Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 102 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

102 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

102 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 96 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
CLR
1/26/2017

Customer review by maggiec

5.0 stars 1/26/2017 by maggiec
by maggiec
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

CLR in your toilet or sink unclogs -- i use it all the time to maintain my sink and toilet. This is an EXCELLENT product and i have an extra on hand at all times..

maggiec
Windsor, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coffe maker ruined
9/1/2014

Customer review by Johncdh

1.0 stars 9/1/2014 by Johncdh
by Johncdh

MY NEGATIVE REVIEW FOR THIS PRODUCT IS WHEN USING IT TO CLEAN COFFEE MAKERS.....OTHER CLEANING APPLICATIONS WORK FINE!!!! I saw on CLR's web site that i was supposed to be a good cleaner for your coffee maker....I followed the directions in the video for my Kitchen Aid automatic and it has been unusable for coffee ever since. I have run 20+ cycles after the cleaning and it still reeks and taste like CLR. I have used CLR on many things with great success but do not use it to clean your coffee maker. You really need to remove anything on your site that recommends this use.

Johncdh
DeBary, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Soap dispenser magic
2/8/2015

Customer review by Golfcoach

5.0 stars 2/8/2015 by Golfcoach
by Golfcoach

My sink-mounted liquid soap dispenser stopped working and someone at Home Depot recommended a CLR soak. Soaked the stainless head and pumping mechanism in full strength CLR overnight and PRESTO, working like new! I did wear latex gloves and safety glasses while working with CLR. One comment - - no directions for disposal on either the container or website. THAT would be really helpful as I am on septic and am leery about dumping anything down the drain. Any comments from Jelmar about how to properly dispose of this used product?

Golfcoach
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fabulous!
8/15/2014

Customer review by Sweetpea3

4.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Sweetpea3
by Sweetpea3

I was at a local store in the plumbing department trying to figure out how to unclog my dishwasher. He was in an electronic chair and an employee with him. He seemed very knowledgeable about plumbing, so I asked him. He said CLR. He advised me to put it in my dishwasher and run an empty cycle then down my kitchen drains. It worked! In fact, it worked so well, I took it outside and used it on a very old 3-speed bike I bought at a rummage sale for $3. The back fender is looking good but I have to go get more now.

Sweetpea3
Canal Winchester, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very poor.
5/6/2014

Customer review by johnny

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by johnny
by johnny

I use CLR on rust stains in my shower encloser. NOTHING!!! did not even budge the stains. I am very displeased with your product. I left it on for the required time, then longer, then longer. Did not do anything. I used Iron out. It has a bad order but one application and gone. I used CLR on the corrosion on the drain. Nothing happened. I wasted money again. Tried this a few years ago, thought I would give it a second try. Bad idea. Use it on tv, that is about the only place it really works.

johnny
Pound, Wis.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
removes effloresence on exposed aggregate
1/31/2015

Customer review by ozoneman

5.0 stars 1/31/2015 by ozoneman
by ozoneman

Picked up a small bottle dropped off at a household hazardous waste site (I started) in my area. Used it to test its use on the exposed aggregate floor in the sun room; the floor had effloreced over 15 years of being covered with a rug (and a pool table.) Following the dilution and rinsing instructions, CLR got rid of the mineral salt discoloration. The floor is dark brown, so cleaned of the white stain, it looks pretty good now.

ozoneman
Boogie Town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Anything stronger?
8/27/2014

Customer review by Lorikeet

1.0 stars 8/27/2014 by Lorikeet
by Lorikeet

I just tried CLR on a glass sink that has been showing hard water deposits, and it had no impact on them whatsoever. I'm wondering if Jelmar makes a stronger product for the same application (CLR was recommended by the sink manufacturer) or if there are other ways I could be using it. I tried a 50/50 water mix, letting it sit for 2 minutes as the bottle recommended, and then tried pure CLR for the same period. Neither worked...

Lorikeet
Valencia, Santa Clarita, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Product
8/24/2014

Customer review by 46947

4.0 stars 8/24/2014 by 46947
by 46947

I have always loved the quality of CLR. I have an issue with the commercial. No one on the commercial is wearing skin protection. One is seen dipping a rag into a bowl of CLR with their bare hand. This is misleading advertising. Knowing the acidic value of this product it's important to wear proper ppe. This commercial would make one to believe it's safe to use without gloves. Bad business decision...

46947
Logansport, In
Gender:Male
Removes rust from antiques
9/2/2014

Customer review by Elkwashere

4.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Elkwashere
by Elkwashere

I recently wrote a post about CLR because I used it to clean rust from an antique tray I had. I think I would let the CLR sit longer next time to ensure that I get all the rust off. Also maybe use a smaller pad to clean and make sure to get in corners. While this product does work, you still have to work hard and scrub! http://www.elkwashere.com/cleaning/getting-rid-rust-antiques/

Elkwashere
It "saved" my Shark Steam Mop
6/29/2014

Customer review by HappyCarolinaGirl

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by HappyCarolinaGirl
by HappyCarolinaGirl

my shark steamer stopped producing steam. I saw a video on the internet to use CLR to remove calcium deposits. I bought a bottle last night and was amazed after only a few minutes of putting the product in my steamer it was working. I was amazed since I had tried other options offered by the shark manufacturer. Can't wait to try it on other things around my home!!

HappyCarolinaGirl
South Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
CLR is Bad Very Powerful
7/22/2014

Customer review by MichaelKayne

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by MichaelKayne
by MichaelKayne

This chemical is hard core. This is great. I you wash your hands within an hour then everything is great. All is new. I just wish there was an Oh Sh^t section of the website. I have never had a problem probably because I research every chemical. Like 'lauramine oxide'. Chemistry is hard to understand so I hope they have an Oh Sh^t section soon!

MichaelKayne
Longview, TX, United States
Gender:Male
Very Tough on Rust
5/19/2014

Customer review by JWCote

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by JWCote
by JWCote

I have used CLR a few times in our bathroom and basement sinks. The product always does a great job of removing stains without too much work. It is easy to use and I would recommend it to others. I have also used their Mold and Mildew remover and it is just as good as the CLR. I look forward to trying their other products.

JWCote
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The top, including the sprayer, is impossible!
6/9/2014

Customer review by CJxxxx

1.0 stars 6/9/2014 by CJxxxx
by CJxxxx

I bought a new bottle of CLR and it has a defective spray. I tried to remove the bad spray and replace it with the old one. I have to use my nut cracker; however I cannot get the old one off. The sprayer is wimpy when it works and while the product is great I will not buy it again because of the sprayer.

CJxxxx
Arlington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
WARNING!
7/21/2014

Customer review by King

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by King
by King

Do not use this product on food preparation items! I just used it to de-calc a Capresso hot water pot and I cannot rid the pot of the nasty chemical smell or taste! I've used vinegar, baking soda, multiple washing/boilings, it does not seem to go away. Ruined a dependable top-quality appliance!

King
Berwyn, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Totally awesome.
12/10/2014

Customer review by Bob4816

5.0 stars 12/10/2014 by Bob4816
by Bob4816

My home is not connected to town water supply so I depend on bore water for all washing and gardening. As a result my kitchen sink gathers a build up of Calcium and nothing would shift this buildup until I tried CLR. Worked magic in just seconds. The proof is in the pudding.

Bob4816
Townsville City, Queensland, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
We've been using CLR for over 45 years!
4/28/2014

Customer review by sheldon1

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by sheldon1
by sheldon1

Ever since we bought our first house in Pell Lake WI, over 45 years ago we've been using CLR to get rid of the rust and calcium deposits that are in the water supply. Nothing else is nearly as effective. The newer environmentally friendly CLR has no odor and is safe to use.

sheldon1
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
OMG!!! awesome toilet crust cleaner!!
10/11/2014

Customer review by stella

5.0 stars 10/11/2014 by stella
by stella

I had thick build up of crusty stuff in the bowl that NO cleaner would touch. This worked completely. Took a little elbow grease and soaking but my nasty toilet is completely clean now. Will be using this once a month for maintaining now! Love it!!!

stella
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
SHOWER STALL
6/5/2014

Customer review by COWBOY5150

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by COWBOY5150
by COWBOY5150

I COVERED THE DRAIN IN MY SHOWER AND POURED C.L.R. IN AND ADDED WATER UNTIL THE FLOOR WAS COVERED. LET IT SET ALL DAY AND FLUSHED IT WITH WATER. LOOKS BRAND NEW. I'M GOING TO USE IT IN MY SEPTIC AND RV HOLDING TANK. GREAT PRODUCT.

COWBOY5150
Mariposa, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not for Coffee Maker - Yuk!
7/12/2014

Customer review by CoffeeLover

1.0 stars 7/12/2014 by CoffeeLover
by CoffeeLover

There is a chemical taste and smell after more than a dozen rinses of our coffee maker. Nasty! We might use this on toilets or showers but never again for a coffee maker.This was our first and last use of CLR in the kitchen..

CoffeeLover
Montana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Use it everywhere!
5/20/2014

Customer review by joanie

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by joanie
by joanie

I've been using CLR for years. It is great for removing rust stains and calcium deposits. I've saved rusted pliers, crusty faucets, and many other rusty or calcium encrusted utensils, etc. I always have it on hand.

joanie
Palmdale, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews