Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

119 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

119 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 104 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews
Finally exercising!
5/21/2011

Customer review by Asani

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Asani
by Asani

I had been looking to purchase a recumbent bike for a while. Been trying to work on my weight but due to a bum knee it was hard to do a lot of walking. I had been looking at this bike for months and finally decided to get one after it went on sale. It arrived in about a week in a massive box that my landlord unhappily received cause I was not home lol. Got it upstairs and started unpacking. A good portion of the bottom was pretty much together upon arrival. The instructions do say you will need two people, but since it was only me, I had to dive in on my own. Overall it took close to 3 hours to put together. I am sure it is a shorter time for two people, but I had to strategic with the way I did it since it was just myself. I did have one problem, and that was on the rear stabilizer, there are dials you can adjust to keep it from wobbling. I unfortunately found that one of them was broken. I was able to get it stable for the time being and contacted Schwinn customer service about it. They were VERY slow getting back to me, but finally they did and after registering my bike, I was put on a list to get the part that was out of stock. It arrived a month later. Overall, I really do like the bike. I have been a couch potato for a bit so I was worried I would be only on it for five minutes before passing out lol. I started slow and steady in front of the TV and before I knew it, I had been on it an hour my first day! I love the display screen, but I have not customized my workout just yet. I do keep a running spreadsheet of my usage and I make sure to do at least 2 hours a day (more if I can). I have felt the difference in my breathing and and mobility, so I am sure it is helping with my cardio. Overall, I think this is a great product. I look forward to using it and seeing this time next year how much of a difference it has made in my weight. Oh, and excuse my junky apartment when looking at the pics! lol

Was this review helpful? (122) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Asani
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Rehabilitation Bike Post Surgery
6/27/2011

Customer review by TreborLovesIt

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by TreborLovesIt
by TreborLovesIt

I recently, March of 2011 had a total knee replacement. I was finishing up my outpatient physical therapy and I decided at home rehab would fit my needs. I was leary about buying an exercise bike online but could not find one in the stores I liked and they were really pricey. I went online and looked up many reviews for exercise bikes and they all pointed to the Schwinn 240 recumbent. I bit the bullet and ordered it. It was very affordable and worth the price! It came in a few days and I had had good success with WalMart orders in the past. Needless to say I love the bike. It is so quiet, very easy to adjust and to my surprise I'm getting quite a lot of cardio from it. I am somewhat exercise challenged with fibromyalgia and arthritis, but love this exercise the bike offers. My husband even likes it! I would buy this bike over and over and the price is worth every penny. It does take 2 people to put together and in about 1.5 hours for us. I hope you get one and enjoy it as much as I have!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TreborLovesIt
Peachland, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Exercise Bike
11/18/2010

Customer review by ReTiredAlso

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by ReTiredAlso
by ReTiredAlso

I chose to purchase the Schwinn 240 Recumbent Exercise Bike after reading a number of on-line reviews, both those of users' and professional reviewers.' The generally good reviews prompted my purchase, and I haven't been disappointed. The packaging was somewhat beat up by the time I got the unit home. Strapping had cut through the exterior carton and into some of the expanded foam packing. However the product came out pretty much unscathed. The bike is well designed and constructed. The assembly instructions are generally easy to follow. Assembly took me 2-3 hours, working alone. Operation is indeed smooth and quiet. The display panel is informative and easy to read. My only complaints are minor. The seat is relatively firm and becomes somewhat uncomfortable after about 45 minutes. Heart rate readings through the handle bars seem to be somewhat erratic. However, I've experienced the same thing on much more expensive commercial equipment. All in all this bike is a good value.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReTiredAlso
Neenah, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2012

Customer review by tschoirs

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by tschoirs
by tschoirs

I researched recumbent bikes quite a bit before I decided on this one. It's a great piece of equipment. It took a bit of time to put together (about 2 hours by myself), but it works great. It's super quiet when you're pedaling. There are plenty of built in programs with a lot of different levels. Or if you want an easy ride, you can just press quick start. My only disappointment was when I purchased it. This product is not available in the store, you can only get this model online. So you have to pay a low shipping fee and wait for it to be delivered. Seems strange that you can't get the most current model in the store. Another good thing is that it is not as big as it looks in the picture, so it fits in my bedroom up against the wall. I can slide it away from the wall very easily. Another plus is the monitor plugs into the wall so I don't have to keep buying "D" batteries like I do with some of my other exercise equipment. Although that could be a negative if you don't have a place to plug it in.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tschoirs
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Recommended by Dr.
3/12/2011

Customer review by VetteDad

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by VetteDad
by VetteDad

Lately I've been suffering from serious foot pain and all my doctors recommended that I maintain my health with an exercise bike. I researched the Internet, read the reviews on Amazon.com and finally made my purchase at Walmart.com. I'm very pleased with this bike. It was well packaged and relatively easy to put together. Just follow the instructions and you should have no problems. The display is bright, I turned it down to the lowest setting and angled the display to offer the best contrast in my room. The controls are easy to learn and use. You'll have to read the instruction manual to learn how to use all of the features. I purchased the bike from Walmart.com because it was slightly cheaper than Amazon.com and I had it delivered to the local Walmart, and paid no shipping fee. I've owned many pieces of exercise equipment over the years and I'm very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VetteDad
Mukilteo, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/4/2011

Customer review by luvringomaxpuppies

3.0 stars 2/4/2011 by luvringomaxpuppies
by luvringomaxpuppies

I have owned several brands of exercise equipment over the years and this is my favorite. It is very sturdy, was easy to assemble and a smooth and quiet ride. But.. I only had the bike for 6 weeks (rode it every day) when the console monitor quit working. Purchased a new a/c adaptor which did not help. Contacted customer service and was sent a new console kit. Bike was working great for about 2 weeks and the console monitor quit working again. I am thinking now that I should have purchased a battery powered bike like I have had in the past which lasted me over 7 years without having to replace any parts. Have contacted customer service again and waiting for a response. Unable to really use the bike, console monitor controls the resistance.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvringomaxpuppies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding value in a Very well made bike
9/30/2011

Customer review by pfjbaldwin

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by pfjbaldwin
by pfjbaldwin

I spent a couple of hours putting this bike together for my father-in-law to use following his stroke and was really surprised at the small things done by the manufacturer to make putting the bike together foolproof. An elastic band secured the seat tube heart monitor wire so it would not fall back into the tube when disconnected for assembly. The instructions were clear and all hardware mounted on a card and identified. Getting the hardware off the card was at times frustrating so keep a blade handy. Also, read step 1. The seat tube is not preassembled for you but instead step 1 is to disassemble the tube from the frame so the seat can be attached. The quality of this bike for the money is very high. The bike is stable when riding, the seat side bars and low profile of the connector tube to the pedals make getting into and out of the bike very easy. The panel display is intuitive and very easy to use by an elderly non-electronics oriented person. All surfaces are finished nicely with no burrs or sharp edge hazzards. My father-in-law smiles when he climbs on and starts pedaling.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pfjbaldwin
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Schwinn 240
11/9/2010

Customer review by hdsz064

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by hdsz064
by hdsz064

This took some time to asseble for an old guy. Bottom assembly is heavy and requires 2x people to lift and position. Order of assembly could be a little different. As for the operation, this is a lot quieter than I expected. Seat is big and comfortable. Display and programming features for 2x people and guest are great. This is the best exercise bike I have ever owned. (and the most expensive). I expect to use and keep this a long time.

Was this review helpful? (64) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hdsz064
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for the money
5/1/2011

Customer review by BeCre8tiv

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by BeCre8tiv
by BeCre8tiv

We researched several recumbent bikes before purchasing the Schwinn. This model met all our needs as far as price, quality and function. We ordered it "Shipped to Store" to save shipping - the pickup process was very easy and a store employee helped us load it into our car. Amazingly, it did fit into the back of our CRV but it would probably not fit into a regular car trunk! Once it was unpacked, we found everything well-marked and easy to assemble - no missing pieces or sloppy fittings. It took us a little over an hour before we were up and running. For the price, this bike feels pretty sturdy and will serve well for the amount of use it will get. If you are a hard-core biker and want a lot of programming options, this may not be as full-featured as you would like. For our needs, we are very pleased with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeCre8tiv
Charlotte,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good exercise bike for home use
11/25/2011

Customer review by evergreenlbh

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by evergreenlbh
by evergreenlbh

Either my husband or I use the bike everyday. We have found it easy to use and there are programs for both of us (advanced for my husband and entry level for me). It's especially good to have when the weather is too snowy or wet to go outside to walk or run or when we don't have time to drive to the gym. We looked at the bike on Amazon, but their price was the same as Walmart's so we went with Walmart as it's easy to return items to our local Walmart if there is a problem. Other users on Amazon had posted detailed instructions on how to put the bike together which we found very helpful as the instructions that come with the bike are cryptic (really just diagrams). You definitely need two people to put the bike together - one to hold and one to screw/attach several of the parts. As other purchasers have noted, the box comes really beat up. However, there didn't appear to be any damage to the bike or its parts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
evergreenlbh
Cortez, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent machine!
4/21/2011

Customer review by romy5150

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by romy5150
by romy5150

We bought this because I had minor knee surgery in 2008; and my elliptical was just not working for me anymore. If you have bad knees, this is the machine for you. It is whisper quiet so you can watch TV, or even talk on the phone while you workout. It takes about an hour to put together; and it's easy to program your workout. The seat is comfortable and does not make your butt fall asleep even after 30 minutes. Believe me, it gives you a great workout! You will not be disappointed with this bike!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
romy5150
Upland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Exercise Bike
9/9/2010

Customer review by Trulyblessed4567

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Trulyblessed4567
by Trulyblessed4567

This is an excellent exercise bike, the assemble process took me and my partner around 1 ½ hour. The assembling went fine with just some outside the box thinking for the console installation itself. Other than that the assemble process was pretty straight forward. I have not really tested out the bike in terms of any lengthy exercise but so far it seems to be doing what was advertised. I would recommend this bike for anyone who has any kind of knee issue as I do. I love my treadmill but at times my knees hurt from all the long walking and running that I have put in on my treadmill. This bike is another form of exercise that will keep me in shape and help my knee at the same time. Great bike sturdy and efficient and price wise it’s not bad either.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trulyblessed4567
Lawrenceville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Schwinn 240
4/1/2011

Customer review by abqess

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by abqess
by abqess

Walmart dropped their price on this recumbent bike, which has high ratings on other sites. Not as many features (no fan, IPod dock, or memory slot) as some bikes, but not as bulky either. Whisper quiet. 16 levels, I usually do an hour at level 8, 5 or 6 times a week. The built in courses do not switch levels smoothly, dropping down, then up to level, so I don't use them. Tend to use guest, put in my info, and go. If I need to change resistance, it is an easy up or down, and shifts smoothly. Site to store worked well, but took longer than expected. Wish it was USA made! Adjustment for other family members is not difficult, but other bikes are easier. At 398 still too pricey, but had the best ratings. Heart monitor needs both hands on the handle to be of any use. See some weight loss already over the past 2 weeks!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abqess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Safe, Comfortable and Effective
9/6/2010

Customer review by CautiousSeniorConsumer

4.0 stars 9/6/2010 by CautiousSeniorConsumer
by CautiousSeniorConsumer

The assembly process went fairly well, although there were two steps where the instructions can be improved. The finished product, delivers an exercise device that is easy to use, safe and comfortable to operate, while providing a variety of routines of variable difficulty.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CautiousSeniorConsumer
S.E. Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great bike, feel the burn!
1/18/2012

Customer review by frenchfryqueen

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by frenchfryqueen
by frenchfryqueen

I was hesitant at the thoughts of a recumbent bike. I didn't think it would provide a good workout compared to an elliptical or treadmill. Whew, was I wrong! This thing keeps me huffing and puffing. The workout programs are challenging, and the levels are easily adjusted to increase difficulty. At times, assembly did require two people, one to hold the seat steady while the other secured the screw. This is a heavy duty machine, one you could expect to see in a gym. It's very quiet, which is a big plus. The programs are easy to set up. You can have different profiles for users in your home, and it keeps track of total mileage, weight loss goals, etc.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frenchfryqueen
Central Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow, wow, wow.
2/6/2012

Customer review by justinejean

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by justinejean
by justinejean

This was my best purchase this season. It came on time, was easy to assemble and performs exactly as promised. My husband has PD and exercise is tricky because he cannot walk too far from our home in case he poops out. He has decided to ride across America 10 minutes at a time. He can exercise four or five times a day, until his legs feel rubbery. Then a rest, snack, set of pills and off he goes again. He is just about out of California, heading into Needles tonight.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justinejean
Bellflower, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Low Impact Exercise
5/17/2012

Customer review by kkjr66

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by kkjr66
by kkjr66

I have been having alot of trouble with my knees. It made getting any kind of exercise almost impossible. I bought this bike hoping I would be able to get some sort of exercise. The first night I tried it and was able to ride for an hour with no pain afterwards. I love this bike. It has allowed me to get the exercise I need without the agony that usually follows for my knees. The purchase was easy. Delivery was prompt. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkjr66
Arden, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You won't be sorry with this purchase.
11/10/2012

Customer review by Murphedgar

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Murphedgar
by Murphedgar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent bike for the money....very quiet...if you remove the foot straps from the pedals you will hear absolutely nothing. The Schwinn 240 monitor is very difficult to figure out...could be a little more "user friendly" but I did manager to decipher it after about 20 minutes of playing around. One of the complaints I constantly read about was the assembly was difficult....I totally disagree. I had very few problems during the assembly...you just need to move slowly and think things out before diving in with your screwdriver. Very nice bike, very comfortable,health club quality and the 90 day Walmart return policy makes this purchase a "no brainer"

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Murphedgar
Council Grove, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2012

Customer review by livid2

1.0 stars 8/30/2012 by livid2
by livid2

The product was defective when we received it in June. It never worked from day 1. The customer service was immediately contacted. Nautilus Inc. sends us an adaptor, it did not work. Next they send us a console kit and a cable mast, it still did not work. Next they send us a power plug wire, it did not work. Next they send us a motor, by then I requested a repair man to come and handle the problem. Two different repair men came on two occasions without success. The second repairman determined that we need another adaptor. On 8/17/2012 they shipped it and a third repairman came and could not get the bicycle to work. They finally decided it is time to replace it with a new bike.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
livid2
Batavia, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
impressed
3/8/2011

Customer review by walmoma

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by walmoma
by walmoma

so far very impressed. Digital readout a plus, smooth, quiet & comfortable seat.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmoma
DFW, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews