Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 305 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

305 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

305 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
148
4 stars
40
3 stars
18
2 stars
24
1 stars
75
1-20 of 305 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews
Did a great job!
5/30/2014

Customer review by CarpetCaptain

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by CarpetCaptain
by CarpetCaptain

After reading the reviews, which I found mostly positive, I bought the cleaner today (5-30-14). Got it home and there was just a little assembly required. Couldn't wait to get started (unusual for a man?). My carpets haven't been cleaned for 3 years and I was curious as to what the results were gonna be. Shazam! Let me tell you.....amazing. Followed the directions (yeah for most men it's a last resort), and I tell you what....my carpet looks like brand new! I only had time to do the LR so far but I am very happy with the results. Can't wait to see the results for the rest of the rooms. It woulda' cost me $50 PLUS the cost of the solution if I would have rented a machine so I put that money towards one I am happy with and can use any time I want and as many times as I want! Well worth the money. I would definitely recommend this product. Thanks Bissell!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarpetCaptain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
5/22/2016

Customer review by AraMar

1.0 stars 5/22/2016 by AraMar
by AraMar

This model is only a year old and used about 3 times during this time. This last attempt was extremely frustrating... it was not spraying, then it emptied out the whole soap container in a matter of minutes.... try getting all the soap out!!! There was NO suction and the water tank was full during this whole time. Basically worthless as there is no troubleshooting for this problem. Of course warranty is over, can't return it, there goes $160 to the trash. Not worth a repair. This is my 2nd Bissell steam cleaner -- the first one was great and had it for over 5 years! Not sure if I want to risk getting another Bissell - maybe I'll try calling my friendly Stanley Steemer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AraMar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Timing
9/14/2013

Customer review by ChallengeTaker

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by ChallengeTaker
by ChallengeTaker

The timing couldn't be better. We just moved into a new home with our 3 kiddos and recently adopted 2 kittens. My 3 year old came home with a fever yesterday and vomited all over the couch. A quick wipe with paper towels and the machine was set to work. In less than 7 or 8 minutes, my couch was left looking in much better condition than it was before the mess. And, the odor was completely eliminated. Our kitties are transitioning to their new home and are leaving us "presents" in both liquid and solid form. We used this machine and it has taken away all of the stains and odors. We had difficulty in the basement entryway because they had gone several times before we noticed (our basement isn't finished so we rarely go down there). After several washings with this machine and vacuuming with a baking soda powder, the smell is virtually gone!! The small attachments allowed me to get into the corners and grooves of the steps, too!! Absolutely worth every penny I spent on it. Thanks Bissell!!!!

ChallengeTaker
Omaha, NE, USA
Gender:Female
So disappointed
6/21/2016

Customer review by Beachgirl330

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Beachgirl330
by Beachgirl330

We bought this a few years ago when we got a new puppy. We've had more problems with it than successes, either the water won't come out, or the water comes out but it won't suck it back up. We've taken apart every part we could access to clean it, but nothing. Finally gave up and took it to a repair place before chucking it in the trash. They ended up replacing the heater and the pump on it. Unfortunately, all we wanted was an estimate and did not authorize the work. Not sure I want to throw good money after bad, so we may just tell them to keep it.

Beachgirl330
Manchester, NH, USA
Gender:Female
Great results after first use
10/14/2012

Customer review by CL82

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by CL82
by CL82

So, it seems this product may have some issues after several months of use, BUT I decided to purchase it regardless to try at-home carpet cleaning rather than bringing in an outside business. We have pets and a young child, and I just felt like our carpeted areas of the home needed "refreshed." I will say that before we purchased the home (18 months ago), the carpets were cleaned when the previous owners moved out, then the house sat vacant, so they were professionally cleaned again before we moved in. There were some stains that were left behind by the pros. I had tried to spot treat them, but no luck. The Bissell cleaning formula not only smells great, but it picked up and removed ALL of the stains. It also did a great job removing pet hair left behind from the vac. I found the assembly, use and clean-up of this machine to be really easy. I hope if I follow all of the instrcutions it will last as I would love to use it every 3 months or so on our carpets. Great product (so far)!

CL82
Tennessee
Gender:Female
Better than expensive models!
10/12/2013

Customer review by mykidsmom

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by mykidsmom
by mykidsmom

My husband has a vacuum that he paid a few thousand for and it changes to a "shampooer" I used it for the 5 years we have been together and never felt like it did anything but get the floors wet, when vacuuming I always just felt like it left lines on the floors as it never picked anything up. Needless to say I was looking for something better. Granted, I did not buy this model brand new but found someone that had it and was no longer able to use it. I took it home and the first thing I did was clean my floors! They looked and smelt amazing! I have owned it about 6 months and have used it twice! I love it! Would highly recommend. The only drawback I really see is that if I ever purchase a brand new one (this one will have to die completely for that to happen) is I would get one with the detachable spot cleaner. I did buy a new Bissell Little Green for the spots that my children get on the carpets so I'm not digging out the big machine, and it is wonderful as well!

mykidsmom
Elko, NV
Gender:Female
Doesn't last
4/19/2016

Customer review by MarcyL

1.0 stars 4/19/2016 by MarcyL
by MarcyL

I've had the pro heat pet longer than a few months. It worked ok, but the brush won't turn now and it doesn't work right without it. I'm not into repairing carpet cleaners. I think a side belt is broken, but for being less than a year old it shouldn't break. If I had my paper work I'd take it back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarcyL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't believe this is from Bissell. Sad product.
1/30/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

Machine frequently Sprays solution when the trigger isn't even depressed, often stops spraying all together. 3 - 4 second delay between pressing trigger & dispensing solution, when it even IS dispensing. Floor/tool selector knob jammed & broke the flimsy arm of the door it was attached to. Had to hot glue it down into place until/if I can find a replacement. Flow indicator fills with bubbles & foam, indicating a sizable leak somewhere along the suction side of the tubing. Floor suction can't even be called mediocre. My quicksteamer has far better. The bladdertank is unwieldly & messy to dump, & doesn't like to collapse thoroughly to allow the use of all the clean water inside.When emptying bladder tank, if you don't depress the feed valve on the bottom of the tank, it "glugs" & slops water everywhere. Automix feature is unpredictable at best, & is likely the reason for the intermittent no-spray I'm experiencing. Gonna bypass it & see. Bladder tank CANNOT be left in machine, as the check-valve doesn't seal properly & allows leakage. So very not up to Bissell's usual standards. SMH...

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Worked real good until it stopped working
6/30/2012

Customer review by Sanityfree

2.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Sanityfree
by Sanityfree

Gets the carpets clean, but from the first time I used it I noticed the suction part clogging with pet hair every pass. Turns out our vacuum cleaner was still set to HIGH from our old house. After turning it to low and vacuuming twice (TWICE!) before shampooing, the unit stills clogs with hair, albeit every third pass now. However, today, I attempt to use my cleaner for the third time ever, and it dies. I smell belt burning. Pop the cover off (which should NOT require a tool, Bissell!) but the belt is not broken. Turn it on, motor turns but belt does not. Turned the belt by hand, then it broke. Turns out the part where the belt connects to the beater assembly/pump unit was COMPLETELY JAMMED WITH PET HAIR!!! So now I'm working on cleaning the unit out and figuring which belt to send my wife after. All in all, I understand that a good vacuum is important, but this is a "PET CARPET CLEANING SYSTEM!" I kind of expect it to handle pet hair much better than it does. I mean, how is it that wet pet hair can even get to the belt?!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Thanks for the review. If the pump belt broke it is easily replaceable. You can get the belt at http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... and here is an easy video to walk you through replacing it at http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Sanityfree, just contact our Customer Care at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr and they can help you out.

Sanityfree
Beecher city, IL 62414, USA
Gender:Male
what a waste
6/25/2014

Customer review by desertbratt

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by desertbratt
by desertbratt

I purchased the bissell proheat pet cleaner and used it one time to clean up after an elderly dog who couldn't control her bladder anymore. It worked wonderfully and my carpets turned out beautiful. I don't have alot of traffic or stains and not much of a call to use it aside from the one time. I cleaned and stored the machine in the closet. I pulled it out to use it today to clean up after yet another elderly dog and I have no spray to the floor. After reading I am seeing that this is a common problem. It is no longer under warranty and all I am seeing is to take it to a bissell repairman. As a customer, I would expect a product to last for more than one use and am very disappointed in this machine. I have done all of the troubleshooting things and I get spray to the attachments, just not to the floor and am very frustrated. At this point, I have decided that I will not purchase another bissell product. I expected better from Bissell.

desertbratt
Lucerne Valley, California
Gender:Female
Unsatsify Customer
10/18/2012

Customer review by disgustedinAZ

1.0 stars 10/18/2012 by disgustedinAZ
by disgustedinAZ

I bought the Bissell Proheat Pet Deep Cleaner in May 2012. Having two dogs and thought it would be great for cleaning the carpet. The first time I used the machine it left balls of pet hair everywhere. Which wasn't a real big deal, I could pick it up. As I used it a few more times, I notice the machine was not cleaning up the messes. Then the sprayers quit working. I bought a pump belt and replaced it. It still was not working. I took it to a repairman and he said the automix gadget broke where the hose connects. He replaced the gadget. It did not work. He replaced the pump. It still doesnt work. He replaced all the tubing and the machine still wont spray. Now I have a machine sitting here not working. I'm totally disgusted. I have not had the machine for 6 months before it quit. Now I have to buy a new machine. I will not be buying a Bissell deep cleaner again. I have spent enough money on the machine to find out it still won't work.

disgustedinAZ
Sierra Vista, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
What a Waste of Money!!!
4/8/2016

Customer review by Kate

1.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Kate
by Kate

Once again, worked on the machine for 45 minutes to be able to use "only" the tool attachment. Beyond frustrated. As some of the other customers noted, this machine has probably only worked without complications, no more than 3 or 4 times. I saved up to buy this and that makes it even more disappointin Today, the machine won't spray using the floor position...will only spray with the tool. So I've been down on my knees spot cleaning for the last 30 minutes...and I'm almost 60....not that easy any more. I have watched videos, checking all possible problems that I know. What a waste of money!

Comment from Nikki - 4/13/2016

We definitely understand your frustration, Kate. If the hose is spraying and the floor is not, that could mean the floor spray tips are clogged. Give us a call and we'd be more than happy to help! 1-800-237-7691.

Kate
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Possibly just need help
5/1/2016

Customer review by Lauren

3.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Lauren
by Lauren

The product works great sometimes. Right now it seems as if it isn't sucking up the water as much? If there something I can do about it?

Comment from Nikki - 5/5/2016

We can definitely help, Lauren. Here are a few things to check that will ensure your ProHeat is suctioning correctly: https://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=0c5343f3-9c4b-4e38-b142-20b4b4f4be81&cid=ccsocial2107 Give us a call if you need some help, 1-800-237-7691.

Lauren
iowa
Gender:Female
Completely disappointed
4/20/2016

Customer review by Klynn

1.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Klynn
by Klynn

Purchased this machine against better judgement. I wasn't going to get a Bissell but someone who I respect stands by the product. First use out of the box.. one pass down the carpet and it WON'T SPRAY! Repositioned the tank. It sprayed for about 3 feet and stopped again. Getting returned and I'm going with a different brand all together. Get it right Bissell!! Cheap Cheap Cheap

Comment from Nikki - 4/22/2016

Hi Klynn - We're sorry to hear the cleaner did not work with the first use, that definitely should not happen. Please give us a call and we can help with your cleaner, 1-800-237-7691.

Klynn
Broadlands, IL 61816, USA
Gender:Female
amazing for pets and toddlers
4/16/2016

Customer review by mel

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by mel
by mel

We bought this after using a cheap one for years. The first time I used it I thought it bleached our off white carpet, nope just that dirty. I then did the entire house multiple times and love it! Its easy to use our carpets look amazing! Better than when we moved in. Works wonders on our couches as well! I recommend this to anyone even cleanfreaks like me!

mel
lakewood co
Gender:Female
Unhappy with this cleaner
1/28/2016

Customer review by Molly

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Molly
by Molly

Loved it the first time we used it ... liked it the second time ... hated it after the third. I feel like this unit is clogged with stuff (fibers, strings, hair, dirt, etc) and there is no way to open it up and clean it out. Yes, I have read the manual a million times and called the support number (don't bother with that ... untrained person unfamiliar with floor cleaners reading from screen). There is only one place to clean a tiny filter and that area isn't the problem. When you use it balls and balls of gunk come out of the bottom and it inexplicably quits spraying and sucking. I want to give it a good cleaning out as obviously there is a need for it but they have made it too "user friendly" to allow you to do that. Doesn't work anymore and I've only used it three times. Don't buy this unit.

Comment from Juan - 2/5/2016

Hi Molly - We're sorry to hear you're upset! It sounds like the spray tips may be clogged. Being a carpet cleaner this machine will bring up a lot of hair trapped in your carpet and if it's not cleaned regularly it could build up. Here's a video that should help with cleaning the spray tips on your cleaner: http://www.bissell.com/proheat-pet-upright-carpet-cleaner-89104/proheat-no-spray-9810-25a3-series?cid=ccsocial2107

Molly
Albion, NY 14411, USA
Haven't Cleaned Carpets for 4 Years!....
3/10/2015

Customer review by Dusty in the Desert

5.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Dusty in the Desert
by Dusty in the Desert

you can imagine the built-up dirt, and my 10 year old (smaller Bissell carpet cleaner) was no longer working. Used the Bissell Pro-Heat Plus right out of the box...day after arrival. First the area rugs. They came out almost like new...dark colors were brighter. Then the worst area, my bathroom carpet. This beige carpet had brown foundation powder embedded so deep, I began to think the carpet was really 'brown'....but after 2 passes with my new Bissell Pro-Heat Plus, this carpet is looking almost new, as well. Odors have disappeared and I am just so pleased to have much better looking carpets. Bissell is the best and I'm back to cleaning the carpets every few months. With 2 grown men, a bird and lots of dust from nearby fields...I have no doubt that my Bissell can handle it. I have also ordered extra attachments and cleaning liquids, to make sure they are always on hand...Thanks Bissell, for your great products!

Dusty in the Desert
California
Gender:Female
Allready stopped working
4/17/2016

Customer review by upset

1.0 stars 4/17/2016 by upset
by upset

I have only had my shampooer for about 4 months and it will not release any water and cleaner. Therefore it can not clean at all. It worked well when it did work but it suddenly just quit right in the middle of cleaning. This should not happen. I

Comment from Rick - 4/19/2016

Oh no! It could be clogged, here's a video with a few steps to try that should get it spraying again in no time: https://www.bissell.com/proheat-pet-upright-carpet-cleaner-89104/proheat-no-spray-9810-25a3-series?cid=ccsocial2107

upset
North Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
Agitated
7/27/2013

Customer review by Bk

1.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Bk
by Bk

So I have had many carpet cleaners in the past and with a average 4 star rating I gave this one a try. Unlike the other reviews it has yet to fall apart but in general it stinks. It disperses water heaver on the sides than the middle and its suction doesn't soak up like a carpet cleaner would. I have to sit on one spot for about 5 min and then move on. Even water stains don't come up, the brush works buts its like it throws water on the carpet and leave 90% of that water there. I threw towels down and it soaked up more water. As for the scrubbing hand scrubbing was way more effective. It made me agitated that carpet cleaners are made to ease the trouble of hands and knees scrubbing. In the end hand scrubbing and towel drying works a lot better!!! Even on my first use the suction wasn't real strong, so we returned it for another one and same thing, very disappointed as I usually am a fan of bisel but not in this case.

Comment from Lisa - 7/30/2013

We are sorry for the trouble; thanks for the review. We can help with easy steps to get your machine to suction. This way with good suction, you will like the cleaning of our carpets also. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1117

Bk
Newport, RI
Gender:Female
Cleans GREAT but weighs a TON
5/25/2014

Customer review by daisyhomer

2.0 stars 5/25/2014 by daisyhomer
by daisyhomer

This machine is a great carpet cleaner but it weighs too much for me! I could hardly move it around. Also the larger attachment squirted solution from the side when used. I have to take it back due to those issues. I used it twice within four days and as I said it worked like a professional machine...My carpets smelled and looked great!!! If it didn't weigh so much I would have given it a 5 star rating...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daisyhomer
Monterey, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews