Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 236 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

236 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

236 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
56
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 stars
44
1-20 of 212 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
Does alright...
3/22/2013

Customer review by slacex

3.0 stars 3/22/2013 by slacex
by slacex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The rake doesn't extend all the way to the bottom of the tray, so sometimes it misses clumps underneath the litter. Also, the rake doesn't get close enough to the sides, so sometimes the feces get brushed to the side, and not into the container. Speaking of the container, it fits fairly well, but the lid doesn't fit into place like it should. Because it doesn't fit well, if our cat steps on the exposed part, the lid gets pushed out of place, and the litter/feces gets dumped on top of the lid instead of into the container. To remedy this, I cut a tennis ball in half and glued it over the exposed area. Sometimes things get stuck to the rake as well, as you can tell by the picture. This unit could use a lot of improvements, but it does a fair job, just not a good job. You could compare it to your friend at work who doesn't do poorly enough to get fired, but does poorly enough to never get promoted or recognized... Overall we're going to keep ours, but when this needs to be replaced we'll probably keep our minds open to other ideas.

Was this review helpful? (58) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slacex
Orem, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great beginner electronic box...
12/27/2012

Customer review by AARinSLPMN86

4.0 stars 12/27/2012 by AARinSLPMN86
by AARinSLPMN86

My original standards were VERY high for this box. I originally wanted a machine with metal tines because I thought they would be more stable at scooping the clumps. When I found this box online I wasn't even sure that my local store had one and I didn't want to wait for shipping. I called them and found that they in fact did have this one and we went and picked it up. This unit was VERY easy to setup and it was basically ready run as soon as I cut off the zip ties holding the tine arm in place; and poured the litter into the machine. My cats used it hesitantly to begin with. After they use it each time they run in to see what is going on when the machine scoops it. I think one of our cats is hesitant because of the noise to use it. I found some accidents on the floor next to the machine. Our two cats are 12 lbs and 28 lbs. and this machine keeps up with them. Best of all my house doesn't smell anymore! I haven't had it very long, however it has transformed my office! My only negative comment about this one is that I really wish I had bought the one with the ramp included. I simply put a rug down to help them wipe the litter off their paws so as to not have it all over the house. I will update you all if there is any malfunctions of the machine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AARinSLPMN86
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Why scoop????
7/21/2014

Customer review by MotoBabs

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by MotoBabs
by MotoBabs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok, ordered this online, but piece was broken so had to return and it was not available for exchange at the store because they were not in stock. HOWEVER, having had several Littermaid boxes in the past, I L-O-V-E them. So convenient, so clean, so easy. I would reuse the collection bin over and over until plastic was cracking and too fragile. Also, don't use too much kitty litter, otherwise it's too hard for the "comb" to sift through. I just found "mechanical " clumping litter at Pet Food Express (SF/Bay Area store) that I will use. Granules are much smaller than most. I also found that the one cat litter box worked well for two cats. Just getting back into the cat market as we'll be adopting 2 cats soon. I will repurchase this item within a few days. I will NEVER scoop again. (Although, have a scoop handy, just in case you need to "tidy up" the area.) And seriously, in about 7 years, I may have had to purchase 2 Littermaids as the mechanism may have failed. But, so worth the price to no scoop.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotoBabs
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More trouble than its worth
6/13/2016

Customer review by 5306

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by 5306
by 5306

I bought this thinking the nasty kitty litter box days were over! Hahaha, joke on me. My cat is a big girl, roughly 12 lbs. She can barely fit in the box. After the first week, the raked stopped moving. It took a phone call to customer service to find out that there is a button that sometimes locks up due to the cat peeing on it. Had to take almost the entire box apart to get to it. Problem resolved. Next problem entered, the magic eye was not looking and failed to clean up after the cat did her business. The litter clumped and hardened and the rake could not get through it. Additionally, the lid does not fit properly on the container holding the litter clumps; the contain fills up so quickly, it will spill out onto the ground. Not well designed at all. I went back to the kitty litter in a box. We now use the Breeze system.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5306
Would recommend to a friend? No
works great!
12/18/2013

Customer review by csec

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by csec
by csec
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had multiple cats for as long as I can remember, but when I went out of town for several days, none of my friends, that agreed to feed the animals, will scope the cat litter! I am so glad that I was desperate enough to consider, review, and purchase this automatic cat litter pan. It is everything, and more, than I had hoped it would be and I am 100 % satisfied with this purchase. I have one, very large, male cat now, and 4-5 days is probably the max time before it needs to be changed. I filled, as directed, with litter from his old pan, and there was no adjustment time. He is still curious, after 3 weeks, about the sound, 10 minutes later, of it sweeping the waste, and goes back to check it out. The floor around the litter pan is cleaner, his paws are cleaner, and I don't have to bend over and scope the cat letter EVERDAY! This Litter Maid Automatic Litter Pan is a product that I should have purchased years ago!

Was this review helpful? (37) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
csec
Granbury Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best investment I've ever made!
11/11/2010

Customer review by ShopGurl202

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by ShopGurl202
by ShopGurl202

I had a 8 year old Littermaid that had seen it's better days years ago! It was constantly getting stuck and I'd have to go tip the Littermaid backward to unclog the litter because it didn't have the strength to scoop the clumps into the recepticle. I was hesitant to purchase a new one because of all of the negative reviews I read. I decided on this one and I'm sure glad I did! I've had the new Littermaid for about a month now with my 15lb cat and it has not clogged up once or gotten stuck. Not to mention it's SO much quieter than our old one! I would highly recommend this! I only wish I would've purchased it sooner!

Was this review helpful? (105) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopGurl202
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
8/2/2010

Customer review by MichaelofWarrenton

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by MichaelofWarrenton
by MichaelofWarrenton

I love this new design of the Litter Maid LM 580 litter pan. I have had Litter Maid pans in the past, and they been o.k. The new design is much quieter and cleans better than previous models. My only word of advise is to use the ramp. Otherwise, for some reason, the lid for the waste container will not stay down.

Was this review helpful? (106) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichaelofWarrenton
Warrenton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Littermaid self-cleaning cat litter box
1/19/2016

Customer review by CClifford

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by CClifford
by CClifford

Thus far, this has been the best version of automatic litter cleaning boxes. Once one learns how to remove the parts for cleaning, it becomes a snap. No other litter cleaner is as efficient as this one. It is the least messy of all the self-cleaning boxes. It is the second one I've purchased. It would be nice if it could be made water-proof so that it did not matter if it got too wet while cleaning. I would have liked to receive the product more quickly. Nevertheless it remains the best of the self-cleaning boxes & I'm grateful to have it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CClifford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good
7/4/2016

Customer review by wodennickel

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by wodennickel
by wodennickel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a great thing to have if you have a k ity

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wodennickel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does a pretty good job of removing the waste.
10/2/2013

Customer review by TrailBlazer02

3.0 stars 10/2/2013 by TrailBlazer02
by TrailBlazer02
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The biggest problem we had with this is the first two we purchased quit working within 24 hours. The drive mechanism quit working on both of them. We called Littermaid and they walked us through their troubleshooting tips and finally told us they were bad and had to return them. We are on our third one now and we have had it less than a week, but it seems to be working fine. Our daughter has one she purchased eight months ago and it hasn't given her any problems. If it wasn't for that, we probably wouldn't have been so persistent in getting one that worked! Hopefully, this one keeps working!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrailBlazer02
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
save your money
6/10/2014

Customer review by sundayp

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by sundayp
by sundayp

I thought this would be awesome when my husband came home with it..But after having it for about 3 months, I'm ready to throw it out the window. The lids fall off the containers, so when it cleans itself, it dumps onto the lid, which means, you gotta get your hands dirty and clean it yourself..so now I don't use the lids. It says to use only premium litter, which I do..and it still doesn't work right..it will pick up the clumps, but not the clumps from the urine. And the rake compresses it down when it goes over it, so it becomes like cement. And sometimes the clumps gets impaled on the rake, so it goes on a joyride, and ends up back in the litterbox. It says they sell their own litter, but I have never seen it in the store, I would love to try it with theirs. And when its time to buy the receptacles, know they do not come with the carbon pacs, those you also have to buy separate. I have to clean this thing everyday!! I will say this though, my cats reaction to the first time he seen it, and heard it...was priceless.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sundayp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Treat it right - it will treat you
4/20/2015

Customer review by Thunderlover

5.0 stars 4/20/2015 by Thunderlover
by Thunderlover

I have been using Littermaids since they first arrived in the 1980's If you loved your kitty, but had to travel out of town on business like I did, they were a great problem solver. There are TWO lines of Littermaids - the ELITE and CLASSIC. I prefer the Classic, since the Elite one I had broke - the rake is metal. If you have more than one cat, buy the Mega size. If you more than two cats, I suggest you buy two boxes or be prepared to empty the waste bins more often. Elites can have accessories like cover tents if you are into that thing. The originals were made in the USA and wore like iron. (Of course this is what put the original company into bankruptcy since there were no resales!) The new company that bought the bankrupt company now builds overseas, and they are not as durable. But following some simple rules will help them last 4-5 years. 1. LITTER Buy a good hard and FAST clumping litter. The cheapest and best I've found is Tidy Cats Odor Erasers Scoop For Multiple Cats 24/7 Performance Cat Litter. It has to clump FAST so that they are ready to go by the time the timer tells the rake to start scooping. You want HARD clumping so they don't shatter as they are coaxed to the waste bin. -Warning some "clumping" litters are too sticky and adhere to the rake and box bottom and can jam the rake and brake it. I had BAD experiences with Arm and Hammer in this regard which broke the Elite rake. 2, MONITOR THE FILL LINE Don't overfill or this makes the sensors unable to complete a cycle and it will back up and forth. This puts wear and tear on the motor. Likewise don't let the level get too low or there isn't a critical mass of litter to clump. If your cats are 'mound builders', occasionally you may have to give the box a simple shake to even out the level after it's done scooping. 3. WASTE BINS Here's a trick to save on buying waste bins so often: line them with disposable grocery bags. But first, take a second bin and cut off the top rim about a half inch all round. That way you are making the whole bin area stronger to support the plastic bag. There is a company called LazerArt (.lazrartstore.com/BAG-it.html ) that makes a permanent replacement for the lids (which I found a PITA, to keep replacing anyway) and a frame that holds the bag open and in place, I found these to be worth it. Clean up was really quick: Flip the lid, pull up the handles on the bag. pull up, tie ends, and dispose. Eventually you'll get into the rhythm of it and it goes fast. 4. SMELL The above litter is the best I've found to lock out the urine smell without having to put up with the yucky perfumy ones. My cats are really good about covering up their solid business, too. If you have a lazy cat who doesn't you will smell it until it gets scooped. I have special needs kitties and so feed them NO GRAIN food - wet and dry. While it costs more, I have noticed that after two weeks their 'depositing' smelled very little. I also have a Lysol automatic air freshener (set for the half hour cycle) in the room on a top shelf, just in case a guest goes to the loo (where the box is.) I think I have covered all my tricks to making your Littermaid the scooping wonder you want it to be. If I remember anything else, I'll post it here.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thunderlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good one-cat litter box
9/27/2010

Customer review by BlueCat1105

4.0 stars 9/27/2010 by BlueCat1105
by BlueCat1105

This item has the plastic rakes that I have been looking for (others have metal "tines" that don't scoop well), and I was pleased to find out that the rake is also easily removable for cleaning, which was not so in the earlier model. It is not a huge box, which can be an issue for owners of big cats, but other than that, it's an improvement on the old model. I only wish they made a larger size with the plastic rake.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueCat1105
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Littermaid cat box
6/25/2016

Customer review by pcman

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by pcman
by pcman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works great at cleaning the box so I don't have to. Its also money saving on liter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pcman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT!!!
10/7/2010

Customer review by Lovemylittlemen

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Lovemylittlemen
by Lovemylittlemen

We love this! It works wonderfully. My cats had no problem switching to this box. I use this for 2 cats both males weighing in at 12-15 pounds with no issues at all. Would recommend this to everyone. And the best part NO KITTY SMELL!!! I also would like to say I use scoop away. Its wonderful for use with this product. I also use the carbon filters.

Was this review helpful? (79) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovemylittlemen
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
In some ways OK in some ways could be better.
6/10/2016

Customer review by Terry

2.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Terry
by Terry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The process appears to be sound. This "newer" version has a plastic rake which I expect will not last as long as the previous metal ones. The containers used to store the litter are small, fill frequently therefore more costly to maintain than traditional litter boxes. My immediate concern noticing as soon as the first "entry" the cat still manages to toss litter, which ends up on top of the lid that opens for the receptacle then ends up on the floor. Going to give it a go, paid for it now so we will see.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Electronics
9/6/2010

Customer review by Arch24

1.0 stars 9/6/2010 by Arch24
by Arch24

The current Litter Maid is a pretty device. They've made the motor quieter and all was fine. For about five days. Then it just quit. Died. This is frustrating. Thats the same reason that the previous Litter Maid died. The electronics just gave out. Not the motor, not anything mechanical, just the electronic, but that one lasted five years. I took the old one apart and the logic board is the cheapest unprotected thing I've ever seen. If the electronics is an issue that means that ANY Litter Maid could just up and die, at any time. I don't find this to be acceptable. The only thing that would bring me back to Litter Maid is maybe a seven year warranty.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arch24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic!
5/10/2011

Customer review by laeorlando

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by laeorlando
by laeorlando

This is the 3rd Littermate Litter Pan we have purchased over the last 10-15 yrs or so. This is by far the best one! It is so quiet you cannot hear it running and it doesn't get clogged up all the time like the last ones did. It is not so sensitive to litter being in the cracks so it keeps repeating its cleaning, but instead cleans it fast, quietly and perfectly. My cat is in heaven with this new one we have had for a month or so now and got used to it within an hour. I am on cloud 9 not having to clean it out myself anymore! You will be happy with this litter pan and so will your cat.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laeorlando
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only one smelly problem...
4/16/2011

Customer review by meghan118

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by meghan118
by meghan118

For the most part, I am loving this new litter box. The only issue that seems to occur now and then is that the disposable top lid comes off and then the litter is scooped on top of the lid and not into the box... researched it and found a "permanent lid and bag it combo" that should correct the issue once and for all. I have two 10+ pound orange tabby cats sharing this box, and it keeps up with them just fine.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meghan118
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Save yourself some trouble and scoop it by hand
3/20/2016

Customer review by RobS

1.0 stars 3/20/2016 by RobS
by RobS

The thing kept hanging up and did not seem to have enough power to get through the used litter. So I bought super-clumping litter the store clerk said was specifically made for this unit, and no improvement. I might add that I only have one very small, very old cat using the thing, and it still was not up to the task.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobS
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews