Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 22 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Great deal!
8/1/2011

Customer review by Laonefaye

4.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Laonefaye
by Laonefaye

I'm going to get the negative out of the way first so I can gush about this tent. The tent is not at all easy to assemble (too many fabric pockets, flimsy segmented tent poles that like to come apart right when you're trying to get them through the longer fabric sections), and the instructions are horrid. There are no pictures, and proper assembly is not detailed well or clearly enough. Also, the instructions mentioned an extra pole that was not included or needed (the "shorter rain fly pole"). For anyone thinking about getting this tent, just throw away the instructions. What you need to do is to lay the tent flat, and one at a time push the tent poles through the orange fabric tubes, following the gray fabric lines that will criss-cross. When you push the second tent pole through, make sure that it crosses the first either over or under BOTH times they cross. It helps a great deal to have a partner help as you raise the tent and secure it into the holes at the four corners. Then you tie the little ties at each end, securing the crossed poles. Then you attach the rain fly, which has hooks at the end that you can hook to the other hole at the four corners, and make sure you align the zipper to the "door" of the tent. Voila. You also will want to buy at least four strong tent poles, as the ones provided are just too flimsy to even think about (you'll want four for the corners and one for the back of the fly to keep water from sneaking in during a rain). Now for the positive. It is quite spacious for how small it packs (which is delightfully small, and easy to repack if you pay attention to how it is factory packed), and the mesh is GREAT for being able to breathe at night and not be baked out of the tent in the morning. My sweetheart and I can comfortable sleep in our bed roll, with both of our backpacks inside (granted, neither of us are particularly tall, so be advised that this may not be suitable for two taller or larger people). The best part is that it stays completely dry during a heavy storm. Last week I tried it out when it stormed all night long, and I was dry as a bone. Definitely something to look for in a good tent, and the reason I gave it full marks for value and expectations. I subtracted a star for difficulty of use. Lastly, I would like to thank Walmart staff for their customer service. A few days before I was hoping to receive this in the mail I got an e-mail saying that shipping was delayed. I responded with a plea to speed up the process if possible, as I needed it for a class that involved a great deal of outside work. The tent came in the mail two days later. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Laonefaye
Alpine, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Tent
4/9/2012

Customer review by bayouboy52000

4.0 stars 4/9/2012 by bayouboy52000
by bayouboy52000

I have been looking for a lightweight tent but didn't want to pay the price that most places want for a lightweight tent. This price was very competitive. The tent is easy to put up and packs small. I like how the fly extends out from the tent by the front door so I have room to keep my stuff dry while not having it take up room in the tent.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bayouboy52000
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Star gazer's tent
5/10/2014

Customer review by StargazerAl

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by StargazerAl
by StargazerAl

This tent is a fantastic value but is not light enough for easy backpacking. That's partly due to it being made of substantial (not flimsy) material and because the standard poles are fiberglass (heavier than aluminum ones that are a separate but hard to find and expensive upgrade). Without the rainfly on, the top is open and airy and affords a great view of the sky. With the fly on, you have plenty of sheltered vestibule area outside the screened part of the tent but out of the weather for backpacks, shoes, etc. The sleeves that the poles go through are a little tricky to figure out the first time but part of the fun of camping is to use your brain to solve little problems with your gear or campsite. You just have to remember that the poles that start off on the bottom of one side (like the front of the tent) go through the top sleeve on the other side (back side) of the tent's top -- that is the poles cross over each other. The other tip is that you should shorten the shock cords that go through the poles by about a foot so the poles assemble tighter and are less likely to come apart going through the pole sleeves. Great tent for the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StargazerAl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tents and fold very compact
5/30/2012

Customer review by nenacamper

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by nenacamper
by nenacamper

I was looking for a tent that’s folds compact and this one fits the bill, great to use it in humid weather since the body of the tent is mesh or you can throw the full fly.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nenacamper
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Nice inexpensive quick set-up tent
1/7/2011

Customer review by 1barato

3.0 stars 1/7/2011 by 1barato
by 1barato

It's a real nice little tent. Easy to put together. However it came with the rain pole missing, and without it the rain cover was touching the tent causing water to sip in when it rained.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1barato
West Palm Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
9/8/2013

Customer review by bullwinkle4

2.0 stars 9/8/2013 by bullwinkle4
by bullwinkle4

This tent weighed a full pound more than was listed in the specs. That is alot of extra weight if you are using it for a backpacking tent, which is what i bought it for. Other than being too heavy, the tent was just fine!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bullwinkle4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Actual weight is much higher than advertised.
6/6/2013

Customer review by Deisal

2.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Deisal
by Deisal

This tent weighs 1.3 pounds more than advertised. As soon as I received it, I removed it from the box and weighed it. I only weighed the items required for set-up (no stuff-sack, ties, or gear bags). Still it came out 26% heavier than the listed 5 lbs. I can get cheaper tents, even bigger tents, for over 6 lbs. So, at best, this is average-to-below-average for a backpacking tent. Too heavy if you ask me. The shock-cord inside the poles looked extremely flimsy, btw. If continually jostled in a backpack while hiking, I don't think this cordage would last.

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deisal
Adirondacks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
nice little tent
9/19/2011

Customer review by NiceTent

5.0 stars 9/19/2011 by NiceTent
by NiceTent

used this tent recently and it worked great, full fly is really nice.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NiceTent
Sharbot Lake, Ontario Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
9/22/2012

Customer review by slj58

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by slj58
by slj58

Set up was easy,big door, good amout of room,can't wait to go camping with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slj58
Shingle Springs,Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice tent but not for backpacking
5/11/2014

Customer review by Socalrevwr

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Socalrevwr
by Socalrevwr

This tent is great for camping. I like the fact that it is mostly screen so I can fully experience the outdoors. I also like the fact that it's quite roomy. But, it's definitely not a backpacking tent -- it's just too heavy. The poles have so many metal joints, which makes it more durable, but also very heavy. I'm going to be happily using this when I car camp for sure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Socalrevwr
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Backpacking Tent
10/23/2014

Customer review by TentBuyer136

3.0 stars 10/23/2014 by TentBuyer136
by TentBuyer136

I needed a cheap, light-weight tent to take on a backpacking trip for work. Had I been able to spend more money, I would not have purchased this tent. If my trip would have lasted more than 5 days, this tent would not have been ideal. However, for the amount I paid, I was satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TentBuyer136
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a couple who likes to star gaze
9/14/2014

Customer review by Jamze

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Jamze
by Jamze

Overall this tent is acceptable for the price. Without the rain fly almost the entire tent is screen mesh, so the air flow and ability to lay back and see the stars without being bothered by the bugs is great. Honestly I do think the tent weighs more than it is advertised. The actual weight is a tad over 6lbs, so if your backpacking you may want to consider that. The tent is also difficult to set up for one person. The long segmented tent poles are awkward and its tricky to get them to feed through the tent right without the poles coming apart. IMHO this is a warm weather tent and is not for colder nights. The tent has enough room for two people to sleep comfortable but you may want to leave your gear outside. The vestibule is big enough to stash your boots/shoes, but there was no way our pack would fit under it. We have used this tent 5 or 6 times and it held up to a mild rain storm without leaking, but I wouldn't trust it in a heavy downpour. For $40-$45 this tent is a good deal

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jamze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
As first purchase
9/13/2014

Customer review by Jolty

4.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Jolty
by Jolty

Overall everything came in an like little smaller tha what i thought better buy for the buck kinda dont like the stakes that came an fiberglass poles are heavy tho the no see mesh makes it easy for rainfly to attach but if u wanting a light pack gear tent it close enough to adjust

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jolty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good little tent
2/23/2014

Customer review by randv32

4.0 stars 2/23/2014 by randv32
by randv32

The tent is ok it seems like it would hold up in a strong wind , the elastic in the poles are to long , shortened them up and they are fine , oh yeah the rain fly could have extended a little farther in the front but i think it's going to be a good tent

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
randv32
hiddenite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Swimming Pool
8/17/2013

Customer review by Tentpool

1.0 stars 8/17/2013 by Tentpool
by Tentpool

Very difficult for one person to assemble. Segmented rods are WAY TOO LONG. After it's up, there's a four foot depression along the top that will only collect rain as it falls.

Was this review helpful? (0) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tentpool
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to Install
8/27/2013

Customer review by Waliullah

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Waliullah
by Waliullah

This was my first tent and camping experience in life. and I managed to install it very easily in 10 min. It is very spacious for two people. only problem was, one of the six metal pieces bended while I was trying to put it into ground. I would suggest to be careful when u do this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Waliullah
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Little Bundle but a great tent....
2/9/2015

Customer review by Joel

5.0 stars 2/9/2015 by Joel
by Joel

A Little Bundle but a great tent....Roomy, Fit My Air Mattress with ease easy to set up and a low price....worth the money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
simple and comfortable
7/1/2014

Customer review by CasualCamper08

4.0 stars 7/1/2014 by CasualCamper08
by CasualCamper08

A little difficult to set up your first time, but even after messing up and re-doing the entire thing it still took only about 10 minutes. Sometimes the stakes do not hold the rain fly down as well as other tents, but meets expectations for the price. Very lightweight and fits back into the original bag with plenty of extra space. However, the "no-see-um" mesh being the only thing besides the rain fly to separate you from the out doors can make it chilly, so I would recommend this as a summer only tent. Otherwise an excellent product for the price and I would absolutely recommend this to a friend who does light summer camping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CasualCamper08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but broke after first camp out
12/9/2014

Customer review by Patroldad

4.0 stars 12/9/2014 by Patroldad
by Patroldad

I recently purchased 2 of the Stansport Star-Lite 2 person Back Pack tents and had both good and bad experiences. We recently took our tents on a Boy Scout overnight backpacking trip and were pleased with how small the tents pack up. The weight is good and the tents breathe very well. The only problem I had was that when I was packing the tent up, the elastic in one of the poles snapped, leaving me with an unusable tent. It was kind of disappointing having this happen after only one use. I'm not sure if this is a case of you get what you pay for, or just got that one bad pole. In general, I like the tent and we will see how Stansport's customer service is. Will update later. Hopeful

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patroldad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/11/2013

Customer review by Femfireftr

4.0 stars 7/11/2013 by Femfireftr
by Femfireftr

The poles are a little difficult to remove when tent is being broken down.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Femfireftr
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews