Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

31 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

31 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 29 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
waste of money
11/9/2010

Customer review by mom7878

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by mom7878
by mom7878

Products say it freezes icecream in 10 minutes...try 45! Took too long and only makes 1/2 cup of icecream. Please dont waste your hard earned money.

Was this review helpful? (256) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom7878
tucson,az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Ice cream tastes great!
12/2/2010

Customer review by wood1e17

4.0 stars 12/2/2010 by wood1e17
by wood1e17

Beware - it will take a while to get to the finished product, however my kids loved it and the ice cream was delish. I recommend crushing small batches of ice in a blender to put in the bowl. I had my kids and I take turns every 2 minutes with the churning part. Unfortunately if you want to make a 2nd batch you do need to refill the ice again or the ice cream won't freeze. Lastly, make sure that you have the little slider at the bottom of the bowl in right - I had the mix flow all over my table one time.l

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wood1e17
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It exceeded expectations!
12/20/2010

Customer review by mom2three1211

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by mom2three1211
by mom2three1211

We have bought many "kid" type ice cream makers over the years, and have always been disappointed. When my daughter asked for this Blizzard maker we almost passed it up thinking it would be a waste of money or would get used once and never again. We were pleasantly surprised when the finished product yielded great tasting ice cream and exceeded our expectations of it! Reading another review on here, I can't help but wonder what they could have done wrong. We followed the directions to a T, and our ice cream froze perfectly within the 10 minutes! By 7 minutes we could tell it was close to being done. You have to make sure you use crushed or shaved ice to fill the bowl, and half and half to make the ice cream! Here is a list of our pro's and con's: Pro's: Quick assembly, only needs ice, water, salt, and half and half (plus dq ice cream mixes that are included), actually tastes like DQ soft serve, easy to follow directions, product actually does what it claims to do! My kids 11, 5, and 3 all LOVED it! Con's: A lot of arm work! 10 minutes is a long time to be turning a handle but if you have more than one child they can take turns turning it! After the ice cream was frozen and the cork screw attachment was put on it was hard to re-assemble the lid to crank the ice cream out. After a couple minutes we got it on and the ice cream came out fine, and had not melted a bit! The mix ins tasted horrible! I suggest using your own! The ice cream was wonderful itself, but the bubble gum mix in wasn't to our liking. Overall I say this product is well worth the money, and the best made for kids ice cream maker product put out on the market yet!

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2three1211
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dairy Queen Enthusiast
1/3/2011

Customer review by Rstone1979

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Rstone1979
by Rstone1979

Our family loves dairy queen, this far exceeded our expectations. At first we were a little wearing of putting so much salt in to the maker but once the ingredients were added and the lid shut and double checked for tightness. We let our 8 year old have at it. We had vanilla ice cream in no time. We were able to take the bucket off and stick it in the freezer for after dinner too. This may even be a staple for summer vacations to the beach. Hoping to check out more flavors later this week. Highly recommended by a very pleased mom.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rstone1979
Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

happy with it. easy to make and the kids love it. Only downfall is, it makes a very small amount.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
VERY Disappointing
7/13/2011

Customer review by Angelamarie

1.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Angelamarie
by Angelamarie

My daughter received this item as a gift and used it for the first time at her Birthday party to make the ice cream! It took FOREVER with all of her friends taking turns spinning the handle only to get a tiny cup of it which did NOT come out looking like it did in the photo. Very expensive gift, and we were unable to find anymore refill mixes anywhere! We could get the real DQ deal for way cheaper than making it with this toy. We were EXTREMELY disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angelamarie
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Paying for the Name
1/26/2011

Customer review by vegbudd

1.0 stars 1/26/2011 by vegbudd
by vegbudd

This is a hand-crank ice cream maker. You still need to stir in the ingredient (candy, cookie crumbs, etc.) separately. My daughter wanted this so bad, but is disappointed in the amount it makes & that it doesn't mix the treat in. You are mainly paying for the Dairy Queen Blizzard name on this product. You can purchase an electric one that makes more ice cream for about the same price & stir in your own treat. Don't bother with this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vegbudd
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for Kids
2/21/2011

Customer review by asnoopysoul

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by asnoopysoul
by asnoopysoul

Lots of fun for the kids. The refills are hard to find and not a good variety. Easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asnoopysoul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So-So product
12/31/2010

Customer review by Sassy11

3.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Sassy11
by Sassy11

Beware, this is not a blizzard maker, but a hand-crank homemade ice cream maker. It doesn't actually make blizzards. You make the ice cream, then sprinkle the topping on top. So if you want a homemade ice cream maker, go ahead and buy it. I followed the instructions to a T, except I believe I didn't have enough salt on the ice. The ice cream took a long time to be made.. more than 30 minutes. My daughters didn't care for the taste of the toppings. I'll try it again to see if I can get it to come out right!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassy11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Fun for the whole family
12/21/2011

Customer review by Whitney725

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by Whitney725
by Whitney725

My 5 year old son received this as a birthday gift and we couldn't be more pleased with it. We have had ice cream every night after dinner for the past 3 nights. I don't understand why people are saying it takes so long to freeze. We followed the directions exactly (first crushing the ice, then adding the salt, then adding the water) and it froze in less than 10 minutes. We actually had my son turn the crank for 15 minutes the first time because we thought it wasn't going to freeze fast enough. He was complaining it was too hard to turn the crank after only 7 minutes because the ice cream had thickened so quickly. He loves eating ice cream that he made himself and it is the perfect portion size for a kid. We didn't use the popping candy that came with it. Instead we have crushed up a reeses peanut butter cup and an oreo and mixed those in. We love doing it together and having a tasty treat to share.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whitney725
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
this is great
1/11/2012

Customer review by jacjac1

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by jacjac1
by jacjac1

my kids and i made ice cream it was very good.... We will use this all the time instead of buying it from D.Q. lol. it has a great taste and we all took turns. we brought some m&m's an some Reese pieces to mix in. instead of the pop rocks...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jacjac1
fort wayne ,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very disappointed
12/28/2010

Customer review by Trishn

1.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Trishn
by Trishn

This was probably one of the most disappointing gifts my son got for Christmas this year. He had seen the commercials for it and really wanted it so grandma got him one. It only comes with 3 small packages of ice cream mix and we had to crank it for about 25 minutes before it became partially set. My son completely lost interest after the first 10 minutes of cranking. What a waste!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trishn
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Wonderful Christmas Present!
12/31/2010

Customer review by aug2899

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by aug2899
by aug2899

After reading reviews for this on other sites I decided to pass, but then I needed to get a gift from my mother in law for my daughter for Christmas and she really wanted to this so I went against my better judgment and purchased it! Well to my surprise the bad reviews were WRONG!!! Apparently they could not follow basic instructions! We followed the directions and made perfect, effortless ice cream in 10 mins!! Glad I gave this product a second thought! My daughter is very happy with her blizzard maker!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aug2899
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Overpriced Misnomer
1/14/2011

Customer review by Angie1027

3.0 stars 1/14/2011 by Angie1027
by Angie1027

This should be called a DQ ice cream maker because you don't actually make a blizzard, you make soft serve ice cream and add toppings to it. That said, I knew that ahead of time but my daughter really wanted it so I had her uncle buy it for her for Christmas. It is fun for kids to use, but it is very messy and makes a very small amount of ice cream (though it is tasty). Also, on top of the $25 for the maker, you need to buy half and half and use a lot of salt to make the ice cream. If it cost about $10 less, I would have given it a higher rating.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angie1027
Would recommend to a friend? No
My Daughter Loved IT....
2/16/2011

Customer review by WonderMOM20603

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by WonderMOM20603
by WonderMOM20603

I searched several big stores Target, TOYS R US and Walmart to find this blizzard maker for my daughter at Christmas time. I was unsuccesful...and she was disappointed. So we both searched for this blizzard maker after Christmas with her gift certificate and still no luck. Finally, I tried Walmart online and the item was in stock and for a much cheaper price than Amazon. com. Her smile the day we picked it up from the store was PRICELESS.... I'm such a wonderful mom.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WonderMOM20603
Waldorf, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
12/30/2010

Customer review by c25we

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by c25we
by c25we

Got this for my daughter for christmas. It is really cool how it works. She had so much fun Making Ice Cream. Wish it made more than those two little cups.... lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
c25we
Leechburg,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
12/31/2011

Customer review by edrxman

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by edrxman
by edrxman

Granddaughter loves it

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edrxman
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cute - Lots
12/29/2010

Customer review by Skibunnie98

4.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Skibunnie98
by Skibunnie98

It's cute a product. We haven't tried it yet, but you do need half and half and 3/4 cup of salt along with CRUSHED ice to make it. So I'm not sure where one would get crushed ice if you didn't have an ice machine that did that. Other than that - my daughter is very excited to do it and loved it for Christmas. She's 5.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skibunnie98
Youngstown, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Graet4 my 3 and 6 yeaeold
1/10/2011

Customer review by krynickysrus

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by krynickysrus
by krynickysrus

Not to many peices. works right doesnt take long 4 the ic cream to form. and it tastes great. make sure u have alot of salt

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krynickysrus
suffield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Dairyqueen
12/23/2010

Customer review by valmedic

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by valmedic
by valmedic

Very nice I was skeptical, but works very well and tastes just like a blizzard from DQ

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valmedic
Hudson Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews