 1000 minutes and 1000 texts. Pretty good deal because they used to pay 70 dollars each with their old contract phones!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
handyman45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great just has some setbacks
6/27/2011

Customer review by djspark

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by djspark
by djspark

I bought this phone as a quick replacement for my other lg phone that all of a sudden died. It was an lg 210 or 220 I believe.Everything works great,except for a few features. It plays music,video, fm radio. My older phone had speech commands, this one doesn't. Also, the t9 text input method does not work really well. Trying to text someone you have to put it on only letters(abc input method).The t9 input method will only show one word and it is totally off from what you are trying to say. Maybe I should have read the directions on it because it does not give you the option to scroll down a list of potential words like my other one did. Trying to put in and remove the microsd card is hard to do without breaking the metal piece that holds the memory card down. You have to put the card behind the battery, which is a slight pain when trying to sync music or videos to your memory card through the computer. Overall with the few setbacks I mentioned it is still a great phone, I even dropped it a few times on accident and it still works.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djspark
waco,texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/24/2011

Customer review by bevpod

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by bevpod
by bevpod

Coming from a go-phone everything is easier and faster. Easy to use. Very happy. Great price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bevpod
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews