Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 143 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

143 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

143 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 stars
17
1-20 of 129 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
Great Phone!!
1/18/2011

Customer review by James19660

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by James19660
by James19660

I have had this phone for 2 months. So far it has worked excellent for me. I like the fact that there is no contract. $45 for unlimited talk, text and mobile web is a great value. Phone reception is great in all the areas that I travel on a regular basis. It’s small which makes its easy to put into your pants pocket. FYI, this is a GSM phone which uses a SIM CARD. Open the back cover, remove the battery. Look at your “SIM CARD” if the card reads “SIMT5” you are using the T-Mobile Network. If the card reads “SIMC4” you are using AT&T Network.

Was this review helpful? (84) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
James19660
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile
11/17/2010

Customer review by Rustybuket

3.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Rustybuket
by Rustybuket

Not the best not the worst. It works ok. Read all the reviews and you will know what to expect. Read the refill card info. It does say you will lose remaining time by refilling early. I buy a card and dont refill till the phone stops working. It works great for texting. Ringer volume is not great, but how loud do you really need it. I do some light emailing through my windows live account. It works ok for that. Using it for updating facebook works good too. I also use it for googling restraunts and everything else under the sun. Reading the news and checking the weather and whatever else.

Was this review helpful? (110) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rustybuket
northern michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a GSM phone
8/10/2010

Customer review by Lowery02

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by Lowery02
by Lowery02

There are two different Samsung qwerty keyboard phones for $99.99 from straight talk..THIS one uses GSM service. The other uses CDMA service. That said, this is a nice little qwerty slider and Straight Talk is an excellent bang for your buck!

Was this review helpful? (65) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lowery02
Ashtabula, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 100 contributor
So Far So Good!
9/28/2010

Customer review by jones036

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by jones036
by jones036

I was looking to replace my 7 year old phone and to get a better plan. I read several reviews and talked to several people about StraightTalk. I love the phone. I think it's 1 G, however, it meets my needs. I can check both my work and personal email and access Facebook and Twitter. I have not used the MP3 yet. I also have great coverage. I've had my phone for almost a month and I haven't dropped a call. I am satisfied. It took about 12 hours to port my number online, but I did it a night and by morning my phone was working.

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jones036
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great phone
11/22/2010

Customer review by Lovemynewphone

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Lovemynewphone
by Lovemynewphone

My step son ordered the phone and service 4 months ago and he just told me that he got better reception 5 hours away from home, than any of his friends did and they have contracts with large companies! I also ordered the phone for my son who has no problems with his phone at all. I love this new one!! I love the keyboard.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovemynewphone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great phone
8/31/2010

Customer review by SomeTechGuy38

5.0 stars 8/31/2010 by SomeTechGuy38
by SomeTechGuy38

Phone is great and works as expected. Straight Talk phone number models that end with a "G" are GSM phones, use a SIM card and operate on either AT&T or T-mobile. All other Straight Talk phone models that end in "C" operate on Verizons Prepaid network without roaming. Not exactly the same coverage as Verizon Prepaid.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomeTechGuy38
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Impressed!!
10/6/2010

Customer review by FrugelShopper55

5.0 stars 10/6/2010 by FrugelShopper55
by FrugelShopper55

I was working on trying to reduce bills and decided to check out prepaid cell phones. I am very impressed with my new Samsung T401g slide out phone. I like some of the features better than my old Verizon phone. The price for service is fantastic - $45 for unlimited talk, text and web. I have service everywhere and the call quality is great. Love the Qwerty keyboard for texting. Would highly recommend this phone and service to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugelShopper55
Brick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal- Half the price of U$ Cellular
8/26/2010

Customer review by Flatback1986

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by Flatback1986
by Flatback1986

This is a great value. I switched after 15 years with US Cellular. 1000 minutes,1000 text, 30 Mb of data for $34.00 tax included with Nation wide calling ( free long distance ) per 30 days. I would recommend having a credit card to auto pay every 30 days to prevent phone from shutting off, you have to call customer service to do this but its worth the extra time. Verizon's network has a few dead spots like Urbana , Iowa ( check the map ) but for half the price of US Cellular , it saves me $480 per year. Wal-mart has limited phone selections but again for the price who cares- it send and receives calls and text messages fine. NO more over charge fee's. If you talk more than 16 hour per month get the unlimited text , talk and data plan for $48 tax included. If you don't have money to waste get this phone service!! You have to buy a straight talk phone $29 to $129 to use this plan- Also, Have Wal-mart set the phone up for you, they do all the work and it take about 15 minutes .

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flatback1986
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not run off Verizon towers!
10/31/2010

Customer review by happyhomeschoolers

1.0 stars 10/31/2010 by happyhomeschoolers
by happyhomeschoolers

We recently found out that all the Straight Talk phones with SIM cards come preloaded with the ability to work off of either AT&T or T-Mobile towers, and you won't know until you either activate it or call them with the serial number. This was a bit frustrating as we just cancelled our T-mobile because of lack of reception, and the Straight Talk phone we got came preloaded with T-mobile. *grrrrrrr* After talking with the Straight Talk reps, we discovered that the only phones that run on Verizon towers are the ones without SIM cards. We have returned the Samsung 401C, and are in the process of waiting for our Samsung R451C to be delivered. Bottom line: if you want a phone that uses Verizon, then you'll need to make sure it doesn't have a SIM card. This can be done by calling their customer service and asking for a list of phones with a SIM.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyhomeschoolers
Marysville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well worth the money...much cheaper than contract.
10/8/2010

Customer review by nutsnbolts76

4.0 stars 10/8/2010 by nutsnbolts76
by nutsnbolts76

Nice phone for talk and text, but the browser is very basic and slow. Some of my ringtones sound different on this phone than any other I've used, but I can live with that.(Its hard to explain what it does with the ringtones.) Overall, I would definitely recommend this phone and Straight Talk service to anyone looking for lots of talk and text at a good price. This phone works on the GSM network such as AT&T and T-Mobile. We also have the Samsung r355c which works on the CDMA network such as Verizon and nTelos. It is a really nice phone. I like it better than the T401g. Straight Talk's CDMA phones work on the Verizon network, but I've noticed that this phone will not work in certain areas where Verizon will work. This is probably because Verizon "rents" those towers from a smaller cell phone company and Straight Talk is not authorized to use those towers through Verizon. I live in Louisa, KY and the phone will work there and everywhere that I've been north, east, and west of Louisa. If I travel south of Louisa, I lose a signal very soon and the phone has no service in a huge area of south-eastern KY. Apparently, Straight Talk will not work on Appalachian Wireless's towers (CDMA) who serves much of south-eastern KY.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nutsnbolts76
Louisa, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Straight Talk
10/29/2010

Customer review by SayYestoUnionShops

4.0 stars 10/29/2010 by SayYestoUnionShops
by SayYestoUnionShops

Got this phone throught the walmart website. Pick the free shipping to the store, it took a little longer to get the product but it's free. Took it home and charge it overnite. I port my old number to the Straight Talk phone using their website. It took a few hours to port. I did the auto payment for the unlimited 45 per month. I get full bars, able to text and surf the web. The thing wrong with the straight talk plan is that it does not allow for streaming from the internet.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SayYestoUnionShops
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/25/2010

Customer review by KatinKy

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by KatinKy
by KatinKy

Bought these phones for my Son and his girlfriend and they are extremely happy. They spent hours downloading ringtones for them. :-)

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatinKy
LaGrange, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My New Samsung t401g
11/17/2010

Customer review by ClericalGirl

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by ClericalGirl
by ClericalGirl

I love everything about the phone and service except, I cannot figure out how to play video's from the web and I cannot find a snap on cover for it. It is a super value saving me $35 a month for more and better services than I had with ATT.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClericalGirl
Webb City, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It worked for a while.
4/21/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/21/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First of all, I've had this phone for 4 months now. It has a good battery span. That's the only good thing i can say about it. Now the con's, About a week ago my phone started turning off by itself when i make a call or try to use the keyboard to text. I have to constantly take the battery out and restart the phone. Sometimes picture and txt messages have delays. Also, i called customer service about my phone they tried to reset it and of course it does nothing. Now i have to get a new one because now its getting worse. I can't hold a phone conversation without it turning completely off. What a waste of money. PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Norcross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Good Phone
10/31/2010

Customer review by dannyt123

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by dannyt123
by dannyt123

does everything my wife needs - web, text, email, and and of course phone

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dannyt123
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall Good Cell Phone
6/26/2011

Customer review by Bigredtankguy

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by Bigredtankguy
by Bigredtankguy

This phone was better than I was expecting. I switched from Verizon due to the savings. I got this phone just over a month ago. Pros: Sturdy (quick solid slide, not loose or cheap feeling, survived one hard drop on ground already with no trouble.) Battery life is good. Full key board is nice for texting (but buttons are a little small for large fingers.) Easy to check used minutes on $30 plan Cons: Sending and getting text messages is good but pic messages are very slow to load. Overall good cell phone. Strong points are calls and texting. Weak points are Pic messaging and in my opinion the ring tones it comes with are all poor sounding. The system for taking pics also feels cumbersome ( You have to hit 3 buttons for each pic -1. Take pic 2. Select Options 3. Select Take Another.) My old Verizon Samsung only had to take pic and then save it. That third step for every pic gets old when your taking more than a couple pics at a time. Have not used the on line browser alot but it seems workable and basic. Conclusion, I would recommend this phone for anyone that is looking for a reliable talk/text phone but not interested in alot of pic taking or pic messaging.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigredtankguy
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love it
10/12/2010

Customer review by MCHflorida

5.0 stars 10/12/2010 by MCHflorida
by MCHflorida

This is the best cell phone I have ever had, it looks way more expensive than what it is, I love it and I would definatelly buy it again. Everybody in my family want it. We are in the process of getting one for my husband.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCHflorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone and Service
9/11/2010

Customer review by MrsSG

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by MrsSG
by MrsSG

I only had one problem with the phone at first. It would not connect to the web. I just made a phone call to straight talk and they walked me through how to fix it and it immediately began to work. So, the phone is great and the costomer service was excellent. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsSG
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cant use JAVA applications efficiently
8/15/2010

Customer review by Sulaiman

3.0 stars 8/15/2010 by Sulaiman
by Sulaiman

This is a GSM phone, not a CDMA phone. Qwerty keyboard is great, good battery life. Camera can record videos Gmail / opera / any java application which uses GPRS connection doesn’t work. You can install java application, but can’t connect to internet via java application. Only through inbuild samsung's proprietary phone browser, you can browse the internet.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sulaiman
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good phone overall
9/30/2010

Customer review by foreverpraisin

5.0 stars 9/30/2010 by foreverpraisin
by foreverpraisin

It's a nice phone with many features. Battery life could be better. But pictures, mp3 player, nice qwerty keyboard. A- overall.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foreverpraisin
Orlando FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews