Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

315 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

315 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
148
4 stars
40
3 stars
18
2 stars
24
1 stars
85
1-20 of 315 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews
Drawbacks
2/7/2017

Customer review by Mrs. Clean

1.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Mrs. Clean
by Mrs. Clean

This steam cleaner seems to clean better than my old "power lifter" one, and it doesn't need to be assembled every time I use it like that one did (it was more like a canister vac). However, it has these drawbacks: 1. It does not seem to extract the water as well. Takes forever for the carpet to dry. 2. As another reviewer stated, it seems to leak dirty water. If I take a break from cleaning, there is a lot of water that seems to end up on the floor. I put the machine on a piece of cardboard but that doesn't absorb sufficient water, so I've put a towel on top of the cardboard. Even when putting it away when I'm finished, it dribbles water (dirty or clean, I don't know).

Mrs. Clean
Michigan
Gender:Female
Best Timing
9/14/2013

Customer review by ChallengeTaker

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by ChallengeTaker
by ChallengeTaker

The timing couldn't be better. We just moved into a new home with our 3 kiddos and recently adopted 2 kittens. My 3 year old came home with a fever yesterday and vomited all over the couch. A quick wipe with paper towels and the machine was set to work. In less than 7 or 8 minutes, my couch was left looking in much better condition than it was before the mess. And, the odor was completely eliminated. Our kitties are transitioning to their new home and are leaving us "presents" in both liquid and solid form. We used this machine and it has taken away all of the stains and odors. We had difficulty in the basement entryway because they had gone several times before we noticed (our basement isn't finished so we rarely go down there). After several washings with this machine and vacuuming with a baking soda powder, the smell is virtually gone!! The small attachments allowed me to get into the corners and grooves of the steps, too!! Absolutely worth every penny I spent on it. Thanks Bissell!!!!

ChallengeTaker
Omaha, NE, USA
Gender:Female
Great results after first use
10/14/2012

Customer review by CL82

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by CL82
by CL82

So, it seems this product may have some issues after several months of use, BUT I decided to purchase it regardless to try at-home carpet cleaning rather than bringing in an outside business. We have pets and a young child, and I just felt like our carpeted areas of the home needed "refreshed." I will say that before we purchased the home (18 months ago), the carpets were cleaned when the previous owners moved out, then the house sat vacant, so they were professionally cleaned again before we moved in. There were some stains that were left behind by the pros. I had tried to spot treat them, but no luck. The Bissell cleaning formula not only smells great, but it picked up and removed ALL of the stains. It also did a great job removing pet hair left behind from the vac. I found the assembly, use and clean-up of this machine to be really easy. I hope if I follow all of the instrcutions it will last as I would love to use it every 3 months or so on our carpets. Great product (so far)!

CL82
Tennessee
Gender:Female
Help!! I just used my cleaner today for the first time
1/9/2017

Customer review by Garner

1.0 stars 1/9/2017 by Garner
by Garner

My cleaner does not seem to put out any water, I had to keep repriming it every five minutes! I am not happy with this product at all. So far this is the worst shampooer I've ever used and will not recommend it to anyone. This shampooer is brand new out of the box I purchased at Christmas time. Ugh

Comment from Lisa - 1/11/2017

Sorry to hear you're having some trouble, Garner. Give us a call and we can help get it spraying correctly, 1-800-237-7691.

Garner
Middleton, ID 83644, USA
Gender:Female
Better than expensive models!
10/12/2013

Customer review by mykidsmom

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by mykidsmom
by mykidsmom

My husband has a vacuum that he paid a few thousand for and it changes to a "shampooer" I used it for the 5 years we have been together and never felt like it did anything but get the floors wet, when vacuuming I always just felt like it left lines on the floors as it never picked anything up. Needless to say I was looking for something better. Granted, I did not buy this model brand new but found someone that had it and was no longer able to use it. I took it home and the first thing I did was clean my floors! They looked and smelt amazing! I have owned it about 6 months and have used it twice! I love it! Would highly recommend. The only drawback I really see is that if I ever purchase a brand new one (this one will have to die completely for that to happen) is I would get one with the detachable spot cleaner. I did buy a new Bissell Little Green for the spots that my children get on the carpets so I'm not digging out the big machine, and it is wonderful as well!

mykidsmom
Elko, NV
Gender:Female
Horrible product
12/13/2016

Customer review by Nicole

1.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Nicole
by Nicole

This is by far the worst product I have purchased . the belt had to be replaced twice in less then a year . stores do not stock the belts , so they have to be ordered . loss of suction , Will spray water when it wants to . rubber seals Have fallen apart . worked good for about 4 months . I wouldn't reccomend this product if you have pets or children And would be actualy using it .. So far its been a fairly costly piece of junk

Nicole
New mexico
Gender:Female
Worked real good until it stopped working
6/30/2012

Customer review by Sanityfree

2.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Sanityfree
by Sanityfree

Gets the carpets clean, but from the first time I used it I noticed the suction part clogging with pet hair every pass. Turns out our vacuum cleaner was still set to HIGH from our old house. After turning it to low and vacuuming twice (TWICE!) before shampooing, the unit stills clogs with hair, albeit every third pass now. However, today, I attempt to use my cleaner for the third time ever, and it dies. I smell belt burning. Pop the cover off (which should NOT require a tool, Bissell!) but the belt is not broken. Turn it on, motor turns but belt does not. Turned the belt by hand, then it broke. Turns out the part where the belt connects to the beater assembly/pump unit was COMPLETELY JAMMED WITH PET HAIR!!! So now I'm working on cleaning the unit out and figuring which belt to send my wife after. All in all, I understand that a good vacuum is important, but this is a "PET CARPET CLEANING SYSTEM!" I kind of expect it to handle pet hair much better than it does. I mean, how is it that wet pet hair can even get to the belt?!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Thanks for the review. If the pump belt broke it is easily replaceable. You can get the belt at http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... and here is an easy video to walk you through replacing it at http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Sanityfree, just contact our Customer Care at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr and they can help you out.

Sanityfree
Beecher city, IL 62414, USA
Gender:Male
what a waste
6/25/2014

Customer review by desertbratt

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by desertbratt
by desertbratt

I purchased the bissell proheat pet cleaner and used it one time to clean up after an elderly dog who couldn't control her bladder anymore. It worked wonderfully and my carpets turned out beautiful. I don't have alot of traffic or stains and not much of a call to use it aside from the one time. I cleaned and stored the machine in the closet. I pulled it out to use it today to clean up after yet another elderly dog and I have no spray to the floor. After reading I am seeing that this is a common problem. It is no longer under warranty and all I am seeing is to take it to a bissell repairman. As a customer, I would expect a product to last for more than one use and am very disappointed in this machine. I have done all of the troubleshooting things and I get spray to the attachments, just not to the floor and am very frustrated. At this point, I have decided that I will not purchase another bissell product. I expected better from Bissell.

desertbratt
Lucerne Valley, California
Gender:Female
Unsatsify Customer
10/18/2012

Customer review by disgustedinAZ

1.0 stars 10/18/2012 by disgustedinAZ
by disgustedinAZ

I bought the Bissell Proheat Pet Deep Cleaner in May 2012. Having two dogs and thought it would be great for cleaning the carpet. The first time I used the machine it left balls of pet hair everywhere. Which wasn't a real big deal, I could pick it up. As I used it a few more times, I notice the machine was not cleaning up the messes. Then the sprayers quit working. I bought a pump belt and replaced it. It still was not working. I took it to a repairman and he said the automix gadget broke where the hose connects. He replaced the gadget. It did not work. He replaced the pump. It still doesnt work. He replaced all the tubing and the machine still wont spray. Now I have a machine sitting here not working. I'm totally disgusted. I have not had the machine for 6 months before it quit. Now I have to buy a new machine. I will not be buying a Bissell deep cleaner again. I have spent enough money on the machine to find out it still won't work.

disgustedinAZ
Sierra Vista, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Worked for 9 uses then became useless
12/2/2016

Customer review by Giantblue

1.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Giantblue
by Giantblue

First thing to stop working was the spray feature,next was the roller now it just makes noise as if working ,but does nothing.

Giantblue
Galveston,Tx
Gender:Male
Agitated
7/27/2013

Customer review by Bk

1.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Bk
by Bk

So I have had many carpet cleaners in the past and with a average 4 star rating I gave this one a try. Unlike the other reviews it has yet to fall apart but in general it stinks. It disperses water heaver on the sides than the middle and its suction doesn't soak up like a carpet cleaner would. I have to sit on one spot for about 5 min and then move on. Even water stains don't come up, the brush works buts its like it throws water on the carpet and leave 90% of that water there. I threw towels down and it soaked up more water. As for the scrubbing hand scrubbing was way more effective. It made me agitated that carpet cleaners are made to ease the trouble of hands and knees scrubbing. In the end hand scrubbing and towel drying works a lot better!!! Even on my first use the suction wasn't real strong, so we returned it for another one and same thing, very disappointed as I usually am a fan of bisel but not in this case.

Comment from Lisa - 7/30/2013

We are sorry for the trouble; thanks for the review. We can help with easy steps to get your machine to suction. This way with good suction, you will like the cleaning of our carpets also. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1117

Bk
Newport, RI
Gender:Female
Haven't Cleaned Carpets for 4 Years!....
3/10/2015

Customer review by Dusty in the Desert

5.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Dusty in the Desert
by Dusty in the Desert

you can imagine the built-up dirt, and my 10 year old (smaller Bissell carpet cleaner) was no longer working. Used the Bissell Pro-Heat Plus right out of the box...day after arrival. First the area rugs. They came out almost like new...dark colors were brighter. Then the worst area, my bathroom carpet. This beige carpet had brown foundation powder embedded so deep, I began to think the carpet was really 'brown'....but after 2 passes with my new Bissell Pro-Heat Plus, this carpet is looking almost new, as well. Odors have disappeared and I am just so pleased to have much better looking carpets. Bissell is the best and I'm back to cleaning the carpets every few months. With 2 grown men, a bird and lots of dust from nearby fields...I have no doubt that my Bissell can handle it. I have also ordered extra attachments and cleaning liquids, to make sure they are always on hand...Thanks Bissell, for your great products!

Dusty in the Desert
California
Gender:Female
Worst Vacuum
4/5/2015

Customer review by JY05

1.0 stars 4/5/2015 by JY05
by JY05

I bought the ProHeat Pet Carpet Cleaner about 4 months ago, and I probably have only used it twice. I am very disappointed with this product and would not recommend it to anyone. Firstly, the suction area was poorly designed. Every time I try to push the machine forward the plastic in the front gets caught in the carpet and does not allow me to vacuum. This is not an issue when I move the machine backwards. After looking at the vacuum for several hours and trying to engineer a way to make the vacuum work it would require me alter it too much in such a way that I may lose the suction property to the vacuum. Secondly, the side hand vacuum also does not work properly. The suction is so weak that it does not pick up anything. It is important to note that this is not a user error, I followed the manufacturer's instructions as detailed in the guide. Thirdly, when the vacuum does work it creates so much dust particles in the air. Lastly, it is such a pain to take the vacuum apart in order to clean it. Overall, this is a very expensive, poorly designed ineffective product!

Comment from Heather - 4/7/2015

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your trouble with your deep cleaner. The reason you have lost suction and the machine is hard to push forward is the floor nozzle in the front isn't on properly. Make sure to snap the nozzle in on top before putting the two screws in at the bottom. We can help you step by step at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/ It's best to thoroughly dry vacuum your carpet before deep cleaning. The deep cleaner has a very strong brush and can bring up particles deep down in the carpet fibers a vacuum can't.

JY05
Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Can't believe this is from Bissell. Sad product.
1/30/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

Machine frequently Sprays solution when the trigger isn't even depressed, often stops spraying all together. 3 - 4 second delay between pressing trigger & dispensing solution, when it even IS dispensing. Floor/tool selector knob jammed & broke the flimsy arm of the door it was attached to. Had to hot glue it down into place until/if I can find a replacement. Flow indicator fills with bubbles & foam, indicating a sizable leak somewhere along the suction side of the tubing. Floor suction can't even be called mediocre. My quicksteamer has far better. The bladdertank is unwieldly & messy to dump, & doesn't like to collapse thoroughly to allow the use of all the clean water inside.When emptying bladder tank, if you don't depress the feed valve on the bottom of the tank, it "glugs" & slops water everywhere. Automix feature is unpredictable at best, & is likely the reason for the intermittent no-spray I'm experiencing. Gonna bypass it & see. Bladder tank CANNOT be left in machine, as the check-valve doesn't seal properly & allows leakage. So very not up to Bissell's usual standards. SMH...

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV, USA
Gender:Male
ProHeat has some problems
9/13/2012

Customer review by Marilyn66

3.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Marilyn66
by Marilyn66

The system is fair at best for me. BUT, to be fair, we live in the country and have horses and dogs and track lots of dirt inside on almost WHITE carpet. (Not my choice.) Also, I noticed that when I leave the machine standing (turned off)to move something or to just stop for a second for a drink of water, it leaves little "puddles" where it sat. They are about quarter size and there are three each time. When I am done cleaning the carpet and am ready to put it up, I have to grab it and RUN to the door so it doesn't drip or leave a stream behind me. I tried removing the water holder FIRST, when I'm done, but the water is evidently inside the machine some place and leaves some water on the carpet anyway. I bought this because we have such a light carpet and were spending a huge amount of money constantly having it shampooed. I'm still not sure of it. The cleaning is okay, but nothing to write home about.

Comment from Joe - 10/5/2012

Thanks for the review Marilyn66. You may want to dry several dry passes (not pressing the trigger) before you are done so it gives the solution time to run off of the underside of the unit. This should help eliminate those drips. Thanks again.

Marilyn66
1270 Lost Horse Rd, Meridian, MS 39305, USA
Gender:Female
IMPRESSIVE
11/8/2013

Customer review by SKIPBO

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by SKIPBO
by SKIPBO

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE PRO HEAT PET DEEP CLEANING SYSTEM. I SHOPPED AROUND AND REALLY THIS IS THE ONLY MACHINE LIKE IT ON THE MARKET. THIS MACHINE IS THE ONLY ONE THAT HEATS THE WATER TO A HIGHER TEMPERATURE AND FOR ME THAT WAS VERY IMPORTANT. IT DOES A BEAUTIFUL JOB WITH VERY LITTLE EFFORT OR SOAP. THE BRISSELS CLEAN VERY WELL AND THE 12 AMP MOTOR IS NICE AND STRONG. I HAVE USED IT TO CLEAN MY CARPET, MY FLOOR RUGS, MY FURNITURE AND EVEN THE CAR. THE ATTACHMENTS ARE VERY GOOD AND DURABLE. I HAVE TWO REQUESTS: PLEASE DESIGN THE NEXT MODEL SO THAT THE ATTACHMENTS CAN BE TOTALLY REMOVED AS I FEEL LIKE I FIGHT WITH THE HOSE TOO MUCH BECAUSE THE HOSE AND THE ELECRTRIC CORD ARE CONSTANTLY IN THE WAY OF EACH OTHER IT SEEMS. SECONDLY IF YOU COULD FIND A WAY TO HEAT THE WATER WHEN USING THE TOOLS WOULD BE FANTASTIC. I MUST ADMIT THAT HAS BEEN MY ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT. A GREAT MACHINE THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

SKIPBO
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Male
ProHeat Pet Deep Cleaning System - WORTH every penny
2/25/2014

Customer review by Imtalon259

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Imtalon259
by Imtalon259

Ok, so I did my research on the various carpet cleaning systems out there and took a chance on this one. I have a German Shepherd in the later stages of cancer so she cannot always make it outside. I have very heavy and thick carpet and this machine goes through it like a hot knife through butter. Various ratings stated that this machine is heavy to use and that it stopped working after a couple of uses. Yes it is heavier than those the other spot rug cleaners but you don't have to put your foot on top of the cleaner to extract the water either. The machine is very manageable and does a great job on dog urine and feces. After a couple of swipes with the machine the stain or spot is removed. The other issue concerning the machine not working is a non-issue. You have to clean the machine after you finish but this is quick and effortless compared to the other machines that I have used. Clean the machine and it will work flawlessly each time. I have never written a review on a product before but when a company gets it right, I think they should know about it. Thanks Bissell!!!!!

Imtalon259
Radford, VA, USA
Gender:Male
ProHeat Deep Cleaning System
3/29/2013

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Chris
by Chris

Purchased this cleaner 3 weeks ago. We have 3 dogs and light color carpet. I am very impressed with the performance of this machine. Prior to cleaning the carpet, we vacuumed with our Dyson. Even after pulling up lots of dog hair with the Dyson, the cleaning brushes on this ProHeat carpet cleaning machine pulled out even more dog hair from the carpet. Our carpets were completely clean/fresh and dog hair free when finished. Using this machine can be time consuming if your cleaning large rooms of carpet or multiple rooms at the same time. The fresh water tank is small. For example, I cleaned a 12 X 15 room of carpet in about 1 hour, and had to dump the dirty water and get clean water 3 times. That's acceptable to me. I don't recommend trying to clean your entire house or multiple rooms at the same time, unless you have several hours to spend. I recommend cleaning a room each day, or skip a day between cleaning rooms to break up the monotony. So far no problems, breakdowns or issues with the sprayer. My hope is this machine continues to perform this way consistently. Time will tell.

Chris
Kansas
Gender:Male
After awhile it's not so great.
2/8/2013

Customer review by Mommaof3

3.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Mommaof3
by Mommaof3

My husband and I bought this because we were potty training our daughter and she kept having accidents on the couch & floor, this worked GREAT. I even used it to clean our mattresses & the entire couch!! You'd be surprised at how filthy your bed & couch is even though there might not be any visible stains. Well I bough it in 2010. and its been used quite a bit, but I'm starting to have problems with the suction. And when I turn it off after using it ,its starting to leak water from the upholstery brush nozzle & from the bottom floor cleaning nozzles. Its cleaned regularly and I flip it on it's side and I make sure to remove hair and lint underneath other wise the water doesn't spray evenly & nicely. And a few times I have to run regular hot water though it so that soap doesn't clog it up. Maybe I've just gotten all the use I could out of it and its burnt out and I need a new one?

Comment from Lisa - 2/11/2013

Please check out the link for easy tips to get your machine working again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1124. Also, make sure the water tank is not leaking when out of the machine. A new water tank may be needed. It can be order direct at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2786>&partid=4491. There is a trigger on the back side of the upholstery hose, make sure this isn't being depressed by accident causing the leak.

Mommaof3
Stockton, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Below Average Machine
8/10/2016

Customer review by Britt07

1.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Britt07
by Britt07

I've had my Bissell probably 6 months or so. It does not clean very well, no matter the formulas of cleaner I have used designed for it. You have to pass the same area multiple times even when pre treated to get a minimal lift or cleaning. It works the way it is supposed to I guess. It sprays, vacuums up the water, everything seems to be operational. But Im guessing the design of the vacuum itself is poor. Ive got a busy house hold. I dont want to spend my day off only to get a mediocre clean after HOURS of going over the same room. Pros are it is a light weight machine and very user friendly, if you're only needing light cleaning it would work for you. However for KIDS and PETS Id go with something else!

Britt07
Austin, TX
Gender:Female
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews