Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 222 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

222 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

222 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
98
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
12
1-20 of 201 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews
Very Pleased with Purchase/Product Quality
12/30/2010

Customer review by VanillaChild77

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by VanillaChild77
by VanillaChild77

From experience with bicycles and tricycles Schwinn is a great company. I saw this elliptical, I knew it would be reliable, durable and of good quality. Very easy to put together. I recommend having a strong arm around to assist incase needed which I did need. One of the metal pieces was bent and one of the holes was off a bit so he was able to fix all that for me with a little elbow grease! The machine is very sturdy, no shaking at all. It's very quiet too. The 18 inch stride is highly recommended. This is why I purchased this elliptical. It was the cheapest elliptical from a reputable company with an 18in stride. The fan harldy blows which is not important to me but thought I'd note it. I wish it had an option to put in your weight so it could better estimate how many calories are being burned. I have done one of the easier programs since I am just starting out. Today I did two 3 minute sessions and one 5 minute session today. I'm about 50 pounds overweight so it's going to take me a while to build up. I will post a follow up in about a month to let everyone know how the machine is holding up!

Was this review helpful? (182) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VanillaChild77
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great so far!
5/2/2011

Customer review by princesspeanut

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by princesspeanut
by princesspeanut

Upon months of searching for a budget elliptical that will not fall apart on me in a few months, it came down to the Schwinn brand. Due to my budget and space limitations, it came down to the A40. It is a nice compact size. It looks and feels solid so far. Setup was not too bad.. I helped a little while my husband did mostly all of it and I didn't hear much complaining. It feels good, resistance seems challenging for the mildly out of shape and can increase as I get more into shape. I have it on a carpeted floor with a gym equipment mat between the carpet and the machine. It is a little wobbly because of this reason. If it were a hard surface I am sure it would be completely stable.. but to note- I do not feel like it is going to fall over or anything. There are leveling feet to help. I may eventually put a piece of plywood the size of the equipment mat underneath- that will make it less wobbly! My only complaints so far are: 1. I wish it were black or darker gray. 2. I wish there was a backlight on the console. 3. The fan is useless unless you have your face on top of it but it was a nice thought... Even with the few complaints- for $350 you can't beat it. Much better reviews overall than any Proform I came across!

Was this review helpful? (76) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
princesspeanut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent price, excellent product for the price
11/4/2013

Customer review by SeniorOkie

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by SeniorOkie
by SeniorOkie

I was looking for an elliptical under $500, that would provide an indoor workout without taking up half of my bedroom space. I shopped all the major websites and local stores. I took a chance because of the brand name Schwinn. This item was an exceptional value. The reviews were spot on. The console is useless to me, I don't use it at all. I can't see it even with bifocals. I use my smartphone for music and I purchased a kitchen timer, both work great. I have a great ceiling fan, the fan on the console is a joke. I'm 5' 2", 100 lbs overweight, I've lost 10 lbs and 2" in my hips in one month, with average attention to diet, have not been that strict. I use my elliptical 6 to 7 days a week for 5 to 15 minutes daily. When I started, 2 minutes was a struggle. I am extremely happy with this purchase. Everything you need to put it together is provided. ( That's a plus) It took me 2 1/2 hours to put it together by MYSELF. It's very quiet, I can use it anytime of the day or night without disturbing the whole household. Improve the console, I would give it a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeniorOkie
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine for the money
1/7/2012

Customer review by firwwood8874

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by firwwood8874
by firwwood8874

First of all i can't believe how great this machine is very easy to put together,its 123. The only thing i hate about is the fan,don't waste your time. I must tell you ,this machine feels the same as the one in the gym, firm and soooo quiet. I am soooo happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firwwood8874
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
2/25/2011

Customer review by RMP123

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by RMP123
by RMP123

I've only had it for a few days, so I'll update this in a few months. First, I wanted to comment on Walmart's awesome Customer Service. I had it delivered site-to-store, and it ended up being a week late arriving. Before I had even contacted Walmart about it, they contacted me and gave me a $25 egift card for the inconvience. Then, the price dropped online before I got my product, and I contacted them about being refunded the diffrence in price, and right away I was refunded. Now, onto the product. It took about 2 hours for me and my husband to assemble (That's start to finish, including unpackaging everything and making sure it was all there). Assembly was pretty easy, with clear instructions. We were missing one small piece of hardware and my husband broke a bolt while screwing it in. I've contact Schwinn about it, and it should be arriving in a few days (make sure to register your prodcut with them right away and hang onto the atleast the e-mail reciept from WAlmart). I was very annoyed at being on hold for over 30 minutes! And the guy, although helpful, was not apologetic or friendly. Luckily, the bolt and other missing piece isn't hindering us from starting to use it. It gives an awesome workout!!!!! I used to run all the time, but I've since had a child and it's winter, so it's nice to have this machin to workout on. I was VERY pleased to see how QUIET it is! The only thing is that I wish the beep sound it makes when you press buttoms on the console wasn't so dang loud. I'm glad I went with an elliptical that has atleast an 18" stride length (well, this one is 17.5", technically). Anything shorter would have been way uncomfortable (I'm 5'5"). I would still prefer a longer stride length, but those all cost thousands of dollars. So, so far, I'm very pleased. Now, if it'll hold up for a few years and remian is good shape, then it was a perfect buy. Oh, and the screen is small and kinda hard to read, but it hasn't bothered me at all. I also don't care about watching my speed/calorie loss count constantly, though, so that could bother you.

Was this review helpful? (82) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RMP123
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent, affordable machine
8/3/2011

Customer review by pyrewoman

4.0 stars 8/3/2011 by pyrewoman
by pyrewoman

I love this machine. I was so concerned when I purchased it because I had scoured the internet for reviews for weeks. It looked like all the professional sites were knocking any machine less than a $1k (of course they were). I felt like I was playing elliptical roulette. BUT, that being said, the reviews here are pretty accurate. I love the machine. It was a bit rough putting together (the manual was incorrect in several places), and it did not come with batteries or an AC adapter (for over $300, an additional $20 for an adapter included is not much to ask). I was an incredibly out of shape 5'4", 190lb. female with poor balance and even worse ankles. I have zero problems on this machine and have been losing weight and steadily improving on the courses for about a month now. It's a bit wobbly when I really get going (mostly because I'm a clutz with so-so coordination), but I never feel like I'm going to fall off or anything. It's very quiet, very smooth, and the stride is just a bit longer than perfect for me-but not uncomfortable. I look forward to having this elliptical for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? (86) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pyrewoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy for the price.
2/16/2012

Customer review by updy

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by updy
by updy

I bought to use on my gym off days. I Like the Machine, its a pretty Sturdy unit. fast review facts: * its Heavy. you should grab a friend to help. * its well packaged. Nothing was broken when I go it home. * Its not that hard to assemble. However some bolts didn't line up. Also some washers did not fit perfect. * It took me little over an hour to put together. The directions are okay. * the fan is weak, but that's not what you bought it for. Is it? * The display is small, but I can read it perfect. I think only those with bad eyes will have trouble reading the display. * the workouts are nice, Plus each one has different levels. * the machine is solid when I'm on it, I am 264. this Machine is a good buy. The only downsides are the bolts not lining up. I know that sounds OCD, but that holds it all together and would be bad if a bolt broke because it was twisted.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
updy
Mo-town, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Elliptical For the Price
10/24/2011

Customer review by baquay

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by baquay
by baquay

You won't find a better elliptical for the price. End of story. Yes, the console is not backlit and hard to read. I got a $5 book light from Walmart and it works great. Yes, the fan is basically non-existent. Don't use it. It will just wear down the batteries. Still, you will be hard pressed to find anything close for less than $800.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baquay
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/27/2012

Customer review by Pelochas

3.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Pelochas
by Pelochas

I bought this elliptical couple weeks ago choosing pick up at store. Delivery time was good, the comunication and delivery updates were very good. It came in a big and heavy box that do not fit in the car so I suggest to bring a SUV/Truck and a friend to help you. Assembly instructions are easy to follow. It took me 1.5 hours to complete the assembly. 2 people assembling this unit is the best way. I LIKE: - Feels like it has a very solid frame. - Quiet machine - Smooth ride - Preset working out programs seems to be working fine - Price I DON'T LIKE: - It came with a tube plastic cap broken, this do not affect the machine performance. - The frame (below the pedals) is not over the floor 100%, it is above the floor around 2 inches, I checked the floor and it is even. I don't know if it was designed in this way or not. - Handle bars seems to be away from me, so I have to tilt my body forward. I'm 5'7". It makes my workout unpleasent - The information console is useless for those who likes to be watching / monitoring data. - The built in fan is also useless. - The console's information seems to be not accurate. Heart rate shows 72 all the time. I don't know if this is defective console or I made a mistake during assembling.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pelochas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value for an Elliptical
1/2/2011

Customer review by McTeeth

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by McTeeth
by McTeeth

I have only had this for about a week so I will try to update this later on but so far so good. Its very smooth and quiet. I was worried the stride might be to short but it was fine. Everything came pre greased which was good because the manuals make no reference to greasing it. I think the biggest downside is the display, it is small and impossible to read in low light with no backlight. My only worry was during assembly because the cable coming up from the base to the display was colored opposite on one end compared to the other. Overall well worth the price and great workouts so far.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McTeeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Quality & Value
2/12/2012

Customer review by martshop

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by martshop
by martshop

This machine meets my expectations. It is good quality for the price. Yes, the backlight on the display is dim and the fan is useless. Having said that, I doubt you will be able to find an elliptical machine of this quality for this price anywhere. I shopped all the major sites, Overstock.com, Amazon, etc before making this purchase. I compared the features of many machines against the price and hand's down, this was the best value. By the way, I am a woman and was able to put the machine together in less than 2 hours. The directions are very clear and easy to follow. You will have to think a little and be able to follow a step-by-step guide but if you can do that then you should be able to put this together. I hope you find this helpful.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
martshop
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best buy for the money and Well built
6/26/2012

Customer review by ChrisR70

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ChrisR70
by ChrisR70

Being on a tight budget I researched these machines extensively before buying one; even tried several out. This eliptical hands down beats anything out there up to $500. The most comparable product is probably the Gold's Gym 410 (also sold as proform 395E) for about $399. The build quality of the 410 does not even compare to the Schwinn A40. The Schwinn is rock solid and very well constructed. I am 6' and currently weigh 235 and it is as stable as the $500-$600 machines sold by proform, horizon, and Golds Gym. Assembly took about 1 hour and can easily be done by one person. The instructions were clear and straight forward. All of the hardware was labled properly and everything fit right the first time. The display is fine for me and easy to read but someone shorter or much taller might have a different angle and it might be a little hard to see. As in other reviews the fan is useless. Elipticals are like treadmills some are designed for moderate use i.e. brisk walking speeds, and some are designed for intense running paces. If used regularly as at speeds of about 5-6 miles per hour, or less, 30 min a day, then this machine should handle anything under the weight limit for a good long time. It also has a small footprint and my wife does not mind it sitting in our bedroom. With the resistance levels it will make you sweat even at lower speeds. Overall this is a great product and you cannot find it cheaper anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisR70
St. Louis, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value
1/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband and I bought this machine for Christmas, after reading some reviews on this site. Assembly was actually easy--the instructions are clear, and the parts clearly labeled. It took us about 90 minutes start to finish. We each get a good, sweaty, breathing-hard workout! We took the advice of another reviewer and bought a 1.97 book light to make reading the display easier. We are very pleased with our choice to purchase this machine. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This SAHM loves it!
5/2/2012

Customer review by lumynara

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by lumynara
by lumynara

I love my new Schwinn Elliptical. I am on it every day. I have lost a lot of weight already and having it in my home office is very convenient for this SAHM. I have had trouble getting the intensity of exercise I needed to lose weight without something like this at home because I am a busy mom. The only time I don't have a toddler asking for my attention is during her nap, so I can't exactly go to a gym once I put her down. This is cheaper than a year at the gym and so convenient since I can get on it for an hour during my child's nap. My husband put it together in just over an hour and we were impressed with the solidity and stability of this moderately priced machine. Others have said it, but IT IS SO QUIET! I don't have to blast the speakers to watch TV shows or listen to music on my computer while I work out, which is good because if it was too loud it would wake up my daughter during her nap. I didn't expect much out of the built-in fan because I read the other reviews before making this purchase. It is useless, but I don't like a fan blowing on my face anyway, so I won't mark the product down because of it. I just placed a large fan that blows on me from the side. I love the stride length, which is longer than the other comparably priced machines. I am fairly tall, 5'7", so I really appreciate this feature. I have used it for almost a month with the DD batteries and not had to replace them, but plan to get the power adaptor soon. You have to order it directly from the company. I kind of wish it came with one.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lumynara
Roseburg, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good elliptical for the price
8/23/2013

Customer review by toronjil18

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by toronjil18
by toronjil18

This machine is surprisingly sturdy. I weighed 250 when I first started using it (which is close to its max capacity) and it felt solid while i used it. The ride is very smooth. It started off really quiet but after a couple wks of use it squeaks but its not too bad, I really cant hear it with my headphones in. The fan is useless, it doesnt blow enough air so i just dont use it. The display light is weak so i would recommend getting a booklight for it. Im convinced the calorie counter on it isn't accurate. So basically the display is good for time, speed, and distance; the fan is weak and the puls and calorie count are not accurate. I get a great workout everytime i use it tho. I bought a golds gym one of similar price and it was so unsturdy and noisy that i had to take it apart the very next day and return it but this ones design is much better! It definitely has its flaws, as i mentioned, but nothing that affects its ability to give a great workout. Compared to other ellipticals in its price range, definitely a top contender!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toronjil18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Machine
6/20/2011

Customer review by Cher801

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Cher801
by Cher801

This elliptical is is a wonderful buy. The price was fairly cheap and I am more than satisfied with what I got for the price. The machine is very quiet and I think that is a huge plus. There is a small ledge on the display console to rest books or magazines and I love being able to read while I work out. The only thing I can say that could be a negative about this elliptical is that the fan doesn't really work. It turns on and all, but I can not ever feel any air being blown out. This doesn't really bother me though so I don't really mind it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cher801
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not that good
12/28/2012

Customer review by jtrip

2.0 stars 12/28/2012 by jtrip
by jtrip

Just had a weld break on it after 7 months of use. Looks like the weld on the crank was poorly done. Still waiting on someone to come fix it on the 3 year product care plan, which isn't that great either. If you use this product around 4 hours or so a week you will have to disassemble the parts that wear and clean and apply white lithium grease to keep product running smoothly every two months minimum.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtrip
Sikeston, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase!
1/22/2013

Customer review by ThinkingPink

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by ThinkingPink
by ThinkingPink

I am very pleased with my Schwinn Trainer. Went together with virtually no problems, and is very quiet. This is one of the best Elliptical Trainers I have tried. A couple of years ago we went to a local sporting goods store that had quite a few models, and after trying them all the Schwinn beat them hands down. Then a couple of week ago prior to purchasing this one, we again went to the sporting goods store only to find that they didn't have Schwinn Trainers anymore. So we proceeded to try out what they had and found that all of them (less one, but it sounded like it was falling apart) gave you a weird bounce which is VERY annoying. And most of them were well over the $900 to $1100. Many others have commented on that problem with most of the trainers they tried out. Not this one, it's smooth (no bounce) and you can also go backwards on it. They only thing is that the computerized panel doesn't light up and is a bit difficult to see, but that in no way affects the quality of this great elliptical trainer. We are extremely happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThinkingPink
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Won't wake the household, quiet operation
4/13/2011

Customer review by chatwitshell

4.0 stars 4/13/2011 by chatwitshell
by chatwitshell

I chose the schwinn after months of looking I wanted a good reliable product but didn't want it to be the size of a dinosaur because my plan was to place it inside the home close to entertainment. It is sturdy and quiet so that it can be used day or night without bothering other family members. I like my new elliptical....

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chatwitshell
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good exercise machine
5/20/2011

Customer review by khae

4.0 stars 5/20/2011 by khae
by khae

I really like the machine, but there's just one thing missing, no adjustments for the stride. I'm a little short so when I'm working out, I kinda have to tip toe to stride back and forth. The LCD screen is a little hard to read, but I don't care about that, I wanted a good machine and I got it

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
khae
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews