Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 102 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Good out of the box / Excellent after adjustments
6/15/2011

Customer review by BeadleTheCat

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by BeadleTheCat
by BeadleTheCat

I got these boots for hiking, hunting and industrial exploring; I chose these because they had a nice tread and were cheaper than the rest. I had concerns about them, particularly because they're Ozark Trail, which isn't known for outstanding quality. I thought carefully, and after examining them, determined that I could make some adjustments that should increase the quality and longetivity. I'm of the opinion that something should be cared for and used until it is completely worn out. What I found is this: - These boots need broken in. The first 24-hours wearing them was very uncomfortable around the ankle area. The upper part of the boot is very still, and it will press into your leg, particularly the back. I had to walk in these for two solid days before they loosened up enough that I could grab the edges at the top (opening) of the boot and bend them in and out to loosen the material. You should clock at least ten miles in these, plus a lot of manual bending, before attempting to hike, otherwise you'll be very uncomfortable. Once the material loosened, they felt solid and are comfortable to wear. - The tread isn't as soft as many cheap shoes, which is nice. They do have a solid grip feeling concrete and rocks, yet aren't so soft that the rubber starts peeling and wears out quickly. - You need to waterproof them. I know they say they're waterproof, and perhaps they're keep small amounts of moisture out, but you need to take additional steps. Because I don't have a lot to spend, I massaged Dollar Store lotion into the real leather parts for moisture, then massaged petroleum jelly (Vaseline) into the leather parts. Rub it with Vaseline, then give it an hour. The grease will absorb into the leather. Rub it down again, then let it sit. Repeat five or six times. Eventually the Vaseline will build so that the leather resembles that of a baseball mitt. At this point, rub on one more layer and buff it very vigorously using a piece of aluminum foil. The leather will be smooth and shiny, and water will bead off of it. On the man-made material areas, you'll need MANY layers of Vaseline to make it smooth. In excess of 15, I think. It is worth it in the end. - You need to spray silicone on the tongue, else water will soak through into your socks. - The boots are very wide in the middle (they don't taper inwards properly) so you need to wear thick cotton socks to make them feel snug. If you want to wear synthetic material socks, you'll perhaps need to purchase these boots at the smallest size you can comfortable wear, else they'll feel loose. So far I tool these boots urban exploring and hiking. They held up well to both, felt solid on my feet (very uncomfortable at first, better later). After waterproofing with Vaseline, water beads off of them, and I've never had issues with water getting inside. Overall, for those who can't afford better, I recommend these boots, but be prepared to put in a bit of elbow grease to get your money's worth.

Was this review helpful? (59) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeadleTheCat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can take the load
9/22/2010

Customer review by LargeDude

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by LargeDude
by LargeDude

I am pleased so far with the overall quality and durability of these boots. So far they have stood up to the pressure of a 400+ pound person where many brands of shoes and boots can not. Having disabilities that involve the feet and legs, I find these to be well padded and more comfortable than brands that are much more expensive. I plan to buy a second pair in a larger size for days of greater swelling so I can wear them in all conditions. They are a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LargeDude
Springfield, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nothing like the original Putty II Design(Red)
6/10/2011

Customer review by broncoman529

1.0 stars 6/10/2011 by broncoman529
by broncoman529

I have been a avid Putty II owner since this shoe came out at Walmart. I have previously owned 3 pairs of the the "Original" Putty II with the red trim. What an excellent shoe, I work full 9 hour shifts on my feet, I bike, hike and really put the shoes through their paces. I have tried many higher end shoes and these held up the best. On average these shoes lasted me slightly more than a year which I think is excellent based on the abuse I put them through. They usually get replaced when the soles wear out. Now with the bad, these new versions with the yellowish trim are garbage. Walmart has redesigned them totally but still have named them the "Putty II". The reason I say they are garbage is because within the first week the materiel that is against the back of your heel started to tear. This would not start happening until about the 8 month mark with the "Original" Putty II. Overall these newly designed Putty II's have lasted me only a month and a half and need to be replaced. The rubber soles have already worn through exposing some sort of steel reinforcement which I did not notice until it gouged my kitchen floor. I had to actually pull it out of the shoe because it kept slipping out with every step I took. I know I should not expect much for $30.00 but the original was incredible so why would you change it? Walmart please bring back the original Putty II or I promise I will never buy another shoe from you.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
broncoman529
Torrington, CT.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Boot for a Reasonable Price
10/30/2010

Customer review by crazymeme

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by crazymeme
by crazymeme

This is my husbands 2nd pr of the hiking boots he wears them alot and they hold up really well, for the price they are fantastic!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazymeme
Poplar Bluff, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/21/2011

Customer review by sisann68

1.0 stars 9/21/2011 by sisann68
by sisann68

my son has worn these boots for about a month, mainly to school. less than 2 weeks after he started wearing them, the sole started splitting and now the metal support bar in the sole is loose and is coming out of the hole. the hole in the bottom of the shoe goes from the heel to the ball of the foot. the other shoe has started splitting it the last week. i will never buy these boots again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sisann68
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/12/2011

Customer review by CityCowboy

1.0 stars 8/12/2011 by CityCowboy
by CityCowboy

We have owned these boots for 20 days, and they have been worn for 11 days. They already have a hole in the bottom enough to let water in. We were quite impressed with the boots when we recieved them, they look nice, and are very comfortable. They kept water out until the hole developed in the tread. Very disappointed that they fell apart so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CityCowboy
St. George, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Boot Offered
11/19/2010

Customer review by BestBuyWillie

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by BestBuyWillie
by BestBuyWillie

I have used 5 different brands of boots that Walmart has offered over the past years. This is the best one by far that I have found at Walmart. It is a great all around boot for hiking, walking or yard work in the rain or in the mud or on a super sunny day. It's so good that I bought two pairs so if Walmart stops carrying it I will have another pair in a year or so waiting for me. The price is a steal.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestBuyWillie
Clearlake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good product
1/2/2011

Customer review by GreenLtrn

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by GreenLtrn
by GreenLtrn

Overall a well made product. Only the width needs to be adjusted for bigger sizes. If UR foot is is a size 15 it not gonna be 4 inches wide at the front. Love the design and materials though.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenLtrn
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not that good.
7/6/2011

Customer review by b121062

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by b121062
by b121062

I have owned several pair of shoes from Walmart. I have worn these shoes about 5 times. The lining inside the heel is already starting to tear. Every other pair of shoes I have gotten from Walmart have done this. Over the years the quality of their shoes has gone down. I would expect to get more use out of a pair of shoes I paid 30 dollars for. I would not recommend these shoes to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
b121062
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/27/2010

Customer review by mikeyma

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by mikeyma
by mikeyma

Perfect for walking in the snow.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeyma
cleveland OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good pair of shoes!
11/7/2010

Customer review by PatOB

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by PatOB
by PatOB

These are the second pair of this brand, my last pair lasted 8+ years with no problems but the lace breaking. One minor problem is that the clasp is angled in a way that the lace can sometimes slip. Other than that, it provides excellent ankle support, and are light weight and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatOB
Emily, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
11/11/2010

Customer review by compusermike

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by compusermike
by compusermike

I wore Ozark Putty boots for about 2 years and used them doing hard physical labor. They held up well and had good support for about 18 months. They lost it all at that point but to be fair for $30 I was surprised I got that much out of 'em. I wouldn't try to go real mountain climbing but for day to day of light construction work like I say for $30 you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
compusermike
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Boots
7/10/2011

Customer review by kpatchen

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by kpatchen
by kpatchen

I got these boots for a week at a boy scout camp, where I would experience all sorts of weather conditions. I found that these boots would keep my feet dry even when I was walking through rivers and stepping in puddles. They were awesome. The weather got up in the high 90, and my feet did not get to hot in these boots. Highly recommend them, great value, fit well, and good price. Not damage found so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kpatchen
Medina, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
do not buy!!!!!
7/3/2012

Customer review by Nor530Cal

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by Nor530Cal
by Nor530Cal

i have my boots for one month and they are already falling a part. they are not fully water proof, only water resistant. as well as do not breath. the stitching did not last. neather did the sole. i would not buy this boots ever again!!!!! and do not recommend this to any one for any thing!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nor530Cal
Reno, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Falls short on comfort
11/29/2010

Customer review by weapon

1.0 stars 11/29/2010 by weapon
by weapon

Can't see why these are getting high ratings. Bought them because of that. Broke them in for a few days before hitting the trail and you can just tell when a new boot aint gonna make the cut. The biggest problem with these boots is that the uppers are very uncomfortable. Tried tightening the laces. Tried loosening the laces. Tried heavier socks. To no avail. They're okay to the grocery store and back. But their not hiking boots. To Cabelas I will go.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weapon
Londonderry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great shoes +++
2/4/2011

Customer review by amshper

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by amshper
by amshper

Will recommend this pair of boots to anyone who wants great quality ,great value for their money. I wear them every time snows and my feet stay warm and cozy .a bit too heavy but overall great pair insulated waterproof boots.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amshper
N. Brunswick,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality at a bargain price
1/18/2011

Customer review by Aliano

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by Aliano
by Aliano

I purchased the boots to use as winter shoes for the Chicago snow. I am not a fan of boots normally, but these looked stylish & comfortable enough to peak my interest. They are marketed as hiking boots, but I think they are performing quite well as winter boots. The fit is great, and they are quite comfortable as well. Good warmth, and waterproof as I have had no problems walking in them in deep snow. They also have pretty good treads on them when dealing with slippery surfaces. As compared to boots I have purchased in the past, I found them to be a 90% improvement overall when dealing with snow & ice. For the low cost of the boots themselves, I would have to say this was an excellent bargain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aliano
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good basic hiking boots
5/29/2011

Customer review by EmmaQ

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by EmmaQ
by EmmaQ

Beat my expectation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmmaQ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it!
5/27/2011

Customer review by Ereke

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by Ereke
by Ereke

This is a really good deal for the price! I have a Merrell boot, which I bought for $120. This boot is really close to the quality of Merrell's boot. I am really satisfied with this boot, I am going to buy another one for my brother.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ereke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great boot..good price.
1/1/2011

Customer review by paderr

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by paderr
by paderr

fits nice. wear them most of the time. Must Buy !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paderr
Philadelphia,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews