Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

223 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

223 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
92
4 stars
98
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
12
1-20 of 202 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews
9/12/2012

Customer review by MotorBuilder

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by MotorBuilder
by MotorBuilder

This machine gets you off your butt and gives you a good workout. You cannot get the same workout from any machine that you sit on. The assembly is for the mechanically inclined, so if you are not pretty good at putting things together, able to figure out picture only assembly diagrams with no words, and have good attention to detail; have a gear head / grease monkey friend come over and put this product together for you. Have a 3/8" ratchet, an 8" long extension, a universal, a metric hex bit set, a variable speed / reversible drill, and a hex-to-3/8 drive adapter to speed assembly. You can put this product together with the tools provided but as a master mechanic I like better tools to work with. The ribbon cable wiring for the console was damaged in shipping because it was not properly tucked into the main console support tube prior to shipping and was cut nearly in half when it arrived. Four of the six conductors had to be spliced back together, but to get to the cable the machine's side cover and one of the pedals had to be removed, which required a metric socket set and a gear puller. My wife is very pleased with this machine and so am I.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotorBuilder
Muskegon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great machine for the money
1/7/2012

Customer review by firwwood8874

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by firwwood8874
by firwwood8874

First of all i can't believe how great this machine is very easy to put together,its 123. The only thing i hate about is the fan,don't waste your time. I must tell you ,this machine feels the same as the one in the gym, firm and soooo quiet. I am soooo happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firwwood8874
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent price, excellent product for the price
11/4/2013

Customer review by SeniorOkie

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by SeniorOkie
by SeniorOkie

I was looking for an elliptical under $500, that would provide an indoor workout without taking up half of my bedroom space. I shopped all the major websites and local stores. I took a chance because of the brand name Schwinn. This item was an exceptional value. The reviews were spot on. The console is useless to me, I don't use it at all. I can't see it even with bifocals. I use my smartphone for music and I purchased a kitchen timer, both work great. I have a great ceiling fan, the fan on the console is a joke. I'm 5' 2", 100 lbs overweight, I've lost 10 lbs and 2" in my hips in one month, with average attention to diet, have not been that strict. I use my elliptical 6 to 7 days a week for 5 to 15 minutes daily. When I started, 2 minutes was a struggle. I am extremely happy with this purchase. Everything you need to put it together is provided. ( That's a plus) It took me 2 1/2 hours to put it together by MYSELF. It's very quiet, I can use it anytime of the day or night without disturbing the whole household. Improve the console, I would give it a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (46) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeniorOkie
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good elliptical for the price
8/23/2013

Customer review by toronjil18

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by toronjil18
by toronjil18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This machine is surprisingly sturdy. I weighed 250 when I first started using it (which is close to its max capacity) and it felt solid while i used it. The ride is very smooth. It started off really quiet but after a couple wks of use it squeaks but its not too bad, I really cant hear it with my headphones in. The fan is useless, it doesnt blow enough air so i just dont use it. The display light is weak so i would recommend getting a booklight for it. Im convinced the calorie counter on it isn't accurate. So basically the display is good for time, speed, and distance; the fan is weak and the puls and calorie count are not accurate. I get a great workout everytime i use it tho. I bought a golds gym one of similar price and it was so unsturdy and noisy that i had to take it apart the very next day and return it but this ones design is much better! It definitely has its flaws, as i mentioned, but nothing that affects its ability to give a great workout. Compared to other ellipticals in its price range, definitely a top contender!

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toronjil18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Pleased with Purchase/Product Quality
12/30/2010

Customer review by VanillaChild77

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by VanillaChild77
by VanillaChild77

From experience with bicycles and tricycles Schwinn is a great company. I saw this elliptical, I knew it would be reliable, durable and of good quality. Very easy to put together. I recommend having a strong arm around to assist incase needed which I did need. One of the metal pieces was bent and one of the holes was off a bit so he was able to fix all that for me with a little elbow grease! The machine is very sturdy, no shaking at all. It's very quiet too. The 18 inch stride is highly recommended. This is why I purchased this elliptical. It was the cheapest elliptical from a reputable company with an 18in stride. The fan harldy blows which is not important to me but thought I'd note it. I wish it had an option to put in your weight so it could better estimate how many calories are being burned. I have done one of the easier programs since I am just starting out. Today I did two 3 minute sessions and one 5 minute session today. I'm about 50 pounds overweight so it's going to take me a while to build up. I will post a follow up in about a month to let everyone know how the machine is holding up!

Was this review helpful? (187) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VanillaChild77
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy for the price.
2/16/2012

Customer review by updy

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by updy
by updy

I bought to use on my gym off days. I Like the Machine, its a pretty Sturdy unit. fast review facts: * its Heavy. you should grab a friend to help. * its well packaged. Nothing was broken when I go it home. * Its not that hard to assemble. However some bolts didn't line up. Also some washers did not fit perfect. * It took me little over an hour to put together. The directions are okay. * the fan is weak, but that's not what you bought it for. Is it? * The display is small, but I can read it perfect. I think only those with bad eyes will have trouble reading the display. * the workouts are nice, Plus each one has different levels. * the machine is solid when I'm on it, I am 264. this Machine is a good buy. The only downsides are the bolts not lining up. I know that sounds OCD, but that holds it all together and would be bad if a bolt broke because it was twisted.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
updy
Mo-town, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase!
1/22/2013

Customer review by ThinkingPink

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by ThinkingPink
by ThinkingPink
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with my Schwinn Trainer. Went together with virtually no problems, and is very quiet. This is one of the best Elliptical Trainers I have tried. A couple of years ago we went to a local sporting goods store that had quite a few models, and after trying them all the Schwinn beat them hands down. Then a couple of week ago prior to purchasing this one, we again went to the sporting goods store only to find that they didn't have Schwinn Trainers anymore. So we proceeded to try out what they had and found that all of them (less one, but it sounded like it was falling apart) gave you a weird bounce which is VERY annoying. And most of them were well over the $900 to $1100. Many others have commented on that problem with most of the trainers they tried out. Not this one, it's smooth (no bounce) and you can also go backwards on it. They only thing is that the computerized panel doesn't light up and is a bit difficult to see, but that in no way affects the quality of this great elliptical trainer. We are extremely happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThinkingPink
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great so far!
5/2/2011

Customer review by princesspeanut

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by princesspeanut
by princesspeanut

Upon months of searching for a budget elliptical that will not fall apart on me in a few months, it came down to the Schwinn brand. Due to my budget and space limitations, it came down to the A40. It is a nice compact size. It looks and feels solid so far. Setup was not too bad.. I helped a little while my husband did mostly all of it and I didn't hear much complaining. It feels good, resistance seems challenging for the mildly out of shape and can increase as I get more into shape. I have it on a carpeted floor with a gym equipment mat between the carpet and the machine. It is a little wobbly because of this reason. If it were a hard surface I am sure it would be completely stable.. but to note- I do not feel like it is going to fall over or anything. There are leveling feet to help. I may eventually put a piece of plywood the size of the equipment mat underneath- that will make it less wobbly! My only complaints so far are: 1. I wish it were black or darker gray. 2. I wish there was a backlight on the console. 3. The fan is useless unless you have your face on top of it but it was a nice thought... Even with the few complaints- for $350 you can't beat it. Much better reviews overall than any Proform I came across!

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
princesspeanut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent, affordable machine
8/3/2011

Customer review by pyrewoman

4.0 stars 8/3/2011 by pyrewoman
by pyrewoman

I love this machine. I was so concerned when I purchased it because I had scoured the internet for reviews for weeks. It looked like all the professional sites were knocking any machine less than a $1k (of course they were). I felt like I was playing elliptical roulette. BUT, that being said, the reviews here are pretty accurate. I love the machine. It was a bit rough putting together (the manual was incorrect in several places), and it did not come with batteries or an AC adapter (for over $300, an additional $20 for an adapter included is not much to ask). I was an incredibly out of shape 5'4", 190lb. female with poor balance and even worse ankles. I have zero problems on this machine and have been losing weight and steadily improving on the courses for about a month now. It's a bit wobbly when I really get going (mostly because I'm a clutz with so-so coordination), but I never feel like I'm going to fall off or anything. It's very quiet, very smooth, and the stride is just a bit longer than perfect for me-but not uncomfortable. I look forward to having this elliptical for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? (87) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pyrewoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent for the money
1/23/2012

Customer review by postaldude

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by postaldude
by postaldude

I am very satisfied with my purchase so far. I wanted an inexpensive but sturdy entry level elliptical. After reading reviews on several elliptical trainers I decided on the Schwinn. It is much lighter than most I looked at but the machine seems sturdy and stable. The weight limit is 275 pounds and I am a little under that but the unit seems to handle my weight well. It was relatively easy to put together. Total time was about an hour and a half (I assembled and someone else laid out the parts). The fan is useless. The screen is difficult to read. These are really minor problems for me considering the price and overall quality. The stride may be too short for someone over six feet tall. I am 5'10" and it works for me. If you have the room and the money for a big, fancy machine there may be better choices. If you are looking for a basic, sturdy, space efficient machine the Schwinn may be for you.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
postaldude
Gansevoort, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality & Value
2/12/2012

Customer review by martshop

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by martshop
by martshop

This machine meets my expectations. It is good quality for the price. Yes, the backlight on the display is dim and the fan is useless. Having said that, I doubt you will be able to find an elliptical machine of this quality for this price anywhere. I shopped all the major sites, Overstock.com, Amazon, etc before making this purchase. I compared the features of many machines against the price and hand's down, this was the best value. By the way, I am a woman and was able to put the machine together in less than 2 hours. The directions are very clear and easy to follow. You will have to think a little and be able to follow a step-by-step guide but if you can do that then you should be able to put this together. I hope you find this helpful.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
martshop
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
New stock packed with WRONG wave washers.
4/18/2014

Customer review by mrchazweez

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by mrchazweez
by mrchazweez

My elliptical just arrived today. When attaching the lower arms, you must use the designated wave washers (so it doesn't squeak). The problem is.. THEY DON'T FIT! I called Nautilus (they make this particular Schwinn model) and they told me that it is a known issue for this model. They will send you out new wave washers with the correct sizing but it will take 5-7 business days to arrive. Meanwhile, your stuck with the multitude of detached parts taking up all the space in your room. You cannot move further with the build. You MUST wait until the new washers show up. As you can imagine, this is an extreme inconvenience. If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't purchase this product for the aforementioned reason. I'm actually very surprised that Walmart would sell a product that is known to come with the wrong parts. It's bad business and puts a bad taste in the consumers mouth. I'm writing this review solely to warn future purchasers of this machine. If you buy it, be prepared to jump through some hoops with customer support and realize that you'll have to wait a few extra weeks before you take one stride on the machine itself.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrchazweez
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/27/2012

Customer review by Pelochas

3.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Pelochas
by Pelochas

I bought this elliptical couple weeks ago choosing pick up at store. Delivery time was good, the comunication and delivery updates were very good. It came in a big and heavy box that do not fit in the car so I suggest to bring a SUV/Truck and a friend to help you. Assembly instructions are easy to follow. It took me 1.5 hours to complete the assembly. 2 people assembling this unit is the best way. I LIKE: - Feels like it has a very solid frame. - Quiet machine - Smooth ride - Preset working out programs seems to be working fine - Price I DON'T LIKE: - It came with a tube plastic cap broken, this do not affect the machine performance. - The frame (below the pedals) is not over the floor 100%, it is above the floor around 2 inches, I checked the floor and it is even. I don't know if it was designed in this way or not. - Handle bars seems to be away from me, so I have to tilt my body forward. I'm 5'7". It makes my workout unpleasent - The information console is useless for those who likes to be watching / monitoring data. - The built in fan is also useless. - The console's information seems to be not accurate. Heart rate shows 72 all the time. I don't know if this is defective console or I made a mistake during assembling.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pelochas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value
1/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband and I bought this machine for Christmas, after reading some reviews on this site. Assembly was actually easy--the instructions are clear, and the parts clearly labeled. It took us about 90 minutes start to finish. We each get a good, sweaty, breathing-hard workout! We took the advice of another reviewer and bought a 1.97 book light to make reading the display easier. We are very pleased with our choice to purchase this machine. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This review is being done after only 5 days. I had never been on an elliptical, I knew nothing about them, but I researched reviews on the internet. The best one was at treadmilldoctor. I chose this elliptical for price and because of 97 reviews at walmart.com. The machine was cheapest at walmart, walmart had great factory to store delivery. Two of us put the machine together in about 45 minutes. The instructions were very clear. So far I have spent very short periods on the machine due to a recent knee injury from jogging. I have had no problem with my knee, the workout is challenging, and I appreciate the fact that they encourage weight training in addition. The machine is relatively compact. Due to the reviews I left off the water bottle holder, I have not turned on the fan. As the reviews stated, the console is very hard to read, however, not an issue for me as I am an exerciser for pleasure. Again, because of the reviews, I order the ac adaptor-about $23.00 with tax, s&h. I am so far completely satisfied with walmart and the machine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Machine
6/20/2011

Customer review by Cher801

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Cher801
by Cher801

This elliptical is is a wonderful buy. The price was fairly cheap and I am more than satisfied with what I got for the price. The machine is very quiet and I think that is a huge plus. There is a small ledge on the display console to rest books or magazines and I love being able to read while I work out. The only thing I can say that could be a negative about this elliptical is that the fan doesn't really work. It turns on and all, but I can not ever feel any air being blown out. This doesn't really bother me though so I don't really mind it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cher801
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Elliptical For the Price
10/24/2011

Customer review by baquay

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by baquay
by baquay

You won't find a better elliptical for the price. End of story. Yes, the console is not backlit and hard to read. I got a $5 book light from Walmart and it works great. Yes, the fan is basically non-existent. Don't use it. It will just wear down the batteries. Still, you will be hard pressed to find anything close for less than $800.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baquay
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome product, good value. Schwinn quality?
3/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordering was easy and delivery was actually early. I used the expedited shipping option and it was 7 bucks cheaper than standard shipping. Upon arrival, i unpacked all the parts and noticed the hardware blister pack had exploded. There were about 50 bolts and washers mixed in with the sea of styrofoam blocks and plastic bags. Even with that added level of difficulty, assembly was easy. There was only one little washer missing. My complaint, besides the washer being missing, is that there was a sticker instead of a real Schwinn head badge. How hard would it have been to put a real head badge on the thing? My g/f and I use the thing for 20 mins each every day and I love how quiet this machine is. I've been sleeping in the next room while she was on it and it didnt even wake me up. All in all i'd say it's a good machine and I'd recommend it to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not that good
12/28/2012

Customer review by jtrip

2.0 stars 12/28/2012 by jtrip
by jtrip

Just had a weld break on it after 7 months of use. Looks like the weld on the crank was poorly done. Still waiting on someone to come fix it on the 3 year product care plan, which isn't that great either. If you use this product around 4 hours or so a week you will have to disassemble the parts that wear and clean and apply white lithium grease to keep product running smoothly every two months minimum.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jtrip
Sikeston, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value for an Elliptical
1/2/2011

Customer review by McTeeth

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by McTeeth
by McTeeth

I have only had this for about a week so I will try to update this later on but so far so good. Its very smooth and quiet. I was worried the stride might be to short but it was fine. Everything came pre greased which was good because the manuals make no reference to greasing it. I think the biggest downside is the display, it is small and impossible to read in low light with no backlight. My only worry was during assembly because the cable coming up from the base to the display was colored opposite on one end compared to the other. Overall well worth the price and great workouts so far.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McTeeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews