Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 218 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

218 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

218 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
53
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 stars
37
1-20 of 194 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
Great product!
8/2/2010

Customer review by MichaelofWarrenton

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by MichaelofWarrenton
by MichaelofWarrenton

I love this new design of the Litter Maid LM 580 litter pan. I have had Litter Maid pans in the past, and they been o.k. The new design is much quieter and cleans better than previous models. My only word of advise is to use the ramp. Otherwise, for some reason, the lid for the waste container will not stay down.

Was this review helpful? (99) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichaelofWarrenton
Warrenton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best investment I've ever made!
11/11/2010

Customer review by ShopGurl202

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by ShopGurl202
by ShopGurl202

I had a 8 year old Littermaid that had seen it's better days years ago! It was constantly getting stuck and I'd have to go tip the Littermaid backward to unclog the litter because it didn't have the strength to scoop the clumps into the recepticle. I was hesitant to purchase a new one because of all of the negative reviews I read. I decided on this one and I'm sure glad I did! I've had the new Littermaid for about a month now with my 15lb cat and it has not clogged up once or gotten stuck. Not to mention it's SO much quieter than our old one! I would highly recommend this! I only wish I would've purchased it sooner!

Was this review helpful? (94) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopGurl202
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT!!!
10/7/2010

Customer review by Lovemylittlemen

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Lovemylittlemen
by Lovemylittlemen

We love this! It works wonderfully. My cats had no problem switching to this box. I use this for 2 cats both males weighing in at 12-15 pounds with no issues at all. Would recommend this to everyone. And the best part NO KITTY SMELL!!! I also would like to say I use scoop away. Its wonderful for use with this product. I also use the carbon filters.

Was this review helpful? (73) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovemylittlemen
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good one-cat litter box
9/27/2010

Customer review by BlueCat1105

4.0 stars 9/27/2010 by BlueCat1105
by BlueCat1105

This item has the plastic rakes that I have been looking for (others have metal "tines" that don't scoop well), and I was pleased to find out that the rake is also easily removable for cleaning, which was not so in the earlier model. It is not a huge box, which can be an issue for owners of big cats, but other than that, it's an improvement on the old model. I only wish they made a larger size with the plastic rake.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueCat1105
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does alright...
3/22/2013

Customer review by slacex

3.0 stars 3/22/2013 by slacex
by slacex

The rake doesn't extend all the way to the bottom of the tray, so sometimes it misses clumps underneath the litter. Also, the rake doesn't get close enough to the sides, so sometimes the feces get brushed to the side, and not into the container. Speaking of the container, it fits fairly well, but the lid doesn't fit into place like it should. Because it doesn't fit well, if our cat steps on the exposed part, the lid gets pushed out of place, and the litter/feces gets dumped on top of the lid instead of into the container. To remedy this, I cut a tennis ball in half and glued it over the exposed area. Sometimes things get stuck to the rake as well, as you can tell by the picture. This unit could use a lot of improvements, but it does a fair job, just not a good job. You could compare it to your friend at work who doesn't do poorly enough to get fired, but does poorly enough to never get promoted or recognized... Overall we're going to keep ours, but when this needs to be replaced we'll probably keep our minds open to other ideas.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slacex
Orem, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great!
12/18/2013

Customer review by csec

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by csec
by csec

I have had multiple cats for as long as I can remember, but when I went out of town for several days, none of my friends, that agreed to feed the animals, will scope the cat litter! I am so glad that I was desperate enough to consider, review, and purchase this automatic cat litter pan. It is everything, and more, than I had hoped it would be and I am 100 % satisfied with this purchase. I have one, very large, male cat now, and 4-5 days is probably the max time before it needs to be changed. I filled, as directed, with litter from his old pan, and there was no adjustment time. He is still curious, after 3 weeks, about the sound, 10 minutes later, of it sweeping the waste, and goes back to check it out. The floor around the litter pan is cleaner, his paws are cleaner, and I don't have to bend over and scope the cat letter EVERDAY! This Litter Maid Automatic Litter Pan is a product that I should have purchased years ago!

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
csec
Granbury Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does a pretty good job of removing the waste.
10/2/2013

Customer review by TrailBlazer02

3.0 stars 10/2/2013 by TrailBlazer02
by TrailBlazer02

The biggest problem we had with this is the first two we purchased quit working within 24 hours. The drive mechanism quit working on both of them. We called Littermaid and they walked us through their troubleshooting tips and finally told us they were bad and had to return them. We are on our third one now and we have had it less than a week, but it seems to be working fine. Our daughter has one she purchased eight months ago and it hasn't given her any problems. If it wasn't for that, we probably wouldn't have been so persistent in getting one that worked! Hopefully, this one keeps working!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrailBlazer02
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great beginner electronic box...
12/27/2012

Customer review by AARinSLPMN86

4.0 stars 12/27/2012 by AARinSLPMN86
by AARinSLPMN86

My original standards were VERY high for this box. I originally wanted a machine with metal tines because I thought they would be more stable at scooping the clumps. When I found this box online I wasn't even sure that my local store had one and I didn't want to wait for shipping. I called them and found that they in fact did have this one and we went and picked it up. This unit was VERY easy to setup and it was basically ready run as soon as I cut off the zip ties holding the tine arm in place; and poured the litter into the machine. My cats used it hesitantly to begin with. After they use it each time they run in to see what is going on when the machine scoops it. I think one of our cats is hesitant because of the noise to use it. I found some accidents on the floor next to the machine. Our two cats are 12 lbs and 28 lbs. and this machine keeps up with them. Best of all my house doesn't smell anymore! I haven't had it very long, however it has transformed my office! My only negative comment about this one is that I really wish I had bought the one with the ramp included. I simply put a rug down to help them wipe the litter off their paws so as to not have it all over the house. I will update you all if there is any malfunctions of the machine.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AARinSLPMN86
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
5/10/2011

Customer review by laeorlando

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by laeorlando
by laeorlando

This is the 3rd Littermate Litter Pan we have purchased over the last 10-15 yrs or so. This is by far the best one! It is so quiet you cannot hear it running and it doesn't get clogged up all the time like the last ones did. It is not so sensitive to litter being in the cracks so it keeps repeating its cleaning, but instead cleans it fast, quietly and perfectly. My cat is in heaven with this new one we have had for a month or so now and got used to it within an hour. I am on cloud 9 not having to clean it out myself anymore! You will be happy with this litter pan and so will your cat.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laeorlando
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only one smelly problem...
4/16/2011

Customer review by meghan118

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by meghan118
by meghan118

For the most part, I am loving this new litter box. The only issue that seems to occur now and then is that the disposable top lid comes off and then the litter is scooped on top of the lid and not into the box... researched it and found a "permanent lid and bag it combo" that should correct the issue once and for all. I have two 10+ pound orange tabby cats sharing this box, and it keeps up with them just fine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meghan118
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Treat it right - it will treat you
4/20/2015

Customer review by Thunderlover

5.0 stars 4/20/2015 by Thunderlover
by Thunderlover

I have been using Littermaids since they first arrived in the 1980's If you loved your kitty, but had to travel out of town on business like I did, they were a great problem solver. There are TWO lines of Littermaids - the ELITE and CLASSIC. I prefer the Classic, since the Elite one I had broke - the rake is metal. If you have more than one cat, buy the Mega size. If you more than two cats, I suggest you buy two boxes or be prepared to empty the waste bins more often. Elites can have accessories like cover tents if you are into that thing. The originals were made in the USA and wore like iron. (Of course this is what put the original company into bankruptcy since there were no resales!) The new company that bought the bankrupt company now builds overseas, and they are not as durable. But following some simple rules will help them last 4-5 years. 1. LITTER Buy a good hard and FAST clumping litter. The cheapest and best I've found is Tidy Cats Odor Erasers Scoop For Multiple Cats 24/7 Performance Cat Litter. It has to clump FAST so that they are ready to go by the time the timer tells the rake to start scooping. You want HARD clumping so they don't shatter as they are coaxed to the waste bin. -Warning some "clumping" litters are too sticky and adhere to the rake and box bottom and can jam the rake and brake it. I had BAD experiences with Arm and Hammer in this regard which broke the Elite rake. 2, MONITOR THE FILL LINE Don't overfill or this makes the sensors unable to complete a cycle and it will back up and forth. This puts wear and tear on the motor. Likewise don't let the level get too low or there isn't a critical mass of litter to clump. If your cats are 'mound builders', occasionally you may have to give the box a simple shake to even out the level after it's done scooping. 3. WASTE BINS Here's a trick to save on buying waste bins so often: line them with disposable grocery bags. But first, take a second bin and cut off the top rim about a half inch all round. That way you are making the whole bin area stronger to support the plastic bag. There is a company called LazerArt (.lazrartstore.com/BAG-it.html ) that makes a permanent replacement for the lids (which I found a PITA, to keep replacing anyway) and a frame that holds the bag open and in place, I found these to be worth it. Clean up was really quick: Flip the lid, pull up the handles on the bag. pull up, tie ends, and dispose. Eventually you'll get into the rhythm of it and it goes fast. 4. SMELL The above litter is the best I've found to lock out the urine smell without having to put up with the yucky perfumy ones. My cats are really good about covering up their solid business, too. If you have a lazy cat who doesn't you will smell it until it gets scooped. I have special needs kitties and so feed them NO GRAIN food - wet and dry. While it costs more, I have noticed that after two weeks their 'depositing' smelled very little. I also have a Lysol automatic air freshener (set for the half hour cycle) in the room on a top shelf, just in case a guest goes to the loo (where the box is.) I think I have covered all my tricks to making your Littermaid the scooping wonder you want it to be. If I remember anything else, I'll post it here.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thunderlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Product I've EVER Bought..& It's For My Cats!
6/27/2014

Customer review by NicoleDD

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by NicoleDD
by NicoleDD

I bought this product on clearance for less than $20 at Target because they discontinued the brand. I went online for Walmart to see if they carry the "clean-up boxes" to buy, and saw that no one has written an amazing review for this product itself. (Especially the GUY'S review below me). So, Let ME tell YOU. I have THREE cats, yes 3 of them. I've never wasted time or money buying an automatic letterbox because I've always thought they had to be bogus for they prices that they asked for. When I found this cheap one, I thought, "I have a few extra bucks I can spend", shrugged, and put it in the cart. Granted my three cats are kind of neurotic and spent the whole first week making it go off just to watch it (its usable for bathroom AND entertainment time!). But I had one regular litter box down since one cat was to scared to go in at first. After 5 days I tossed that litter box and all 3 were happy and so was I. Just this morning after a month of owning the box, I'm looking for these containers. Yes the box only came with like 5, no I didn't even think to clean and reuse them, and YES I HAVE 3 CATS!!!. I've never had a problem with the container lid, everyone who says there is one must never have bothered to notice the tabs (to keep it in place) which are not only on the top but also the BOTTOM of the lid holder. Yes the actual container part is small so some litter falls out during use (if it's over flowing) and during removal of the container. But what the solution for that is: Spend an extra $1.50 on a small rug that is sold at any second-hand store. If you're super fussy about keeping litter inside the box, a rug makes it super easy to vacuum any extra litter up (Which is what i did and do). I've never had an issue with poopy mess left behind anywhere in the box, but when I put a new container in I just grab 1-2 paper towels, pull out the clawed-scraper and brush off the ends (which is likely what makes sure that particular problem never occurs). Some people are also saying that the deodorizing pads don't work, fall off, or aren't worth buying. I say (Remember i have 3 cats using only this ONE litter box) of course they don't work because the poopies get pushed away every 10 minutes and as long as you're not letting that container overflow the lid will lay over top of it (and two of my cats have very stinky bathroom problems that could be smelled all over the house before I got this litter box), No I've never had one fall off, these people who say it happens may not be putting them on correctly or are waiting weeks before actually taking the used-up container out. And I say yes to them not being worth buying. Maybe they are IF you only have one cat and prefer to let the container overflow for an extra week before changing it, but with 3 felines I actually didn't even bother putting them on the last three times I changed the containers. I'd like to apologize if any of my words (e.g. poopy, etc.) were offense and I understand that all of the other reviewers are allowed to have their point-of-view's too, but given the fact that (Like I've already said a BILLION times) I own three cats that use only this one litter box, I want other multi-cat owners to know too that the standard litter box is no longer "the only (or best) option" when owning 2+ cats; Automatic litter boxes , like this brand, have become as good and even better/easier to use (even for for us crazy-cat-ladies:) ) P.S. one of my cats does continue to set it off very often (without even using it for bathroom purposes) but if a litter box can make him happy/content then i sum it up to two times the usage for HALF the original price of one. (He's also the baby of the three so it could also be for attention though). P.S.S. All of my cats still run to it to watch EVERY TIME it goes off and my mother and I still stop sometimes before realizing what the noise is. It takes some getting used to. Even for humans. But it makes you feel a little less dreadful about the "cleaning the litter box" chore!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NicoleDD
Burnsville, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the Money
1/6/2014

Customer review by HollyBoop

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by HollyBoop
by HollyBoop

I am completely pleased with this litterbox. I had read some of the bad reviews and was worried about the motor but it was not needed! I have already gotten my money's worth out of it! I have two cats at least 10lbs a piece and it does a good job keeping up with them. The only problem is that my girls are not scared of its noise at all in fact they will use the bathroom just to watch the rake, which causes me to have to put litter in about every two days. If I had to change anything about this product I would make the rake a little longer and create some form of barrier between the box and the rails that the rake rides so that litter can not get into them. But these two things would not keep me from purchasing this box again. If you go through the box with the scooper every few days you don't have to worry about the urine that sometimes goes to the bottom, and an old toothbrush works great to get the litter out of the rails which I think is important to the life of your motor. The litter dump box is replaceable but I found that you can dump, rinse, and reuse them many times before you have to use another one if you are needing to be frugal! I highly recommend this litter box. The littermaid company tells you to use only littermaid litter but I have not seen where this is needed so far. I have used ScoopAway and A&H Clump and Seal with great success. As far as being easier to keep off the rails I prefer the A&H Clump and Seal because the texture is not as rough, it is more like sand. You just want a litter that clumps well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HollyBoop
Panama city, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of junk, do not buy!
6/14/2011

Customer review by CatLoverDad

1.0 stars 6/14/2011 by CatLoverDad
by CatLoverDad

The design of the product was so poor it did not work with or without cat litter in it! Another person who reviewed the product said it very well, where is zero for Value and Expectations? I returned the product as soon as I had the opportunity. I bought an OmegaPaw Roll N Clean and absolutely love it! Do not waste your money on an electric auto cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatLoverDad
Crandall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Wonderful!
4/17/2011

Customer review by missusms

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by missusms
by missusms

Love this product! It has been about a week now, have 2 kittys, one is using it for sure...the other one is indoor/outdoor all the time, so I am not sure if she has used it or not. Very easy to put together, too. I would use the litter they recommend. I didn't, so small particles get left behind. Other than that, this one was cheaper & got better recomendations than the pricier one! Even the gal at Site-to-store said she LOVES hers, couldn't live without it. Have to agree!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missusms
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
High quality
3/22/2011

Customer review by HeyDano

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by HeyDano
by HeyDano

We have three cats and I have been a satisfied Littermaid customer for many years... I have gone through several versions of Littermaid boxes as I like to replace them every few years... This is the best version yet... The motor is much stronger and makes the older version obsolete... I couldn't be happier

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeyDano
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TERRIBLE LIFE SPAN
4/30/2012

Customer review by KATLOVER1

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by KATLOVER1
by KATLOVER1

I have purchased three of these so far and they have lasted for approx 2 months each. The motor keeps locking up and will never start working. I am not buying anymore of these. When they go out that often, there is a problem. It is too expensive to keep buying new ones and trying to get a refund. I would not buy another one of these.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KATLOVER1
Poor Electronics
9/6/2010

Customer review by Arch24

1.0 stars 9/6/2010 by Arch24
by Arch24

The current Litter Maid is a pretty device. They've made the motor quieter and all was fine. For about five days. Then it just quit. Died. This is frustrating. Thats the same reason that the previous Litter Maid died. The electronics just gave out. Not the motor, not anything mechanical, just the electronic, but that one lasted five years. I took the old one apart and the logic board is the cheapest unprotected thing I've ever seen. If the electronics is an issue that means that ANY Litter Maid could just up and die, at any time. I don't find this to be acceptable. The only thing that would bring me back to Litter Maid is maybe a seven year warranty.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arch24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garbage
7/19/2011

Customer review by bayoured1961

1.0 stars 7/19/2011 by bayoured1961
by bayoured1961

I have owned litter maid boxes before and were pleased with them . I had this newer cheaply made one for 2 weeks and it has stopped working . I will return it and look for something else. Not worth the shipping cost.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bayoured1961
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor quality
5/19/2012

Customer review by Acetrane

1.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Acetrane
by Acetrane

Product is very poorly made. Bought my first one, liked it at first until the 8th day. It stopped working. Called there support line. They determined it wAs defective, so I took it back to Walmart and exchanged it. The second one only lasted 5 days. Something just stops moving. I don't recomend that you buy this littermaid product. It's a waste of your $90.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Acetrane
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews