Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

13 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

13 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-13 of 13 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great reel
1/6/2011

Customer review by RETIREDATLAST2010

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by RETIREDATLAST2010
by RETIREDATLAST2010

I have used these reels for over 20 years, never had any problems. I have caught everything from Trout to King Mackerel and quite a few sharks. I just wash them off in a bucket of soapy water and rinse with fresh water and wipe the reels down after use on my boat in salt water. I always carry at least two of these at all times they are my go to reels. Just do general maintenance and they will last a life time. You can pay more for some other brands but you can't beat Penn for strength and quality....

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RETIREDATLAST2010
Faison,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It makes a good reel for salmon fishing
11/14/2013

Customer review by Salmonkiller1

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Salmonkiller1
by Salmonkiller1

I didn't know that Walmart sold this product I would recommend it to all salmon fishermen and it's an excellant price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Salmonkiller1
Six lakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/30/2013

Customer review by salmanhunter

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by salmanhunter
by salmanhunter

tough real - works great for trolling-owned older one for 20 years and still works great

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
salmanhunter
Sheboygan Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
He wanted it to use on a Down Riger for his Boat
12/10/2013

Customer review by GPaSr

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by GPaSr
by GPaSr

I bought this for my Husband , to go with his New Pool, this is what he wanted.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GPaSr
Nampa ,Id.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great prize
3/24/2014

Customer review by fishing2014

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by fishing2014
by fishing2014

this reel one of the tuff reel I ever use because I catch a lot big fish on that reel and this reel I only use I won't use other reel thank you Wal-Mart having that type of reel

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishing2014
Muskingum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As expected
2/14/2014

Customer review by SurfBeachStriperMan

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by SurfBeachStriperMan
by SurfBeachStriperMan

The reels arrived packaged well. Solid appearance. I haven't used this yet- still in the grips of winter. Wound some 50lb braid on. Seems fine. Not fancy. A good solid, basic reel. Can't beat it for the money really. Walmart crushed Bass Pro and Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SurfBeachStriperMan
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My favorite reel
9/2/2014

Customer review by HenryG65

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by HenryG65
by HenryG65

It's my favorite reel and I plan to buy another in a week

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HenryG65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Profit drives everything
8/2/2014

Customer review by SA055

3.0 stars 8/2/2014 by SA055
by SA055

Haven't had a chance to use it yet but seems alright. Can't find a reel made in the USA anymore so I guess this is as good as it gets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SA055
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Proven Classics
11/29/2014

Customer review by Rob55

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by Rob55
by Rob55

I have a 109. Three 209s. And two 309s. The109 is from the 1960s. All are at least 30 years old. I've caught 100s if not 1000s of fish with them all over the world. If I could wear them out, I'd try something new. Most are on their 3rd or 4th rod. As it is I'll leave them to my grand children.

Rob55
Tacoma, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Proven Reliability!
12/2/2014

Customer review by 1812er

5.0 stars 12/2/2014 by 1812er
by 1812er

I bought my original 209 and 309 about 40 years ago! Although I've added considerably more expensive reels to my arsenal since then, these are still my fallback reels. In fact, I use them regularly in both fresh and saltwater! These reels are indestructible and 100% reliable, 100% of the time. You can pay much, much more, but IMHO you won't find a better heavy-duty level-wind reel for the money.

1812er
Ajax, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Battle Proven Performers
12/20/2014

Customer review by littlebuddymicah

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by littlebuddymicah
by littlebuddymicah

These simple strong 1940's reels are timeless proven performers for me and several fellow anglers.My brother used my 9m to catch over 100 sturgeon on the Columbia River out of Astoria ,Oregon.In August 2003 I recaught my friend's lost salmon .It had swam away dragging his chain stringer upstream.Two hours later my single hook on a ten foot leader hooked that stringer,and recaught that runaway fish!This was on the Rogue River at Galice,Oregon.Penn 9 M Fenwick rod Maxima 20 lb.mono.

littlebuddymicah
Central Point,Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best lasting reel in its class
6/9/2015

Customer review by Star Fish

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Star Fish
by Star Fish

The Penn 9M reels i have been using have each caught over 1000 fish and are still as mechanically good as the day I bought them.

Star Fish
Beach Haven NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
badly made
10/25/2014

Customer review by moody876

1.0 stars 10/25/2014 by moody876
by moody876

Bought this one this summer right out of the box the handle was loose and could not be tightned the free spool drag can not be set tight enough to even hold a 2oz weight and the star drag is sticky one cast will be set at 7lbs drag next time it will be so tight 50lb braid will snap dont buy

moody876
Pelzer, SC, United States
Gender:Male