Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 173 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

173 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

173 reviews | 3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
23
3 stars
17
2 stars
20
1 stars
56
1-20 of 162 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews
nice for the price
10/4/2010

Customer review by xrayman38

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by xrayman38
by xrayman38

I purchased this to use as a second blu-ray. The main reason to purchase this one was the wifi built in. I found the wireless setup for a secured wireless network was very easy and connects to network without difficulty. Love the use of netflicks and the ability to select movie on demand from the player. After using this feature i do miss it when using my Samsung blu-ray.I have only had one rebuffer instance but at the begining of a movie and played the rest without a problem. The remote buttons are hard to depress but work adequately. I have played blu-ray discs without problems and picture quality was great. I use this player with my Vizio 1080p and the remote does control the volume, but would be nice if it could control other features of the TV like the input switching. Over all I like the player and would buy another one if indeed I needed to. Make sure that all of your components are unpluged before you conect any of the devices together.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xrayman38
Cumby,tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Like to Gamble?
12/3/2010

Customer review by OBFG

1.0 stars 12/3/2010 by OBFG
by OBFG

Buying this unit is a pure roll of the dice ... and the odds seem to be against you! Read the reviews before putting down your money, even though the price is tempting. I wasted the equivalent of a work day trying to get this item to work correctly. The one that I bought wouldn't connect to my network until tech support told me to disable my network's security. I tried that and it ran for about 10 minutes, then it quit. The unit said I had a strong signal, but that didn't matter. No thanks, I want my network to be secure! Also, the complaints about the remote are not exaggerated. Buttons are VERY hard to push and get to work. My Vizio TV seems to be very good, and Walmart was reasonable about taking this Box'O'Junk back. They even gave me a refund on the Sony that I bought to replace it when, after a few days, they put that on sale (close to the Vizio price). The Sony unit was up and running in 6 minutes, plus about 10 more minutes to download a software upgrade. It's been a joy to use ever since!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OBFG
Northern Neck, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It would be a great value.... if it worked
2/28/2011

Customer review by Sethbacca

1.0 stars 2/28/2011 by Sethbacca
by Sethbacca

I purchased this at WalMart for about 130 a couple weeks ago and it just never worked right so ultimately ended up going back. From turning on the machine and getting blank flashing screens periodically, to the individual apps freezing or not working, and dvd/blu-ray discs freezing while watching, this machine had all kinds of problems. The features of the machine are great, built in wifi, internet apps, sleek well designed styling. It's too bad that whoever put this through quality assurance at Vizio didn't actually make sure that the unit worked. Bottom line, spend a little more money and go with something else. I ended up paying less (about $97) for a Sony BDP-S270 and attached a Netgear WNR2000 wireless N Router (about $20 refurbed) in repeater bridge mode behind the tv to feed it internet. Not as clean as built in wireless, but it gets the job done. Just an addendum, I am very tech savvy. I build my own computers, I am a bleeding edge technology enthusiast. This is not one of those user error scenarios, it is simply a poor product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sethbacca
Lewiston, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
12/17/2010

Customer review by OldJudge

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by OldJudge
by OldJudge

This does everything you could ask and it is a great price. I've read some reviews where people talk about it being slow to start up. Wow, it takes well less than a minute and it is playing your disk or dowloading a movie/show from the web. If that's the best complaint you have then you really have none. Great technology and for 99% of us that don't need to be instantly gratified it is wonderful. Maybe everyone should use a rotary phone for a month to learn to appreciate the wonderful things we have today.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldJudge
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
product was ok - service a disappointment
11/23/2010

Customer review by vizioletmedown

1.0 stars 11/23/2010 by vizioletmedown
by vizioletmedown

product worked fine at first...few probs with the remote not functioning at first but eventually got used to it...but one day the unit stopped powering on...of course JUST outside the 90 day walmart return...called vizio they need documentation and other resources to help...beyond that i have to pay to ship the unit to them - allow them 3-5 days to process and then another 5-7 days for a replacement unit to be shipped to me. this was the center of my entertainment center...explained that them taking wks to replace was unacceptable...lady on phone was sympathetic but not at all helpful...quite frustrating...might be a cheap option, but have to weigh all the variables - have heard many horror stories from vizio users...guess i should have listened...this will be my last vizio product...parents had to replace their vizio tv 3 times...finally they gave up and went with philips...we are all pleased with those products.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vizioletmedown
Would recommend to a friend? No
it works great !
9/13/2010

Customer review by NEIL02080

4.0 stars 9/13/2010 by NEIL02080
by NEIL02080

ok, I connected and had the same problem as many of others,but.... the manual has troubleshooting !!! USE IT ! you need to know your WEP or WPA password and your wireless network MUST be on shared mode, if you do not set correctly won't work.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEIL02080
mount prospect
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
8/22/2010

Customer review by Thdoc

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Thdoc
by Thdoc

Does everything it was designed to do very well. No problems with powering on or with the remote. Highly recommend reading the manual before trying to set up some of the wireless features.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thdoc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
A disappointment!
10/15/2010

Customer review by MovingForwardWithTech

1.0 stars 10/15/2010 by MovingForwardWithTech
by MovingForwardWithTech

Since I needed a dvd player and had Netflix already I thought the Vizio VBR220 would be the perfect upgrade. Like the reviews I've read prior, the player would not power on initially. After trying out different outllets it finally worked, but I don't understand why that was because it ended up working fine in all the outlets later. The dvd player worked fine, and I had no problems with the Netflix feature. The remote is below expectations with its slow response and it not being so "user-friendly." It still met all my expectations until it got to the blu-ray feature. Can anyone explain to me how a BLU-RAY player doesn't play blu-ray discs? I tried 3 different disc and every time the blu-ray disc would try to load the player would say "No Disc" and immediately eject the tray. So frustrating. I contacted Vizio, who had great online customer service representation, but could not help me with my problem. They told me that I must have had a defective player. Of course when I took it back to Wal-Mart there was non in stock. Vizio failed me with one. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MovingForwardWithTech
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
great
10/28/2010

Customer review by stoneyseh2

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by stoneyseh2
by stoneyseh2

this product is great, the wifi was very easy to set up and the picture is great. i love using pandora, netfilx, and vudu. it is a little slow starting up, but after that it's great

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stoneyseh2
grantsville, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointing Unit
12/4/2010

Customer review by CrossvilleGuy

2.0 stars 12/4/2010 by CrossvilleGuy
by CrossvilleGuy
Top 1000 contributor

I bought this unit at a local Walmart. The Blu-ray player worked without incident. Conversely, the wireless interface was fraught with problems. On no occasion did it take fewer than six attempts to enter a WPA password. During the last week of its approximately 2 months of use, the keyboard option worked only sporadically, which was especially problematic because the unit repeatedly failed to recognize the password previously entered. Finally, any attempt to invoke the keyboard option resulted in a system crash; that is, I had to turn the unit off and on to regain control. At that point I gave up and took the unit back for a refund. Since the local Wal-Mart store wanted a $40 premium ($198) to sell me a Sony S570 over the advertised Wal-Mart on-line price of $158, and the on-line Wal-Mart store was out of stock, I elected to buy the unit for $159 with free shipping from Amazon. The unit arrived two days later and worked without incident out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrossvilleGuy
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Did not work
12/1/2010

Customer review by sfortier9907

1.0 stars 12/1/2010 by sfortier9907
by sfortier9907

Bought this product at a walmart store. Pulled it out of the box (READ THE INSTRUCTIONS) and set it up. First of all, we couldnt get it to turn on. Finally after 10 minutes of taking out the batteries over and over and unplugging it over and over, it turned on. Then the blu-ray player wouldnt open to put a dvd in it. tried everything, including reading the troubleshooting.... nothing. Then we tried to set up the wireless, there was no option for wireless connection on the screen. We finally gave up and called technical support for vizio... the lady had us doing all these crazy things before we also realized that the lights or buttons on the front of the blu-ray player werent even coming on. She kept asking us to push the buttons on the front of the player, and there werent any. So needless to say, we will be returning this product and buying a Sony... there wasnt just one thing wrong with this player, EVERYTHING was wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sfortier9907
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for Netflix
12/12/2010

Customer review by MysticPhoenix72

2.0 stars 12/12/2010 by MysticPhoenix72
by MysticPhoenix72

I purchased the previous model blu-ray (VBR200W) in august (so its roughly 4 months old). I have had it crash once already, and am consistently experiencing issues with it connecting to Netflix which is the only reason I bought it. I have confirmed that it is not an issue with Netflix as myself and 2 other family members are all able to connect with various devices other than my Vizio. I also have "network connection" issues about once a month where I spend about 2-3 hours removing and re-adding the same password to force it to connect, even though it states that it is already connected. I am currently sitting here waiting for tech support to become available, and have been trying to load Netflix for 3 hours now (finally got it back on the network after 2 1/2 hours). I guess if they don't help then I paid $200 for a fancy DVD player and this will be my first and last purchase from Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MysticPhoenix72
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vizio Blu-Ray Player
8/29/2010

Customer review by TheIrishFunk

2.0 stars 8/29/2010 by TheIrishFunk
by TheIrishFunk

The day I recieved it, I had nothing but problems. It plays DVDs just fine, but I couldn't get it to play blu-rays at all. This is not good when you buy a BLU-RAY player and it doesn't play Blu-ray disc. I called Vizio and there was no updates for the player. They told me that this player has had numerous complaints on certain Blu-ray disc. That it can not read them. And there is no fix for it. The disc's that I tried to play were Avatar and Alice in Wonder land. You know, some of the best movies for buying a Blu-ray player. Vizio told me that this player has problems reading those discs. I just laughed, hung up, went to my local Wal-mart and traded it in for a Sony. Exactly what I should have purchased in the first place. This player does have Wi-fi and it worked great. It played DVD's fine too. I own a Vizio TV and it works great. I just would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheIrishFunk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Bad start, but now in love!
1/25/2011

Customer review by InMyExperience

4.0 stars 1/25/2011 by InMyExperience
by InMyExperience

My first experience with this unit was terrible. Purchased it on Saturday, plugged it in on Sunday, and returned it for a new one on Monday. When I plugged the unit in on Sunday and tried to turn it on there was no power. I tried new batteries in the remote, used the manual button on the box, plugged the unit into a different outlet and tried a new power strip. Once I had determined the unit was bad I traveled to Wal-Mart Monday to exchange the unit. I have read a few reviews of other VIZIO products not working straight out of the box and was bound and determined if it was one of them I was going to return it until they got it right. I am now sitting at home enjoying this product. The BluRay/DVD and Streaming content is working perfectly. If the unit keeps performing as it is now I will become a life long fan, but if it doesn’t – back to Samsung. 

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InMyExperience
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't ask for much more
11/26/2010

Customer review by rlb002

4.0 stars 11/26/2010 by rlb002
by rlb002

The Vizio WiFi BluRay lives up to expectaions. After buying a LCD television and enjoying it for a couple of years, the player only adds to the buyer satisfaction that I have had with their products. The setup of Netflix, VuDu, and other services was quick and painless. The product does not freeze, skip, or have issues. It plays old DVDs and provides great picture quality to them. However, it is worth noting, you must have 5 Meg Broadband or better to really enjoy this product. You cannot power the net portion of the product with a low grade DSL. The only real con to the product is that if you keep a DVD/BR in the machine, it will want to go through the menu/previews of the disc before you can stop it and go to the main menu of the player (where Netflix and other programs are). The remote isn't the easiest to use, but for the money and enjoyment of the multi-functions, those two issues are small compared to the upside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlb002
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Even Better After Firmware Update
5/5/2011

Customer review by Dark9781

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by Dark9781
by Dark9781

I purchased this player in December 2010 and have been very happy with it. The three things that sold me on this device is that it has built-in wifi, has NetFlix, and the price. For what you get out of this player $138 is an excellent price. I'm able to play both blu-ray and regular dvds flawlessly. The blu-ray discs do sometimes take a little time to load, but that really doesn't bother me. There are a few internet apps to choose from, but not as many as with other players. However, the basic apps that most people use are included such as NetFlix, VuDu, Pandora, and Facebook. The UI is rather simple and easy to navigate and setup is easy as well. I have found that NetFlix is a bit glitchy out of the box. I had issues with rebuffering (fails to rebuffer videos), freezing, and losing track of where a movie left off. The app didn't even have a search feature. However, after updating the firmware those problems were solved and Netflix even got a search feature. The player even seems to be running better since the update. The update became available the last week of April, so those that were getting the Server Error message when trying to update should anymore. Overall I love this player and recommend it to those that want an easy to use player and have the features they want without spending a bundle to get it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dark9781
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Read before you buy...
4/4/2011

Customer review by HomeTheaterJunkie

2.0 stars 4/4/2011 by HomeTheaterJunkie
by HomeTheaterJunkie

Vizio isn't known for having the best quality products, but I've had great success with their newer line of TVs. I've recently owned their 42" plasma, their 32" LCD, and their 22" LCD. When I went to wal*mart to find a blu ray player I was dead set on the LG for around the same price. As it turns out, most of the WiFi enabled devices were just that... enabled but not integrated. Reading carefully through my choices I realized I'd be spending $50+ more dollars to get a WiFi adapter for the LG or the Sony blu ray player. I found the Vizio tucked back onto the shelf. It had INTEGRATED WiFi, internet apps, and it was on sale. The first day or two the blu ray player worked flawlessly, albeit it slow booting up. It was also very loud when reading the disc, but thankfully quiets right down when the actual movie is playing (I would have returned it that same night if it were as loud during the movie... nothing ruins family night more than incessant disc spinning.) Only a few days after purchasing the blu ray player, I started running into lots of problems. 8 out of 10 times when trying to watch a netflix show or movie, the blu ray player would freeze at the loading screen so you would have to restart the player (again, which takes FOREVER!). It also loses audio quite a bit. All the problems happen with netflix usually. Although it's a 3rd party app, I'm almost positive the app was written by Vizio, or by a 3rd party company for Vizio. Lastly, the silver play/pause button in the middle of the remote lost it's ink (or print, whatever the material is) the very first night. Literally just rubbed right off after played a few videos. I bought this player on sale for a little under $90. Personally I think if you can deal with the shortcomings, and/or have a lot of patience then it's a really good value. Especially if it's your first blu ray player. If you don't have the money to upgrade after a while I would say just save up for a better model or brand like the LG or Sony. I don't see this player lasting very long, if it does I will definitely be surprised.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeTheaterJunkie
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst Ever Blu Ray build.
9/30/2010

Customer review by Jimmydman

1.0 stars 9/30/2010 by Jimmydman
by Jimmydman

Bought this blu ray player together with my vizio tv so that they would match. Mistake, worst ever, Purchase dvd player, work fine for a day, enjoy movies all day, following day, all the suddenly would stop, pause for buffering got anoyed about it, went to store to have it exchange. Brought my second player, got home would not turn on at all, no power, went back to store to get it exchange again. Gave it one more chance, taught the 3rd one is the one. Plug unit at store just to make sure it would power on and no problem. Got home istalled it, setup my wireless, pandora and some of the other features. When finally decided to watch a blu ray movie, player never work, would get no signal message, could hear the movie spinning but no display. left run for 10 minutes never got display or nothing. Vizio TV's, have never really had any issues with them, but for DVD's i think its not thier field of expertise.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmydman
Eagle Pass, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not good like their tv's
12/12/2010

Customer review by ramblinmann

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by ramblinmann
by ramblinmann

first out of the box, there was a cardboard advertisement 8 inches tall and as long as the unit seemingly super glued to the set,, razor blades and goof off was required to remove it, then you need the strength of sampson to push the remote buttons, totally unacceptable. then, the door takes forever to open, make popcorn or draft your will while you wait for the event to happen. after two letters to vizio and a phone call, they say they're sorry, and will work to do better in the future, how about, we really are sorry, here's a super discount to a better player. no such luck, thank goodness for walmart return policy, I love their tv's, but, that's it

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ramblinmann
nashville,tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Initial problem with unit
8/13/2010

Customer review by Benjee

2.0 stars 8/13/2010 by Benjee
by Benjee

I haven't had the chance using the product yet because it won't turn on either with the remote or the player itself. I just bought the player 2 days ago and called tech support for assistance. I was told to unplug the unit from the power source for more than a minute and plug it back on but still won't turn on. I was also asked to unplug it and plug it back on a different outlet but still won't work. Everytime I turned it on, the lights in front will only turn on briefly and won't stay on. Before I bought the product, I was testing the display and had same problem. I thought the display was broke because shoppers played with it so much and never thought that a new one will also have same problem. I will return this one and get another one but need to test it before leaving the store. Otherwise, I will just settle for another brand. Too much of a hassle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benjee
National City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews