Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 218 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

218 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

218 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
137
4 stars
43
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
29
1-20 of 183 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
COLEMAN XTREME IS FOR ME!
5/6/2012

Customer review by Thisis4Sam

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Thisis4Sam
by Thisis4Sam

This cooler did the job and some. I used it for a two day event in Nevada and it kept the ice nice! By the end of the event, I still had some ice! I tested the Xtreme cooler, three days before using it. By placing one 10 lb. bag inside the cooler. The next day, I open it up and just with one small 10 lb. bag, the cooler was nice and cold and gave off a cool mist, (like when you open up your freezer at home). When you need to drain water from the cooler, the spout on the side, is just okay. Other then that, if you plan on bugging out, camping out, or serving out of this cooler. This is the one to get!!! The Xtreme 5, does just that, keeps everything cool for five days! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thisis4Sam
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love this cooler!
8/9/2011

Customer review by Chacconne

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Chacconne
by Chacconne

Just got back from 14 days in the Porcupine Mountain wilderness in Michigan's U.P. averaging 85 degree days, but 95 in the sun. I bought this cooler online for $50 and picked it up before we left. Since it was going to be our freezer, and have to sit in the van the whole time, I made a box of insulation (1/2" styrafoam w/shiny aluminum) to surround the outside of the cooler and kept it covered with blankets, towels & jackets. I set the cooler on top of 2 layers of insulation and placed a layer on the inside bottom of the cooler. I bought 56 lbs of dry ice ($62), surrounded it with the insulation and put that in the middle of the cooler. We packed all of our pre-made frozen meals (casseroles, lasagna, fried rice, bacon, sausage, yogurt, etc.) on either side and laid 4 frozen gallon jugs (2 per side) on top of the food. On top of that I put 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). Every other day we would swap out a gallon jug to go in our 36-qt cooler (same insulation set-up) and replace the meals we had eaten and also put cubed ice into our 12-can beverage cooler. On the 7th day, we still had a couple lbs of dry ice, meals were still frozen and we had solid ice in the jugs! I put a 10 lb block of ice ($3) on top of where the dry ice was and again covered everything with 20 lbs of cubed ice ($4). It's been 16 days in all and there's still about 4 lbs of the block ice and about 6 lbs of cubed ice. Our lives camping used to be about planning an ice run every 48 hrs or so. Since the closest town is 17 miles away, this would've cost us almost $100 in gas and ice over the 2 weeks -- and nothing would've stayed frozen after the third day or so risking spoilage. Instead, we drove out for ice once and spent the days truly enjoying our surroundings and each other with no anxiety or time lost over our food safety or prep.

Was this review helpful? (44) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chacconne
Livonia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor craftsmanship
8/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I used this cooler one time and the lid screws pulled out from the main body of the cooler. Going back to igloo coolers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
wanted this for a cigar humidor
10/24/2011

Customer review by Cigarnivore

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Cigarnivore
by Cigarnivore

I'm sure this is a good cooler for the $. But, I wanted this for a cigar humidor. There is only one photo of this item online where the 150qt cooler has several and shows the inside of the cooler which has the notches for sliding in Spanish cedar shelves. This one didn't so now I must return it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cigarnivore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Good cooler for the price.
7/11/2012

Customer review by uplandhawaii

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by uplandhawaii
by uplandhawaii

I've used this in a 4 day fishing tournament to hold my meals and drinks and weekends for overnight fishing trips. Overall construction is good but the lid fit loosely in the beginning, now its a tight fit. I did not expect to move it around as it stayed in the back of my truck loaded with ice and food. Handles are strong enough to lift the cooler loaded in and out of my lifted pickup. I had 2 small blocks of ice covered with ice flakes, opening the cooler daily at least twice a day for food or water. The ice lasted 6 days with the drain left partially open. I wish it had a better drain plug, like the screw in caps instead of the push on cap. I would have liked to get the 150qt Extreme but they were out of stock. It seems the 150qt is pretty popular as it always seems to be out of stock. Other than that I can't complain, the price was right and it does a good job of keeping things cold.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uplandhawaii
Big Island Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great BIG cooler!!!
6/30/2016

Customer review by BlakeMac

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by BlakeMac
by BlakeMac

I bought this cooler three years ago to take on my fishing trip. In previous years I had to use several small coolers to bring back all the fish home. This cooler holds a lot of fish and anything else! I will keep frozen stuff frozen for 5 days just like it says. I recently moved and had a freezer full of meat. So we loaded up the cooler with 200 pounds of frozen meat and lugged it to my new house. The cooler held up, the handles did not break and the meat stayed frozen solid until I put it back in the freezer! This cooler was well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlakeMac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME FOR THE $$$$
2/21/2012

Customer review by Mastermadcow

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Mastermadcow
by Mastermadcow

I purchased 2 of these ice chests because I was catering a friends wedding. I had to store 24 whole chickens raw in this ice chest for 2 days before I smoked them. I had 24 whole chickens and 1 10lb bag of ice in the ice chest, and after 48 hours I opened the ice chest and the bag of ice was still frozen solid!!!! Then, I had to transport all the cooked chicken back into the ice chest ( After it was thoroughly cleaned of course ) and keep the cooked meat overnight and half way through the next day. When I opened the ice chest back up steam and heat bellowed out of the ice chest. TOP NOTCH!!! I am going to purchase 3 more in the following weeks.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mastermadcow
Austin. TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
huge!!!
4/14/2011

Customer review by gabrielleh

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by gabrielleh
by gabrielleh

this is an awesome cooler, especially if you need the space. do yourself a favor and check the price in the store however. i got it the local walmart for $33.00 cheaper than online. glad i checked because sometimes online is cheaper or more expensive than in the actual store. :D

Was this review helpful? (86) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabrielleh
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Cool Cooler
10/25/2010

Customer review by CanalGal

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by CanalGal
by CanalGal

This is a fantastic cooler. I checked around "a lot" with other companies selling this product. The only difference was in color options but Wal-Mart's price was fantastic. It arrived in perfect condition and as this was my first online order with Wal-Mart it certainly will not be my last. Thank you Wal-Mart very very much.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CanalGal
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Farmer's Market Coolers Extraodinary
6/29/2011

Customer review by TGFFolk

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by TGFFolk
by TGFFolk

These are well price pointed items that are very effective at keeping our produce fresh while at the markets. They can stand all day in the sun with little ice degradation. A couple things to keep in mind about these are....first, the hinges are not strong. They tend to break off by repeated use or by being caught on things. That said, they are easily bolted on with washers after this and can also be replaced with chain hinges. Not the most attractive thing in the world but it works. Secondly, the bottoms cannot be drug on the pavement without wearing through. Not something most have to worry about with a normal size cooler but when yours weighs in at 175 pounds, dragging becomes an attractive way to move them. Glue/Bolting skid plates on the bottoms makes them both easier to drag as well as truly the ultimate market cooler.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TGFFolk
Harvard, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/28/2011

Customer review by rocketenterline

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by rocketenterline
by rocketenterline

We must have got a lemon... The screws that hold on the lid fell out before we got to our camp ground ... then unloading to our camp site. one handle snaped in half. this was our first time to ever use it and we were very dissapointed. (all this with only about 40 drinks and a bag of ice inside well under the max ) so back to the store it goes!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rocketenterline
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Just What I Needed
11/29/2010

Customer review by NPRFL34652

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by NPRFL34652
by NPRFL34652

I filled the cooler with frozen meat and drove from MN to Tampa. When I arrived 36 hours later the contents were still frozen rock-solid.

Was this review helpful? (121) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NPRFL34652
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not what I am used to in a Coleman product
6/2/2014

Customer review by Lottafamcampin

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Lottafamcampin
by Lottafamcampin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this cooler for the size and Coleman standard of reliability and durability. I was extremely disappointed. First use and the handle broke and cannot repair. Did not hold the ice as it said it would. Had it in the shade during upper 70 low 80 degree daytime weather and 3 bags of ice were water the next day> afternoon. Water was very cold though. As for the handle breaking, there are no wheels so we had to hand carry without help of one handle. Only items in cooler were the 3 bags of ice, 2 gallons of OJ, 1 gallon milk, 12 pack of cheese, small jar of mayo and one of mustard and a dozen boiled eggs. (planned on purchasing more upon arrival) This is nothing compared to what it should have been able to hold. For a Coleman product was highly disappointed. Do no recommend for durability.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lottafamcampin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buyer beware
7/24/2014

Customer review by fsstnotch

1.0 stars 7/24/2014 by fsstnotch
by fsstnotch

We bought this cooler a couple weeks ago before a camping trip to replace our old smaller coleman cooler. Boy were we disappointed. First, one of the handles broke off on the trailer driving to camp. Then, while a buddy cradled the underside and I carried it by the other handle into the cabin the 2nd handle broke off. I wouldn't be upset if it was overfilled but it had enough pop cans to fill the bottom layer, about 3lbs of lunch meat and ice in it. I rigged up some handles with rope thinking, "oh well I'll just use rope handles as long as it stays cool, thats fine." we got to camp around 9pm thursday, stayed in an air conditioned cabin, and by 4pm friday the cooler had no ice. Cold water yes, but no ice. The smaller cooler that this was bought to replace, sat in my Jeep in the 100 degree oklahoma sun and it had ice until saturday. I would not recommend this cooler to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fsstnotch
Would recommend to a friend? No
great cooler!!
8/17/2011

Customer review by lightlex

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by lightlex
by lightlex

the cooler is HUGE!!! it held everything +... the only thing that would of made this cooler PERFECT is if it had wheels...

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lightlex
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Do not buy!
7/9/2014

Customer review by dutchcountry

1.0 stars 7/9/2014 by dutchcountry
by dutchcountry

We bought this cooler before we went on vacation for a week. We used it for the week for our drinks while we were camping. It seemed to keep ice in it fairly good, but when we got home the lid fell off. This is a very poorly made cooler, the screws that hold on the lid are not long enough and they stripped right out! After one week of use this should not have happened. I called the company and they sent me new screws, that did me no good, since the holes were stripped out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dutchcountry
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT COOLER!
8/17/2011

Customer review by NewToCamping2011

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by NewToCamping2011
by NewToCamping2011

This cooler was great. It was hard to tell what size we would need by looking online. So, I ordered this one and a 75 quart one as well. We were only going camping for two days, but I knew that if we ever went for more then that, we would need the extra space. I'm not sure as the ice would actually last for a full 5 days, but I think you could stretch it to 4 days no problem. I was very happy with it and glad that we chose to keep this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewToCamping2011
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great cooler for a party!
9/2/2012

Customer review by TheKingotu

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by TheKingotu
by TheKingotu

I purchased this cooler to keep drinks in for a party.. I loaded it up with beer, pop, water, etc. and filled it up with ice. The tag says it will keep things cold for up to 5 days. Now it was pretty hot for the week following the party, and the drinks left over inside the cooler were still cold and refreshing seven days later. This cooler is awesome....

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheKingotu
Hagerstown Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good for cooling
6/1/2013

Customer review by Smurfy2005

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Smurfy2005
by Smurfy2005

We bought two to carry frozen products from distributor to business. It was about an hour and a half in the cooler. All was still just as frozen as when we picked it up!! and I fit both in the back of the PT Cruiser,,,Real good for cooling. But didn't they say it was easy to carry?? I did have to drag it up to the porch and up the ramp. Something this big (and I am glad it was big) really needs to have at least two wheels on one end. That is the only problem I see on this. Except that in the store (didn't order on-line) it cost $2.88 more...but still an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smurfy2005
Nacogdoches, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome cooler
8/3/2012

Customer review by djnascar48

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by djnascar48
by djnascar48

This cooler we had in our tent and used it as our "refrigerator" on a 3 day camping trip that was over 90 degrees. The cooler kept everything very cold and we were handing out ice because everyone elses cooler was melted within a day. This hold a ton of ice and food product. I would recommend to anyone and allot of our friends are gonna go buy one for the next trip. I just wished it had wheels, gets heavy cause it's so big, but two people can carry it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djnascar48
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews