Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
62
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 stars
16
1-20 of 208 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews
7/18/2011

Customer review by PablodeCali

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by PablodeCali
by PablodeCali

I have used it daily for numerous task and it has performed flawlessly. A great replacement for my smaller unit with both a size and power boost.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PablodeCali
Nor-Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for small space
4/27/2013

Customer review by Twoee

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Twoee
by Twoee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for a small kitchen and the design fits with modern appliances. Love the one touch controls.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twoee
West Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, only minor negatives
7/26/2012

Customer review by TheRealKenkoy

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by TheRealKenkoy
by TheRealKenkoy

This is a fine little microwave, among the best I've had. I have only two dislikes, and they're minor: The beeping when it's finished continues through its mandatory 5 loud beeps even after you open the door. This is irritating, so I just open the door BEFORE it's finished cooking and then hit "Cancel." It might seem trivial to you, but I don't need to listen to an alarming series of beeps when I'm standing there with the door open, fully aware that the cooking is done. None of my previous microwaves did this. The other minor problem is the tightness of the door's locking mechanism. You could almost pull the microwave off the cart, if you don't hold it at the same time. It opens and closes with a loud "thunk." And if I didn't hold onto the microwave when opening the door, the cart it's sitting on would pull forward, anyway. Yeah, these little problems are irritating to me, but value-wise, this is still the best buy I could find, and if this microwave lasts the number of years my previous ones did, I'll be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealKenkoy
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wish I had bought this sooner
4/17/2011

Customer review by Smee44

4.0 stars 4/17/2011 by Smee44
by Smee44

About 9 months ago, our sharp microwave of 4+ years died, so my boyfriend and I bought another sharp since we liked the first one so much (it got pretty heavily abused over those 4 yrs). Recently, the new sharp caroseul died and stopped heating. We were very disappointed in this product since the shipping cost to fix it was basically just as much as a new microwave (warranty basically worthless). After searching, we found this option, which was just the right size and had a good front look with the black/stainless. I also really appreciated the pull door since the push buttons can get problematic. Overall this microwave has performed great and cooks everything almost perfect (especially popcorn, frozen veggies). Two things to note: the microwave doesn't have specific meat defrost functionality (I've been using the by weight function) nor does it let you punch in ten seconds since it has pre-set timing (if you hit one, one minute automatically starts). Other than those two things this is a great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smee44
Avon, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One Nifty Microwave-Worth the Money
10/20/2011

Customer review by sparkle1103

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by sparkle1103
by sparkle1103

This microwave is a very good deal for the money. It is so nifty. If you register online you get 2 extra months to your warranty that makes it 20 months. The microwave is large enough inside. It has great features If you want to cook something at 1,2,3,4,5,6 minutes just press 1,2,3,4,5,6 on the keypad and it will cook for that many minute. If you need to cook something for 1:30 seconds you could either press the start button 3 times as by doing this you add 30 seconds to your cooking time or you press power then the 1:30 on your keypad. It has weight and timed defrost. Which I havent used yet. It also has timed start so if you would like to cook something or heat something say at 7pm and it is now 6:30pm and you have to run to the store but know you will not be back till 7:05-you can program the microwave to start cooking at a specified time. Havent tried that yet. I guess also if you had a 1000 or 1100 watt microwave before of course you have to cook everything a bit longer I love it. Would recommend to anyone. You need to place something under the microwave so it will not slide.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparkle1103
Arlington Hts., Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very nice microwave
6/18/2016

Customer review by IChell

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by IChell
by IChell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this microwave to replace another brand that quit working. I don't remember the name of the other brand. Anyhow, the price was good, the 900 watts cooks quick and hot! I don't have a problem with the unit sliding when being opened, but could see that happening as the unit isn't very heavy. Overall i am satisfied with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IChell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
High-end options at low-end price
4/16/2011

Customer review by Galena11

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Galena11
by Galena11

We are a family of three that typically uses a microwave to heat up meals, pop popcorn, and defrost frozen items. This microwave is an excellent value for those functions. It offers one-touch operation for 1-6 minutes, easy power level adjustment, and time- or weight-based defrost like more expensive ovens. Although the oven is compact, the interior is large enough to accommodate our large bowl-shaped popcorn popper or a medium-sized casserole dish. The only drawback is that it is a little too light, so it tends to move forward when you pull open the door. We put "no slide" drawer liner under the oven to eliminate this minor issue.

Was this review helpful? (151) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Galena11
Murray, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BIG mistake
3/25/2012

Customer review by TomTA

1.0 stars 3/25/2012 by TomTA
by TomTA

I loathe this microwave. It's small. That's OK. It takes about 30% longer to heat things than my previous one. I can live with that. The keypad is unresponsive, so you often have to push repeatedly, or push so hard the microwave moves around the counter. The keypad is not durable; after 30 days it's already chewed up at the common points ("start" "stop" "add 30 seconds", etc.). The tabs which locate the rotating plate on the little drive nubs (to make it spin) are very undersized, and it's always popping off the track. There's also a little circular bearing device under the rotating plate, so when you go to replace the rotating plate for the umpteenth time you have to get the bearing device and the plate lined up simultaneously. What a colossal waste of time, money, and space. Oh; one more thing: when it "beeps" (when done) it will keep beeping after you press "stop" or open the door. Just a small thing to irritate you every time you use it. Did I mention I loathe this microwave? Too bad I didn't keep the receipt or the packaging. I'd sell it for $10.

Was this review helpful? (23) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomTA
Mount Joy, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Suggestion to fix sliding around issue
8/24/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/24/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Buy some rubberized non-slip shelf liner (it comes in rolls at Walmart, Kmart, etc.). Cut a small piece to put under each leg & then push down a little on the microwave to seal it to the counter. It shouldn't move around after you do this. This stuff works great. I use it under lots of things, like even my alarm clock, vases, etc. Works great in CA where we have earthquakes as well. It will even keep your TV from tipping over in earthquake. I have tried it. One without it fell on floor during the last quake, the TV with the shelf liner, no problem. So many people are commenting about the small microwaves sliding around that I wanted to offer a good solution. The microwave is a great little microwave, but if you are older & cannot pull on the handle, get one with a push button door opener because it is easier for you.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Atascadero, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
10/24/2010

Customer review by Jean1130

4.0 stars 10/24/2010 by Jean1130
by Jean1130

I bought this because I didn't want to spend a lot and this microwave was the nicest looking of the cheaper models. It has all of the settings that the more expensive models do. I had to get used to it because when you hit a number it instantly turns on for that many minutes. My only complaint is that it's light weight and when you pull on the door handle when there's nothing inside it, the microwave moves instead of the door opening. I solved that by putting a few small objects on top of it to weigh it down a little. Overall, I think it's a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (183) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jean1130
Norristown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
6/7/2016

Customer review by LainaNC

4.0 stars 6/7/2016 by LainaNC
by LainaNC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this item for approximately 1 month. It works very well for my every other day useage of it. Inside is wide enough to fit a large plate inside. It heats foods quickly and is relatively easy to use. I would agree with some previous comments that the microwave is light enough that when you pull the handle to open it, it will move. Put some grips on the bottom. No issues with this product and price was great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LainaNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it
6/8/2016

Customer review by p3smom

4.0 stars 6/8/2016 by p3smom
by p3smom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a Goldilocks microwave -- not too big, not too small, just right. The door is a little stiff right now, so the microwave moves slightly as you pull the door open, but I'm hoping that will loosen up a bit with time. We'll see. Other than that, I have no complaints so far. It has all the functions of a bigger microwave -- great deal for the price. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
p3smom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great looking, great price, poor shipping quality
8/2/2012

Customer review by ShopsInTheRain

1.0 stars 8/2/2012 by ShopsInTheRain
by ShopsInTheRain

I am so disappointed. I bought this for my college age son based on size, power and great reviews. I wanted to avoid a trip to the stores, and with free delivery, it was a no brainer to buy online. Microwave arrived a full week after website said it would. It was shipped in its original box, no additional packing box or padding. Microwave box was beat up, with corners crunched. Upon opening, the upper back corner (metal) was dented and crushed. This box fell pretty hard to do that kind of damage. No problem taking it back to the store, where I bought a replacement of a different brand. Will have to rethink my online purchases. Even if the microwave had arrived undamaged, the unit could have been dropped numerous times, affecting its lifespan. I really liked this microwave. Wish I could have counted on the Post office and shipping companies being more careful. Maybe next time delivery to the store for pickup might ensure more careful handling.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopsInTheRain
WA State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Fabulous Microwave
7/8/2011

Customer review by irainbow

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by irainbow
by irainbow

Had never heard of Danby products before coming across this microwave while online shopping a few weeks back. Received it 2 days ago and, so far, it's not only done everything expected of it, it has also exceeded what I thought it could do.** Normally, I don't review things, but I wanted to say there is a work-around for a feature which seemed to pose a problem to a few other reviewers. Yes, there *is* an Express Time feature for whole-minute digits from 1 through 6 (which means the instant after you tap one of those digits, the microwave starts). To bypass the "Express Time" feature for the purpose of cooking for a combination of minutes and seconds, first tap the "POWER" button for the required power level. The microwave will allow you to punch in the precise amount of time in minutes and seconds. Tap the "Start/+30 seconds" button to start the task. It only takes a few extra seconds to do this, and to me seems to be a very mild inconvenience as compared with the built-in convenience of the 1-button "Express Times" which I'm sure many cooks *do* use. This Danby microwave is currently (July 8, 2011) selling at another well-known online retailer for more than double the price! and at other online retailers for a lot more than this rollback price of $59. The stainless steel details against black make the unit look classy and elegant, as well. If you're in the market now for an excellent low-watt microwave, my personal opinion is that with free shipping to your home, you can't afford *not* to order this!! ** Check out the online Manual to see all of the features (among them, Multi-Stage Cooking and Child-Safety Lock) http://www.walmart.com/ip/Danby-0.9-Stainless-Steel-Microwave/14675998

Was this review helpful? (79) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irainbow
Arlington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Micro
11/24/2010

Customer review by gumbypumpkin

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by gumbypumpkin
by gumbypumpkin

It looks great and works perfectly. Small in a good way-takes up less space but big enough for all purposes. This is the best bargain ever. The stainless is gorgeous. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gumbypumpkin
Redlands, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great microwave at a great price
1/4/2012

Customer review by lilmimi96

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by lilmimi96
by lilmimi96

This is a great microwave. It works great and it looks beautiful. I've had mine almost 2 months now. It's 900 watts and heats things up a lot faster than my other microwave, so I'm still getting use to that. I'm going to try and address everything I see people asking questions about. First off, when you hit a number, for example 2, it will automatically start cooking 2 minutes. You can press the start button and add 30 seconds. If you want a specific time, for example 3 minutes and 45 seconds, you can press the power button, then the numbers, 3,4, and 5. It will start cooking 3 min. 45 secs. It has a lot of buttons for specific items like popcorn, pizza, dinner plate, defrost, etc. It has a normal hum when running. It has a turntable. The clock is displayed in green. It beeps 5 times, not super loud but loud enough, then stops. The light comes on when you open the door and while cooking. I've not had any problems with fingerprints on the exterior.The handle pulls easily. It has a nice weight to it. I have mine on a cabinet with grip bottom shelving paper under it, so I don't know if it would slide on a smooth surface or not, mine doesn't. The inside dimensions are 12 in. wide, 12 in. deep, and 8 in. high. The turntable plate is 10 1/2 in. Plenty of room for most things you microwave. For the outside dimensions, the width (side to side) is 19 in., the height is 11 1/2 in. The outside dimensions given for depth includes the slight protrusion in back and the handle. The actual microwave is 13 in deep without the handle and protrusion in the back. Here's the best way to let you know the depth to know if it will fit on your shelf or wherever else you put it. I have my microwave sitting on a cabinet which is 1 in. from the wall. I have it sitting 1 1/2 in. from the back of the cabinet. The actual protrusion is about 1 in from the back of the cabinet. There are vents in the back (and on the side opposite the handle-left side if you're facing the microwave) plus the protrusion, so it needs some space. This means I have it 2 1/2 in. total from the wall. It comes out 15 in. from the back of my cabinet. The front legs sit back 2 1/2 in., which means that it is 12 1/2 in. from the back of my cabinet to the front legs. So, if your shelf is 12 1/2 in. deep, the legs would all fit on the shelf with the protrusion being 1 in. from the back of your shelf. I have the extra inch from the back of the cabinet to the wall, so if you don't, you might need your shelf to be at least 13 to 13 1/2 in. deep to give you more vent space. I think this covers everything. I think you'll be satisfied if you purchase this microwave.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilmimi96
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
quality?
7/10/2015

Customer review by cj69

2.0 stars 7/10/2015 by cj69
by cj69

While this is a good looking,and so far operating oven.Initial quality leaves me second guessing my decision to believe the reviews I read.Upon setting up I noticed that the front control panel was moving in out out about 1/32 of an inch making a noticeable popping sound with each touch of a button.Rather then disassembling to repair or going through a return process I went with a quick fix of shimming out panel to stop movement.The other concern I had was the quality of the roller ring that goes under the carousel.I can't imagine finding a cheaper made design,it is so flimsy that I was very worried about mishandling it and having it break.While I am keeping the oven and hoping for the best ,I needed to let people know there is a reason this was a rollback item at walmart $69

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cj69
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Microwave for a Single Person
4/21/2011

Customer review by SingleInHouston

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by SingleInHouston
by SingleInHouston

I received the product in less than a week. It was the style I wanted and for the right price. I'm a single male, so don't really use the microwave all that much. I would like to mention that it is only able to hold a 10" dinner plate, so anything larger would be out of the question. The exterior is easy to clean and the pre-programed buttons are a plus. I would recommend this product for a single person.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingleInHouston
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/30/2011

Customer review by dave5873

3.0 stars 9/30/2011 by dave5873
by dave5873

When I got this item the plastic guide for the turntable was broken in half. The box did not have any damage. It looks like they just put a broken piece in box. When I contacted walmart they said I would have to contact Danby directly for a replacement part. Danby want me to fax in my request. Do people still use fax machines? I'm disappointed that they are making it a pain for me to get a replacement part.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dave5873
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exc for the $ paid
11/12/2010

Customer review by SavoirFaire

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by SavoirFaire
by SavoirFaire

Stylish, nice medium size, easy buttons. Had to put some wall stick 'ems under the 4 foot pads to keep it from sliding on the counter. O/W great micro!

Was this review helpful? (72) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavoirFaire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews