Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
41
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
29
1-20 of 167 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews
huge!!!
4/14/2011

Customer review by gabrielleh

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by gabrielleh
by gabrielleh

this is an awesome cooler, especially if you need the space. do yourself a favor and check the price in the store however. i got it the local walmart for $33.00 cheaper than online. glad i checked because sometimes online is cheaper or more expensive than in the actual store. :D

Was this review helpful? (81) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gabrielleh
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Just What I Needed
11/29/2010

Customer review by NPRFL34652

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by NPRFL34652
by NPRFL34652

I filled the cooler with frozen meat and drove from MN to Tampa. When I arrived 36 hours later the contents were still frozen rock-solid.

Was this review helpful? (119) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NPRFL34652
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
unexpected quality/performance
10/26/2012

Customer review by Finaddict

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Finaddict
by Finaddict

Purchased this cooler for late summer fishing vacation. I was a little tight on money so went with the cheaper/est cooler of size (100qt.+). I expected this cooler to be only low to mid grade performance because of price, BOY was I WRONG. on our first trip we used it for fish fillet and food storage. Outside daily temps near 80f. Used only 6 bags cubed ice which kept all food very cold for 5.5 days. Next trip we stored our food for a 10 day camping trip in it. We put 4 blocks ice on bottom and then stacked in food on top. Put in additional 2 bags cubed ice on top. With outside temps in mid-seventies I expected to need to re-ice around day 4 or so. 8 days after placing ice in chest we still had enough to keep food cool. This cooler keeps ice amazingly well for any cooler, let alone a "cheap" cooler. It is stoutly built and handles very well. The size allows for storage of a lot of product but not too much so you can still lift the fully packed cooler with two people. That becomes a problem with coolers larger than this one when fully loaded! Overall this cooler has surprised me again and again. Don't waste your hard earned money on any other expensive cooler! This one will perform at least as good as any higher priced model. Thanks Coleman for a wonderfully dependable piece of quality product at an awesome price! -GP Gaston

Was this review helpful? (60) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Finaddict
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/28/2011

Customer review by rocketenterline

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by rocketenterline
by rocketenterline

We must have got a lemon... The screws that hold on the lid fell out before we got to our camp ground ... then unloading to our camp site. one handle snaped in half. this was our first time to ever use it and we were very dissapointed. (all this with only about 40 drinks and a bag of ice inside well under the max ) so back to the store it goes!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocketenterline
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Cool Cooler
10/25/2010

Customer review by CanalGal

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by CanalGal
by CanalGal

This is a fantastic cooler. I checked around "a lot" with other companies selling this product. The only difference was in color options but Wal-Mart's price was fantastic. It arrived in perfect condition and as this was my first online order with Wal-Mart it certainly will not be my last. Thank you Wal-Mart very very much.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanalGal
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I love this cooler!
8/9/2011

Customer review by Chacconne

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Chacconne
by Chacconne

Just got back from 14 days in the Porcupine Mountain wilderness in Michigan's U.P. averaging 85 degree days, but 95 in the sun. I bought this cooler online for $50 and picked it up before we left. Since it was going to be our freezer, and have to sit in the van the whole time, I made a box of insulation (1/2" styrafoam w/shiny aluminum) to surround the outside of the cooler and kept it covered with blankets, towels & jackets. I set the cooler on top of 2 layers of insulation and placed a layer on the inside bottom of the cooler. I bought 56 lbs of dry ice ($62), surrounded it with the insulation and put that in the middle of the cooler. We packed all of our pre-made frozen meals (casseroles, lasagna, fried rice, bacon, sausage, yogurt, etc.) on either side and laid 4 frozen gallon jugs (2 per side) on top of the food. On top of that I put 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). Every other day we would swap out a gallon jug to go in our 36-qt cooler (same insulation set-up) and replace the meals we had eaten and also put cubed ice into our 12-can beverage cooler. On the 7th day, we still had a couple lbs of dry ice, meals were still frozen and we had solid ice in the jugs! I put a 10 lb block of ice ($3) on top of where the dry ice was and again covered everything with 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). It's been 16 days in all and there's still about 4 lbs of the block ice and about 6 lbs of cubed ice. Our lives camping used to be about planning an ice run every 48 hrs or so. Since the closest town is 17 miles away, this would've cost us almost $100 in gas and ice over the 2 weeks -- and nothing would've stayed frozen after the third day or so risking spoilage. Instead, we drove out for ice once and spent the days truly enjoying our surroundings and each other with no anxiety or time lost over our food safety or prep.

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chacconne
Livonia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
COLEMAN XTREME IS FOR ME!
5/6/2012

Customer review by Thisis4Sam

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Thisis4Sam
by Thisis4Sam

This cooler did the job and some. I used it for a two day event in Nevada and it kept the ice nice! By the end of the event, I still had some ice! I tested the Xtreme cooler, three days before using it. By placing one 10 lb. bag inside the cooler. The next day, I open it up and just with one small 10 lb. bag, the cooler was nice and cold and gave off a cool mist, (like when you open up your freezer at home). When you need to drain water from the cooler, the spout on the side, is just okay. Other then that, if you plan on bugging out, camping out, or serving out of this cooler. This is the one to get!!! The Xtreme 5, does just that, keeps everything cool for five days! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thisis4Sam
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Farmer's Market Coolers Extraodinary
6/29/2011

Customer review by TGFFolk

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by TGFFolk
by TGFFolk

These are well price pointed items that are very effective at keeping our produce fresh while at the markets. They can stand all day in the sun with little ice degradation. A couple things to keep in mind about these are....first, the hinges are not strong. They tend to break off by repeated use or by being caught on things. That said, they are easily bolted on with washers after this and can also be replaced with chain hinges. Not the most attractive thing in the world but it works. Secondly, the bottoms cannot be drug on the pavement without wearing through. Not something most have to worry about with a normal size cooler but when yours weighs in at 175 pounds, dragging becomes an attractive way to move them. Glue/Bolting skid plates on the bottoms makes them both easier to drag as well as truly the ultimate market cooler.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TGFFolk
Harvard, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME FOR THE $$$$
2/21/2012

Customer review by Mastermadcow

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Mastermadcow
by Mastermadcow

I purchased 2 of these ice chests because I was catering a friends wedding. I had to store 24 whole chickens raw in this ice chest for 2 days before I smoked them. I had 24 whole chickens and 1 10lb bag of ice in the ice chest, and after 48 hours I opened the ice chest and the bag of ice was still frozen solid!!!! Then, I had to transport all the cooked chicken back into the ice chest ( After it was thoroughly cleaned of course ) and keep the cooked meat overnight and half way through the next day. When I opened the ice chest back up steam and heat bellowed out of the ice chest. TOP NOTCH!!! I am going to purchase 3 more in the following weeks.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mastermadcow
Austin. TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Coleman Xtreme is extremely worth it.
1/16/2014

Customer review by Ronin48

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by Ronin48
by Ronin48

My wife bought this cooler for me for Christmas to take with me on a deer hunting trip down in MS. I shot 3 does, gutted, quartered and packed them in ice with room to spare. It fit my tow hitch cargo carrier like it was made for it. Very sturdy. The deer meat and ice was heavy, requiring a friend and myself to lift it using both hands. The handles gave no evidence of straining. I stored ice in it for 5 days and it didn't melt. It's really cool when something is advertised to do something and it really does what it claims. And the best thing, is the cost was less than $80. All in all, hard to beat, by anyone's standards.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronin48
Hendersonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good cooler for the price.
7/11/2012

Customer review by uplandhawaii

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by uplandhawaii
by uplandhawaii

I've used this in a 4 day fishing tournament to hold my meals and drinks and weekends for overnight fishing trips. Overall construction is good but the lid fit loosely in the beginning, now its a tight fit. I did not expect to move it around as it stayed in the back of my truck loaded with ice and food. Handles are strong enough to lift the cooler loaded in and out of my lifted pickup. I had 2 small blocks of ice covered with ice flakes, opening the cooler daily at least twice a day for food or water. The ice lasted 6 days with the drain left partially open. I wish it had a better drain plug, like the screw in caps instead of the push on cap. I would have liked to get the 150qt Extreme but they were out of stock. It seems the 150qt is pretty popular as it always seems to be out of stock. Other than that I can't complain, the price was right and it does a good job of keeping things cold.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uplandhawaii
Big Island Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great value
11/14/2013

Customer review by AintTellin

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by AintTellin
by AintTellin

I was in the need for a larger cooler and was looking for something in the 100 to 120 qt size. For almost the same price this was 20% bigger and was in the color I wanted along with the trusted Coleman name so I chose this one. I have only used it twice so far but it has taken everything the group has thrown at it ( yes actually THROWN at it ). We had 2 of us sitting on it ( 215+ lb man and 115 lb ish woman ) at the same time with no problem and the built in drink holders are nice. This will get used every week during the summer months and I have no doubts it will hold up as well as the other Coleman coolers I have. It holds a huge amount inside and I was surprised that 80 lbs of ice stayed frozen solid for 4 days, prechilled the cooler, added a layer of ice and then 300 or so lbs of game meat covered by the rest of the ice. Warning though, it gets HEAVY fast when filled! The strap inside that restricts how far the top opens tended to twist so it was caught under the lid but taking an extra 15 seconds to tuck it in when closing the lid cures that. The only thing it does not have that I wish it did is a latching lid but a cord from handle to handle works just as well. All in all I would recommend this to anyone that needs a huge amount of cooling space and cannot\will not spend 100's and 100's of dollars for an icebox fortress like Yeti or Pelican.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AintTellin
No Where, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If You Need a Big, Sturdy Cooler
4/21/2013

Customer review by Winningpoint

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Winningpoint
by Winningpoint

you can't go wrong with this one. The price on this was a great value. What I particularly like about these coolers (and I bought two of them) is the shape - not as long and thin as similarly sized cooler and I think easier to handle. There are no latches which I've found tend to break fairly quickly. The dark color (the white ones look dirty quickly). I used these to pick up a side of beef (about 150 lbs of meat). It fit easily in these with room for enough ice. They kept the meat solidly frozen for the 220 mile trip from the ranch to home. I couldn't be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winningpoint
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I am used to in a Coleman product
6/2/2014

Customer review by Lottafamcampin

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Lottafamcampin
by Lottafamcampin

We bought this cooler for the size and Coleman standard of reliability and durability. I was extremely disappointed. First use and the handle broke and cannot repair. Did not hold the ice as it said it would. Had it in the shade during upper 70 low 80 degree daytime weather and 3 bags of ice were water the next day> afternoon. Water was very cold though. As for the handle breaking, there are no wheels so we had to hand carry without help of one handle. Only items in cooler were the 3 bags of ice, 2 gallons of OJ, 1 gallon milk, 12 pack of cheese, small jar of mayo and one of mustard and a dozen boiled eggs. (planned on purchasing more upon arrival) This is nothing compared to what it should have been able to hold. For a Coleman product was highly disappointed. Do no recommend for durability.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lottafamcampin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's huge!
1/12/2011

Customer review by ptcruizin

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by ptcruizin
by ptcruizin

We received the cooler within 3 days for only 97 cents shipping! No problems and it looks well built. It's bigger than we thought but that's good. We intend to spend weekends boating and a cooler this size should keep everything cold from Friday through Sunday. If it doesn't, another review will follow.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ptcruizin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cooler for a party!
9/2/2012

Customer review by TheKingotu

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by TheKingotu
by TheKingotu

I purchased this cooler to keep drinks in for a party.. I loaded it up with beer, pop, water, etc. and filled it up with ice. The tag says it will keep things cold for up to 5 days. Now it was pretty hot for the week following the party, and the drinks left over inside the cooler were still cold and refreshing seven days later. This cooler is awesome....

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheKingotu
Hagerstown Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great cooler!!
8/17/2011

Customer review by lightlex

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by lightlex
by lightlex

the cooler is HUGE!!! it held everything +... the only thing that would of made this cooler PERFECT is if it had wheels...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lightlex
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
GREAT COOLER!
8/17/2011

Customer review by NewToCamping2011

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by NewToCamping2011
by NewToCamping2011

This cooler was great. It was hard to tell what size we would need by looking online. So, I ordered this one and a 75 quart one as well. We were only going camping for two days, but I knew that if we ever went for more then that, we would need the extra space. I'm not sure as the ice would actually last for a full 5 days, but I think you could stretch it to 4 days no problem. I was very happy with it and glad that we chose to keep this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewToCamping2011
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Do not buy!
7/9/2014

Customer review by dutchcountry

1.0 stars 7/9/2014 by dutchcountry
by dutchcountry

We bought this cooler before we went on vacation for a week. We used it for the week for our drinks while we were camping. It seemed to keep ice in it fairly good, but when we got home the lid fell off. This is a very poorly made cooler, the screws that hold on the lid are not long enough and they stripped right out! After one week of use this should not have happened. I called the company and they sent me new screws, that did me no good, since the holes were stripped out.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dutchcountry
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/7/2013

Customer review by Bigstuff8

4.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Bigstuff8
by Bigstuff8

We just spent 7.5 days in the heat from 110 degrees in the day to 78 at night. This cooler performed wonderfully. First day had put 2 blocks of ice, food, and 20lbs of crushed ice, only needed to put 40 more pounds of ice in the entire week. A 1/3 of each block of ice was left. Food stayed nice and cold. Only flaw was maybe from the heat and color, it seemed to sag in middle so the sides where they latch pop up a little but still latch. All in all love the size, price, cup holders and handles are strong. I'm thinking of getting one more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigstuff8
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews