Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-12 of 12 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Mower
4/13/2011

Customer review by LadyRoughneck

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by LadyRoughneck
by LadyRoughneck

This mower is perfect for small yards. It assembles easily as well as operates easily. It is light weight and the vibrations are minimal so that even my arthritic hands have no problem. This mower can even be used as a regular reel mower once the battery runs out! This is truely a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyRoughneck
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good deal
4/15/2011

Customer review by motherOfA234YrOld

4.0 stars 4/15/2011 by motherOfA234YrOld
by motherOfA234YrOld

this is a really good lawn mower the only problem is the bag doesnt connect all the way leaving clean up a lil difficult. It is definitely worth it though. you cant beat that price

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motherOfA234YrOld
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not what I needed
5/24/2011

Customer review by chersky

2.0 stars 5/24/2011 by chersky
by chersky

I thought it would be nice not having to drag around an extension cord when I mowed, but this mower just didn't meet my needs. The charge did last a long time, but it just didn't have the power I expected. The plastic body would never have lasted a mowing season. The grass didn't go into the grasscatcher it kept flying over the top of it and it kept falling off. Good idea, but needs improvement. I sent it back and received excellent customer service.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chersky
Klamath Falls OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sun Joe Electric Reel Mower
5/6/2011

Customer review by rinohunter

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by rinohunter
by rinohunter

I got my Sun Joe Electric reel mower yesterday and could not be happier with it. I have had a Sun Joe trimmer/edger for over a year and have had no problems with it. The mower was easy to assemble just the handles and a couple of wires to plug in. The battery had enough charge to do my whole yard front back and both sides. It did a beautiful job cutting my grass and had several neighbors and the mail man check out my mower. Sun Joe has again scored a home run with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rinohunter
Kannapolis, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best reel mower for the price!
10/1/2011

Customer review by ronm69

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by ronm69
by ronm69

For those looking to buy this mower you should first do your research on where a reel mower is best used. Reel mowers are best for bent type grasses (bent, bermuda 419, etc.) that are meant to be mowed very low (1 inch or lower). Anyone thinking of purchasing this mower for any grass that is better kept at higher than one inch should look into a rotary mower (I've had my Neuton electric rotary mower for 5 years, great mower, just not for lower cut grass like my new bermuda 419). My experience with this mower was exactly what I was hoping for, a perfectly manicured lawn than rivals any golf course fairway. Comment on my review asking for a picture and I will gladly email you one. I have bermuda 419 grass that I wanted to keep at around 1/2 to 3/4 inches. The four mowing heights on this mower is 1 3/4 inch, 1 1/2 inch, 1 inch, and 3/4 inch (I actually think the lowest setting is closer to 1/2 inch). I am currently keeping my lawn (about 4,500 square feet) at 3/4 inches. This mower does a great job cutting at that level. Keep in mind that reel mowers are not meant to be cutting more that a 1/4 inch or so of grass at a time. So, if you go more than a week without mowing you may have to raise the cutting level or just go slower to get through the higher grass. This will do that if you are in a pinch, but the battery will not last as long and you will have to walk much slower. As far as those reviewers complaining about the bag, I agree it should work as advertised but I cannot say because I have not tried using it. However, any lawn expert will recommend that you do not bag your clippings, your grass will be much healthier. Plus, if you are only cutting a 1/4 inch or so of grass at a time (which is recommended), the grass clipping will disappear into the yard. The grass does shoot back at your legs and feet but can be remedied in a number of DIY methods. It should not be dangerous however, because you should be making sure your lawn is clear of any debris before starting. Reel mowers are especially sensitive to debris, so this is HIGHLY recommended or you will damage the blades. Reel mower blades are not like rotary blades, so again do your research about reel mowers before purchasing. As far as those reviewers complaining about the manual feature, this just seems ridiculous to me. Why would you buy an electric mower based on a manual use feature. It may or may not work as a manual mower (the actual site does not advertise that) if the battery goes dead, but why even try? An actual manual reel mower will work better in that situation. If your battery is going dead before you finish your yard, you are probably cutting grass that is higher that 2 inches and/or your yard is too big for this mower to handle. I can mow my 4,500 square foot lawn with one charge, but I am getting a second battery to have as a backup just in case. Understanding the mowers capabilities and limitations will only make you a better consumer. I hope this review from a satisfied user will help with that.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ronm69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
Simply Awful
8/1/2011

Customer review by Wagnet

1.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Wagnet
by Wagnet

Here is Southern California we have postage-stamp size yards....and we are environmently friendly. So, I'm trying to find an environmently friendly solution to my small lawn mowing needs. To that end, I really had high hope for this little Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Reel Mower. I'd really like to say something positive about it. Neighbors described it as cute and liked the color. The removable battery is a nice feature. Beyond that, my experience with this little reel mower was simply aweful. The grass-catcher...didn't. I had to go over and over the same spot 3, 4, and 5 times to get the grass cut semi-evenly....and the lawn still looks choppy. So, if you like an extreme workout....with a mower that is NOT easy to push....this may be just the ticket for you. Cancel your fitness center membership and head out to your lawn with this little baby. Forgot to mention....it doesn't cut dandelions, either, no matter how many times you go over them. Ya, I know, I need to get rid of the dandelions and not just try to mow them over....but that's anyother story. However, I somehow EXPECT a lawn mower to be able to cut the stem of a dandelion! Do yourself a favor and put your $200 toward another product. Even a line-timmer would be a better alternative. That's the hard truth. Next stop......Walmart Customer Services to return this bad-boy. Maybe I'll try the $125 Sun Joe Mow Joe 14-Inch Electric Mower and see if I can handle wrestling with an extention cord as it gets wrapped around my trees and bushes...... Life certainly isn't easy when you are tryng to Go Green on a budget. Sure, I could bite the bullet and drop $350 bills on Black And Decker's cordless electric.....but, unfortunately, that would break the bank...and my wife would want retribution by-way-of that high-end hair dryer she's had her eye on....and the expected "I told you so".

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wagnet
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
After 4 months still going strong
7/29/2011

Customer review by junksasa

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by junksasa
by junksasa

I have used this mower now for 4 months. I cut my bermuda grass short (1") twice a week. Lawn looks great. No problems with the mower. Don't use the catcher since around 50% of the lawns food comes from the decomposing clippings.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
junksasa
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Joe Mow Joe
5/9/2011

Customer review by Deltasweetiepi

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Deltasweetiepi
by Deltasweetiepi

So far so good, I am really surprised at how well this mower cuts and my lawn looks just as good if not better than those that are being gas mowed. I feel as though my mower is environmentally friendly. Let's just hope I am still smiling at the end of summer. My neighbor is eyeballing my lawn mower and asking a lot of questions. Takes me 45 minutes to mow the lawn...and I am losing weight doing it. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deltasweetiepi
Rosedale, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Flimsy
5/2/2011

Customer review by ww11

3.0 stars 5/2/2011 by ww11
by ww11

I was very disappointed in this product. Other than being fairly lightweight and easier to handle than a gas mower it is not "strong" enough to suit me. I did not receive all the nuts and bolts needed and had to buy these separate. I don't feel I got the quality I expected for the price..it takes twice the time to mow also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ww11
Greensboro, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Defective
8/15/2011

Customer review by arlenew1

1.0 stars 8/15/2011 by arlenew1
by arlenew1

Unable to give a proper review as I was unable to use this product. It came with charger but the charger pin was recessed into the unit. It could not be charged. Unable to use as it required charging. Returned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arlenew1
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/16/2011

Customer review by Sorange

1.0 stars 8/16/2011 by Sorange
by Sorange

Awful! Don't buy it. We had to return it right away. It doesn't have enough power.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sorange
Dedham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Takin it back
4/28/2011

Customer review by azfan99

1.0 stars 4/28/2011 by azfan99
by azfan99

Does not mow the grass well. Grass catcher doesn't work at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azfan99
Would recommend to a friend? No