Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 44 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
great prize
3/24/2014

Customer review by fishing2014

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by fishing2014
by fishing2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this reel one of the tuff reel I ever use because I catch a lot big fish on that reel and this reel I only use I won't use other reel thank you Wal-Mart having that type of reel

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishing2014
Muskingum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great investment for the fishing dollar
2/26/2016

Customer review by Skunked 2

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Skunked 2
by Skunked 2

I've bought a PENN 209 level wind to add to the Penn bait casters and spinning reels. WHY?? I've had Penn's ever since I started fishing as a Kid now at close to 70 They stand out in performance and reliability to all other brands I've bought. A few years ago I sent a brand X in for rebuild as it had 20 seasons on it. The Company returned it and told me they have no parts or services for a bait caster that old. About the same time I sent two Penn's in a Long Beach and one other that I have forgotten the model of. they both came back quickly serviced with new drag washers and fully serviced, The newest one was 40 years old!!! My Penn 209 is meant to maintain with lube fittings, it comes new with a Penn tool for servicing, and a parts support of no other company I have found. The 209 works like a dream and I love it. Why would you waste your hard earned dollars buying anything else that will turn out to be disposable? The money I save buying Penn gives me the reward of more time and money to fish with. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Skunked 2
Redlands, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome reels
9/19/2016

Customer review by RAbbott

5.0 stars 9/19/2016 by RAbbott
by RAbbott
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a boat full of Penn reels and I love each of them. I have a 109 that my father gave me when I was a teenager and I am 53. The new reels are sleek and durable. We fish hard all winter in tough conditions.

RAbbott
Weems, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel
1/6/2011

Customer review by RETIREDATLAST2010

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by RETIREDATLAST2010
by RETIREDATLAST2010

I have used these reels for over 20 years, never had any problems. I have caught everything from Trout to King Mackerel and quite a few sharks. I just wash them off in a bucket of soapy water and rinse with fresh water and wipe the reels down after use on my boat in salt water. I always carry at least two of these at all times they are my go to reels. Just do general maintenance and they will last a life time. You can pay more for some other brands but you can't beat Penn for strength and quality....

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RETIREDATLAST2010
Faison,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wife's new Penn 9m
8/26/2016

Customer review by Villain

5.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Villain
by Villain

Just bought this for my wife the other day and she used it yesterday, bottom fishing. The reel is exactly what I wanted for her, just great, the level wind prevented her from getting the snarls she got very often with her Penn 160 (nothing wrong with that reel). It is well made and she really likes the level wing feature.

Villain
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It makes a good reel for salmon fishing
11/14/2013

Customer review by Salmonkiller1

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Salmonkiller1
by Salmonkiller1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I didn't know that Walmart sold this product I would recommend it to all salmon fishermen and it's an excellant price

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Salmonkiller1
Six lakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel and pole
7/9/2016

Customer review by Cadet

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Cadet
by Cadet

Bought it a month ago, have plenty of others but this is the reel that seperates itself from the rest of my reels and poles. Thank you. Penn

Cadet
Brooklyn new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Always trusted!
7/3/2016

Customer review by Wayne B

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Wayne B
by Wayne B

I have had a #9 and a #209 for 46 years. My dad bought them for me when I was 12 years old. I also have his #9 and #309. I have caught a lifetime of fish and never have needed any thing else! Thank you Penn!!

Wayne B
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
209s and 309s
6/1/2016

Customer review by Joeboy

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Joeboy
by Joeboy

I have 5 209s and 4 309s. I use them for flat line, bottom and trolling. I have the 209s paired with medium action rods and loaded with 30lb braid. I have the 309s paired with roller guide rods and loaded with 50lb braid. I would not use any other reels. I have caught Tuna, Dorado, Grouper, Snapper, Redfish with these reels over the years. Just keep them cleaned and oiled and they will never let you down.

Joeboy
Charleston, SC & Cabo, MX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3/30/2013

Customer review by salmanhunter

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by salmanhunter
by salmanhunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

tough real - works great for trolling-owned older one for 20 years and still works great

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
salmanhunter
Sheboygan Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best for the $
2/25/2016

Customer review by RicMic

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by RicMic
by RicMic

I have had multiples of these reels and will almost certainly buy more, when I have the need. I have used them mostly for large freshwater fish, catfish to muskie to lake trout. They may not be the most prestigious of reels, but I don't buy reels to impress others, I get them to catch fish and look for the best value for the dollar and these reels are the best choice for that in my experience. I should mention that I did use these reels for commercial fishing as well, so they got some serious use! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

RicMic
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Still going strong!
2/28/2016

Customer review by Hank247

5.0 stars 2/28/2016 by Hank247
by Hank247

I have a Penn #9 bait casting reel that I have had for 40 or more years. It works as good now as it ever has. I am very thankful for a reel I can cast without getting a backlash. Of course I must keep my thumb on the spool but it is an easy caster. I have used it for bottom fishing and to float live bait. A reel that lasts over 40 years is testimony of the quality of Penn products. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hank247
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love it!!
3/13/2016

Customer review by Revo25

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Revo25
by Revo25

I just bought a penn 309 level wind rod and reel combo. It is my favorite did and I can't wait to start catching with it! GREAT JOB!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Revo25
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tough and reliable!!!
2/6/2016

Customer review by Lswoody

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Lswoody
by Lswoody

I bought my Penn 209 years ago and it has performed flawlessly. I use it to troll for striped and hybrid bass. This reel is about as rock solid as it gets. Believe me, I am rough on my equipment but my 209 just keeps chugging on. With minimal maintenance these reels will last for several generations. If you want a reel that will not quit and will not break the bank, the Penn 209 is a top contender. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lswoody
Roanoke, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Solid Reel
2/28/2016

Customer review by GV17

4.0 stars 2/28/2016 by GV17
by GV17

Used the 209 for everything from pink salmon to halibut. They work well. I have a couple that are at least 40 years old and still going. Decent drag. Parts available if anything gets messed up. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

GV17
NW Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great value
2/25/2016

Customer review by phishbum

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by phishbum
by phishbum

I've been using these reels for years, as have my father and grandfather before me. The simple, bullet proof design in an economic package make them a go-to choice when putting together new outfits. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

phishbum
Maryland, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is my go to trolling reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by Mike R

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Mike R
by Mike R

I was using the Penn 209 and stepped up to the Penn 309 and never regretted the move. If it is on the line it is in the boat.

Mike R
Portland, ME, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reels and wouldnt use any thing else
2/25/2016

Customer review by Jackk frost

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Jackk frost
by Jackk frost

Bought 6 of these in last few months for trolling for striper on the chesapeak bay. Couldnt be happier with the reels. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jackk frost
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great "old standby" reel
2/25/2016

Customer review by Santa

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Santa
by Santa

Hard to beat an American made product !!!!!!!!!!! Happy to support Penn products. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Santa
Medford , Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very durable and will bring in the big ones
2/25/2016

Customer review by Tiger071

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Tiger071
by Tiger071

Have had mine for a lot of years, and still works like it did when new. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tiger071
Springdale, AR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews