Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 420 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

420 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

420 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
237
4 stars
121
3 stars
26
2 stars
10
1 stars
26
1-20 of 347 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 347 total reviews
1-20 of 347 reviews
TERRIFIC!!!!
8/7/2010

Customer review by WisconsinSharron

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by WisconsinSharron
by WisconsinSharron

I was a tad skeptical with the price being only $25.00, but I LOVE this tank!!! It looks bigger than 5 gallons, the light & filter it comes with are great & my betta loves it as much as I do!!! The filter IS a tad strong for a betta, but once you baffle it, it's all good! :) Honestly, I don't think you can go wrong with this tank kit!!!!

Was this review helpful? (293) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WisconsinSharron
N.E. Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this tank!
11/30/2010

Customer review by vaygirl

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by vaygirl
by vaygirl

I got one of these for each of my bettas. They LOVE it. I keep live, low light plants in all of them and the light bulb does a great job keeping them looking good. The filter is easy to baffle and you can replace it if you ever want a change. It's not integrated, which is nice. A 25 watt heater fits nicely along the short side and keeps all my bettas toasty and healthy. Weekly water changes and vacuuming are a cinch with the pop up lid. It's an awesome tank for the money. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (166) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vaygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect starter tank
5/29/2011

Customer review by danidigs830

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by danidigs830
by danidigs830

This is a perfect starter tank. We bought it for our 2 year old's room & he loves it. It definitely looks bigger than 5 gallons. The light is a little bright, but he goes to sleep with it on (rather than his night light) watching his fish so its not too bad. I did have to turn down the filter so the fish weren't getting pushed across the tank from the water coming down into the tank. We decided on guppies & neon tetras and added a few decorations, gravel, heater, and an air pump. Overall this is the best I found from searching in local pet stores and online. The only thing I don't like is the small "feeding door". It should be a little bit wider because it is difficult to get the flakes in without spilling them. Its just a bit awkward the way it opens. But its easy enough to lift the whole lid to let my son feed the fish so I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (141) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danidigs830
Monticello, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with purchase
11/9/2010

Customer review by ColoCanyon

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by ColoCanyon
by ColoCanyon

Our Betta went from a Gold Fish Bowl to a 1 gal. Tank to this spacious 5 gal. Tank. It was worth the trial and error in getting Azul a place where he could have a warm heater put in. Its really a beautifully shaped Tank and brightens up our living room. Would totally recommend for first time Betta owners...as I was talked into this, by a 10 yr. old, because he looked at us at the pet store!

Was this review helpful? (97) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoCanyon
Coal Creek Canyon, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfection!!!
10/21/2010

Customer review by InsanitysDream

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by InsanitysDream
by InsanitysDream

Like other reviewers, I was skeptical of the quality of this fish tank at the $25-$30 price, but have been absolutely thrilled and amazed by what a great product it really is. My 2 1/2 yr old son won a goldfish at the local fall carnival, and after a month in a vase, having to change the water everyday, and constantly fighting off our 3 cats, I had no choice but to concede that we needed a real fish tank for "Goldy". I love that this tank is one seamless piece and that it includes not only the hood and light, but also a great filter. There is also 2 extra pop out panels in the back of the hood to add a heater or other accessory as you see fit. I really love that the hood is hinged so if you need to access the tank, you don't have to pull the hood off, it just flips up giving you full access, even with the filter system on the back of the tank!! Also, the little flip door on the front of the hood is perfect for feeding time, ecspecially for the little ones who always want to help. Even the cats love to just lay in front of the tank and watch the fish...they are no longer trying to go fishing. It's great not having to keep a constant eye on them, and knowing that the fish are safe. We all love this fish tank so much that we are getting another one to replace my daughter's $50 3gal. tank.

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InsanitysDream
Morris, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW! Happily surprised, great value
4/23/2012

Customer review by AllTheGoodNamesWereTaken2

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by AllTheGoodNamesWereTaken2
by AllTheGoodNamesWereTaken2

I purchased 2 tanks for new Betta's, they make my 4th / 5th tanks, all 5-10 gal. for Betta's and their algae/debris eating friends. Initially what caught my eye was the design, hex front is great for viewing and just beautiful, while the straight back gives a run for the betta to get his exercise (they need to swim horizontally not just vertically, and most hex tanks are taller/thinner). The footprint of this tank is fairly small so it works well on my nightstand and desk. What I was most concerned about was the price - how could $24.97 give me a solid tank? But, I trusted the reviews and am glad I did. The first thing I did was take it out at the Ship to Store desk and make sure it was not a 're-pack' (see some other reviews re: scratches/breakage). No problems, went home and did the initial set up in 10 minutes. Surprisingly well put together! Strong hinges for the hood and feeder door simply fit together (not a lot of parts to break) - it feels solid, heavy in your hands not like a flimsy piece of plastic you will need to be careful with. The overall hood design I am ok with. Yes it is a one piece, but the fit is perfect and it easily sits up on it's hinges, allowing you full access to the tank. One note: the hood is slightly higher than most, factor this in if you are putting it on / under a shelf. I would add 7-8 inches to the top dimension of the tank just in case. The light I cannot testify to, I have a planted tank so immediately switched to a fluorescent plant light. A note on the barrier protecting the light from the water, there are 2 tabs each at top/bottom. Directions are useless, but this is pretty self explanatory. One tank was smooth, easy fit on the tabs, effortless to remove/add. The other? A 3 minute battle, but my hands were a little waterlogged by then! The acrylic is maybe a little thinner than other tanks, a little too much movement on the bottom for me, BUT it could be that I have maxed out the weight on my setup. I have a base 2' of heavy substrate with a corner terrace in each tank, plus a few additional rocks. It should be ok as I don't plan on moving it. Guess I am used to glass .... :) For the average setup, this tank will be fine. It has enough substance to be good for kids, too. I am currently using the filter it came with as I don't have any other internal filters laying around, and I was just curious as to how well it would work. I like the baffle / flow diffuser, I adjusted the water height to a little above the optimal which removed the last trace of noise (there was barely a whisper anyway, I just have SuperMom hearing!), and slowed the surface enough for the Betta's, they are both mellow guys used to bowl water. The filter replacement will use Tetra smalls, which I have on another tank, to which I always add a very small media bag of clay to keep the bacteria going. One thing about Tetra filters, they are economical to keep up, and WalMart always has them in stock - another reason why I chose to try the filter. I will have either a cat, otto, or a snail with each Betta and that is all, so I am not worried about overloading. To be honest, the 'Betta thing' is ADDICTIVE, so I am no longer using the serious Fluval or Marineland BioWheel filters - I have one or two fish in a tank and those filters are overkill / much more expensive to maintain. Overall, I am extremely happy with this tank. It delivered much more than I was expecting, and I can say that I will probably buy more if I get more Betta's. There was attention to detail that impressed me, especially at this price point. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllTheGoodNamesWereTaken2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Love it!
10/26/2010

Customer review by rwalk

5.0 stars 10/26/2010 by rwalk
by rwalk

This tank is perfect for a betta fish! Mine loves it, and so do I. I had to baffle the filter for him by rubberbanding aquarium sponge into the waterfall filter outtake, and the current is just right now. The tank is big enough to be cycled, big enough for a good heater, and big enough for lots of live plants! And most importantly, big enough for your fish to swim freely. The price was great! $27 when I bought it. I couldn't find a cheaper aquarium kit anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rwalk
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
nice starter
3/19/2011

Customer review by dorkieeca

4.0 stars 3/19/2011 by dorkieeca
by dorkieeca

this is a great aquarium for up to 5 small fishes. if you house more than 6, i recommend buying the marineland bio wheel penguin 100 filter. it fit nicely in the back, and provide the much needed biological filtration which the tetra filter that come packaged can not do.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dorkieeca
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZINGG!!
9/17/2011

Customer review by Fishhhloverr244

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Fishhhloverr244
by Fishhhloverr244

For the price only being $26 i was a bit worried about how it would come out. but boy this is a great deal!! :) the date says itll ship in 9 days but i actualy got mine in 4. its a lot bigger then it looks in pictures, and the hexagon shape is lovely. :) i have 2 platys and a golden barb fish and they love it. the fliter is great, keeps my water clean. it comes with 1 catrdige, wwhich will last you around a month dependin on how many fishes you have. the fliter is a bit strong thouugh and itll knock ur fishes to the other side. which is why you need to " baffle it. " this simply means block the water flow some how. at first i used a sponge and after a while a lot of algae started to built up on it. so i cut up a bottle in half and i used rubber bands to hold it over the fliter and it works fine now. the light is amazing, the LED bulb really lights up the tank and brings out the beauty of your decorations :D i would deffinately recommend this tankkk!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishhhloverr244
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful product
8/30/2010

Customer review by Opa48

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Opa48
by Opa48

I have owned many small fish tanks over the last 20 years. Never have I come across a product as well made and attractive as this. From it's eco-friendly bulb, to its fully enclosed lighting compartment for ease of maintenance and safety, along with a convenient total hood hing, this thing is incredible. The included Aqua Tech filter is whisper quiet and totally efficient. For well under $30 you can't go wrong. Get it, before somebody decides it would easily sell for $15 more! I'm not exaggerating when I say it's a mini show piece in your home.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Opa48
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Betta Loves it
7/16/2013

Customer review by pennypacker

4.0 stars 7/16/2013 by pennypacker
by pennypacker

I got this for my Betta, he was living in a one gallon cube. He loves all the extra space, I put two otto algae eaters in with him, they get along fine. I like the tank but the hood is 4 1/2 inches high, I put the tank on a book shelf, I had to remove one of the shelves for this tank to fit. It looks well made, the filter runs quiet and seems to do a good job. It comes with a compact flouresent bulb, it lights the tank up nicely. If you're new to fish tanks, don't forget to cycle your tank before you put the fish in, if you want a fast cycle put a bottle of Safestart in it first. Clean the gravel really well also before putting it into the tank, really everything should be rinsed off without soap, before going into the tank.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pennypacker
Phila, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So cool!
8/21/2010

Customer review by kkirchner6959

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by kkirchner6959
by kkirchner6959

I love this aquarium! Because of the shape, I think it looks bigger than a 5 gallon tank. The tank is so light, I was able to lift it while half full of water, 10 lbs of gravel and all... and I'm a 51 year old female! It's very quiet. In fact, I freaked out a couple of times when I thought it had quit working because I couldn't hear it. It's very sleek looking. I only wish the food door was bigger, and there was a way to keep the water from dripping down the back when you open the lid. Of course, if your water level is low enough, it's not a problem but I like the tank to be full. Even though, it's great!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kkirchner6959
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Aquarium
1/28/2011

Customer review by 1Naj

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by 1Naj
by 1Naj

This is a great value and a wonderful fish aquarium. Looks super in my livingroom and my fish love it. Came with filter, hood, flourescent light bulb, sample packs of fish food and water conditioner. Hood is great because it attaches to the tank and you just flip it up to open. Filter good and strong for the tank, water is crystal clear. Came with an aqua tech 5-15 power filter.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Naj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
EXCELLENT VALUE
4/12/2011

Customer review by Resstation

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by Resstation
by Resstation

This tank is an excellent value. Just saw one at the pet store for $59! For the reviewer who said it was difficult to get the filter on because he didn't know he needed pliars...it pops right off if you use a sharp knife. Common sense is all you need to put the thing together and it works beautifully. What a deal! My fish loves it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Resstation
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great aquarium for a betta fish.
2/5/2012

Customer review by BzyDad

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by BzyDad
by BzyDad

I have this on a desk with a betta fish and some snails. It's a great aquarium. The filter came with a baffle, and the light is great.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BzyDad
Huntingtown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product/ Great price
9/18/2010

Customer review by Comrade

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by Comrade
by Comrade

The tank looks great set up. For the price this tank is an awesome deal. My betta is really enjoying it. The only problem I had was the current created by the filter was too strong but I was able to rig the filter to slow it down.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comrade
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
beautiful aquarium with a lovely shape
9/7/2011

Customer review by jckj4213

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by jckj4213
by jckj4213

the aquarium is lovely. the shape shows the decorations and fish to best advantage in the small space in which i placed it. the filtration system works perfectly and, after following the instructions from the young gentleman at Petco, the water was pristine when i finally purchased my 3 black skirt tetras and placed them in their new home. there is only one problem that i see with this aquarium. the bright white light is just brutal in such a small space to small fish. my tetras hid in the decorations for the first day until i solved the issue by doubling a piece of light blue fabric (thread count 120 or so) cutting it to the size of the light guard, securing it inside and replacing the guard, with fabric standing between the light and the fish. this diffused and dimmed the harsh white light and did not diminish the joy of viewing the fish. and my fish are much more content. the came out and played this evening! i cannot recommend this solution because i don't want to be responsible for anything screwing up for anyone, but it seems to be working for me. the ambiance of the aquarium is much more serene. anyway, this aquarium is very nice, well worth the price, an excellent choice to beautify a small space. decorate nicely, treat the water properly before you add fish and you will have a beautiful corner of peace in a chaotic world.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jckj4213
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!
8/19/2011

Customer review by LittleTank4Me

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by LittleTank4Me
by LittleTank4Me

I just luv this little tank --I've had very big ones all my life and now I can not tend those 50 gal and up. This little tank is perfect and very easy to tend A must have for anyone and wow!!! it comes with so many goodies, more than whats added in the contents I'm 110% satisfied and very good quality and very fast shipping got it in 2 days--yea!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleTank4Me
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this tank!
5/27/2012

Customer review by webdeb777

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by webdeb777
by webdeb777

I had a huge fresh water fish tank and decided to do away with it a few years ago. I missed not having fish as I find them very calming. This tank is perfect. It comes with everything you need, a filter, a hood, lighting and the shape makes this tank look bigger than it is. It is a perfect start up tank for older children or if you just want a small hobby to fiddle with. The picture included was taken just after I filled the tank, the bubbles eventually subsided.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
webdeb777
L.I., N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent!
12/6/2010

Customer review by LS10

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by LS10
by LS10

I was hesitant about the quality with the price being so low, but this really is an excellent small aquarium! Don't hesitate to purchase it. I purchased this for a Betta. As others have stated, the flow from the filter is too strong. You will need to baffle the filter, but it's very easy to do. Otherwise it's perfect.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LS10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 347 total reviews
1-20 of 347 reviews