Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

54 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

54 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
14
1-20 of 54 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Good Color
7/4/2016

Customer review by Chinita

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Chinita
by Chinita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you like your hair to have a reddish color, this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chinita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I so upset!
6/16/2010

Customer review by LovesPinkThink

1.0 stars 6/16/2010 by LovesPinkThink
by LovesPinkThink

This color looks good on the box and somebody's head, just not mine. I had similar problems described in the other reviews such as too small a portion of hair color. I usually use two boxes because my hair reaches down to my thighs but there wasn't enough to accommodate me this time but i worked with it, even though my hair didn't feel saturated thoroughly, in fact it felt dry and crispy. After the 10 minute wait I rinsed and treated accordingly, then was stunned by the bright red hair atop my head. It looked so unnatural and horrible that I took a mirror outside to what it looked like in natural light, hoping that it was just the bad bathroom light bulbs. Nope, the sun emphasized the red and was even brighter, I looked like I was wearing a costume wig and it's getting even worse as my hair dries (42" of bright red cherry hair). However, this is a singular experience in my use of Natural Instincts haircare products and will still use their products.

LovesPinkThink
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pleasantly surprised!
9/12/2010

Customer review by Sarafa

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by Sarafa
by Sarafa

After reading all the "Elmo" and "Clown" commentary here, I admit I was pretty afraid to try the Raspberry Creme shade. I really liked the color that was portrayed on the box, but I couldn't help but think that if so many people had the same results, I probably would too. I really wanted to try it, so I continued to search the internet for more customer reviews. I found someone who reviewed it on YouTube and LOVED the way her hair looked. So....despite my initial fears, I decided to go ahead and try it. I figured worst case scenario, I would just put another dye on top. I am SO glad I went ahead and tried it.....I completely LOVE the results. In my case, the color looks almost identical to what is on the box, which is what I hoped. My hair was a true medium brown before and now it has a nice auburn/cherry tint to it. It is a *little* brighter outside, but I like it.....and it's nothing like an "Elmo" red or a "Clown" red. : ) Perfect!

Sarafa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ontime
5/20/2016

Customer review by JimO

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by JimO
by JimO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product was delivered on time and works as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't last all that long.
1/12/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I would consider myself a pro at coloring my hair with box colors. I have never seen the reason for going to the salon when box does wonderful. I was excited to try this out because I used to use Clairol. I thought this might back me switch back! My hair was in need of coloring so I hurried and colored it. When the color was first dried I was pleased with how it came out! Flash forward to the next week and my excitement was dulled out. the color didn't last the length it was supposed to. I had only washed my hair twice and it didn't seem to stick. The dye itself wasn't bad. My hair wasn't fried and the dye didn't smell overpowering. I would recommend the brand, but I would make sure to include to them that it didn't last all that long. I received this product for free for testing purposes, but the review is %100 my own.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it.
5/7/2016

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by Lori
by Lori

I get compliments all the time about the color. I have used this produce and color for years. Will keep on doing so.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great In-between salon color touch up
4/17/2011

Customer review by Sissie

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by Sissie
by Sissie

I have naturally black hair and this gave me an overall red hue similiar to what I get from my stylist. I was worried that it was not going to show up since I couldn't tell there was anything on my hair until after I dried it. It doesn't have the "pop" that the salon color gave (which my mother thought was too bright but this looked more natural) and I like more noticable color - if I pay big bucks for makeup/hair color I want people to tell but I think this is great for those times you are trying to stretch out salon visits, or it may be more vibrant if your hair is naturally lighter. I do agree with leaving it on longer if your hair is darker and getting two if your hair is longer. I left it on about 25 minutes and I also rubbed it throughout my hair after I applied the creme to make sure it was all over. I would definitely buy this product again and recommend to friends tho. It was worth the money!

Sissie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worst purchase ever.
9/30/2010

Customer review by jkight

1.0 stars 9/30/2010 by jkight
by jkight

This is "supposed" to be a "medium rich auburn". I have medium brown hair naturally, and usually use the shade Cinnaberry. I wanted to try Raspberry Creme because it was supposed to be "richer" and looked to be a hint darker than Cinnaberry. After coloring my hair- I looked much like Ariel from The Little Mermaid, or Ronald Mcdonald. I followed the instructions perfectly- and yet I now have BRIGHT RED HAIR. DO NOT USE this product, I will NEVER use this again. And everyone that has seen my hair, will never use it or reccomend it to anyone. Clairol needs to change the description for this product to "bright red" not "medium rich auburn". the only hint of auburn that I might be able to see in my hair- is the pink cast i get when the sun hits it... that is, when I'm not blinded by the ORANGE RED glow of my head in public. wow- embarrassing and i won't ever use this again. very very disappointed.

jkight
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolutely Fantastic
10/2/2010

Customer review by SallyE

5.0 stars 10/2/2010 by SallyE
by SallyE

I am 67 and have never been able to get the right color I wanted for my hair, including very expensive salon coloring. Anytime any color of red was put on my hair I had a red color at the roots and then the rest of my hair would be black!! I tried Natural Instincts about 6 moinths ago and my hair has never looked or felt better. I always get a perfect color and I like the fact that there isn't any ammonia in it. Never dries my hair like it did with all the other products I have tried including the salon. So, instead of looking 67 with a bad dye job, I look to be in my 50's. This is the best thing I have done for myself, I really love my hair now and everyone tells me what a beautiful color my hair is. The conditioner that comes with it is also fantastic. Thank you so much Clairol for offering this wonderful product. Just cause I'm 67 I don't have to look it and thanks to you I really don't.

SallyE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
1/3/2011

Customer review by ABCFEDGHILKJ

4.0 stars 1/3/2011 by ABCFEDGHILKJ
by ABCFEDGHILKJ

I recomend this for people with darker hair. If you are blonde DO NOT USE it is a lot less natural than it appears on the box. I love the color even though it wasn't what i expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABCFEDGHILKJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOOOOVE IT!
4/27/2011

Customer review by Beachbabe1571

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by Beachbabe1571
by Beachbabe1571

I bought this haircolor because it was on sale. I thought that it was more of an auburn red color. It turned out a very dark auburn color on me and I absolutely love it!!!! I have received many compliments and will continue to use this color. Thanks, Clairol!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachbabe1571
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I look like Ariel.
7/14/2010

Customer review by linzbinz

1.0 stars 7/14/2010 by linzbinz
by linzbinz

Like another one of the reviewers, I also use Cinnaberry and thought that Raspberry Creme looked similar but just a little bit darker and thought I'd give it a try. My hair is about half way down my back and really thick, so I bought two boxes of Raspberry Creme. I always buy two boxes of Cinnaberry, and it's plenty! The two boxes of Raspberry Creme were not NEARLY enough- thank goodness I bought two, because one wouldn't have covered even HALF my hair! I still ended up with a few spots that didn't get dyed! And even more horrific than that, my hair didn't even REMOTELY resemble the shade on the box. My daughter loves my new hair, and exclamined "MAMA! You look just like ARIEL from The Little Mermaid!" Uhhh, not quite the look I was going for! I will not be using Natural Instincts Creme ever again. Guess I should have stuck with Cinnaberry!

linzbinz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great first time coloring
11/14/2010

Customer review by booktheif

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by booktheif
by booktheif

This is the first time that I have ever dyed my hair. I had been planning to dye it a reddish brown color for some time now and when I found this box at a store one day, I bought it just to see what would happen. I loved the color. I have naturally brown hair with red highlights, so this really brought out my highlights. For the first week or so, you have to use an old towel when drying your hair because the dye will bleed onto it but that is only temporary. It says that it lasts for 28 washes but I take a shower every day mostly and it lasted way longer. I dyed it In the beginning of September and it was noticibly the dyed color until a few weeks ago (end of october) I had no problems with this hair dye and I plan to use it again very soon. I would reccomend this to anyone. =]

booktheif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
clairol
2/8/2016

Customer review by Joyce

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Joyce
by Joyce

I love the colors and their so easy to use. I get lots of compliments

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joyce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK
1/18/2011

Customer review by britorco

3.0 stars 1/18/2011 by britorco
by britorco

The color I tried was rich medium auburn in rasberry creme by clairol perfect 10, the red is more of a dark red wine, that an autumn leaf red but the results were good. I have alot of hair, so I felt like the color didnt reach all of it. I mostly ended up with highlights, but it looks natural. I suggest if u have thick hair to buy two boxes of this. Also, My hair is black so it did well on showing up on it. I would suggest you leave the color in longer than the time suggests if u have darker hair, also make sure to get each strand of hair, and evenly because the bottle comes with a certain amount. again i suggest two boxes. Oerall the results were good, especially if your a first time hair dyer. I did it by myself at home and had no problems. 1-10 i give this product a 7.

britorco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what was shown-Started with brown hair
11/29/2010

Customer review by LasVegasMom

2.0 stars 11/29/2010 by LasVegasMom
by LasVegasMom

Purchased Raspberry Creme and applied this past Sunday. I started getting nervous while applying since the mixture was a bright orange. But usually the color being applied isn't indicative of final result so on I went. The product literally was orange on my hair. Left in the 10 minutes as stated, washed and conditioned and towel dried. As i wrapped my hair in the towel, I saw orange streaks. Then I got nervous. As I looked in the mirror with hair still in towel, I saw orange around my hair line where my roots are. Mind you, I am starting a new job this week. After taking a deep breath and saying "it's jut hair" I pulled the towel off, used the hairdryer and did minimal styling. Well, it isn't orange but it sure isn't what was on the box either. It's a much more orange red then what is shown on box. I have been wearing my hair up since it looks darker when pulled together. My little loose wispies in back by neck are a dark orange/red. I am terrified of what will happen when I wash it since I know it will fade and I have visions of carrot orange in my head. If you are looking for a natural red shade this is NOT it. I am going to try and deal until this weekend and then see if I want to apply a darker shade.

LasVegasMom
Would recommend to a friend? No
AHHHHH!!!!
9/12/2010

Customer review by strawberry

1.0 stars 9/12/2010 by strawberry
by strawberry

Never went with this shade before and like the previous review i should have went on here and looked at the reviews before hand. I've been using this product (not the shade) for 9 months. I am naturally dark - medium brown. Went blonde for the summer/ spring months and now with fall coming i wanted something darker, sexier. So I thought a deep Auburn would be the trick. I just got done cutting my long hair off (cut almost 12 inches off) and I came home did the hair. OMG I was mortified. First, color was bright orange. I know its not always the color it will be so I let it set thinking that it was just the color doing its thing. 15 minutes later I go to rinse, not only did the die get everywhere, staining my bathroom but my hair was HORRID! I looked like a strawberry being ready to pluck. it was RED RED RED. My husband was taking a nap on the couch and when he rolled over half asleep the sight of a "new head" in the house startled him. He replied "I feel the need to donate to the Ronald McDonald Foundation now" I guess McDonalds owes me a sweet tea for the "shout-out" I couldn't bare to be seen in public so I reached for the back up brown I had. Now my hair is black. And my husband now calls me "Joan Jett" Thank you Clairol!

strawberry
Would recommend to a friend? No
I've loved it both times used!
9/12/2010

Customer review by Artgirly13

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by Artgirly13
by Artgirly13

I have used this color twice so far and LOVED the results both times. I have been dying my hair periodically for the last 2 or 3 years to get different shades as the seasons and my mood strikes me, and always using Natural Insticts. Before using this particular shade, I was starting to get tired of this brand because I couldnt get red enough results with the other auburn colors. When I used light auburn my hair was just brown. When I used dark auburn you didnt see red unless I was in direct sunlight, other wise it looked like dark brown hair. Finally, Raspberry creme came out and I decided to give the auburns one more try in this brand since its so gentle on my hair. The Raspberry creme is awesome! Of course its not stop light red or anything, but you could actually see the red in my hair in indoor lighting and not just direct sunlight like the other auburns. As for all the "orange" results people are talking about, well, Ive never had that problem. I would guess that their hair was too blonde or too grey so the dye didnt get their hair dark enough. Its common sense to use dye colors that arent too far from your current shade. And, I'll be using the Raspberry creme again soon. It's already in my bathroom waiting to be used!

Artgirly13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Creme is tricky, but worth it!
1/11/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I used this colour, 23R, I had hair the colour of #20 brown, which I had just dyed it the day before (see my review of that shade for the before and after pics, from my natural dirty-blonde to the #20 brown) I used the creme colour 23R and although I LOVE the colour, which as you can see in the picture did come out really close to the box colour, which I loved to begin with, the creme product is more difficult to get everywhere than the usual dye, which is more like shampoo than creamy stuff, and as a result there are some little parts where its browner than the rest. But if you're really careful, or if you go back and fill in the missed parts, its a gorgeous colour, and its just as shiny and soft as the regular formula.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty Awesome
10/17/2010

Customer review by MissyDee

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by MissyDee
by MissyDee

I've never dyed my own hair before but I've always done others the favor, so I figured it was my turn. Since this was my first time, I thought a dye free of ammonia would be best. I took the online quiz & found my hair to be medium brown, more cool than warm. I do really like the color: it enhances some of the red in my hair while adding subtle color. It's noticeable but not drastic. I do think my hair would look like the color on the box if I hadn't left the dye to sit for too long after mixing. I used 2 boxes, but it wasn't totally necessary; however, if you want to be certain all your hair is covered & you have thick, coarse hair like I do, then by all means buy 2 boxes. I will most definitely continue using this color!

MissyDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews