Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 421 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

421 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

421 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
238
4 stars
121
3 stars
26
2 stars
10
1 stars
26
1-20 of 348 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 348 total reviews
1-20 of 348 reviews
AMAZINGG!!
9/17/2011

Customer review by Fishhhloverr244

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Fishhhloverr244
by Fishhhloverr244

For the price only being $26 i was a bit worried about how it would come out. but boy this is a great deal!! :) the date says itll ship in 9 days but i actualy got mine in 4. its a lot bigger then it looks in pictures, and the hexagon shape is lovely. :) i have 2 platys and a golden barb fish and they love it. the fliter is great, keeps my water clean. it comes with 1 catrdige, wwhich will last you around a month dependin on how many fishes you have. the fliter is a bit strong thouugh and itll knock ur fishes to the other side. which is why you need to " baffle it. " this simply means block the water flow some how. at first i used a sponge and after a while a lot of algae started to built up on it. so i cut up a bottle in half and i used rubber bands to hold it over the fliter and it works fine now. the light is amazing, the LED bulb really lights up the tank and brings out the beauty of your decorations :D i would deffinately recommend this tankkk!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishhhloverr244
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this tank!
11/30/2010

Customer review by vaygirl

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by vaygirl
by vaygirl

I got one of these for each of my bettas. They LOVE it. I keep live, low light plants in all of them and the light bulb does a great job keeping them looking good. The filter is easy to baffle and you can replace it if you ever want a change. It's not integrated, which is nice. A 25 watt heater fits nicely along the short side and keeps all my bettas toasty and healthy. Weekly water changes and vacuuming are a cinch with the pop up lid. It's an awesome tank for the money. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (166) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vaygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfection!!!
10/21/2010

Customer review by InsanitysDream

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by InsanitysDream
by InsanitysDream

Like other reviewers, I was skeptical of the quality of this fish tank at the $25-$30 price, but have been absolutely thrilled and amazed by what a great product it really is. My 2 1/2 yr old son won a goldfish at the local fall carnival, and after a month in a vase, having to change the water everyday, and constantly fighting off our 3 cats, I had no choice but to concede that we needed a real fish tank for "Goldy". I love that this tank is one seamless piece and that it includes not only the hood and light, but also a great filter. There is also 2 extra pop out panels in the back of the hood to add a heater or other accessory as you see fit. I really love that the hood is hinged so if you need to access the tank, you don't have to pull the hood off, it just flips up giving you full access, even with the filter system on the back of the tank!! Also, the little flip door on the front of the hood is perfect for feeding time, ecspecially for the little ones who always want to help. Even the cats love to just lay in front of the tank and watch the fish...they are no longer trying to go fishing. It's great not having to keep a constant eye on them, and knowing that the fish are safe. We all love this fish tank so much that we are getting another one to replace my daughter's $50 3gal. tank.

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InsanitysDream
Morris, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Betta Loves it
7/16/2013

Customer review by pennypacker

4.0 stars 7/16/2013 by pennypacker
by pennypacker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this for my Betta, he was living in a one gallon cube. He loves all the extra space, I put two otto algae eaters in with him, they get along fine. I like the tank but the hood is 4 1/2 inches high, I put the tank on a book shelf, I had to remove one of the shelves for this tank to fit. It looks well made, the filter runs quiet and seems to do a good job. It comes with a compact flouresent bulb, it lights the tank up nicely. If you're new to fish tanks, don't forget to cycle your tank before you put the fish in, if you want a fast cycle put a bottle of Safestart in it first. Clean the gravel really well also before putting it into the tank, really everything should be rinsed off without soap, before going into the tank.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pennypacker
Phila, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice starter
3/19/2011

Customer review by dorkieeca

4.0 stars 3/19/2011 by dorkieeca
by dorkieeca

this is a great aquarium for up to 5 small fishes. if you house more than 6, i recommend buying the marineland bio wheel penguin 100 filter. it fit nicely in the back, and provide the much needed biological filtration which the tetra filter that come packaged can not do.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dorkieeca
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang for the buck
11/9/2012

Customer review by Fishman85

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Fishman85
by Fishman85

I know many people have complained about site to store shipping, we ordered this tank as a replacement for a very tired 2.5 gallon mini bow aquarium. There were no scratched cracks or anything in this tank the filter does seem a bit odd compared to many filter systems out there but as a cheaper based tank the filter matches the ideals and in the near future im sure i will be looking for a new setup for that. Other wise the tank is great we wanted something different and everyone is right the shape of this tank is awesome and it really gives any room a good look with a different tank style.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishman85
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product/ Great price
9/18/2010

Customer review by Comrade

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by Comrade
by Comrade

The tank looks great set up. For the price this tank is an awesome deal. My betta is really enjoying it. The only problem I had was the current created by the filter was too strong but I was able to rig the filter to slow it down.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comrade
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Upgrade Tank
7/15/2012

Customer review by chez

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by chez
by chez

When I first got our Betta fish, he was in a 3 gal tank, which was great at the time, but I wanted to go a little bigger, and I saw the "Hawkeye 5 Gal Tank" and couldn't wait to get it. It arrived quickly, and after I set it up, I could not wait to see our lil guy swimming around in it. He loves it, and it is the perfect size, I love the light, and works great for an Amazon Sword plant. There is room for decorations, hiding caves, and plants, I also used a Air stone, to create a nice bubbly effect, I used the filter for a while, my fishy don't like it, but it works fine for this tank.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chez
mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE This Little Tank!
12/21/2013

Customer review by Orange4me

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by Orange4me
by Orange4me
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hit up Walmart.com over cyber week and found this little gem on special for $21! Read most of the reviews -- the majority are extremely positive -- and kept my fingers crossed it would arrive undamaged from shipping [as a lot of reviews centered around that particular problem]. I was SO relieved to get it home, check it all out and discover it was in PERFECT condition and it continues to be. The system comes with a compact fluorescent light, hinged cover, water filter/pump -- everything you need to start including trial size water conditioner and Tetra-min flake food. VERY impressive! I added rocks, a little heater, some live plants, fish and VOILA! -- instant under water living for my betta and his pals! Oh, on other reviews they were talking about how powerful the flow is for bettas and other fish, but mine came with a little plastic piece that clips over the jets to divert water flow downward. I had a 20 gallon long aquarium years ago and while I enjoyed having fish, I didn't enjoy how much room the aquarium took up. The Hawkeye 5 gallon is a PERFECT addition to any room -- mine's sitting on top of an old sewing stand. The lighting is perfect, the light itself is protected by a plastic cover so no water can reach the bulb, it's just a perfect size for an older person like me to enjoy, and with it only being 5 gallons, it should be very easy to maintain. Thank you Hawkeye for this sweet little tank, and thank you Walmart for having it on special for Cyberweek. I absolutely LOVE everything about it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orange4me
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tank
5/4/2012

Customer review by kittenpie

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by kittenpie
by kittenpie

I bought this tank for my male Betta and he seems to be enjoying it. Everything has been working well. :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kittenpie
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great!!!!
5/19/2012

Customer review by kidtaz43

4.0 stars 5/19/2012 by kidtaz43
by kidtaz43

Great tank!!! i had a little crack but i kept it. but over all great tank you should get it

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kidtaz43
Cleveland Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TERRIFIC!!!!
8/7/2010

Customer review by WisconsinSharron

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by WisconsinSharron
by WisconsinSharron

I was a tad skeptical with the price being only $25.00, but I LOVE this tank!!! It looks bigger than 5 gallons, the light & filter it comes with are great & my betta loves it as much as I do!!! The filter IS a tad strong for a betta, but once you baffle it, it's all good! :) Honestly, I don't think you can go wrong with this tank kit!!!!

Was this review helpful? (295) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WisconsinSharron
N.E. Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this tank!
5/27/2012

Customer review by webdeb777

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by webdeb777
by webdeb777

I had a huge fresh water fish tank and decided to do away with it a few years ago. I missed not having fish as I find them very calming. This tank is perfect. It comes with everything you need, a filter, a hood, lighting and the shape makes this tank look bigger than it is. It is a perfect start up tank for older children or if you just want a small hobby to fiddle with. The picture included was taken just after I filled the tank, the bubbles eventually subsided.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
webdeb777
L.I., N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/23/2012

Customer review by ShopperShoppington

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by ShopperShoppington
by ShopperShoppington

I purchased this fish tank as a starter tank for my 8 year old son. We are very pleased with our purchase. We wanted something small that was easy to take care of. Even though it's only a 5 gallon tank, it does feel larger which is great. After reading some other reviews I decided to purchase a different filter for it, that I also purchased at Walmart for around $15. So I can't comment on the filter that comes with it, as I never used it. I would definitely recommend this tank to anyone that is looking for a smaller tank that is pleasing to the eye.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperShoppington
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice aquarium for a good price
2/27/2012

Customer review by fishtreelane

4.0 stars 2/27/2012 by fishtreelane
by fishtreelane

This is a nice complete aquarium. It looks good. I had no trouble assembling it even though I used a filter from an aquarium I already had. The filter that came with it was pretty nice but the one I was already using was much nicer so I kept it instead. The tiny opening given for feeding is too small and hard to use so I just open the whole lid to feed the fish. Overall the tank is a pretty good value and looks good in my diningroom.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishtreelane
Jax, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hawkeye Customer Service???
11/11/2011

Customer review by bumrocks

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by bumrocks
by bumrocks

Hope that when you receive the product that it is perfect and without issues. Mine was received with a crack in it and as I was told "Walmart repackages it with items inside the aquarium and we have had issues with that" <- Hawkeye statement. Anyways, it took them a day or two to respond to my voicemail message about the problem and they were quick to agree that they would ship me a new aquarium (without hood, filter, etc of course). I was glad that they didn't put up a fight or anything. The only problem with that is that it then took a minimum of 2-3 weeks to receive it. So now I have what appears to be a complete product and go to put it together, fill it with water, gravel, and ornaments. Now I find out the light doesn't work. Switch is inoperable. Went and bought a new bulb. Dead. Now I have to call them again! Arg! Without surprise I have to leave a message again...This time though I thought I would hasten the process by sending an email as well with problem, things tried to remedy situation, my phone number and address to mail me a replacement. Email was immediately returned to me by gmail with this message for the failed delivery... Technical details of permanent failure: Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain...The error that the other server returned was: Mailbox quota exceeded (state 14). My suggestion is if you get a defective unit, return it to Walmart and order another. For the money you can't beat it, if you get everything working as advertised. Without the light it still runs and works great! The only other tidbit you might want to be aware of... It has a strong filter and creates quite a "current". The best and easiest way to baffle this... http://www.petfish.net/kb/entry/347/

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bumrocks
Gatlinburg TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Cant be beat for $25
12/24/2012

Customer review by mothow

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by mothow
by mothow

So far i love this tank.It looks bigger than 5 gallons and it came with a really nice filter.I know every body swears its too strong for a betta but i just filled the tank til the water was covering the jets on the pump and i cant see a stream of water at all.And my Female Crown tail Betta (Betsy)doesnt mind it at all.I do need to get some more plants and a few other decorations like a backgroud to help make it look nicer and Betsy's life more enjoyable.I did add a Tetra Heater 5-15 which keeps the water at a 76-78c which is just great for my betta.Only problem ive seen is the filter refills.I cant seem to find them anywhere.If i do find them i will post back.If not im gonna have to go with a Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter or something similar

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mothow
Claymont, De 19703
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
8/25/2013

Customer review by hk2013

4.0 stars 8/25/2013 by hk2013
by hk2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There were some bad reviews for this product but ive had it for months and nothing has broke an my betta loves his new home!! Filter is not super strong but keeps the tank clear.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hk2013
allentown, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I put my two baby water turtles there...
9/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My one inch baby turtles are really happy there, and I put a UVB/UVA for reptile since it already had its lamp outlet and that was really helpful,.... I filled it halfway with water 2.5 gal. its perfect for may turtles for at least 2 more years when they grow bigger. and the Filter that comes with this product its really helpful, the water would just turn black dirty right away if it wasn't for it, once a week I clean the filter with the backyard hose and replace clean water and thats it. I hope my review helps people that love turtles.... not just fish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect little tank
4/25/2013

Customer review by FlutterbyGurl89

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by FlutterbyGurl89
by FlutterbyGurl89
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted something around this size for my betta. All the pet stores wanted over twice as much for aquariums of similar or even smaller size, though! This is such a fantastic deal. The light is great and it's a perfect amount of space for my fish. The filter is a nice little one with a cartridge that's easy to find in stores for replacement time, but I chose to just go with a small airstone instead. After adding some decorations and a little heater, it's the perfect home for my betta! I'm really happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlutterbyGurl89
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 348 total reviews
1-20 of 348 reviews