Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 825 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

825 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

825 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
462
4 stars
244
3 stars
50
2 stars
31
1 stars
38
1-20 of 662 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 662 total reviews
1-20 of 662 reviews
GREAT DIRECTIONS
2/11/2012

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I bought this a gift for my daughter who moved out of state. The directions were accurate and with the spoken street names and turns, it was easy for my daughter to drive to another state. The Point Of Interest came in handy for her looking for a gas station or a place to eat along the way. Since she is still new to her surroundings, she still uses this to navigate around. She used it to get to work until becoming comfortable with the route, but then needed it for an alternate route. She loves it and relies on it to get around. It has not let her down. The 5" screen is a plus and easy to see. The 3D map is comfortable to look at and easy to spot areas. I would consider this an entry level GPS, but very accurate and trustworthy. Once the route is set, you don't need to be doing six different things while you're driving. I didn't want my daughter distracted while driving. All she had to do was put the address in and just follow the turn by turn directions. I went with this because it's very much like my XL325 but with the larger screen. The life time maps makes it a plus. My daughter loves it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The TomTom 550m Portable GPS
11/18/2010

Customer review by Hawkprey

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by Hawkprey
by Hawkprey

Product is great for the price I paid of $128. Has lifetime map updates or until tomtom quits receiving updates from the provider they are currently going through or the contract with the map provider ends.... some figure about 5yrs or so with out having to buy any maps updates.Only bad thing I have to say about the transaction is that I paid for the 2-3 days shipping......I didnt receive the product until 7 days after the purchase date..So I would not recommend paying for any fast shipping.....will take about the same time as the free or 98 cent shipping

Was this review helpful? (192) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawkprey
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Christmas Present
3/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I got the XXL 550M for Christmas this year (2010). It was easy to setup and start using. I would suggest buying one of the dashboard mounts if you are going to be using it in a pickup truck. I have been using the suction cup window mount and it is so far away it is hard to see for me. I am going to purchase the vent mount and this will help allot with the visablility in my pickup. The voice I chose was female and very easy to hear. I really like the Advanced Lane Guidance feature. It lets you see exactly which lane you should be in when traveling in multi lane intersections. The built in battery is nice for trips under 3 hours, without the hassle of wires hanging from it to get in the way. The only real trouble I have had was with the lifetime map updates. I'll have to contact customer service about that. It does take about 2 hours to download a new map update which is a long time to wait. If you have a super fast internet connection it may be faster. Overall though a Great Product!

An anonymous customer
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent
11/11/2010

Customer review by georc

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by georc
by georc

This thing paid for itself on our 1st trip. We left Circleville, OH for King of Prussia, PA. and we relied on it the whole time. Closed Rds, no problem, the auto reroute was quick and accurate. The "Favorite" feature is really great and overall I'm very satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
georc
Circleville, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great GPS
12/8/2010

Customer review by VaTech

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by VaTech
by VaTech

This is the best value on the market. I have owned two, one Garmin and one tom tom. The maps become obsolete quickly and an update will cost you $60.00 This model has lifetime free map updates and is so easy to use. I don't travel without it.

Was this review helpful? (317) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VaTech
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Software warning
12/17/2010

Customer review by JeeperGeek

3.0 stars 12/17/2010 by JeeperGeek
by JeeperGeek

The GPS itself is great, but one of the selling factors, the lifetime updates, comes with a catch. The software needed to update and customize the TomTom is not compatible with Windows 7 64bit. Windows 7 has been out for over a year to the public and longer to developers, unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? (482) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeeperGeek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
11/14/2010

Customer review by DanOBat

4.0 stars 11/14/2010 by DanOBat
by DanOBat
Walmart associate

this GPS system works well - it tells you when to turn by voice - only one thing I would like to have improved on it should tell you a little earlier. If you watch the screen you will know that you have to turn then it tells you to turn L on easy street. The Free updates was the reason that pushed me to purchase this model tom tom GPS.

Was this review helpful? (187) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanOBat
Poulsbo, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
12/8/2010

Customer review by gasman55

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by gasman55
by gasman55

I placed order on 12/04/2010 and received order on 12/06/2010. the gps worked as described and I am very pleased with it. I searched several competitors before I decided to purchase. I found that walmart had the best price. I would recommed TOMTOM and Walmart to anyone in the market for a gps.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gasman55
Alexander City Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
8/6/2010

Customer review by gramparon

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by gramparon
by gramparon

The TOMTOM was very easy to set up and use. I will use it mostly out of town or when I am looking for certian areas in town. It arrived on time and the sucktion cup was damaged, but a call to the manufacture and two days later a new one came. I am happy with the operation overall.

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gramparon
G J Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
nice gps
9/13/2010

Customer review by Lisalisa811

4.0 stars 9/13/2010 by Lisalisa811
by Lisalisa811
Walmart associate

I really like this gps other then it doesnt let you pick an options of routs to travel.The screen is really nice and easy to see.Has a loud voice when speaking so you can hear it if people are talking in your car.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisalisa811
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Rural Routes - Downloadable and Modifiable +
12/1/2010

Customer review by ImMrBill3

4.0 stars 12/1/2010 by ImMrBill3
by ImMrBill3

I didn't expect any gps to do all to well but I have had some interesting routes. I live in a mountainous area with many less than ideal roads. The ability to create and install content as well as download content from TomTom and other developers and users is fantastic. The lifetime maps is a must have and a good deal. I like the screen size and don't think anything smaller would work for me. The mounting bracket is compact effective and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImMrBill3
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
so far all is well
11/3/2010

Customer review by iamskullman

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by iamskullman
by iamskullman

Easy setup, and instructions were clear. Really cool voices too.... So far all is working fine... Happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iamskullman
Riverview Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/11/2011

Customer review by lexiegirl7

2.0 stars 12/11/2011 by lexiegirl7
by lexiegirl7

I bought this for my boyfriend last year for Christmas. A year later and it needs to be replaced. It takes forever to start up and does not hold a charge. The screen goes blank sometimes. We got lost in the city because it went out on us while being connected to the car charger. We ended up pulling over and used a good old fashion map. The device is well taken care of. We made sure to purchase a carrying case for it. When it is working it does a decent job telling you directions. Sometimes it gets a little vague when the interstate splits too much. It tells you to stay left when you really may need to be in the middle lane. Overall I was happy with this product until it stopped working properly after a year of use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lexiegirl7
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
TomTom 550M
1/1/2011

Customer review by DLTK

1.0 stars 1/1/2011 by DLTK
by DLTK

We live in well established suburb of Little Rock AR. Our new TomTom couldn't get us out of our suburb! We also notice that it advises us to turn too early thus making us exit off the freeway one exit too soon. Took it to Philadelphia and it struggled with locations there. Sorry Tom...sending you home by return mail!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLTK
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
TOM TOM XXL550M.
12/16/2010

Customer review by NIGHTOWL2

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by NIGHTOWL2
by NIGHTOWL2

I TOOK A WRONG TURN IN NASHVILLE,MISSED RAMP ONTO I-40 EAST,WAS SUDDENLY ONTO SOME BACK ROADS AND THIS LITTLE JEWEL GOT ME BACK ONTO INTERSTATE IN A SHORT TIME. GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT AND INSTRUCTIONS WERE VERY QUICK.A REALLY GOOD DEAL WITH THE LIFETIME MAP UPDATES AT NO CHARGE.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NIGHTOWL2
KNOXVILLE,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
outstanding!!!!
11/27/2010

Customer review by fishinglarry

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by fishinglarry
by fishinglarry

Have used twice on long trips that we had never previously visited and it performed flawlessly thru toll roads, back roads ect., and I promise that we would have been lost without it. Downloading does take approx 4 hours-but I don't see why that is a issue because it was very simple to perform if you can read! Great clarity day or night and the 5" screen is worth every penny and more!! Easy to operate without any instructions or manual. Could not be happier!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishinglarry
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Value
12/19/2010

Customer review by hal4re

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by hal4re
by hal4re

This is my second Tom Tom and I'm very pleased. I bought this one because I was familiar with Tom Tom and wouldn't have to learn a new operating system. It operates somewhat differently than my GO 700 but I really like the 5" screen and the thin design. For the price I paid and with free delivery I felt it was a good value.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hal4re
Green Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
excellent product
9/12/2010

Customer review by IdHO55

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by IdHO55
by IdHO55

I have not traveled in almost 40 years and boy have the roads, off/on ramps changed. This product was awesome getting me to where I was going. I wish the booklet explained the works of the product more but I did figure out how it works by pressing all the spots on the screen. Though sometimes it did not take me to the exact address it did get me to within a block of where I was going. Would highly recommend this model because of the large screen which made it easier to see.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IdHO55
Rathdrum, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value
12/13/2010

Customer review by 1checker1

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by 1checker1
by 1checker1

I had an older Tom Tom and just loved it. This one is bigger and has lifetime maps, which is great. It is easy to navigate and the price is very affordable

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1checker1
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pleased with all the functions of this model.
11/26/2010

Customer review by madadam

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by madadam
by madadam

I bought this unit to replace an older gps and was especially interested in the map update feature. I like the programming options. I am a bit disappointed in not being able to get to old programmed route history in an expedient direct manner but I find that the material is retained but you must work your way to the final address. I'm over burdened with the number of points of interest showing along the route. It is a terrific unit that I've recommended to many friends.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madadam
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 662 total reviews
1-20 of 662 reviews