Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 233 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

233 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

233 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-20 of 210 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Excellent
8/9/2010

Customer review by w8lftr62

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by w8lftr62
by w8lftr62

We have owned an Oreck for over 15 years. I have kept it serviced and well cared for. Our cord finally gave out so I had to borrow my sisters newer Oreck because we had people coming over that evening. The next day I started doing research and found the Bissell was very highly rated, not only by customers but by Consumer Reports, at a great price. I purchased the Bissell. It pulled up so much dirt, hair and whatever else, that we had to empty the bin "4" times. That was the following day after using the newer Oreck. It made us sick to think we had been living with all this filth in our carpets due to the Oreck not doing it's job. Never again.

Was this review helpful? (90) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
w8lftr62
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Maintanence is key
4/25/2011

Customer review by KidswithCats

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by KidswithCats
by KidswithCats

As with everything you buy you have to maintain it and treat it well. Very good vacuum. As for people saying the belt broke after the first use that is probably because you had the carpet adjustment too close to the ground. common sense says to adjust the vacuum to the appropriate height before you turn it on or of course your belt will be strained and break. As for it breaking after a year for some people. More than likely this happened due to improper or poor maintainence like cleaning your hoses, filters, brushes and dust out of the motors every once in awhile. I have owned 3 Bissells and never had a problem with any of them, Had to move a few times and couldn't take them with us. I keep buying Bissell there must be a reason ^_^ . Bissell really does get up anything, Stuck on dried up rice, (due to toddlers) mushy foods (however clean the hoses and such when you are done) pet and human hair with ease, bare floors are not a problem I did away with my brooms. It dusts curtains nicely with the proper attachments as well as ceiling fans, ceilings, walls, cracks and crevices.

Was this review helpful? (70) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KidswithCats
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent vacuum at a reasonable price
8/28/2010

Customer review by cleanfreak96762

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by cleanfreak96762
by cleanfreak96762

My engineer hubby did the research on vacuums when our old one died a timely death (it was 10 years old and my 8-yr old daughter obliterated the cords while doing her chores). The attachments/hand tools are smartly well-designed, and the make-up of the components are promising for durability. It is lighter and quieter than our old vacuum; my kids are much less whiny about using it. The suction is impressive. I love it. Our local stores didn't carry it in-stock, so we had it shipped-to-store. I'm glad we went through the hoops to get it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleanfreak96762
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/10/2013

Customer review by Kekee0

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Kekee0
by Kekee0

This one is a good time....I have certain requirements for my vacuum cleaners as I vacuum pretty much everyday (we have 2 large hairy dogs). Now for some specs: it has a 12amp motor, decent cord (others seem to be longer), bagless and multiple vacuuming heights for your desired cleaning surface. It seems to be lighter than most other vacuums I have owned and appears to self-propel on the forward push which is really nice. I also love the fact that the wand just pulls out (no twisting or turning to lock it into the base). This is important to me as I always vacuum the room and then use the wand to work the perimeter against the walls. The wand has a slight arch which helps as its easier to hold than just a straight wand. The hose is not as long as others, but it's not a huge deal since every other aspect is really great. I have owned a Eureka, Hoover, Simplicity and just love the Bissells. I also opted for the bundle and now own my very first stick vacuum (why did I wait so long?!?!) Overall great purchase and decent price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kekee0
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
8/7/2010

Customer review by NCEsq

4.0 stars 8/7/2010 by NCEsq
by NCEsq

I was most interested in this product for picking up hair. It really exceeds my expectations...my carpet looked new after one use! The mini-vacuum attachment works great for cleaning the stairs although it is a bit cumbersome. Works wonderful on bare floors too. Overall fantastic value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCEsq
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bissell Parts Lacking - Buyer Beware
4/26/2011

Customer review by chony

2.0 stars 4/26/2011 by chony
by chony

This vacuum comes with a TurboBrush for stairs, pet hair, etc. and the TurboBrush is driven by a small belt. When the belt breaks, you cannot buy a replacement from Bissell or any vacuum supplier store as Bissell does not carry or supply the belt. You will have to buy a total new replacement TurboBrush for $30.00 which is 1/3rd the cost of the vacuum. Absolutely absurd for Bissell to not sell a replacement belt. Hoover has TurboBrushes for their vacuums and they do sell the replacement belts for about $5-6 but Hoover belts will not fit the Bissell. BUYER BEWARE!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chony
Highlands Ranch, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bissell is the Best
12/29/2010

Customer review by JaJaJules

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by JaJaJules
by JaJaJules

I am delighted with this product. It delivers exceptional suction and with 3 dogs about the house, it has made light of a lot of previously heavy work. The carpet looks fantastic, the dogs hairs are no more and the attachments are so easy to use. I managed to put it together in under 5 mins too which is a miracle for me. The extra long power cord is wonderful - I can vacuum 3/4 of the house without having to go unplug. I rave about it to all my ladies who think I've turned into Mrs. S-ford. :)

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaJaJules
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A great Vacuum
1/24/2011

Customer review by Wifehelper

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by Wifehelper
by Wifehelper

Received the vacuum, put it together, and started cleaning the carpet. I could not believe the dirt and lint it picked up after only about 100 sq. ft. Our previous vacuum (that had died a week previous) was a very highly rated 8 lb vac that seemed to do the job. It now takes a lot less time to vacuum the entire house than our old cleaner. The Bissell is far superior cleaner at a much lower price. My only concern is the transparent plastic brush cover possibly getting broken after some hard bumps in the future. The cover was cracked in transit (possibly damaged in transit), but Bissell sent me to a warranty center and the cover was replaced promptly with no problem and no charge.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wifehelper
North Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value for the money, great suction
6/1/2011

Customer review by lovetoshop215

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by lovetoshop215
by lovetoshop215

First I should start out by saying that I am truly impressed by how much fur, dust and dirt this vacuum picks up every time I use it, and I vacuum at least twice a week. This vacuum was very easy to assemble and I was able to put it together quickly out of the box. My one complaint with assembly is that the screws to affix the attachment deck to the vacuum are deepset, so it was hard to see whether the screws were in tight enough and also hard to get at the right angles to make sure the screws were in tightly. The canister is easy to empty and doesn't make a mess when disconnecting from the unit. I also like that the canister is lightweight and can be changed with one hand. The vacuum is heavy, so it's handy that they put an opening around the middle of the unit to more evenly distribute the weight when carrying it between rooms, up and down stairs, etc. The base of the vacuum has rubber around the edges so you don't have to worry about knicking baseboard, dents, etc. The attachments are very handy, especially the small turbo brush which is perfect for furniture and small carpets. I do wish that it came with a wide, flat attachment for underneath furniture though. All in all, I highly recommend this powerful vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoshop215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
8/15/2011

Customer review by Sassy95

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Sassy95
by Sassy95

I love this vacuum. I had a 10 year old Dirt Devil that I loved, but it was falling apart. We moved to a new house and had the carpets cleaned, so I decided the carpets deserved a nice vacuum. The carpet was only about 3 years old, but this vacuum is still pulling up the fibers like when you have brand new carpet. It does great on vacuuming my tile floors before I mop, too! Glad I picked this over one that costs several times more! I also have 2 cats and it does great for pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassy95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Get if you have pets!
8/14/2011

Customer review by soybomn

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by soybomn
by soybomn

I have a german shepherd, and a husky...both shed a LOT and have long hair. I have had this vacuum for about 3 years, and it is WONDERFUL!! I literally use it everyday!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soybomn
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I now love vacuuming.
11/28/2012

Customer review by jsweetburn

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by jsweetburn
by jsweetburn

I just got this vacuum about 6 hours ago, my boyfriend came over and helped me put it together and ended up laughing at me because it was so easy. I took my wonderful, lovely, hardworking vacuum for a test drive and I only got about 3 sweeps across my rug and my BF said wait, theres something in the bin, so I turned it off and there was a freaking chihuahua sized ball of hair that came up....3 sweeps across the rug people, THREE! I JUST vacuumed with my old one 2 days before. I love, love, love, love, love this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsweetburn
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The best vacuum ever!
5/30/2012

Customer review by murrietamomma

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by murrietamomma
by murrietamomma

I purchased the Bissell Momentum 82G71 when I moved into my new home. The price was great. I had a very expensive Kirby vacuum for years. I prefer this vacuum hands down at less than 1/10th the price! It picks up dog hair even at along the base board. It cleans tall, dense, deeply padded carpet and hardwood floors equally well. It's lightweight. All attachments are handy and easily usable. I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
murrietamomma
Murrieta CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great, But The Belt Broke The First Use!
9/4/2010

Customer review by BeautifulinPink

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by BeautifulinPink
by BeautifulinPink

Love it! Belt Broke the First Use. Easy to replace though, and I've had no more problems since then. Wow, it really sweeps up everything! Very powerful vac.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeautifulinPink
Grain Valley, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best vacuum
10/28/2010

Customer review by ImAGee

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by ImAGee
by ImAGee

This vacuum works circles around my old vacuum. After reading review after review I finally decided on this product. I was looking for a product that did not have a huge filter up top. My last vacuum had one and I would have to constantly unscrew the filter (all that dirt and dust was all over my hand & arm). This vacuum is perfect! The suction is top notch! If you are looking for a vacuum, this is IT!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImAGee
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very top heavy
11/30/2013

Customer review by sierra252

2.0 stars 11/30/2013 by sierra252
by sierra252

I bought this vacuum using gift cards we received from our wedding. I paid over $100. I can't remember the exact price (I purchased it over 3 years ago). The vacuum was great in the beginning. After a few years, it now collects dirt on the base. It is also very top heavy and tends to fall over very easily. The filters need to be shaken and cleaned after almost every use. There will be a big cloud of dust while using the vacuum, which irritates my husband's allergies pretty severely to the point where he can't even be in the same room when I'm vacuuming. With that being said, I will say that we moved into a new house 2 years ago and each time we still vacuum our bedroom, it picks up loads of dirt from the carpet. It amazes me every time! The suction power is good. With how top heavy it is, that is a deal breaker for me. I wish I would have purchased a different vacuum that was more light weight.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sierra252
Warren, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Noisy and unstable
4/7/2012

Customer review by Yunna13

2.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Yunna13
by Yunna13

We bought it 2 weeks ago, it is very noisy and very unstable; When you want use the upholstery hose, it easily fall down and you have no control on suction power when you do not need the carpet suction!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yunna13
Stillwater, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/7/2011

Customer review by jellowiggles

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by jellowiggles
by jellowiggles

Make sure you clean out the hair from the rollers after each use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jellowiggles
Green Bay, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Great for Carpets
3/11/2014

Customer review by BlessedMom2Five

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by BlessedMom2Five
by BlessedMom2Five

The vacuum does an excellent job on carpeted areas. However, there is no switch to turn off the brush for vacuuming hardwood floors and tile. This was a disappointment, because our previous Bissel vacuum did have this feature. This vacuum scatters dust on tile, even when on the "bare floor" setting. However, because it does such a thorough job on our carpets, I am satisfied with the overall performance of the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlessedMom2Five
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bissell Momentum Cyclonic Upright 8271
11/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Similar to everyone's comments regarding this vacuum cleaner, it tips over very easily! Overall, it does not look like it picks up as much dirt comparing to my old Bissell PowerTrak Revolution Upright Vacuum (sadly motor died). Very small lints on my carpet do not get picked up and I ended up having to pick it up and let the vacuum take care of it after. Finally, should the hose ever come loose from its attachment, the vacuum would immediately loose it suction. Get something else!

Was this review helpful? (12) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews