Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 71 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Excellent value
7/5/2010

Customer review by Geek745

4.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Geek745
by Geek745

This AS7745 does everything as advertised. The DVD burner works well, it has plenty of memory, and the large display is great. Kind of heavy and not much battery life, but it just sits on my desk 99% of the time so that doesn't matter. It also runs very cool and quiet, even while streaming video. My only complaint is the display. It is shiny, very reflective, and the viewing angle is narrow. This is a minor complaint considering all the pluses and the great price.

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geek745
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Laptop for Price
8/25/2010

Customer review by RateAndReview22

4.0 stars 8/25/2010 by RateAndReview22
by RateAndReview22

The Acer Aspire 7745 is a well built laptop. The 500 GB hard disk is enough for any standard user, if you are doing video or picture editing I suggest buying an external hard disk. the 5700 graphics inside make low end gaming easy: WoW : 60+ fps on medium settings Borderlands : 25 fps on medium settings 70 on low settings CoD MW2 : 30 fps on low settings SC2 : 40 fps on low settings The battery lasts about 6 hours for the first 4 months, then drops down to about 4 hours after that. It comes preinstalled with quite a bit of bloatware and took me about 2 hours to clean the system of useless programs, I suggest you do the same if you want increased speeds and quicker startup times. The entire operating system boots up and logs in after about 26 seconds of pressing the power button, but only after the 'free' antivirus software is uninstalled. As long as the price remains at $600 I suggest buying this laptop. If the price increases there are better laptops out there with faster processors and better graphics.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RateAndReview22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Things to consider before a purchase
10/6/2010

Customer review by stonekrabby

4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by stonekrabby
by stonekrabby

Here are the things I wrote to Acer per their request for an evaluation of this product. The following are things I found needed correcting, if you can live with these things you will find this a laptop you can live with. 1)The Quick Start guide makes no mention of the need to make a back up copy shortly after beginning use, which the User Guide does. However one must begin using the computer to read the User Guide as it is on the computer in question. 2) Design the cam with a sliding flap so one cannot be recorded unknowingly, this happen once to me already on a chat site. 3) The speakers are inadequate at best yet the computer is advertised as having Dolby, which seems to insinuate to me that it has a superior sound, which it plainly does not, I had to purchase a separate speaker set. 4) This system comes bundled with McAfee which I used up until yesterday when I loaded Norton 360 onto the system. Norton found 88 Security threats that McAfee never found, including 4 viruses. I suggest you contact Norton and try to get a bundle deal with them rather than McAfee. 5) Another problem is some programs appear with very tiny fonts with no way to enlarge them, I'm talking about a font about 4 pts or smaller, never saw this problem before. 6) I think you need to reengineer the placement of the USB ports to the rear as well as the headset and microphone plugs. Having them on the side gets in the way, especially when using a mouse.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stonekrabby
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excelent Product
7/6/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a teenager and this laptop fits me perfect. I got it about a week ago and its awesome. I love the 17.3 inch screen and the full keyboard with the own number pad to the left. It wonderful to do my hw and school work n and to sit back and relaxe on facebook or something. The only thing i would change is the keypad. Its a little 'too' sensative but overall its amazing!! Good price too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice computer
7/18/2010

Customer review by rchlths

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by rchlths
by rchlths

Very fast, very attractive, perfect for everyday tasks like word processing, internet usage, and some video games (such as the Sims 3). I searched for a long time in a lot of places for a good computer with all of these specifications. Definitely a very good value for the price; this is the cheapest I found such an awesome laptop.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rchlths
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AMAZING LAPTOP!!!!
9/6/2010

Customer review by mojojojo53andme

4.0 stars 9/6/2010 by mojojojo53andme
by mojojojo53andme

beautiful, fast , stylish, and light weight ,i have never ever used a laptop more quit then this one the keys are amazing even after using it for a long time still has not generated any heat at all i love it and would recommend to others to buy this laptop resolution awesome webcam clear as crystal fast web surfing too love the style ans shape of it as well cons: collects lint and dust very easily and the space bar is a little too stiff most of the time i have to go back and press it again because i missed the center of it make it more sensitive the mouse pad has to be centerd more its too far to the left

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mojojojo53andme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Intelligent Laptop...Quite..
9/24/2010

Customer review by AcerObsession

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by AcerObsession
by AcerObsession

A very good buy in my opinion. But this is coming from a teen who's main computer has been a netbook for the last few years. Anywho, this laptop is perhaps the ultimate buy below $1000 USD. The HD 1600x900 resoloution blew me away, I'm sure it will to you. On top of that, it comes with virtual surround sound, which is very...awesome when playing your favorite games or movies. Most new games run very well on this laptop. Oblivion, the infamous crashing game, hasn't done so ONCE on this laptop. And then you have the Intel i3 processor, one of the finer CPUs out there. 2.26 GHz is plenty for modern tasks, and the Intel GMA HD with 3.78 usable RAM can handle anything you throw at it, except maybe Mw2. That's a given. Plus Windows 7 Home Premium. With the new OS, I was quite anxious to experiment with 7. I was not disappointed, it is an elevator ride from Vista. I assure you, 7 screws up sometimes like any OS, but gets the job done. Security is something that comes with the laptop, but I strongly recommend you remove the default one and use your preferred antivirus/Internet Security. Delete the bloatware, and everything is fine. I strongly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AcerObsession
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Impressed
10/21/2010

Customer review by sunnyday4031

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by sunnyday4031
by sunnyday4031

Was unsure about buying an Acer instead of a more well-known brand, but I am very pleased with my purchase. The price was significantly lower than that of the other brands I had considered (with similar specs as the Aspire AS7745-5632.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunnyday4031
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What A Bargain
8/30/2010

Customer review by courtam

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by courtam
by courtam

This laptop from Acer is tops as far as I'm concerned. I have compared this model to other brands and this computer wins hands down. The big 17.3" screen makes it so everything is big. The computer is fast,and the 500 gigabite hard drive has enough storage to make sure you never run out. The i3 processor is beyond description. I don't think at this point in technology, you'll find anything close to this laptop for the price. I paid $598 at Walmart and am very satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
courtam
Omaha, Ne.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Return and fix
8/13/2010

Customer review by carrierretired

2.0 stars 8/13/2010 by carrierretired
by carrierretired

Bought this product, liked what it was but the hard drive started going goofy on the third day, returned to walmart store, that was easy, so I ordered another, three days after I got it monitor quit working, called walmart, said I could return it, really likedwhat I saw befor it quit working so asked for Acer repair number, I know Acer makes a good product so, called Acer, checked a few things then immediately gave me free shipping by Fedex back to Acer so they could repair it. I really liked what I saw so hoping Acer can repair and send me back a laptop that will last. But I really cannot recommend this product and have someelse go thru all the trouble and hope for a good outcome. Plus bought the extended warranty, which if it lives up to it promises would be worth the $99.00

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carrierretired
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
run from this is pure garbage
7/10/2010

Customer review by qaqa

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by qaqa
by qaqa

this will be the third one returned to walmart and I will get my money backl this time HD stoped working display burned pixels video jumps when played audio is like a can of sardines singing cheap build keyboard cheap I've purchased -- cheap it is

Was this review helpful? (16) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qaqa
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not helpful
9/2/2010

Customer review by cifan

1.0 stars 9/2/2010 by cifan
by cifan

I ended up returning the product after unpacking the box and putting everything together and then the product not working. I will not purchase another one of this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cifan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Laptop
8/29/2010

Customer review by LoveTechno

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by LoveTechno
by LoveTechno

I have had this product for a month now and really love it. I have been a laptop person now for about ten years, and my last one was a Sony Vaio which was a little outdated for me, hence the ACER Aspire. Was leery of Windows 7 at first, used to XP, but so far no problems. The 17" LED screen is as bright as you will ever need, I have mine turned down a bit. My girlfriend also got one on my recommendation. Don't be afraid of ACER brand, they have good stuff.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveTechno
Pittsbur, Pagh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than the rest!
7/22/2010

Customer review by questkodiak

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by questkodiak
by questkodiak

I looked at a Lenovo, Toshiba and Asus before I bought this Acer. The Lenovo didn't have the features I wanted. The Toshiba showed fingerprints like terrible and I didn't like the touch pad. And Asus didn't have the features I wanted in my price range. The Acer has a good touch pad, doesn't show fingerprints, has a super fast i3 processor and runs whisper quiet. At $560 it was a steal!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
questkodiak
Sandpoint, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Price, Very efficient PC
8/2/2010

Customer review by oldpcguy

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by oldpcguy
by oldpcguy

This is a secondary PC for me, but the specs and price are great. The Core i350m processor does the trick. Power up is very fast and the pc runs very well. The unit has all the bells and Whistles. Camera, full keyboard, etc. I compared long and hard. This was a very good buy and choice. I would put this in the range of other brands selling for $1000.00.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldpcguy
north royalton,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Big Laptop
8/2/2010

Customer review by uturn2whoreviews

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by uturn2whoreviews
by uturn2whoreviews

I decided to purchase this unit versus a more beefy offering from another online site with a Blu-Ray player and $200 more. I am happy I did. This computer is not screaming fast...but it is nimble and with the huge screen the size and clarity are very nice. For the price...I don't think you'll find a better offer unless you go to a HP. I'm not a big fan of HP. Have the i3 CPU, plus HDMI out is a nice feature. Windows 7 is nice and stable. (something I never thought I would say about Windows) I mainly got it for going internet streaming, document creation and management, and light gaming. This laptop handles all of those tasks with ease. It is a bit heavy with such a large screen though. However, I have it set up as a modest desktop replacement. I would recommend this purchase to those that are looking for the best value under $500.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uturn2whoreviews
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My son is happy!
8/16/2010

Customer review by outdoorrich

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by outdoorrich
by outdoorrich

The laptop was a gift to my son !

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoorrich
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
8/29/2010

Customer review by satisfiedsufer

4.0 stars 8/29/2010 by satisfiedsufer
by satisfiedsufer

Really love this computer. I bought it to replace my old desktop. The screen is great. Its super fast and very easy to set up. I love the webcame and mic. It has great picture quality. The sound can sometimes be a little low. I just use ear phones if I'm watching a movie. However it isn't really a problem when I do things like listen to music. The touch pad is great. It's very responsive and easy to use. The best thing is that the bottom doesn't get hot. You can put it on your lap without being uncomfortable. Absolutely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
satisfiedsufer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/30/2010

Customer review by JpUbana

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by JpUbana
by JpUbana

It was cheap and does what it supposed to do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JpUbana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
8/23/2010

Customer review by ChapterTwoCollege

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by ChapterTwoCollege
by ChapterTwoCollege

I could not have purchased a more userfriendly, readely equiped computer then this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChapterTwoCollege
Jupiter, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews