Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 221 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

221 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

221 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
56
3 stars
19
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 187 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
Decent Budget Laptop
7/4/2010

Customer review by noraaregnilc

4.0 stars 7/4/2010 by noraaregnilc
by noraaregnilc

Unlike what another review stated, this laptop does contain a fair amount of bloatware, however that is to be expected from any new laptop purchased. After several hours of uninstalling bloatware, rebooting, upgrading, rebooting, upgrading, rebooting, etc... this laptop was finally ready for use or at least it is ready for me to install the apps I use :) At first glance the case seems pretty bland and cheap. Upon further inspection, that is verified. I definitely wouldn't be taking this laptop into an environment that requires something rugged. If normal precautions are taken it should stand up fine to everyday use. The keyboard layout has sufficient space for a touch typist to go blazing along at 100 wpm, however I have been having trouble with mistyping numbers. That is probably because I have become used to a small netbook's keyboard. It does have some application launch buttons along the left side of the keyboard. At this point I haven't noticed a problem with them getting in the way of my typing. The audio seems to be adequate for what it is. I am not an audiophile so I am unable to determine if the Altec Lansing speakers are worth anything. They should be fine for a little bit of music listening and movie watching, however this laptop is definitely not geared towards home entertainment. The screen is bright and clear. I am pleased with that. The 15.6" screen size seems to be the sweet spot for portability, big enough to work with multiple apps at once, yet not too big as to make lugging this thing around a pain. With an Intel Celeron 900 processor and 2 GB of ram, don't expect to be zipping through video editing apps, especially considering it is a single core cpu. Of course if you needed a laptop to do that then you would have spent a lot more money now wouldn't you. One thing that is a definite plus is the wireless networking card. 802.11n seems to be the standard wireless card installed in most new laptops and anyone would be a fool to not insist on that. The card is backwards compatible with b and g so for those who haven't upgraded their routers yet this will still work for you. (Get on the bandwagon fools!) I haven't fully tested the battery life yet. Right now I am at two hours. That's while doing part of my uninstalling bloatware, rebooting, and upgrading bit. The battery meter is reading 50% so it appears that battery life is as advertised if not better. This can be made better if I did a little tweaking to the power settings. For those of you looking for a laptop to put a Linux based operating system on, you are in luck. It appears that all the hardware is supported by at least Ubuntu directly out of the box. I actually debated on installing the latest version of Ubuntu instead of cleaning the bloatware up and I very nearly did. I still may in the future once I've created the re-installation disks. I wonder how much this thing would cost if Windows was left out of the picture? All things considered this is a decent budget laptop. The only thing that I would tweak is the case construction, but one cannot expect too much for less than $350. I definitely would recommend this for someone who needs to get on the internet, school use, so on and so forth.

Was this review helpful? (172) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noraaregnilc
Hinesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For what you pay, expect more...
7/1/2010

Customer review by mrtmiller

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by mrtmiller
by mrtmiller

When I was looking around for a laptop I expected to have to pay at least $600 for the stuff I wanted it to have. 2.2 or great processor, enough RAM and memory to easily function and a solid video card or graphics capability. This laptop had all those things when I was looking at what it had (prior to actually paying attention to the cost)....well scrolled up saw the extremely ridiculous low price and clicked buy a mere second after. I've used this thing everyday since I bought it and actually even use it at work with no problem what so ever. Good purchase here folks.

Was this review helpful? (96) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrtmiller
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wow
7/2/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

well i have had this laptop for about two weeks and i think it is amazing it has great features and it is really fast when it comes to loading or downloading things i really enjoy this laptop if u need one for school or just to use as a basic computer then i would totally get this one(:

Was this review helpful? (74) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
rexburg, idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
9/22/2010

Customer review by HawaiiTerry

4.0 stars 9/22/2010 by HawaiiTerry
by HawaiiTerry

This laptop is a great value. Too bad Walmart.com no longer offers this laptop alone anymore but now "bundled" with an overpriced case at $60 more than I bought the laptop alone. Great plus was the 6 cell battery included - all other laptops in this price range had smaller batteries, so Compaq gives you 6 hours of battery time instead of 2 1/2. Included was a 30 page setup booklet with instructions which was very helpful - many computers come only with a single page and then you have to read the manual electronically. Maybe I'm old school but I like to be able to mark up a book for future reference. The full Instruction manual was also on the computer so Compaq had everything covered. Nice, bright display - laptops have come a long way

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HawaiiTerry
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZING! Laptop
6/26/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/26/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off, Im 16, just to let you all know. NOW! ONTO THE REVIEW! This laptop is what I was expecting and more. I bought this laptop just a few hours ago so keep that in mind. But this laptop is top notch. Im actually on it right now! Runs fast, good amount of storage and ram. Runs youtube videos super fast, runs Facebook.com perfectly. The download speed is great. I downloaded Skype and it only took about 30 seconds compared to my last computer which took about 5-10 minutes. Great product, TOTALLY recomend it to anyone out there. 110% Great job Compaq

Was this review helpful? (85) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Real Bargain For A Fine Computer
6/30/2010

Customer review by dagley

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by dagley
by dagley

We replaced a desk top computer with this laptop and were able to use our existing 17 inch flat screen monitor, wireless keyboard and wireless mouse when we are at home and then just take the laptop when we go out of town. Total setup time was about 30 minutes and then another hour or so to make rescue disks and transfer files using a Cruzer USB 2.0 Flash Drive. The setup and installation was a breeze. The laptop connected right to our Wi Fi and also wired right to our router ..either way works fine. Very fast computer and not full of junk software. On set up the on screen directions walk you right through the process. In my opinion this is a real buy ! We are really happy.

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dagley
Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price.
11/6/2010

Customer review by JustAMomof4

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by JustAMomof4
by JustAMomof4

I bought this computer for my daugher for her college work. I like the computer so much I am buying one for myself. I have looked around and compared prices. Walmart by far has this computer priced the lowest.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustAMomof4
Chowchilla,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great computer at a great price
7/24/2010

Customer review by susie57

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by susie57
by susie57

Bought this as a gift for my son. Very surprised at the quality for this price. Have an Acer which is fine but this is much better. Rates right up there with Dell at a much lower price. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
susie57
Cranston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT! GREAT VALUE!
10/19/2010

Customer review by Tanairi

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by Tanairi
by Tanairi

I bought this for my step daughters birthday. She loved it and I did too. It works fast, it looks sleek and the she loved the windows 7 that it came with. I would definitely reccomend it. I've considered getting another one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tanairi
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More than I expected for the money
9/11/2010

Customer review by alfinch

4.0 stars 9/11/2010 by alfinch
by alfinch

The led display is quite beautiful, especially for a low end laptop. LED displays are not yet common in this price segment. This was a key part of my decision as I was able to compare this machine to the acer and toshiba machines of comparable price. The single core penryn based celeron 900 is fine for daily office/net use. For those who are turned off by the celeron brand don't let its previous reputation scare you off. It isn't a quad core monster but it is plenty for 95% of what most people will use this machine for. It isn't a neutered cpu, it is simply a single core core2 chip of reasonable clock speed. Battery life is quite mediocre. It isn't appropriate if you need a lot of time away from an ac socket. Don't expect to get more than a couple of hours and you probably won't be disappointed. I don't have a problem with the build quality. It probably isn't going to take a lot of abuse but it doesn't seem to be fragile and I don't knock my machines around. If you want a dual boot setup note that all 4 partitions are taken. You will need to make a backup/restore dvd set first thing and then wipe the restore partition and shrink the windows 7 partition. You should then have a reasonable amount of room for an alternative OS. The only question I have is whether it will be reliable. I can't answer that yet. HP/compaq systems don't have a stellar reputation for reliability but I held out and got this machine for $325 shipped. Given the quality display and the price I was willing to accept a bit more risk on the reliability front. If one preferred to weight toward reliability I would probably lean more toward a toshiba which was my second choice. So far I'm quite impressed with what one can get for $300 in a laptop these days. I an very satisfied for the money I spent. Provided I get a few years of trouble free use I will be very happy with the purchase. Since I don't know how reliability will play out I didn't feel I should give it a full 5 stars overall, at this point.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alfinch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
amazing savings before black friday!!
11/17/2010

Customer review by heavynli

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by heavynli
by heavynli

I was int he market for a new laptop and also a great price point as well. I came across this little beauty. Had been checking it out it out online off and on for a bit. It was listed for 348. but them the amazing online deals came about for nov 6th and 7th. Feeling this would be a great present to myself, I wanted to jump on it. However, it sold out online before I had the chance. I decided to go into the store and purchase it there. To my surpise the online price was the same as in the store when I got it! 288 instead of 348. I would have gotten two if I had the money. Laptop runs smoothly great picture quality, speakers were especially important as some laptops have horrible ones. There are great without the addition of a portable speaker. Can watch movies and burn music and also organize my photos. Wi-fi works great in my house and I can jump online in a few seonds of booting up. A very happy customer!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heavynli
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lowest price laptop out there
8/1/2010

Customer review by KYCPA

4.0 stars 8/1/2010 by KYCPA
by KYCPA

Good low priced laptop but watch the price, I bought one for $348 then a week later the price was $298 then a week after that the price was $314. I returned mine and bought the same thing for $298. Beware it doesn't have a number pad on the right side of keyboard, this is not important to everybody but I am an accountant and use a seperate number pad.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KYCPA
Crestwood, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
"Irregular" Product
8/1/2010

Customer review by SJP1

3.0 stars 8/1/2010 by SJP1
by SJP1

I saw this product online a few weeks ago, so I decided to see it in the store. I bought it because it met my requirements for school and it had high reviews online. Despite my intuition telling me not to buy the product at that time, I discovered it listed online for $298 two days later! I returned the store purchase and received the online purchase, which was the worst thing I did. First, the in-store laptop was great: no problems. Second, the online laptop gave me issues the second day I had it. When I tried to create recovery discs, I got an error message stating that there was no drive to burn CDs-WRONG! I played CDs and ran programs earlier. After spending an hour on the phone with someone in the Philippines, it started to work after merely turning it off then on again. The next day, it would not hide my task bar: it froze making it impossible to use the bottom scroll button. Third, one day when I turned it on, my display settings for the internet, icons, startup menu, and task bar were gone and the factory settings were present. Fourth, after receiving a product key from Microsoft, Word requested that I enter a product key on three different occasions. Fifth, the back and forward icons on Internet Explorer disappeared and I had to use the drop down menu for awhile. Finally, the computer abruptly shut down, and when I restarted it, it was set to the lowest resolution setting. Even after installing Norton the first day, I received messages days later saying it was out-of-date. I run checks on the computer and it seems like everything is okay, except for the day the computer shut down and later the HP window came up and started to examine my computer with a magnifying glass. Nothing weird has happened so far today, but all of this happened in three days. Since I had the first computer for a week and did not have any of these issues, I think I have a busted laptop. After speaking with HP Support, I was asked if I wanted to purchase an extended warranty. Why? It probably won’t hold up that long at this rate. Her offer probably foreshadowed things to come. I was born at night but not last night: this laptop is going back.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SJP1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
The bundle pack including laptop bag, printer, usb
11/18/2010

Customer review by janah76

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by janah76
by janah76

Excellent! My first laptop and I am impressed. Set up was easy. Definitely worth its value.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
janah76
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
8/14/2010

Customer review by megapotomus

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by megapotomus
by megapotomus

The best price we could find, free shipping and a Compaq Presario computer - wow! It doesn't get any better! We bought this for our Mom's 90th birthday and it is very user friendly... she is already shopping and sending/receiving e-mail.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
megapotomus
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great HP, Compaq Presario Laptop, A Must Have.
7/7/2010

Customer review by KaUfFmAn

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by KaUfFmAn
by KaUfFmAn

AMD Athon 2.1 is good for running some high end games, with 3Gigs of ddr3 memory. No camera or memory card reader but for the price its worth it.This laptop more than i expected. I would recommend this one if you don't want to pay to much.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaUfFmAn
Ashland, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
11/17/2010

Customer review by gjmburgess2000

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by gjmburgess2000
by gjmburgess2000

I bought this little wonder about a month ago. All I can say is, WONDERFUL. I have used it everyday, and it is more then I expected for the price.My son has a IMac and we can share files. I have not hooked a webcam up yet, but I can see his webcam and hear him, and he can hear me. This little baby has a built in mic. I am more then pleased with it. I have watched DVD's and downloaded some music. And the windows 7 home premium, works just fine. Thanks Wal-mart for bringing the price down on this little Gem.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gjmburgess2000
Logan, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mouse Pad Confusion
11/2/2010

Customer review by Creoleguy32

3.0 stars 11/2/2010 by Creoleguy32
by Creoleguy32

The built in mouse is not made out of a different material than the computer's frame, so at times you think that you have your hand resting next to the mouse and it is the mouse so the cursor is all over the screen. It's as if you can't tell where the built in mouse starts and the lap top frame ends. It's irking

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Creoleguy32
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the Price
11/28/2010

Customer review by BornForABargain

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by BornForABargain
by BornForABargain

the Compaq that I purchased is the perfect laptop for someone that is using it for oneline use or for uploading pictures, etc... I photograph a LOT of pictures and love editing them. I've found that It's a great PC for simple things because it's user friendly...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BornForABargain
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Spend $50 more and get the CQ62-209wm, FASTER!
12/14/2010

Customer review by HPuser23

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by HPuser23
by HPuser23

When I first purchased this one, I was impressed with the surprising speed of it even with a single core processor, but then the next day after I finished windows updates, thats when it all turned sour, it started running very slow, the screen started flickering, plus I saw a notice saying my virtual memory was low, I had nothing else installed on it except what it already had. I tried a system restore and it didn't change anything, so I took it back and exchanged it, this one did the exact same thing. I was very disapointed, I have always really liked compaqs and hps, but this one was slow as a slug, so I decided to crack open another $50 bucks and order the CQ62-209wm, which has an AMD Dual-Core processor and 3GB or ram, plus the operating system is a full 64 bit, the specs say this one is 64, but thats not true, its only 32. My advise, if your going to do a bit more than just surf the net and check emails, spend at least another $50 bucks and get a dual-core and another gb or ram, it will be well worth it.:)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HPuser23
Lodi, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews