Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 90 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great boots
3/26/2011

Customer review by goodboots

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by goodboots
by goodboots

I have paid a lot for boots before,and know you usually get what you pay for,but have had excellent results with this boot.I work 12 hrs a day on concrete and my pair have lasted for over a year and still have great cushion in the sole.There are some small cracks in the sole,but are still very wearable.Noticed many others wearing them,so I tried them out,and sure enough they get the job done and don't break the bank.I love how the sole is soft on concrete,yet lasts for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (90) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodboots
Carrollton,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Same wear, best fitting, SAVE 100.00
9/20/2011

Customer review by constkng

5.0 stars 9/20/2011 by constkng
by constkng

I have abused, kicked, scraped and worn out boots for more than 40 years. 18 months ago I took an afternoon to shop for my next pair that I knew would be on my feet for 300 - 350 times at 10-12 hrs per day. I've been a R** W*** fan since the 60's, so I was fitted and walked in boots at 3 of their stores (in my area near Denver not all stores stock the same boots). I also tried on boots at S***s and the S****** Store. Not having found that feel I wanted I stopped at my neighborhood Walmart and tried on a pair of the Herman Survivors Wide Width boots. The good feel was overwhelming there. I was a little concerned about the cheap price as all the other boots I had just tried on were in the 109.00 to 229.00 price range, but I figured that even if they only survived my rough treatment for 6 months I would have gotten a good value from them. Well here I am online all these months later and I just bought a new pair of the same boots...by the way the 18 month old pair of Hermans showed the same heel and toe wear all the other brands I ever worn had. I have never polished them, they got regular exposure to wet concrete, paint, wet weather, snow, mud, and I probably averaged about a half mile every day just walking.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
constkng
Front range, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Boot for the $$
10/10/2010

Customer review by xjplus

4.0 stars 10/10/2010 by xjplus
by xjplus

This is a good boot for the price. Would be nice to have 1/2 sizes avail. online. Don't quite understand why the 6" boots are waterproof, but the 10" are not

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xjplus
Hudson, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Boot
3/2/2011

Customer review by PetOwnerX2

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by PetOwnerX2
by PetOwnerX2

I'm puzzled to see why some people feel they have problems with this boot? A reviewer upset because their boots got worn out after five years of daily use? This matches my experience and for the money I couldn't be happier. I've been wearing this brand and this style boot for seven years and just purchased my third pair. For $50 I don't think you can find a better buy. They are very comfortable and durable and protect your feet well. The only problem that I've experienced is that after a lot of use, the sole does crack across the foot along the line where the sole bends when you walk. It doesn't render the boot useless and in fact I feel no difference once it happens. I have always been able to continue to use the boot without problems. These boots are comfortable from day one and only continue to get more comfortable as you wear them. I am really happy with these boots and will continue to wear and purchase them as long as they don't change anything.

Was this review helpful? (34) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PetOwnerX2
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tested TOUGH
12/25/2010

Customer review by Burricade

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by Burricade
by Burricade

I work at Old Dominion Freight Line. I bought these boots in October and ive worn them for 10hrs a day, 5 / 6 days a week. These boots are put through the ringer...from exposure to chemicals to exposure to sharp and unforgiving objects. The only downside about them is that they arent made in the USA. Other than that, these boots out perform 300$ boots that ive had before. I have not experienced any of the 'split sole' that has been mentioned here. Everything about the boot has performed above expectations...not just for a 50$ pair of boots...they are simply the best work boots ive ever owned. As long as these boots continue to perform (and i they are showing signs of many years of service) I will buy these exact pair again when the time comes.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Burricade
Dandridge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Working Boots
5/19/2011

Customer review by JAMAICANLEEZA

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by JAMAICANLEEZA
by JAMAICANLEEZA

I bought these boots for my picky boyfriend who is a landscaper. He actually liked the quality and the style of the boot. And although they are steel toe boots they're very light. I also bought them wide width since the regular width was not available and the fit was fine. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAMAICANLEEZA
Boston, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Very comfortable, well made.
2/5/2014

Customer review by RockyBlue

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by RockyBlue
by RockyBlue

I bought my first pair of these in 2004 and have been coming back to them ever since. I've tried many different name brand boots and these are by far the most comfortable, at half the price of other's. The only problem I've had with the 10 or more pairs that I've gone through is the sole. The sole is soft for the purpose of grip and comfort. It does eventually crack or chunk out after 1-2 years. Much like a soft snow tire wears out quicker, these will wear out quicker than a stiffer rubber sole (less cushion). The trade off for comfort is life span, but at this price the math works out to replace them more often than expensive boots. I've put these through 10hr days on concrete in the machine shop and woodshop, logging, sawmilling,hiking,auto repair, and other abuse and they protect my feet well without fatigue or sweaty feet. The eyelets are all steel and don't rip out. Laces last quite a while.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockyBlue
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Much needed and useful
10/14/2010

Customer review by OneTruckdriver

4.0 stars 10/14/2010 by OneTruckdriver
by OneTruckdriver

Safe, protective and supportive.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneTruckdriver
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
greatboot
12/17/2010

Customer review by turkone

3.0 stars 12/17/2010 by turkone
by turkone

I walk for a living,and like these boots. only one problem!!!!!!!! the right toe seam-always separates from the boot . Three times in the last yr.and a half... I would like a responce from the company or a replacement pair for life. or as long as this problem exsist's.!!! Change boot's ??????

Was this review helpful? (25) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turkone
bayfield co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great shoe for the money!!!
9/18/2011

Customer review by bebop71

5.0 stars 9/18/2011 by bebop71
by bebop71

My shoes are the 6 inch work boot.I drive truck,deliver asphalt and have to get in the asphalt a lot,300 degrees.The boots have held up for 15 months without any problems.I am in water,mud,stone,no problems with that either.Can't beat the price.When I bought the boots I did not think they would las and take the abuse that I do with them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bebop71
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Owned 3 pair...BUT they changed boot design!!!!!!
10/13/2013

Customer review by BamBamMan

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by BamBamMan
by BamBamMan

Price of these boots is good for the quality, however don't expect more than 6-months, (hard labor), for life of the boot sole. NOTE: RED FLAG, They changed the design of the sole #summer'ish 2013) and reduced it AT LEAST 3/8" in. thinner than all previous pairs that I have purhased. I have not determined if the insole and liner have changed for the better, or if perhaps the bottom sole is a thinner, stronger material............I'm guessing "no" to both!! The world's largest retailer is simply selling a lesser quality boot while adding more to their bottom line.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamBamMan
BamBamMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
lasted 5 months in Afghanistan and still wearable
7/5/2012

Customer review by viperwings

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by viperwings
by viperwings

I bought these from a walmart store (half sizes are available in person- currently not available online). I wear these every day in Afghanistan. Walking over rocks and gravel, im glad I got the high boots rather than the short ones. I roll my ankle sometimes just walking around the army base, but i have not had any "sore" ankles after the roll. These boots have been well worth the roughly $60 they cost me, and at 5 months, the inside back is starting to rip/tear, but they are still wearable. I am going to look for a different kind of boot mainly because I have more money now, but for the cost, these are excellent boots! Id say they are fairly breathable. I do have sweaty feet at the end of each day, but no like some of my co-workers who wear other kinds of boot. I recommend these boots to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
viperwings
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/20/2011

Customer review by BootsWorkerII

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by BootsWorkerII
by BootsWorkerII

I have worn a lot of work boots over the years, basically live in them, the Herman Survivor Big Timber II is the greatest boot I have ever worn. It meets all expactations comfort wise, value, and long wearing. I have three pair of them just to insure that when and if they are even discontinued I still have my Big Timbers. Nothing like them! Mine are size 12 W.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BootsWorkerII
Albany NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flamin' Love these Boots
1/28/2011

Customer review by mharri

4.0 stars 1/28/2011 by mharri
by mharri

Herman's Sporting Goods shops in DC closed and I hadn't seen these boots for years. I was working construction and saw a guy with a pair of these and asked about them. Went to Wal-Mart and saw they were Herman Survivors. I've had them about 6 months and have had no problems, they are warm and comfortable. I nearly bought two pairs on site, but since I know where to get them I can always go back

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mharri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The worst pair of boots I've ever paid money for
12/6/2012

Customer review by BertinMissouri

1.0 stars 12/6/2012 by BertinMissouri
by BertinMissouri

I bought a pair of these boots awhile back, they looked rugged and were under $100, so I thought I'd try them out. I'm a big guy (6'2", 220) and on my feet quite a bit and need something that won't fall apart. I made the wrong choice. Only a couple of months after I bought them, the stitching began coming loose at the bottom of the lacing, ruining the waterproofing. Still, I figured I could use them in dry weather, they are, after all, made of fairly decent leather and a heavy sole which should last for quite some time. Wrong again: A few months after the stitching came loose, the right boot developed a "mouth", with the front of the sole completely coming loose from the boot. Not worn, mind you, it's just that whatever glue they used turned loose and now the boots are useless. The soles are barely worn and there are no tears in the upper, it's just that the boots seem poorly made and don't stand up to any amount of use that would be considered normal for someone who would buy a pair of boots like this. They are, after all, "work boots", but can't be actually worked in for more than a short while without them beginning to fall apart. I would have expected them to last at least a year under hard use, or several years with occasional use. I've owned many other brands of boot in my life, and these were by far the shortest lived of any I have ever purchased. A horrible value and it's difficult to believe it's the same boot I've read about in these other reviews.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BertinMissouri
Neosho Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
much better than we had hoped for
11/20/2010

Customer review by ddezianne

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by ddezianne
by ddezianne

I was looking for a boot that wasn't so expensive for my husband who is a log truck driver and wades through a lot of wet muddy terrain. These turned out to be wonderful boots. Fit great for a wide foot, great comfort for his knees and back, great for keeping his feet dry.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddezianne
Hoquiam, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for professional industrial use.
5/16/2014

Customer review by SK120

2.0 stars 5/16/2014 by SK120
by SK120

I purchased a pair of Herman Survivor, Big Timber 2, steel toe work boots back in February 2014 and for the first couple of months, they were comfortable and fit well. I wore them for work during a full time industrial mechanical/engineering job and by April 2014, the inside of the shoes started falling apart behind the steel toe and back by the heel area exactly the same in each shoe. It finally got so bad that the boots were getting very uncomfortable, pieces of the shoe insides were falling out, and the areas that were falling apart started to destroy my socks from rubbing the open and rough points. The internal material of the shoes are very poorly made, but the outside and sole held up great. The steel toe work book just can't stand up to professional/industrial mechanical work. Definitely not worth the money. Herman brand shoes were a lot better previously.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SK120
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/27/2012

Customer review by Kobalt7408

1.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Kobalt7408
by Kobalt7408

After reading reviews I had high expectations for these boots, however after wearing them for only one day I discovered that they were the worst boots I have ever owned. As someone who does facility maintenance I work long days in rough conditions, I had hoped that these boots would be able to withstand my job, but they couldn't even make it through a day of light yard work. So far the list of problems includes terrible rubbing on the back of the heel, seams falling apart, and grommets breaking. I would not consider buying these again nor would I ever recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kobalt7408
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent
12/6/2011

Customer review by jpjr41

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by jpjr41
by jpjr41

Very pleaseed with boot...comfortable,durable,and great price.Stands up to boots 3 times the price.Recommended to fellow employees,and friends all satisfioed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpjr41
northbranford,ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Work Boot
10/24/2011

Customer review by babaa

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by babaa
by babaa

I have worn this type of work Boot every day for 4-5 years. I am in the construction industry. The boot is comfortable, Durable, and keeps my foot dry. The Wicking feature of the boot keeps the foot dry. A pair usually lasts me 6 to 8 Months. A GREAT VALUE. Also good ankle Support.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews