Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
13
1-20 of 70 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Outlasted my Timberlands which cost 3x as much!
3/6/2011

Customer review by DisgruntledUsually

4.0 stars 3/6/2011 by DisgruntledUsually
by DisgruntledUsually

I was especially poor when I bought these in 2008 and admit I didn't like them much at first mostly because I knew they were a Walmart boot (shallow, I admit.) But when I was growing up, I clearly remember Hermans to be THE BOOTS TO HAVE, and I wondered if the reputation for quality they once had remained in tact. I worked hard in these boots in constantly wet conditions with lots of random chemicals contacting them. The waterproofing I believe was sound but it didn't matter because my feet were always wet by days end from sweat - I don't think there is much breathing in this boot, and they are insulated so expect to sweat, especially in summer weather! But that was my only complaint. I set them aside after gettting some Timberland boots (Direct Attach 6) for $120 and after a year of wear, they go in the trash and I put the Hermans back on and right away I recognize how solid they are in construction even after a year of hard wet use! Again I am back to wearing these every day with some hard use and they are built far better than much more expensive boots! I had to add a new insole but only because the old one was funky, not because it was worn out!!! The pair I had are still on my feet through two years of daily hard wear and I'll bet I could get another six months out of them - more if the bottoms of the soles were in better shape but I can see that I've gone through a layer of rubber and I don't think the exposed layer is meant for much contact with the Earth.. Suck up your pride and wear the Walmart boot that's tougher than Timberland!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (108) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisgruntledUsually
Philly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The purchase
3/17/2012

Customer review by breaker12345

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by breaker12345
by breaker12345

2008 i purchased these boots because the seasons and also landscaping.Herman survivor boots these my number one boots to use, and purposes. The PROBLEM that drives me CRAZY i dont know about any ONE else but, I miss the old verison of herman survivors breaker boots those were the best boots they lasted forever. these boots dont have the steel toe tag on the laces changes need to be made and the waterproof tag on the side thats stupid and the squard out soles i like the breakers better when they were round. The out soles should be round. IF PEOPLE AGREE PLEASE CLICK YES THIS DID HELP

Was this review helpful? (121) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
breaker12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dang fine boot for the price
1/26/2011

Customer review by AVBarbera

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by AVBarbera
by AVBarbera

I bought these boots a little over 6 months ago, and they have held up great. Working in a rail yard as an operator/laborer I abuse my footwear. Outdoors all day, kicking metal around and setting cars in the wonderful NW weather. They are not 100% waterproof above the tongue, but that is pretty standard for this kind of boot. Stepping in 3in puddles is no problem @TesterMike: If you're working in 8 in of water all day you're gonna need rubber boots The only thing that I knock it for are the laces. Mine lasted 3 weeks. Bought another set of good ones and all's well. The leather upper has a couple rips, but that is only cosmetic for now.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVBarbera
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
About these boots i bought three year ago.
10/1/2011

Customer review by bootman123

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by bootman123
by bootman123

I put these boots thourgh the ringer mud,rain,dirt,consturtion with my step dad, rocks 3 inch rain,heavy objects landed on the steel toe and sill lasted. The waterproof keep my feet dry and comfortable. Slip/Oil Resistant works like a charm. Parts of the outsoles fell apart after three year's nothing minor still good. gonna be four year's in December 1st 2012. Do i recommend this item yes.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bootman123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
better then i expected
5/20/2011

Customer review by breaker123

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by breaker123
by breaker123

had redwings timberlands cat boots alot of them but i thought i would never ever get walmart boots but i did and i like them alot didnt even have to break them in as much as the other ones really comfortable we see if they hold up but for 40 bucks you cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
breaker123
mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/16/2012

Customer review by dmdtimber2

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by dmdtimber2
by dmdtimber2

I have,will,and are recomending this boot.I have 20 guys working for me in the construction field,and once ayear ill buy the crew boots every spring.I take the boys to walmart,and ten chose the breaker.I use to spend around 75.00 for the Diehards but last year to save money opted for the cheaper Herman line,and all ten boots are still functional though at the end of the journey.Next month off to walmart.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmdtimber2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best
6/18/2011

Customer review by boots1234

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by boots1234
by boots1234

100% waterproof and very duribile and its oil/slip reasistant really works and the steel toe very cool

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boots1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality Work Boot
10/13/2010

Customer review by WesM

4.0 stars 10/13/2010 by WesM
by WesM

Waterproof and durable

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WesM
Westboro, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk Boots
10/23/2010

Customer review by TesterMike

1.0 stars 10/23/2010 by TesterMike
by TesterMike

I bought these boots for work and i work with water all day testing pipes with pressured water...they are suppost to be waterproof infact i even bought waterproofing spray just to make sure and ive only worn them once at work and they still leaked threw and my feet were soaked all day long and very cold i would not recommend this item for anyone working with or around water if your looking for a good boot for inside work where your not dealing with any water then they are ok but dont wear them when working with water

Was this review helpful? (29) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TesterMike
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
junk in 2 months
1/7/2012

Customer review by golmer

2.0 stars 1/7/2012 by golmer
by golmer

I have been buying boots for over 20 years and I have tried them all. Recently I had to make a choice to buy a cheaper pair of boots due to it being so close to xmas and not having my annual $100 from work as a boot allowance so i thought i would give these a try. At first I was blown away by the fit, comfort, and support these provided. Also the traction was above my expectation...here is where it went bad. I bought them in November and they have already worn thru, holes have developed in both boots in two separate spots. I am very disappointed and let down, i was so impressed in the beginning i was planning on being a long time consumer , sorry not going to happen.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
golmer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
older was better
1/12/2012

Customer review by oilman2011

1.0 stars 1/12/2012 by oilman2011
by oilman2011

I bought these boots about 3months ago and they are already ruined the rubber on the heel has pulled up the back the tread on the bottom of the shoe is peeling in layers oh and there not waterproof the make a squishy sound when walking in water the best part is there is no warrenty at all if you go to that area of the site it says N/A unless you keep your reciet i have had several pairs of these boots i still have a pair from like 2+ yrs ago and they have no problems at all the pair before this the sole cracked straight across at the toe line and the tread peeled off after about 7 months thought it was a fluke but guess its a new design will never buy these again

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oilman2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/16/2012

Customer review by jphermans

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by jphermans
by jphermans

Ihad been buying chippewas,and carolins for years about 4 yrs ago i started buying the Herman survivor Breaker boot,and fell in live with them.Ive had 3 pairs of these,and find them very comfortable,and affordable.2 yrs ago(to try somethinf different) i purchased the Big Timber 2,and Contractor Herman Survivors ,and have been completely satisfied by the line.I always have 2 pairs of boots to alternate,and at these prices it makes it easy.Ive bought a new pair of the Big Timbers,and considering the breaker as the alternative.From now on its Herman Survivors for me,

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jphermans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cool boots
12/12/2010

Customer review by jd102

4.0 stars 12/12/2010 by jd102
by jd102

Have these boots about one month and so far no problem They are comfortable, I have not gotten them wet yet so we shall see but overall i enjoy wearing them

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jd102
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/29/2012

Customer review by Bigbreaker123

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Bigbreaker123
by Bigbreaker123

Awesome boot at an awesome price.Great comfort,style,and durability.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigbreaker123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the boot they use to be.
10/31/2011

Customer review by Joetheplumber329

1.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Joetheplumber329
by Joetheplumber329

For the past five years the breaker boot was the only boot I wore.I go through two pairs a year with the work I do. Two reasons kept me buying them. They were cheap boots that kept your feet dry.I won't wear a boot that can't keep my feet dry. Now they are just a cheap boot. The last two pairs I've bought were not waterproof at all. The worst thing is cold wet feet. I have a few friends who also wear other herman survivors boots who say the same that they use to be a better boot. Although these boots are comfortable and afforrdable what good is a boot if your feet are cold and wet all day.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joetheplumber329
east stroudsburg ,pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage don't buy them!
10/28/2012

Customer review by SignetSilver

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by SignetSilver
by SignetSilver

I bought a pair of $29 work shoes from Walmart that lasted over 10 years. This time I wanted to step up in quality so, I purchased these Herman Survivor shoes because of the reputation [since 1879]. They looked good. But the tread on the soles are splitting apart on the edges and are wearing through the thin veneer of tread on the bottom. I'm trying to glue them back together. I have only had them a few months and I don't wear them every day. Also, when I try to find the warranty information, it says n/a. I will never buy another pair. If the soles are gone, the shoes are junk!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SignetSilver
Central NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/26/2012

Customer review by boota1

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by boota1
by boota1

Been buying Herman Survivors from walmart for 10 yrs the breaker is my 2nd favorite boot behind the big timber2.Very comfortable,and durable.great arch support,and easy on the pocket.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boota1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
3/1/2012

Customer review by BIGTIMBER202

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by BIGTIMBER202
by BIGTIMBER202

Ibought these for my son 4 years ago,and this is his third pair.Very comfortable,and stylish.He loves these boots,and gave up his Timberlands.Nice price with a very durable boot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGTIMBER202
Wallingford,ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by mows4u

3.0 stars 5/30/2011 by mows4u
by mows4u

After 3 weeks; the laces have been replaced and one of the seams is starting to split. They are OK for occasional use, but not for working in every day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mows4u
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/18/2012

Customer review by mountainmanjp

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by mountainmanjp
by mountainmanjp

Bought the Breaker for two of my sons for work. Boot 1 for warehouse cement fllor work.My son says held up 4 months less then his Timberland Pros(pros 140.00,and breakers 40.00)but the SURVIVORS WERE MUCH MORE COMFY THEN THE PROS.Breaker 1 lasted 7 months.Breaker 2 light construction lasted 16 months.Great boot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountainmanjp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews