Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 233 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

233 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

233 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-20 of 210 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
8/10/2013

Customer review by Kekee0

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Kekee0
by Kekee0
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This one is a good time....I have certain requirements for my vacuum cleaners as I vacuum pretty much everyday (we have 2 large hairy dogs). Now for some specs: it has a 12amp motor, decent cord (others seem to be longer), bagless and multiple vacuuming heights for your desired cleaning surface. It seems to be lighter than most other vacuums I have owned and appears to self-propel on the forward push which is really nice. I also love the fact that the wand just pulls out (no twisting or turning to lock it into the base). This is important to me as I always vacuum the room and then use the wand to work the perimeter against the walls. The wand has a slight arch which helps as its easier to hold than just a straight wand. The hose is not as long as others, but it's not a huge deal since every other aspect is really great. I have owned a Eureka, Hoover, Simplicity and just love the Bissells. I also opted for the bundle and now own my very first stick vacuum (why did I wait so long?!?!) Overall great purchase and decent price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kekee0
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maintanence is key
4/25/2011

Customer review by KidswithCats

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by KidswithCats
by KidswithCats

As with everything you buy you have to maintain it and treat it well. Very good vacuum. As for people saying the belt broke after the first use that is probably because you had the carpet adjustment too close to the ground. common sense says to adjust the vacuum to the appropriate height before you turn it on or of course your belt will be strained and break. As for it breaking after a year for some people. More than likely this happened due to improper or poor maintainence like cleaning your hoses, filters, brushes and dust out of the motors every once in awhile. I have owned 3 Bissells and never had a problem with any of them, Had to move a few times and couldn't take them with us. I keep buying Bissell there must be a reason ^_^ . Bissell really does get up anything, Stuck on dried up rice, (due to toddlers) mushy foods (however clean the hoses and such when you are done) pet and human hair with ease, bare floors are not a problem I did away with my brooms. It dusts curtains nicely with the proper attachments as well as ceiling fans, ceilings, walls, cracks and crevices.

Was this review helpful? (70) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KidswithCats
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good value for the money, great suction
6/1/2011

Customer review by lovetoshop215

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by lovetoshop215
by lovetoshop215

First I should start out by saying that I am truly impressed by how much fur, dust and dirt this vacuum picks up every time I use it, and I vacuum at least twice a week. This vacuum was very easy to assemble and I was able to put it together quickly out of the box. My one complaint with assembly is that the screws to affix the attachment deck to the vacuum are deepset, so it was hard to see whether the screws were in tight enough and also hard to get at the right angles to make sure the screws were in tightly. The canister is easy to empty and doesn't make a mess when disconnecting from the unit. I also like that the canister is lightweight and can be changed with one hand. The vacuum is heavy, so it's handy that they put an opening around the middle of the unit to more evenly distribute the weight when carrying it between rooms, up and down stairs, etc. The base of the vacuum has rubber around the edges so you don't have to worry about knicking baseboard, dents, etc. The attachments are very handy, especially the small turbo brush which is perfect for furniture and small carpets. I do wish that it came with a wide, flat attachment for underneath furniture though. All in all, I highly recommend this powerful vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetoshop215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
8/9/2010

Customer review by w8lftr62

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by w8lftr62
by w8lftr62

We have owned an Oreck for over 15 years. I have kept it serviced and well cared for. Our cord finally gave out so I had to borrow my sisters newer Oreck because we had people coming over that evening. The next day I started doing research and found the Bissell was very highly rated, not only by customers but by Consumer Reports, at a great price. I purchased the Bissell. It pulled up so much dirt, hair and whatever else, that we had to empty the bin "4" times. That was the following day after using the newer Oreck. It made us sick to think we had been living with all this filth in our carpets due to the Oreck not doing it's job. Never again.

Was this review helpful? (90) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
w8lftr62
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent vacuum for a great price!
10/8/2014

Customer review by LiisaB

5.0 stars 10/8/2014 by LiisaB
by LiisaB

I bought this vacuum a month ago and so far, I love it! I used my old vacuum 3-4 days prior to getting this one. I vacuum often, having a young child and 2 cats. I knew the old vacuum wasn't working well but I was shocked to see how much dirt and fur came up the first time I used this Bissell upright. You would have thought I never vacuumed with how much junk filled the good sized canister! It was also nice to find a vacuum with so many level adjustments, hose extensions and tools. For the price, this is a great buy! And I already purchased extra belts and filters at a different site, which cost under ten dollars in total. With routine maintenance and upkeep, I'm confident this vacuum will serve its purpose for a long time! The only downside I have found is that it does seem kind of heavy. Elderly people and disabled people would probably not be so happy with this model. Also, my home is one level. I don't think I'd want to lug this up and down flights of stairs...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LiisaB
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent vacuum at a reasonable price
8/28/2010

Customer review by cleanfreak96762

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by cleanfreak96762
by cleanfreak96762

My engineer hubby did the research on vacuums when our old one died a timely death (it was 10 years old and my 8-yr old daughter obliterated the cords while doing her chores). The attachments/hand tools are smartly well-designed, and the make-up of the components are promising for durability. It is lighter and quieter than our old vacuum; my kids are much less whiny about using it. The suction is impressive. I love it. Our local stores didn't carry it in-stock, so we had it shipped-to-store. I'm glad we went through the hoops to get it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cleanfreak96762
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great Vacuum
1/24/2011

Customer review by Wifehelper

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by Wifehelper
by Wifehelper

Received the vacuum, put it together, and started cleaning the carpet. I could not believe the dirt and lint it picked up after only about 100 sq. ft. Our previous vacuum (that had died a week previous) was a very highly rated 8 lb vac that seemed to do the job. It now takes a lot less time to vacuum the entire house than our old cleaner. The Bissell is far superior cleaner at a much lower price. My only concern is the transparent plastic brush cover possibly getting broken after some hard bumps in the future. The cover was cracked in transit (possibly damaged in transit), but Bissell sent me to a warranty center and the cover was replaced promptly with no problem and no charge.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wifehelper
North Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very satisfied,works well, easy to empty, a keeper
3/25/2013

Customer review by centralnewjersey

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by centralnewjersey
by centralnewjersey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was not available in local stores, so I purchased it online for home delivery. It arrived in 2 days. Easy to assemble. Lighter and quieter (less irritating motor noise) than my previous Dirt Devil. Very effective in sucking up dirt and cat hair. The first 3 uses produced a shocking amount of stuff in the dirt container, tapering off in quantity now. I recommend emptying the container, rinsing it out and wipe it dry after each use. It only takes a few minutes. Rinse out the foam pre motor filter if it looks dusty, wrap it in wadded paper towels and squeeze to blot out the water, finish drying by placing in front of your hot air vent if you have hot air heat. I plan on keeping it long term and I will buy a few spare belts and filters. A spare foam filter will allow you to put in the clean dry spare and let the freshly cleaned one dry. www.bissell.com has parts prices as good as any other source and shipping is free on orders over $30.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
centralnewjersey
Robbinsville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!
3/17/2011

Customer review by KMAC73

4.0 stars 3/17/2011 by KMAC73
by KMAC73

I ordered this vacuum after doing much research. I had a Bissell previously and it has held up for a very long time. Just recently it died so I had to get a new one. I was looking at the Shark one that costs $180, and of course contemplated dropping $400 on a Dyson, but my Bissell worked so well, I decided to stick with Bissell. This model is kind of an upgraded model of the one that I had before. You can't beat the price! I took it out of the box and assembled it with not too much fuss. I couldn't believe the suction power. My old Bissell obviously hadn't been working properly for some time because you should have seen the dirt it picked up. It was disgusting. I love the turbo brush attachement. It works great on the stairs and sofa. The only complaint I have is I wish when you were using it, the floor brush would stop spinning. It made it difficult because I didn't want to stretch the hose too much in fear that the vaccuum would move and get to close to something and suck it up. Other than that it worked fabulous.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMAC73
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very top heavy
11/30/2013

Customer review by sierra252

2.0 stars 11/30/2013 by sierra252
by sierra252

I bought this vacuum using gift cards we received from our wedding. I paid over $100. I can't remember the exact price (I purchased it over 3 years ago). The vacuum was great in the beginning. After a few years, it now collects dirt on the base. It is also very top heavy and tends to fall over very easily. The filters need to be shaken and cleaned after almost every use. There will be a big cloud of dust while using the vacuum, which irritates my husband's allergies pretty severely to the point where he can't even be in the same room when I'm vacuuming. With that being said, I will say that we moved into a new house 2 years ago and each time we still vacuum our bedroom, it picks up loads of dirt from the carpet. It amazes me every time! The suction power is good. With how top heavy it is, that is a deal breaker for me. I wish I would have purchased a different vacuum that was more light weight.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sierra252
Warren, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Bissell is the Best
12/29/2010

Customer review by JaJaJules

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by JaJaJules
by JaJaJules

I am delighted with this product. It delivers exceptional suction and with 3 dogs about the house, it has made light of a lot of previously heavy work. The carpet looks fantastic, the dogs hairs are no more and the attachments are so easy to use. I managed to put it together in under 5 mins too which is a miracle for me. The extra long power cord is wonderful - I can vacuum 3/4 of the house without having to go unplug. I rave about it to all my ladies who think I've turned into Mrs. S-ford. :)

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaJaJules
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Yet another great Bissell Machine!
10/10/2013

Customer review by Martie13

4.0 stars 10/10/2013 by Martie13
by Martie13

I have been buying/using Bissell vacuums for years. I have been handing them down, and those are still working. I just upgraded from my powerforce to the momentum as I gave my powerforce to my niece in college. On the GOOD list: The Momentum has excellent suction, propels easily and I love the large dirt container(easy to empty), the filter and clear hoses/plastic. On the Downside, the vacuum seems to flick a lot of dirt when using on my wood floors in the Bare Floor setting. (powerforce really didn't do that). I am not fond of having the power switch on the front of the vacuum either, I liked it better by the other foot pedal. Another small negative is the power cord could use a better placement for keeping it near the handle yet out of the way. Unfortunately, the top plastic cord attachment already snapped off and I can't wrap up my cord anymore, and I don't see a replacement part for that online. Other than that, this is a really powerful machine and I am pleased!

Martie13
Wisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
Bissell Parts Lacking - Buyer Beware
4/26/2011

Customer review by chony

2.0 stars 4/26/2011 by chony
by chony

This vacuum comes with a TurboBrush for stairs, pet hair, etc. and the TurboBrush is driven by a small belt. When the belt breaks, you cannot buy a replacement from Bissell or any vacuum supplier store as Bissell does not carry or supply the belt. You will have to buy a total new replacement TurboBrush for $30.00 which is 1/3rd the cost of the vacuum. Absolutely absurd for Bissell to not sell a replacement belt. Hoover has TurboBrushes for their vacuums and they do sell the replacement belts for about $5-6 but Hoover belts will not fit the Bissell. BUYER BEWARE!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chony
Highlands Ranch, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
8/7/2010

Customer review by NCEsq

4.0 stars 8/7/2010 by NCEsq
by NCEsq

I was most interested in this product for picking up hair. It really exceeds my expectations...my carpet looked new after one use! The mini-vacuum attachment works great for cleaning the stairs although it is a bit cumbersome. Works wonderful on bare floors too. Overall fantastic value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCEsq
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I didn't even want to give it one star
3/14/2013

Customer review by bree776

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by bree776
by bree776

The worst vaccum I have ever owned. Let me start by saying that I ordered it online to be sent to the store. It took 3 weeks. After I got it, I put it together and away I went. It cleaned pretty good the first 2 or 3 times. Then one day I turned it on and it was extremely loud. I adjusted for the carpet and cleaned the filters regularly, however it began to kick out dust everywhere. And like others said it was always dirty, I had to wipe it down as soon as I was done vaccuming. Then about 2 months of that, and it burned up. Yep, wouldn't do anything when you turned it on, just smelt really really bad. I called Bissel and they walked me through many steps to make sure I wasn't lying and decided to send me a replacement. THis only took about 2 weeks. I was happy to get a new vaccum. However, this one has done the same thing. It did the whole getting louder and stuff, but one day just up and quit. And has not started since. This is all in less then a year of first deciding to purchase this machine. Never again. Please pay attention to the negative reviews, otherwise, you may end up in my situation... vaccum less. I previously had a dyson and loved it. I guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bree776
nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I now love vacuuming.
11/28/2012

Customer review by jsweetburn

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by jsweetburn
by jsweetburn

I just got this vacuum about 6 hours ago, my boyfriend came over and helped me put it together and ended up laughing at me because it was so easy. I took my wonderful, lovely, hardworking vacuum for a test drive and I only got about 3 sweeps across my rug and my BF said wait, theres something in the bin, so I turned it off and there was a freaking chihuahua sized ball of hair that came up....3 sweeps across the rug people, THREE! I JUST vacuumed with my old one 2 days before. I love, love, love, love, love this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jsweetburn
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
8/15/2011

Customer review by Sassy95

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Sassy95
by Sassy95

I love this vacuum. I had a 10 year old Dirt Devil that I loved, but it was falling apart. We moved to a new house and had the carpets cleaned, so I decided the carpets deserved a nice vacuum. The carpet was only about 3 years old, but this vacuum is still pulling up the fibers like when you have brand new carpet. It does great on vacuuming my tile floors before I mop, too! Glad I picked this over one that costs several times more! I also have 2 cats and it does great for pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sassy95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Seems Good
3/17/2013

Customer review by cybercat

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by cybercat
by cybercat

I think the vacuum itself works good as the cup gets filled with cat hair, cat litter, etc. I got this one because it has 7 height adjustments on it. I got a short Frieze carpeting and was wondering why all the vacuums were so hard to push on it so I looked online and they said you should use a vacuum with a very high adjustment setting or with no brush. I think I need a brush for the cat hair and cat litter though. They said if you use a real strong one with the brush down too far it tears up the frieze or shag carpet. Mine is short but thick. So I still don't know whether I should be using this one since it has such a strong suction although it moves easier than the other ones on the highest setting, but I don't let it set with the brush going on my carpet just in case. Would have preferred the brush to be able to be turned off. I would not have bought this type of carpeting but they never said anything about vacuums not working on it.

Comment from Lisa - 3/19/2013

Thank you for your review. BISSELL does have vacuums with a switch to turn off the brush. Check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacuums/. Then go to the specs for features of the models.

cybercat
San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Dirt be gone!!
11/18/2014

Customer review by ChristineBen

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by ChristineBen
by ChristineBen

I love this vacuum cleaner!!!! The only problem I have with it is that it is so heavy that I cannot manage it for very long, so I have ordered another compact lightweight Bissel vacuum. I am a senior with multiple disabilities and the weight and difficulty maneuvering this model is just too much, but a much younger person would not have a problem with it. This is definately not a vacuum for physically challenged people. Saying that, I was absolutely amazed at what dust and debris it did pick up on the first go around of my floors. It accumulated so much I was thinking that I have been living in this dirt for so long, and the crevis tool and used to clean my hallway and bedroom closet doors and they have never looked so good since the I day I moved in. It did come with a few parts to assemble which I did alone, and took me about an hour because the parts were all floating around in the box, not nicely contained in one package, esp the screws and instruction booklet I had to spend time trying to find those. However, all in all a wonderful vacuum for picking up dirt on various types of services.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristineBen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best vacuum ever!
5/30/2012

Customer review by murrietamomma

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by murrietamomma
by murrietamomma

I purchased the Bissell Momentum 82G71 when I moved into my new home. The price was great. I had a very expensive Kirby vacuum for years. I prefer this vacuum hands down at less than 1/10th the price! It picks up dog hair even at along the base board. It cleans tall, dense, deeply padded carpet and hardwood floors equally well. It's lightweight. All attachments are handy and easily usable. I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
murrietamomma
Murrieta CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews