Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 70 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Great Tool, But...
6/24/2011

Customer review by JoeDoe23

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by JoeDoe23
by JoeDoe23

This is a great tool. It is easy to use and read. The only drawback is connecting to your computer. If you are like me your computers are newer and they do not have a RS-232 connector. They have several USB ports but no RS-232. So, You will need to buy a cable to convert the connection and install the driver software before you will be able to connect with your PC. Walmart doesn't carry the cables. however, the cables are available online.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeDoe23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Equus 3160 Innova
1/10/2011

Customer review by rcphoto

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by rcphoto
by rcphoto

Good value. Easy to use. Does Live data. Only does ABS on some North American vehicles. Website support area needs improvement. The application to update the scan tool seems to be incompatible with the 3160. I suspect that the software was not updated to allow firmware upgrade for the 3160 model. Overall, It does what I want it to do and I'm pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (54) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcphoto
Winnipeg, MB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Glad I purchased the 3160 model.
10/12/2011

Customer review by MedDan

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by MedDan
by MedDan

I first bought a Centech 98614 model for $130.00 and was not too impressed. I returned it to the store because it was not capable for online software upgrades, even thought it said it was. After researching a bit decided to go with this 3160 model from Innova. I thought it would come with the serial data cable that others who previously purchased this model received but to my surprise it came with an upgraded usb cable. I was quickly able to connect online and check for software upgrades. I used it on my BMW and it told me that the mixture was too lean and that cylinders 3,5 misfired at idle. That helped me determine that it was an intake leak. Found cracked oil separator hose. Problem fixed, check engine light gone. The centech model does not tell you at what engine setting the fault happened. The Innova model I received says 3160b. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MedDan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent price / diag tool for 2001 Impala
1/12/2012

Customer review by bobkat32

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by bobkat32
by bobkat32

I needed a scan tool to repair/clear the emission problems on a 2001 Impala. This worked as it was intended to. Perfect for this car as it also supports the 2001 Impala ABS system. Use caution as it will not meet every car's needs. I recommend buying a scan tool that works with a specific car as not all scan tools will work great on every car. If you only want to read the generic emission codes, as all late model cars have, I would look elsewhere as this tool is way too expensive for that. It has many features that you would be paying for and not be using. Good Luck and I hope this helps .......

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobkat32
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The tester has many high level features.
6/13/2011

Customer review by Wildcat5181

1.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Wildcat5181
by Wildcat5181

While it was working I liked it very much, but then while using it on one car, after having owned it for only less than two weeks, the display went dark. Not one to panic, I replaced the batteries twice, removed them to make sure I had the polarity correct. Still a dark display. I bought this scanner to use it and earn a living using it every day. It failed me miserably. I finally walked into an Auto Zone and bought their top of the line scanner. I have been using it every day for three over three months and it still works as advertised. I need gear that works every time. This Equus scanner has many great features, but it didn't live long enough to earn it's money.

Was this review helpful? (31) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wildcat5181
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
pc download of dtc codes and live data streaming
10/29/2013

Customer review by debo456

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by debo456
by debo456

previously owned a equus 3100 with obd II with no problems,needed to upgrade to newer model 3160 with can-capabilities and obd II,plus this model has abs-codes, used this on my 2010 Jeep and 2007 ford f-150. For the price its a pretty handy tool that gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debo456
stockton,ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tool for the DIYer
7/13/2012

Customer review by ScannerMan1

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by ScannerMan1
by ScannerMan1

This model (3160) works very well as a scanner, especially in the Enhanced mode for domestic products. The 100-frame data capture plots it in an easy to read chart for "bench work" on intermittent-failures as well. As a professional, I have a dedicated VERUS scanner, and this unit works well at home as a second scanner for side-work.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScannerMan1
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Software is not compatible with Windows 7
10/21/2013

Customer review by Donttellalie

3.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Donttellalie
by Donttellalie

The device can be used with ease, however; some vehicles on the list are not compatible in the ABS mode. The advertised functions available with this scanner connected to a computer is false in my opinion. I have been attempting to get the PC Link established in Windows 7 with no luck whatsoever for several weeks now. The 800 tech. assistance option is a waste of time as I have been told that the program works in all systems up to Windows 8! Windows 7 lists this program as incompatible even though I attempted to use all previous versions back to XP! Inquires were made to local computer techs and all methods tried and failed. The DTC's that the scanner reads are well documented on screen.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donttellalie
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/6/2011

Customer review by shammer2110

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by shammer2110
by shammer2110

the product works well i really like it just that you have to buy the repair portion of it. they will send you what to fix, for $15.00. or the probable cause of the problem. if it had a hand book that would tell you that or point you to the probable problem that would make it easier for the do it yourselfer. and any recalls on your car or truck you must buy also. I have already used on two of my vehicles with no problems at all. not bad

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shammer2110
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cheaper options out there..
4/10/2013

Customer review by reviewer9099

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by reviewer9099
by reviewer9099

I bought this unit from all the great reviews that were out there. I plugged it into my 2005 Toyota, worked fine or so I thought. Until it locked up on the live data streams. The up and down arrow buttons when pushed would not move the highlighted cursor. I had to exit out of that part of the software then enter in again, then it began to work, until it locked up again. I figured it was my slow ISO-9141 protocol that my car's computer uses. I called tech support from Innova, they blamed the Toyota computer on "being too slow". Their recommendation was to try another car. So I did. A newer car that is the CAN bus (faster protocol). The unit locked up again. Problem is the processor in this handheld scanner cannot handle the data coming in from the car's computer! So to add an insult to that, tried to load the software that comes with the unit and as you guessed, that didn't work either! If I were to actually care I would've gotten mad, all I did was laugh. The company blames (of course) the operating system, but don't worry I'm running windows 7 and it's all up to date. Save yourself the time and don't get this unit. It isn't worth the two hundred that being charged for it. Now sure I might have received a bad unit, I accept that might be the case. But at these prices quality should be much, much higher. Save yourself the time and look elsewhere for cheaper! I did try some other brands but still looking around for a good value scanner. I'm not trying to be negative just trying to tell everyone what happened with my experience. This isn't even against Walmart they did a great job in refunding my money including shipping! Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewer9099
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/1/2011

Customer review by Idalovetraveling

2.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Idalovetraveling
by Idalovetraveling

did not read ERROR on Airbags and break problems.... what a shame. We returned the product

Was this review helpful? (19) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idalovetraveling
pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OK - just doesn't have features I was hoping for
2/25/2013

Customer review by 2lbpups

3.0 stars 2/25/2013 by 2lbpups
by 2lbpups

I should have gotten 3140 model to have OBDII and OBDI functionality. I gave up OBDI to get the ABS/SRS diagnostics. I have a 99 Mercedes and was hoping that using Chrysler mode I could pull codes. No such luck. It funcitons as described for OBDII, but really is limited in advanced diagnostics to a few manufacturers. My fault for hoping for more than described. Since other parts of the online description were out of date (for example picture shows serial connection for computer but this version comes with USB connection), I was hoping that the other product updates might include more vehicles. Product description on Walmart on line "OBDII is still evolving , and new codes and definitions will be added as the system matures. Equus' database is constantly being updated to include more Manufacturer specific (P1) code definitions." Maybe in future will perform as I need with an update...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2lbpups
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you want a great reader keep looking.
8/29/2012

Customer review by dorro

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by dorro
by dorro

Have a terrible misfire in my jeep the 3160 is telling me nothing, will not read my 2002 Dodge Ram ABS problem. Their web page is very basic with pay for anything extra for a report. I would not call this a great diagnostic tool value. Can't print out any reading unless I do a print screen. My opinion is Equis said lets make a tool that to troubleshoot a problem they will have to pay extra.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dorro
Wysox, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
excellent code reader
4/1/2012

Customer review by outlawamps

4.0 stars 4/1/2012 by outlawamps
by outlawamps

Works great, this is not your run of the mill reader. It goes well beyond the basics, and it's easy to use. It pulled two codes out of my Ranger and the CEL wasn't even on. Walmart's price is fantastic, comparatively, and I doubt you'll find it for any less. The only reason(s) that I gave it a four-star rating is (1): You can always improve a design, so you have to leave a little room for them to do that. And (2): It doesn't have an on/off switch. Yeah, I know it doesn't need one since it turns on and shuts off automatically, but it makes me feel better having a switch. Anyway, I highly recommend this reader. I've only had it for two weeks, but it has functioned perfectly for me so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outlawamps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/22/2013

Customer review by upbob

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by upbob
by upbob

spend the money then find out you need to by service to change code into words

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upbob
96097
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
screen size
4/3/2013

Customer review by lapeergjg

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by lapeergjg
by lapeergjg

I did like how this code reader operates .The screen size could be a little bigger. Also did not like only 1 month of on line service. then have to pay $10.00 a month. it should be free for at least a year. for as much as I paid for this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lapeergjg
lapeer , mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
overall very pleased very professional equipment
8/13/2012

Customer review by domesticdon

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by domesticdon
by domesticdon

the 3160 is hi quality, company could do better job with the online support. real time feature is perfect. shipping very quick and accurate tracking.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
domesticdon
south florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great OBD Scanner
5/9/2011

Customer review by justadadof3

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by justadadof3
by justadadof3

Like others have said, it only does certain manufacturers ABS, but I was amazed at how simple it was to used. I am the typical male & just fanned thru the manual, hooked up to car, checked the readings, & reset the Engine Light easily. After reading more in the Manual, I'll probably play with it on every car I own just for fun....

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justadadof3
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for DIYers like me...
5/24/2013

Customer review by kwiksilber

4.0 stars 5/24/2013 by kwiksilber
by kwiksilber

I just got this unit today (3160b) 5/24/2013; 3pm, though the picture doesn't say it's USB capable but it actually has a mini-USB port on it..I tested it on my 98 Oldsmobile cutlass and it gave me an ABS DTC. I'll work on my car this weekend so I can see if the Innova 3160b lives up to its promise :). Great tool and nice blue background interface, well enough to see the codes in the dark. Better check on the Innova website first before you finalize your purchase, check on your vehicle type and year, just to be sure your moneys worth.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kwiksilber
Minot, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Didn't read transmission codes.
10/11/2013

Customer review by RegularGuy2You

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by RegularGuy2You
by RegularGuy2You

I bought this with having read the item description section saying it can read TRANSMISSION CODES. NO IT DOESN'T. It also said EVAP TEST. DATA Not supported. Plus other things. Very dissatisfied. Returning or Swapping to something better that actually does what it says. :(

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RegularGuy2You
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews