Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 283 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

283 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

283 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
58
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 stars
48
1-20 of 244 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews
Fine if all you want is a document printer..
11/22/2010

Customer review by Twillou

2.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Twillou
by Twillou

Extremely disappointed. Software did not come with or on the installation disk. Spent an hour on computer with their live tech support trying to download photosmart--wouldn't work. Ended up calling tech support and was told photosmart wasn't even the software that is supposed to come with it and ended up helping me download something called photo creations--garbage. I am an avid scrapbooker and used about every software under the sun, but I found this very un-user friendly. Photos came out grainy. I never had to purchase an actual photo cartridge with any other printer before, but I guess it's another expense in order to have good quality. Printer didn't even come with any kind of manual. So disgusted wtih this. I previously had an inexpensive lexmark that worked miracles, so I know it is possible to get good quality without having to sacrifice a huge expense, but don't get this if you plan on using it for photos. If you do, get the photo cartridge and download picasa photo software--it's free and 10X better!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twillou
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very awful product - INK GUZZLER
5/25/2011

Customer review by CamKota

1.0 stars 5/25/2011 by CamKota
by CamKota

Pros- It does print and scan well and is very easy to use. It is nice looking and hp customer service is a good customer service. Cons- This printer EATS ink for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I have never seen a printer eat ink as much as this one does. The ink costs $14 for black and $20 for color and Im going through it every two weeks. I see in the reviews that other people have had this same issue. I agree 100%. Due to the guzzling of the ink - I have retired this printer as of last night and I have now bought a kodak c310 - black ink is $9.99 and color is $16.99. From the reviews this ink lasts a very very long time. It is $69.99 for the kodak all in one but it is well worth the additional $20. I would NOT reccomend this hp printer unless you want to pay $30 for ink every two weeks. In 3 months I have went through 6 cartridges of each. This is not right.

Was this review helpful? (186) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CamKota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent, solid, basic all-in-one
1/11/2011

Customer review by Rosebowler

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Rosebowler
by Rosebowler

I'm writing this review after only 1 day of use so keep that in mind. Old HP AIO died after 7 years so needed a new one that would do good, basic printing and copying. Did not need a fax. (Didn't use the one I had) After researching awhile, decided to buy this HP. It was between this and a Canon MP495. Both were the same price. It was a coin flip. Decided to stay with HP product. (PC is also HP) Box had 2 ink cartridges inside - nice of HP. Everything was there. Took maybe 25 - 30 minutes to get it up and running. I use Windows 7, 64-bit. Definitely need the USB cable and you might already have one on hand with an old printer you put out to pasture. Otherwise buy one. Make sure this HP 2050 is set up as your default printer and remove old printer devices or it won't print from the Internet. Use your Control Panel. I can print only black & white with a touch of the button on the printer. Saves on the tri-color ink cartridge. It's a speedy little thing too. I haven't used the scan portion yet but for printing and copying - it is a nice machine and easy to use. The only negative, if it can be called that, is that the tray extender could be a bit longer to receive the printed material. That did not impact my rating.

Was this review helpful? (167) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosebowler
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy, good machine.
12/9/2010

Customer review by Swirlie

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by Swirlie
by Swirlie

Picked this up the other day. I was surprised that it didn't come with a USB A to B printer cable, but it's not listed on the box as an included item. Easily fixed with a trip back for a $5 cable. Some reviews say that this 3-in-1 doesn't scan, or doesn't copy right. Mine copies and scans perfectly in a pleasantly-surprising large range of scan resolutions. The scan software is easy to use and quick. Gives the options to save as a number of different file types, which can be handy. The copies are great. B&W or color, both seem to do very well. Unremarkable in the fact that, for me at least, it works fast and works well. I'd expect just that, so nothing to rave about there. Printing is relatively quick and good looking. I'm in the military and do alot of printing of paperwork for leave forms, that kind of stuff. It's doing a great job. I hadn't expected to be able to find a 3-in-1 for less than $100. I had been up to my local Best Buy, and they didn't have anything under there. I just needed a cheap printer. I found this at my local Wal-Mart and honestly thought it had to be a mislabled price. Bought it, brought it home, fixed the 'no cable' issue, setup was super fast and easy, and haven't had a problem with it. All in all, a great buy that I recommend.

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swirlie
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeded my Expectations!
9/3/2010

Customer review by MissDut0829

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by MissDut0829
by MissDut0829

I purchased this printer in the store a couple of weeks ago and couldn't wait to take it home and get set up. I'd been without a printer for a few months after the junky Kodak that I had decided that it no longer wanted to work. I wasn't expecting a lot from the HP considering the price, and I was very surprised. I got it home, and though the CD-Rom wouldn't work in my computer for some reason, I was able to go to the HP website, and dowload from there. It works like a charm!! I've already printed SEVERAL times from it, and haven't had a problem. The paper feeds through straight and even each time. And the color and quality is great. You definitely can't go wrong with this one!

Was this review helpful? (315) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissDut0829
North Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Seriously, Can't Really Complain!
11/18/2010

Customer review by SuburbanGirl

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by SuburbanGirl
by SuburbanGirl

I bought this printer to replace my DELL branded printer, a v305, because I was having printing issues with the v305. My only real complaint about the Deskjet 2050 is that with my v305 I had copy, print, and scan settings to choose from. For example, I could chose to daren the or lighten the quality of my print job or scan to certain applications, like Word. Can't do that with the Deskjet 2050. Then again, I paid more for the v305, which means you get what you pay for. Other than that, it's a good little printer. I does what I need it to do and my ink lasts longer. With my v305, I got a 109 page yield. With my Deskjet 2050, I get a 190 page yield with the black ink cartridge and a 165 page yield with the color one. My DELL branded printer was an ink monger and am glad it's gone because I'd no sooner put the ink cartridges in it than turn around and have to go out and buy new cartridges for it. Talk about break the bank. By the way, I read a review on Amazon UK that said the person wished HP made it clear on the box that the USB cable wasn't included. However, HP does tell you right on the box the USB cable isn't included.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuburbanGirl
Northeastern IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Printer For The Money
3/10/2011

Customer review by Supermodifieds

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by Supermodifieds
by Supermodifieds

Bought this printer today.Great price and very easy to install.I have never had a problem with HP stuff and this printer does everything that I need.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supermodifieds
Fulton Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy this, you'll be going back to return it!
7/24/2012

Customer review by MrsFagairo

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by MrsFagairo
by MrsFagairo

I got this printer because I LOVE HP products and it was cost efficient. Unfortunately, HP missed the target with this printer. It is a piece of GARBAGE! First of all, you NEED a USB cord, it DOES NOT come with one and the cheapest one sold at my local Wal-Mart was $15.99. Set up was easy, I got it up and running within a matter of minutes, I scanned 9 photos, tried to scan my 10th and was informed that the HP 2050 scanner was not connected to my computer. WHAT THE WHAT?! I troubleshot every possible issue it could be with my computer, firewalls, etc. to no end! I unistalled and re-installed the printer, I exchanged my USB cord for a new one thinking there was a glitch in the cord...nope! When I researched this product further online, I found out that several people had the same exact issue with this printer. If you buy this, beware, Wal-Mart only allows 15 days for the return of printers. I am taking mine back today and planning on trying out the next model up, a bit more pricey, but hopefully the machine will operate accordingly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsFagairo
Marne, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
HP Deskjet 2050 AIO Printer is worth the price!
10/31/2010

Customer review by LILLAURA819

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by LILLAURA819
by LILLAURA819

I found this printer on Walmart.com and I only needed another printer to use strickly for my laptop when I do work from home for my second job, and it does a great job for the price, I have not had a problem with it as of yet and the copies and print jobs come out clear, so I would highly reccommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LILLAURA819
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy set up and easy to use
11/22/2010

Customer review by honeyhen

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by honeyhen
by honeyhen

Wow. It was very easy to get it going, and then there were several options online to maximize your value. I am using my printer twice as much as before because the images are so much sharper than our old printer, which was also from HP, but about 12 years old. (R.I.P. - Great printer as well.) BUY EXTRA INK when you order. We ran out getting stuff done that had been sitting since the older printer got fried in an electrical storm.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honeyhen
Bartlesville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
3/19/2011

Customer review by Chinamakescrap

1.0 stars 3/19/2011 by Chinamakescrap
by Chinamakescrap

This product only made it 6 months before it quit feeding paper through correctly. Do not buy. I printed less than 100 pages for my side business.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chinamakescrap
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simple and cost effective
9/22/2010

Customer review by DKong27

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by DKong27
by DKong27

This printer is great for the cost. It is very simple to use; great for households with less than tech-savvy members. The flatbed scanner and copier is much easier than scanning the paper through. Definitely good stuff from HP.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DKong27
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ink drainer
12/8/2010

Customer review by GrifsMom

3.0 stars 12/8/2010 by GrifsMom
by GrifsMom

I bought this to replace an old printer. I homeschool, so I am printing a good bit. Even printing a minimal amount, I can not keep the ink full. It goes through ink like I have never seen. I have been using it for several months and now I am going to have to buy a new printer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrifsMom
East TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Eats ink
6/28/2011

Customer review by toofa5785

2.0 stars 6/28/2011 by toofa5785
by toofa5785

Easy to install, but eats ink. A laserJet printer is a better option.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toofa5785
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Price Great Printer
2/4/2011

Customer review by Susievere

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Susievere
by Susievere

In the past I haven't had much luck with paper loading from the back of the printer but this one had no problems from the get-go. Print speed is fast and text/pictures look crisp and sharp. The installation manual could be a little more precise though. On the computer screen it said the wireless was installed and working but on the printer itself the blue wireless light continued to blink until I pressed the "cancel" button on the printer itself. On the printer screen it said to hit cancel to stop it searching for the router. It took me awhile to realize that it would search forever. Out of frustration I pressed cancel and the printer connected to the router instantly. If this was written anywhere I sure didn't see it and I looked! Also, I have no idea what button the manual refers to on the router, but apparently I didn't need this button. After that everything else was a breeze! An easy to find HP phone # to call for support would be great!!!

Susievere
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Some wut help full
9/20/2010

Customer review by GoDAWGSURok

4.0 stars 9/20/2010 by GoDAWGSURok
by GoDAWGSURok

I think it is a very good printer but the only down side is that it doesn't come with a usb cord. You have to purchase that seperatley. I perosnally wish it would include that.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoDAWGSURok
Flintstone, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A good buy for the money
6/1/2011

Customer review by Mamasiamese

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Mamasiamese
by Mamasiamese

I normally buy HP computer products and this printer did not let me down. It is an inexpensive printer that delivers good quality copies. It was easy to set up and is easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamasiamese
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
As Usual, I was treated like Royalty, at Wal Mart!
6/11/2012

Customer review by HapppyDayze

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by HapppyDayze
by HapppyDayze

I looked for a few weeks for a replacement printer, as my Cannon printer kept jamming up. I read the reviews on the HP 2050, and ordered it. I picked it up the next day. Installed it as the instructions directed, it took @15 minutes. I am extremely satisfied with the HP 2050 all in one printer. It is a basic, easy to use reliable unit, that was inexpensive. Thanks, again Wal Mart! Happy Dayze in Lake Tapps :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HapppyDayze
Lake Tapps, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst printer I have ever bought period.
9/27/2011

Customer review by JenInWy

1.0 stars 9/27/2011 by JenInWy
by JenInWy

This printer is awful. Can't say enough bad about it. It sucks ink in the worst way. I estimate that we print an average of 1 page a day per month, maybe. Bought a new cartridge and dated it because we thought the previous cartridge might have been old and the ink dried up or something since we had just bought the printer and had barely printed a few pages when it indicated the ink was low. Since new cartridge installed, we have printed 26 pages (black only# and the printer is indicating the black ink is low. We never printed any color pages until now #3 months after purchase) and just now printed 6 pages with color and the printer is indicating that the ink is low. 6 pages for one cartridge-really not impressive. And if the ink problem isn't bad enough, EVERY time we want to print a page we have to go through the "clean print cartridge" process multiple times because of the streaks through the lines of print just to get a legible copy. My experience is not unique, my parent bought the same piece of junk at the same time and they are having the exact same problems. I would not recommend this printer to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenInWy
Cody, Wy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/28/2011

Customer review by ProfessorGreen

3.0 stars 3/28/2011 by ProfessorGreen
by ProfessorGreen

Did not come with the USB cable that is required to use any printer, not sure why that wasn't highlighted to let people know

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProfessorGreen
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews