Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

71 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

71 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
18
1-20 of 66 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Good Phone
9/8/2010

Customer review by leebo130

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by leebo130
by leebo130

I disagree with the other reviewer. I got this phone as a response to overpriced and undelivered plans from the big companies. I was skeptical of the cell plan (not LG, I know they're pretty good)... Anyways, I got the 1000 minute/txt plan, and am satisfied and pleasantly surprised. I have had a few missed calls, but have received the majority of them-and I live 2 blocks from the US border!

Was this review helpful? (87) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leebo130
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value for the money
9/18/2010

Customer review by 1Hollywood

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by 1Hollywood
by 1Hollywood

I've had this phone and unlimited service for about a year now and I love it. Every time I hear someone complain about their phone service and how expensive it is and how they never seem to have enough minutes I tell them about Straight Talk. When I tell them what a great deal it is they are always stunned. There is no other service that is this good for this low of a price. I've had Net10, Cricket (which was a joke) and other plans that I had to get tied up in a contract. Hands down, this is the best. I wish I'd spent a bit more on the phone and gotten one with a keyboard because I text a lot but since I didn't pay much for this phone I don't have a problem getting something else and trashing or giving this one away. I've even dropped this phone many times and it still works like new. Great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (81) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Hollywood
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Investment
1/2/2011

Customer review by TechyGyrl2011

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by TechyGyrl2011
by TechyGyrl2011

RESPONSE to :NurseHeather87 if you type the email address in the box where the phone number goes when creating a text message it will send it to that email adress and if you send it to yourself you will see that you have an email address that is associated with your phone #. You can use that to respond to your friends and it will come directly to your phone as a text. I recently bought this phone about three days ago because I had ended a contract and wanted to a different route in terms of budget. So far I have found this phone to be all that I expected and more for the price. I really am happy with the unlimited voice text and data. I am glad I gave straight talk a try. I will be upgrading to a smartphone soon now that I trust the service.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechyGyrl2011
Shreveport, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
haha
11/15/2010

Customer review by italina19

4.0 stars 11/15/2010 by italina19
by italina19

i own one i dropped mine so many time even in the toilet and after all them times it still works lol its a amazing that it lasts throught what i did to it.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
italina19
central, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Basic Phone
9/22/2010

Customer review by NurseHeather87

4.0 stars 9/22/2010 by NurseHeather87
by NurseHeather87

Ok, I love the newer phones out there, I won't lie. But I have had the LG420G for a month now, and I'm very pleased with the phone. I wanted something cheap but reliable and that's exactly what I got. The only downfall I have found with this phone is that you are not able to email anyone or anything. I had pics on my phone that I wanted on my computer, but the only way that is possible with this phone, is to get a bluetooth connecter USB drive (about $30). Other than that, I am happy with the phone and StraightTalk service.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NurseHeather87
Ravenswood, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good loud rings
9/14/2010

Customer review by DoNotNeedAllTheExtras

4.0 stars 9/14/2010 by DoNotNeedAllTheExtras
by DoNotNeedAllTheExtras

I also disagree with the other review. I have had cell phones I had trouble hearing but this phone can be heard very clearly. The only drawback I have found is that the screen is very small. This phone has been very easy to use and learn. If you don't want a lot of extras, and I didn't, this is the phone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoNotNeedAllTheExtras
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very unhappy with this phone
1/20/2011

Customer review by pixieperfect

1.0 stars 1/20/2011 by pixieperfect
by pixieperfect

I have had this phone for five months, my girlfriend also has the same one. I do not like it at all it takes horrible pictures, my memory is always low, you can only set one ringtone for all messages (that may not matter to some but it does to me), when you receive a text the ringtone rings for like 2 seconds if it rings at all,it will only receive certain picture messages, it shuts off by itself, and the screen goes fuzzy with boxes all the time, and many more flaws. Dont get me wrong i love the straight talk service but this phone is ridiculous. i would not recommend this phone for anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pixieperfect
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone for the money
2/4/2011

Customer review by Flipper1258

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Flipper1258
by Flipper1258

I ordered my LG420G on WalMart.com, and opted for site-to-store shipping. It arrived BEFORE the time it was supposed to. To set up service was easy beyond my belief. I've made and received calls, texts, and photo messages, all without problems. So far, my experience strengthens my opinion of LG phones, and has given me great faith in StraightTalk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flipper1258
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
4/16/2011

Customer review by Froggy1030

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Froggy1030
by Froggy1030

This phone is pretty good for the price. There is only one thing that I don't like, the message alert does not let you know you have a message after the initial ring, but other than that, this is a great little phone for the price. I was hesitant at first to buy this phone, but a friend of mine loved hers, so I thought I'd give it a try. I mean, it's not like I'm spending a fortune on it. If I didn't like it, I didn't have to renew the service. I LOVE IT! I'm thinking about getting the six month plan. I would recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Froggy1030
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone
3/1/2011

Customer review by sufralo

4.0 stars 3/1/2011 by sufralo
by sufralo

So far, I love this phone! The service is great. The only thing I don't like is the font is small-but its a small phone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sufralo
LaFayette, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent product
10/25/2010

Customer review by PegasusLady

4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by PegasusLady
by PegasusLady

Over all this appears to be a pretty good phone. I was a little disappointed that I don't seem to be able to accept photo or ringtone messages. But aside from that I really like this phone. It is a very basic phone and that is what appealled to me in the first place. I don't care for all the "gadgetry" on many of the newer phones.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PegasusLady
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
overall pretty good phone for the price
4/22/2011

Customer review by Brandonandjustinsmom

4.0 stars 4/22/2011 by Brandonandjustinsmom
by Brandonandjustinsmom

I had the lg290c before this one, I like all the options on this one better as far as being able to blue tooth my ring tones and such, but the memory is always low on this one, if you do alot of picture sending or web browsing, i wouldn't recommend it, but overall it's seems good for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandonandjustinsmom
pulaski, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of Trash
9/1/2010

Customer review by sirmike49

1.0 stars 9/1/2010 by sirmike49
by sirmike49

I would not even buy this phone again for a paper weight, It's a great phone if you want to hide from people. You might get to hear one or 2 rings Before it goes to your voicemail. So you'd always have an excuse for not answering. Funny part is I"ve been sitting at home had it less than a week, and missed so many calls.. But if you want to sit and watch the screen light up so you'll know your getting a phone call, But like I told straight talk I have better things to do with my life than sit and stare at a phone waiting on it to ring. Avoid the headache, Don't buy this phone! But the general use of the phone is pretty good I can hear the caller and they can hear me, But LG needs to work on the ringing when its turned up as loud as it goes and you can't hear it, there is issues.

Was this review helpful? (13) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sirmike49
Muncie,IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Straight Talk Flip Phone
11/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The LG 420G is the best flip phone on Straight Talk. I have had them all, and this is the best one. The features are good and the software seems to be up to date with today's technology. The ringer is loud when set to outdoor but the ear piece volume is average. The screen text (i.e. date, time, signal strength) is a little small, but life goes on. The alarm clock feature worked fine for me. Never had to restart phone, as some reviewers prior have stated. Bluetooth sound quality is great. My only problem with the phone is that it is slow to respond when I flip it open. If I have a message or missed call there is a delay from the time I flip it open to the time it notifies me on the screen. Not a deal breaker for me, just annoying. Overall, If you want a GSM flip from ST. The LG 420G is your best bet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Decatur, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Price is right
3/4/2012

Customer review by Ruth413

4.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Ruth413
by Ruth413

I puchased this phone for my husband after discontinuing service with another, more expensive carrier. He likes the simple, uncomplicated phones as he runs heavy equipment and needs nothing fancy to use on the job. This phone works great and has a long battery life. There are two minor things about this phone that he doesn't like. The phone has a very slick finish all over it, and is very hard to keep ahold of. The other thing is that it isn't the easiest phone to open when you have to answer a call.I actually put stickers on it to try and get some kind of surface grip. Other than that, it's a pretty decent phone for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ruth413
Glenns Ferry, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not an upgrade, but downgrade from LG600G
3/22/2011

Customer review by MarkeyF

1.0 stars 3/22/2011 by MarkeyF
by MarkeyF

Title says most. This cell phone is supposed to be an upgrade from the LG600G that just died on me. So I bought the UP-grade. No such luck. The LG420 is not any better in any regard as far as I can tell. they keep filtering but suffice it to say this is not the best phone you can get for 20 dollars. The alarm feature is totally messed up, research it. The vibrate then ring setting is gone. The ring tones are terrible. The font size is smaller and harder to read. The screen is no better than before. The phone is just not better for an upgrade, actually somewhat worse than before. Don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkeyF
Boston, MA USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than some
3/6/2011

Customer review by Ridgeman47

4.0 stars 3/6/2011 by Ridgeman47
by Ridgeman47

The phone has a good signal everywhere I've been since I purchased it. The thing I like most is the charge capacity. I've had the phone for three weeks and have only charged it three times since the initial charge. The downside is viewing the screen outside. It is virtually impossibe to see anything in the sunlight. I previousyl had a Motorolla and never experienced a problem with this. The second problem I have is opening it. It's a flip phone and it closes so tight you have to get a fingernail under the bottom to open it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ridgeman47
Glasgow, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/15/2010

Customer review by cdsable

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by cdsable
by cdsable

The phone is a reasonable price. It met my expectations. I am pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cdsable
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREATTTTT
11/11/2010

Customer review by happyldk

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by happyldk
by happyldk

I LOVE THIS PHONE,YOU CAN GO TO MYXER .COM AND GET FREE RINGTONES AND WALLPAPERS,RINGER IS LOW BUT PUT ON OUTDOORS AND IT GETS LOUD AND BETTER!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyldk
ASHEBORO NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
3/3/2011

Customer review by alblogg

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by alblogg
by alblogg

This is a great service for the price and no long term contracts. If you don't like the service just don't buy any more service cards and do away with it all together. The only problem I have had is when you have to call for any problems you are having because there is some what of a language barrier with most of the Reps other than that great phone plan

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alblogg
Marion NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews