Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 61 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
best shopping ever
10/7/2014

Customer review by diabetes2010

5.0 stars 10/7/2014 by diabetes2010
by diabetes2010
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
diabetes2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great investment for the fishing dollar
2/26/2016

Customer review by Skunked 2

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Skunked 2
by Skunked 2

I've bought a PENN 209 level wind to add to the Penn bait casters and spinning reels. WHY?? I've had Penn's ever since I started fishing as a Kid now at close to 70 They stand out in performance and reliability to all other brands I've bought. A few years ago I sent a brand X in for rebuild as it had 20 seasons on it. The Company returned it and told me they have no parts or services for a bait caster that old. About the same time I sent two Penn's in a Long Beach and one other that I have forgotten the model of. they both came back quickly serviced with new drag washers and fully serviced, The newest one was 40 years old!!! My Penn 209 is meant to maintain with lube fittings, it comes new with a Penn tool for servicing, and a parts support of no other company I have found. The 209 works like a dream and I love it. Why would you waste your hard earned dollars buying anything else that will turn out to be disposable? The money I save buying Penn gives me the reward of more time and money to fish with. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Skunked 2
Redlands, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel and pole
7/9/2016

Customer review by Cadet

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Cadet
by Cadet

Bought it a month ago, have plenty of others but this is the reel that seperates itself from the rest of my reels and poles. Thank you. Penn

Cadet
Brooklyn new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Always trusted!
7/3/2016

Customer review by Wayne B

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Wayne B
by Wayne B

I have had a #9 and a #209 for 46 years. My dad bought them for me when I was 12 years old. I also have his #9 and #309. I have caught a lifetime of fish and never have needed any thing else! Thank you Penn!!

Wayne B
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
209s and 309s
6/1/2016

Customer review by Joeboy

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Joeboy
by Joeboy

I have 5 209s and 4 309s. I use them for flat line, bottom and trolling. I have the 209s paired with medium action rods and loaded with 30lb braid. I have the 309s paired with roller guide rods and loaded with 50lb braid. I would not use any other reels. I have caught Tuna, Dorado, Grouper, Snapper, Redfish with these reels over the years. Just keep them cleaned and oiled and they will never let you down.

Joeboy
Charleston, SC & Cabo, MX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Penn Reel
6/22/2014

Customer review by Nancythehomemaker

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Nancythehomemaker
by Nancythehomemaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The reel was a Father's Day gift for my husband and he loves it. He has used this type of reel for several years and was afraid the company didn't make them anymore. Imagine his relief when he found the reel on Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancythehomemaker
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reel!
6/21/2014

Customer review by BigVicDog

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by BigVicDog
by BigVicDog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used on a trip to Cape Cod and it did not fail me. Wonderful reel like my dad used to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigVicDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 309M fought a 4' giant black sea bass
10/19/2015

Customer review by Jcinter

4.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Jcinter
by Jcinter

I bought this 309M level wind at an old Walmart fire sale before it turned to a super Walmart, 27 years ago. I did not use it until last year after I moved to southern CA. I loaded with 50# mono (~200 yards) and mounted on a very stiff home made boat rod. When I was fishing on a pier, the giant black sea bass took the bait with loud clicks and dived to the deep after I set the hook. It almost spooled my line. A real hard fight of 40 min to bring it near the pier and saw it. Before I can cut the line (a protected fish, illegal to kill) the hook came loose. The 4/0 hook was almost straightened, it went thru the fish's cheek along with a scale on the barb. We estimated the giant sea bass as 4' long about 200 lb. The 309M performed well but the weak drag almost lost all my line. It was too much for the 309M, I guess 30# mono for 60 lb fish (i.e. Jr. yellow fin tuna) would be fine for 309M.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jcinter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hangs with the big ones!!
5/9/2011

Customer review by ToniTxs

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by ToniTxs
by ToniTxs

Winds in smoothly, very powerful. Drag is real smooth.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToniTxs
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
11/21/2010

Customer review by docnee

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by docnee
by docnee

Reel very smooth. Great cast & retrieval for the price. Thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
docnee
Owasso, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Reel
3/28/2013

Customer review by PapaBigBear

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by PapaBigBear
by PapaBigBear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this real for snagging spoonbill. It is a great reel for the price. I will also be using it when I go trolling.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaBigBear
Stillwater, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reel
8/30/2013

Customer review by ForDaddysPrincess

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by ForDaddysPrincess
by ForDaddysPrincess
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this reel as a replacement for an older reel I used when bottom fishing on party boats. It's a great reel for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ForDaddysPrincess
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/2/2013

Customer review by Rob1low

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Rob1low
by Rob1low
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Penn Level Wind is a great reel, used them for over 45 years. My first reel was a Penn thank you for a grate price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rob1low
Woodbridge, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best for the $
2/25/2016

Customer review by RicMic

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by RicMic
by RicMic

I have had multiples of these reels and will almost certainly buy more, when I have the need. I have used them mostly for large freshwater fish, catfish to muskie to lake trout. They may not be the most prestigious of reels, but I don't buy reels to impress others, I get them to catch fish and look for the best value for the dollar and these reels are the best choice for that in my experience. I should mention that I did use these reels for commercial fishing as well, so they got some serious use! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

RicMic
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Still going strong!
2/28/2016

Customer review by Hank247

5.0 stars 2/28/2016 by Hank247
by Hank247

I have a Penn #9 bait casting reel that I have had for 40 or more years. It works as good now as it ever has. I am very thankful for a reel I can cast without getting a backlash. Of course I must keep my thumb on the spool but it is an easy caster. I have used it for bottom fishing and to float live bait. A reel that lasts over 40 years is testimony of the quality of Penn products. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hank247
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love it!!
3/13/2016

Customer review by Revo25

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Revo25
by Revo25

I just bought a penn 309 level wind rod and reel combo. It is my favorite did and I can't wait to start catching with it! GREAT JOB!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Revo25
Would recommend to a friend? No
Penn 309 Reel
3/4/2016

Customer review by Windjmr

5.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Windjmr
by Windjmr

I started striper fishing with my father in law over 30 years ago and he used Penn 309 reels. I have continued the practice and now have a dozen of these reels that I use regularly. I carry spare rods and reels on the boat, and if a line should break, I just swap them out and continue fishing. I cannot remember ever seeing Penn reels on sale, and when I saw that Walmart had them on sale, I bought another one. They do the job and are the best value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Windjmr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great saltwater reel
6/5/2015

Customer review by Cuco

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Cuco
by Cuco

Perfect for pier fishing

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cuco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Solid Reel
2/28/2016

Customer review by GV17

4.0 stars 2/28/2016 by GV17
by GV17

Used the 209 for everything from pink salmon to halibut. They work well. I have a couple that are at least 40 years old and still going. Decent drag. Parts available if anything gets messed up. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

GV17
NW Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great value
2/25/2016

Customer review by phishbum

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by phishbum
by phishbum

I've been using these reels for years, as have my father and grandfather before me. The simple, bullet proof design in an economic package make them a go-to choice when putting together new outfits. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

phishbum
Maryland, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews