Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

33 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

33 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 31 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
best shopping ever
10/7/2014

Customer review by diabetes2010

5.0 stars 10/7/2014 by diabetes2010
by diabetes2010
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
diabetes2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 309M fought a 4' giant black sea bass
10/19/2015

Customer review by Jcinter

4.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Jcinter
by Jcinter

I bought this 309M level wind at an old Walmart fire sale before it turned to a super Walmart, 27 years ago. I did not use it until last year after I moved to southern CA. I loaded with 50# mono (~200 yards) and mounted on a very stiff home made boat rod. When I was fishing on a pier, the giant black sea bass took the bait with loud clicks and dived to the deep after I set the hook. It almost spooled my line. A real hard fight of 40 min to bring it near the pier and saw it. Before I can cut the line (a protected fish, illegal to kill) the hook came loose. The 4/0 hook was almost straightened, it went thru the fish's cheek along with a scale on the barb. We estimated the giant sea bass as 4' long about 200 lb. The 309M performed well but the weak drag almost lost all my line. It was too much for the 309M, I guess 30# mono for 60 lb fish (i.e. Jr. yellow fin tuna) would be fine for 309M.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jcinter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Penn Reel
6/22/2014

Customer review by Nancythehomemaker

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Nancythehomemaker
by Nancythehomemaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The reel was a Father's Day gift for my husband and he loves it. He has used this type of reel for several years and was afraid the company didn't make them anymore. Imagine his relief when he found the reel on Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancythehomemaker
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for flounder, sea bass, scup, & tautog.
11/22/2015

Customer review by Papa Bud

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Papa Bud
by Papa Bud

I've had this reel for over 30 years. Still performs like new. I expect to pass off to my Grandson some day.

Papa Bud
Milford, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Reel!
6/21/2014

Customer review by BigVicDog

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by BigVicDog
by BigVicDog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used on a trip to Cape Cod and it did not fail me. Wonderful reel like my dad used to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigVicDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hangs with the big ones!!
5/9/2011

Customer review by ToniTxs

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by ToniTxs
by ToniTxs

Winds in smoothly, very powerful. Drag is real smooth.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToniTxs
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
11/21/2010

Customer review by docnee

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by docnee
by docnee

Reel very smooth. Great cast & retrieval for the price. Thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
docnee
Owasso, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great saltwater reel
6/5/2015

Customer review by Cuco

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Cuco
by Cuco

Perfect for pier fishing

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cuco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Reel
3/28/2013

Customer review by PapaBigBear

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by PapaBigBear
by PapaBigBear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this real for snagging spoonbill. It is a great reel for the price. I will also be using it when I go trolling.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaBigBear
Stillwater, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reel
8/30/2013

Customer review by ForDaddysPrincess

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by ForDaddysPrincess
by ForDaddysPrincess
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this reel as a replacement for an older reel I used when bottom fishing on party boats. It's a great reel for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ForDaddysPrincess
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/2/2013

Customer review by Rob1low

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Rob1low
by Rob1low
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Penn Level Wind is a great reel, used them for over 45 years. My first reel was a Penn thank you for a grate price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rob1low
Woodbridge, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
be able to catch the big one
4/8/2014

Customer review by lionspit

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by lionspit
by lionspit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have 209 penn reel but I really want to have 309 penn reel for the big fish

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lionspit
salina,ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Monster
1/9/2015

Customer review by Chamran

5.0 stars 1/9/2015 by Chamran
by Chamran

When I opened the box I was in for a shock, I never expected the reels to be so large and rated for saltwater. However, since I love to catfish they were just what I wanted. Due to circumstances, extreme cold and low water, I haven't been able to go fishing, however, with these babies I don't expect any problems reeling in the big ones.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chamran
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best lasting reel in its class
6/9/2015

Customer review by Star Fish

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Star Fish
by Star Fish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Penn 9M reels i have been using have each caught over 1000 fish and are still as mechanically good as the day I bought them.

Star Fish
Beach Haven NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT What I expected.
7/6/2015

Customer review by GrandD

5.0 stars 7/6/2015 by GrandD
by GrandD

This was an order error on my part. I was looking for a small bait cast reel, but ordered this large reel by mistake. I have returned it, but I would recommend it, or purchase for myself if I thought I would be fishing for large fish on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel for the price.
6/24/2015

Customer review by tmk1

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by tmk1
by tmk1

Cannot find a better reel at this price point

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmk1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battle Proven Performers
12/20/2014

Customer review by littlebuddymicah

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by littlebuddymicah
by littlebuddymicah

These simple strong 1940's reels are timeless proven performers for me and several fellow anglers.My brother used my 9m to catch over 100 sturgeon on the Columbia River out of Astoria ,Oregon.In August 2003 I recaught my friend's lost salmon .It had swam away dragging his chain stringer upstream.Two hours later my single hook on a ten foot leader hooked that stringer,and recaught that runaway fish!This was on the Rogue River at Galice,Oregon.Penn 9 M Fenwick rod Maxima 20 lb.mono.

littlebuddymicah
Central Point,Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
wind and grind
6/16/2015

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 6/16/2015 by mike
by mike

great reel great price!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Proven Reliability!
12/2/2014

Customer review by 1812er

5.0 stars 12/2/2014 by 1812er
by 1812er

I bought my original 209 and 309 about 40 years ago! Although I've added considerably more expensive reels to my arsenal since then, these are still my fallback reels. In fact, I use them regularly in both fresh and saltwater! These reels are indestructible and 100% reliable, 100% of the time. You can pay much, much more, but IMHO you won't find a better heavy-duty level-wind reel for the money.

1812er
Ajax, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Proven Classics
11/29/2014

Customer review by Rob55

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by Rob55
by Rob55

I have a 109. Three 209s. And two 309s. The109 is from the 1960s. All are at least 30 years old. I've caught 100s if not 1000s of fish with them all over the world. If I could wear them out, I'd try something new. Most are on their 3rd or 4th rod. As it is I'll leave them to my grand children.

Rob55
Tacoma, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews