Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 36 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Shoots far!
10/30/2010

Customer review by NerfArmyGeneral

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by NerfArmyGeneral
by NerfArmyGeneral

I am a huge fan of Nerf and I got this gun the first day I saw it at Wal-mart. I think $20 is a little much, but it's really good. It's like a mix between a Maverick and a Recon. It shoots very far with streamline darts. It only holds five, so make your shots count in a Nerf war. I kind of wish it held more. You can reload it really fast too because you can swing the barrel out all the way. If the gun jams, it probably means that you didn't put the darts in alll the way. It hasn't jammed on me once! Its stock is awesome as it can fold over the side and can fit on other guns. Its barrel extension is awesome too because, unlike other barrel extensions, it doesn't decrease range! I like how it looks like a suppressor. Overall, it has excellent range and I recommend it to others!

Was this review helpful? (226) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NerfArmyGeneral
Greencastle, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Stock on a Good Gun
11/4/2010

Customer review by Arcelebor

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Arcelebor
by Arcelebor

First, the gun itself. Viewed as a refined Maverick, the Spectre address several concerns from the older gun very well. The rotary chambers swing out much further from the frame, allowing easier reloading (although it must be manually closed, rather than flicked closed one-handed like the Maverick can be). The chambers advance on cocking, rather than firing, preventing the somewhat-common effect on the Maverick where the chambers don't advance properly. The top-mounted tactical rail is on the frame and not the slide, so attaching an accessory does not impair use. The gun has the now-standard front-barrel and rear-stock mounting, whereas the Maverick has just the top-mounted rail. Other differences from the Maverick are not direct improvements, and negligible. The grip on the Spectre is shorter but not much thinner (I am 6'3" and it seems a little awkward but workable, my 5-year-old brother found it no more comfortable than the Maverick). The gun holds 5 shots, rather than 6, which either matters a lot (if you need 1 more shot) or not at all (if you don't). I consider the easier reloading to more than offset the 16% reduction in capacity. The trigger pull is gentler (since it is no longer advancing the chambers), but the difference is minor. Range is slightly shorter than my original-run Maverick, but also negligible. The gun is a little longer than the Maverick, which is somewhat expected with the addition of the front barrel-mount, but it feels like it could have been shorter. The more slender profile accentuates the extra length but it is, honestly, probably not a very big deal. It just looks gangly to me when I don't think it had to be. On to the accessories, the real reason for purchasing the Spectre over the venerable Maverick. As already stated, the tactical rail is in a much better place on the Spectre, although it's still a little awkward to have a bulky accessory on such a (relatively) small gun. The front barrel-mount is also appreciated, especially after the puzzling omission on the Raider. The Recon barrel extension (aka two extra tactical rails) is also rather bulky for the size of the gun but if you NEED to have a laser, a flashlight, and the kitchen sink attached then having that extra capacity is essential. The included barrel extension has no rails and is purely cosmetic, but the bore is wider/shorter than previous accessories, so it purportedly has less negative impact on range. I did not test to verify that, as it seems like a useless peripheral to me anyway. Lastly, there is the included folding stock included with the Spectre. Every other difference from a Maverick or a Recon is, in my opinion, minor. The folding stock is undeniably a great idea and the execution is satisfyingly solid. While not as firm as the Raider stock, I would say it is comparable to the Recon stock in sturdiness. The swivel mechanism is smooth and the "lock" seems to work fine. There is no actual locking mechanism, just a tab/slot arrangement, but they've included an indicator to show you if it is fully engaged and it feels firm. If used regularly, it's conceivable that it would deform and not hold as well, but only time will tell. Overall, I would consider the gun comparable to a Maverick or Recon but the folding stock is a great addition to any arsenal. At $20 I'd consider it a decent deal, but if you don't expect/need a stock or tactical rails I would still recommend the $8 Maverick.

Was this review helpful? (171) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arcelebor
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
An Excellent Blaster
11/2/2010

Customer review by Bananaman42

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by Bananaman42
by Bananaman42

When it comes down to it, the Spectre is essentially the Maverick done right. It fires further, reloads easier, and is less prone to misfires (due to the dart canister rotating upon cocking rather than firing). The barrel attachment, while looking cool, does little to change the range/accuracy of the darts. The foldable shoulder stock accomplishes its purpose as far as steadying the blaster while you take aim and fire. Be warned, however, that having the shoulder stock folded against the blaster makes the blaster nearly impossible to use left-handed. Although approximately twice the price of a Maverick (and holding 1 less dart), the improved range and reliability make the Spectre well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (108) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bananaman42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Blaster.
11/29/2010

Customer review by Mehku

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Mehku
by Mehku

If you're not into modifying Nerf products, this is one of the best stock blasters that I have ever purchased. It has excellent range, and it is very reliable. The only downside to this product is the folding stock; It is very flimsy and it is not ambidextrous. Otherwise, buy this product. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (71) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mehku
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME FOR BATTLES
7/14/2011

Customer review by gunblood

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by gunblood
by gunblood

Deffently buy this product. My neighbor has this gun he wears me out with it. The whistlers have so good aim and freak me out because we do stealth missions and i never know where they r coming from then bam im out.This gun would deffently stand a chance against the LongShot. Very good aim,Powerful,Cool,Easy to carry,Revolfer,Uses Whistlers.This is a deffent win wis the Spectre REV-5. If u have ason or a lil brother or anyone u know and want them to have a blast get them this gun. They should love it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gunblood
Knoxville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great addition to any arsenal
12/1/2010

Customer review by Maswasnos

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by Maswasnos
by Maswasnos

Though the stock may seem flimsy, this gun gets great range, looks cool, and is a great replacement/substitute for the Maverick. I am right handed though, and do not recommend this to lefties, since the stock folds onto the right side of the gun. The barrel extension seems unneeded, and it probably is, but it looks really cool on the gun, as it gives the impression of a silencer. A great buy for only twenty bucks!

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maswasnos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Happy Grandson
12/29/2010

Customer review by GrammaShannon

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by GrammaShannon
by GrammaShannon

My Grandson loves Nerf!! Of all the toys he recieved for Christmas he enjoyed this gun the most!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrammaShannon
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME NERF GUN!
7/20/2011

Customer review by Demmerboy

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by Demmerboy
by Demmerboy

i love this nerf gun, it is a powerful nerf gun. it gets about the same range as my longstrike and i can put the barrel extension on my longstrike and put my longstrikes barrel extension on the spectre

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Demmerboy
Rome,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Nerf Gun for a Beginner
8/31/2011

Customer review by MRock

4.0 stars 8/31/2011 by MRock
by MRock

I bought myself this gun and I think it was worth the money. It shoots accurately and the darts don't get clogged in the gun. It is lightweight but it has a flimsy stock. I suggest buying a Nerf N-Strike Raider and switching the stocks. It doesn't come with a lot of darts, so you definitely need extras. The prime bar is easy to maneuver and a little kid can easily use it. I am happy with my purchase and I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MRock
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for an 8 year old
12/25/2010

Customer review by tarheelfan1

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by tarheelfan1
by tarheelfan1

Fun for my 8 yr old and me. The combo bundle that comes with the extra ammo bag and darts is a real bonus!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tarheelfan1
Ellenboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/25/2010

Customer review by jeminky

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by jeminky
by jeminky

My sons (13 & 19) are big Nerf fans. They both love this gun.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeminky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great
1/5/2011

Customer review by emi100

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by emi100
by emi100

my nephew loves this toy. when he opened it for Christmas, everyone wanted to use it-adults, too. it is easy to use, and it was ready to play with rite out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emi100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Revenge
1/9/2011

Customer review by allsaints

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by allsaints
by allsaints

My grandson has hours of fun with this Nerf. He, his brother and cousin, play for hours with their Nerfs. This is one of the best toys I have gotten him! He is learning self-control, aim, self-confidence in knowing that he is not really hurting someone when he fires his Nerf bullets. Playing with others and taking turns are other advantages of this Nerf collection. Highly recommend these Nerf products!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allsaints
Oswego, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cool and fun nerf gun!
6/28/2012

Customer review by mandersmay

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by mandersmay
by mandersmay

we all have alot of fun with this gun. kids and adults lol. easy to load. never jams. shoots accurately and far! fun to shoot. little hard for my son to pull the top level to reshoot but he just turned 4 a couple days ago but he is learning and will get it in no time. good gun to have in your nerf collection!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mandersmay
McRae,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SCARY
1/2/2011

Customer review by 16BeldingLee

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by 16BeldingLee
by 16BeldingLee

You wouldn't want to be in front of the this barrel, not the easy to load but easier than using clips, great gun, like the acsseries. alwase gonna use this gun !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
16BeldingLee
Lindin, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/3/2011

Customer review by STLsoccermom5

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by STLsoccermom5
by STLsoccermom5

My son loves this nerf gun. (and so does my husband). It shoots really far and it very rarely jams. However the gun doesn't carry many bullets.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STLsoccermom5
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Son LOVES this
3/13/2011

Customer review by DaddyKLP

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by DaddyKLP
by DaddyKLP

My son says this is the absolute BEST Nerf gun.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddyKLP
Middletown, MJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great blaster!!
12/31/2011

Customer review by jonbeaverton

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by jonbeaverton
by jonbeaverton

Very solid blaster. Its like a Maverick 2. Only down fall is that it only holds 5 darts. Also the folding stock is a little flimsy for adult or older kid use. Additional "silencer" looks awsome, but does have a negitive affect on range. For the price, about $7- $10 more then the maverick, but you do get the silencer and folding stock. Both Maverick and Spectre shoot about the same range. Overall, I like the Spectre and all its accesesories, its slim feel, and that the barrel clicks when loading is a cool touch. Also the dart lines up when cocking instead of the Mavericks trigger pull. Anyway, great blaster. Not an icon like the Maverick, but has its place in the gray area between the Maverick and Recon (because of accesories) although Recon is clip based.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jonbeaverton
beaverton, or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/14/2010

Customer review by Toys4me41

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Toys4me41
by Toys4me41

Son love the toy. Losing a few darts along the way but overall a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Toys4me41
Owensboro Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great gift for nerf kids
1/14/2012

Customer review by nursejacq

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by nursejacq
by nursejacq

I bought this for my 11 yr old brother and he loves it. A must buy for 10-11yr olds

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nursejacq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews