Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 282 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
73
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 stars
38
1-20 of 208 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews
DO NOT BUY....YOU WILL BE SORRY
8/8/2011

Customer review by kenlred

1.0 stars 8/8/2011 by kenlred
by kenlred

I bought two just before a trip to the mountains, replacing decent coolers that I already had...but, I was convinced that with the 5 day "holding" ice advertisement I thought I was in great shape...kept them in the shade...but in their defense it is August...took 20-30 pound of Ice between the two coolers each day...I was in the Smokey Mountains of N.C. I feel strongly enough with this opinion I have written Coleman...which I believe is or should be a trusted, I read reviews and rarely if ever have a negative response, I would prefer a middle of the road response...this cooler is thumbs down....unless everyone else got a different cooler as in production date I do not know ....but, I will be very guarded on any Coleman purchase until I learn better...if the advertisement on the cooler said fair to decent cooler...I would not taken the time to have written this...but, this says keeps ice for 5 days....maybe dry ice covered with a blanket....K

Was this review helpful? (25) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenlred
N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
ok if using in cooler weather
10/28/2010

Customer review by bttrfly

4.0 stars 10/28/2010 by bttrfly
by bttrfly

I bought this for a four day camping trip, and I put things in it frozen and put 2 bags of ice in it also, by the 3rd day the food was still verrrryyyy cold but not frozen, and my ice was 1/4 melted and this was in 56-70 degree days and 36-45 at night. I can't imagine this keeping things cool for 5 days in 90 degree weather like it claims. I bought this because of owning an extreme coleman cooler in the past. But I guess anymore nothing is made like it was in the past. things are made cheap. however i do like the size and the wheels and the pull handle. But I do wish the handles on the side were hinged handles and not these plastic things on the cooler that are more like grip areas. I would and wouldn't recommend this. hot weather no, but cool weather worked for what I needed it to. Thought it would have done better because of the coleman name and it being an extreme.

Was this review helpful? (110) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bttrfly
NEWARK,DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good cooler, but doesn't do what it says!
9/14/2011

Customer review by Copasta

3.0 stars 9/14/2011 by Copasta
by Copasta

I bought this cooler to use in my tractor trailer. Being an Over the Road driver, I was compelled to purchase this cooler based on the "Keeps Ice for Five Days in 90 degrees" claim. Well, after using it my first week, I have come to the conclusion that this cooler, in fact, does NOT keep ice for 5 days! As a matter of fact, I filled two plastic cereal containers with water, froze them, and put them in the cooler with some other freezer packs, expecting to make it through the week on those! In normal weather only reaching the mid 70's in daytime and down to 50's and 60's at night here in the northeast, the ice was melted within a day and a half! And I keep my air conditioner in the truck on at all times, so the air was alot cooler than outside! It is a nice cooler, just doesn't do what it says! I am very dissapointed with it in that regard!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Copasta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awful.
8/17/2011

Customer review by Steckel

1.0 stars 8/17/2011 by Steckel
by Steckel

Not many rolling luggage-style coolers available, but of those that are out there, this is the most cheaply made. I own the MaxCold, also by Coleman, which is much better made, but not very cold (ironically, there's not much "max" to that "cold"). Igloo makes one too, which is much sturdier than this one and much colder than the MaxCold. As for this one, it is plenty effective as a cooler, but the handle and the wheels are cheaply made. After the first trip out, the axle of the wheel bent on mine, and now when I pull it, it doesn't want to roll straight. Very frustrating for a cooler that cost more just because of the rolling feature. Blah. Ended up buying the Igloo to replace it, and really wished I'd have bought that one first instead. Coleman, why is half of your stuff really great while the other half is junk? Buying your products is always such a gamble, and I'm getting kinda sick of it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steckel
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Product, Good Value
12/17/2010

Customer review by MissJillieBeans

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by MissJillieBeans
by MissJillieBeans

I used this for a holiday party for sodas and beer and as a dry run for camping. It was 75 or so inside where it was stored and it was opened quite a few times. I had a jumbo bag of ice in there and everything stayed nice and cold and got cold quickly. Three days after, there was still ice water inside, though mostly melted -- the top wasn't mindfully closed. 5 days later, the cans and bottles that were still in there were slightly warmer than refrigerator cold and the ice was all water. The lid seems a little stubborn to open but other than that, I love that it rolls and I love that the handles are molded into the body because when you get 50 quarts of anything, you're tempting fate by asking bolt-on plastic handles to help do the hauling. Bottom line about functionality: most likely, you're going to have to replace ice after 4 days unless the lid is rarely opened. I think it's a good deal for the price, mobility and cool factor. Do understand that the wheel base takes up a decent amount of room inside. You don't have the whole rectangle to work with as I thought I might. I do wish it were bigger inside without the wonky wheel hub.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissJillieBeans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bargain
6/24/2011

Customer review by MissyPeaJay

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by MissyPeaJay
by MissyPeaJay

Just needed second cooler for camping. Boys all grown so i wanted something I could fill and manage on my own. Easy to control. Side handles are indented so no worry about falling off. Lid was a little hard to open at first, but then realized I liked that. Lid needs to be secured for ice not to melt. If not, then ice will not last 24 hrs. I love that it drains in the back. Overall, Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissyPeaJay
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Very nice cooler.
6/17/2011

Customer review by NickoB

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by NickoB
by NickoB

Very nice cooler. You need to make sure the lid is completly closed in order to longest cooling period out of your ice. Also check the drain plug before buying. I found two coolers were the plugs were ripped off.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickoB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome cooler
4/27/2011

Customer review by PrudentFrugalShopper

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by PrudentFrugalShopper
by PrudentFrugalShopper

This cooler is great! Not only does it have a long handle, wheels and cup holders on the top, but it keeps the ice frozen for a really long time! I absolutely love this product and highly recommend it!! It's well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (75) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrudentFrugalShopper
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect height for a truck with a bedcover
7/12/2011

Customer review by Sackattack

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Sackattack
by Sackattack
Top 500 contributor

I drive my Silverado SS when I take the family on trips and I wanted the biggest cooler with wheels, that would fit in the back of my truck that has a fiberglass bed cover. This was the biggest and cheapest wheeled cooler that I found that wasn't too tall to interfere with closing the bed cover. I also have a Bedrug and the max height for clearance is around 17.5". If you have a fullsize truck with a bed cover, then I recommend you to look at this cooler. Also. with it being an Xtreme model, it keeps things cooler longer, which is perfect for a long road trip.

Was this review helpful? (65) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sackattack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 500 contributor
COOL COOLER
2/17/2011

Customer review by PhoenixRover

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by PhoenixRover
by PhoenixRover

Excellent size and shape, holds ice for a very long time in moderate temps- Have yet to see it in action during a Phoenix, Arizona Summer. Handle is a little shaky, especially if cooler if full of ice cold, bottles of beer, which happens to be the case with mine 99% of the time it's being used! Careful not to put too much pressure on it, as it bends a tad. Overall, very happy with the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhoenixRover
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Cooler
11/10/2010

Customer review by softballrn

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by softballrn
by softballrn

Great cooler. the lid seals very tightly and keeps products cold.

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
softballrn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the Greatest
8/11/2011

Customer review by turtlesoup610

3.0 stars 8/11/2011 by turtlesoup610
by turtlesoup610

We left on a road trip Sunday- everything I had in the cooler was previously refrigerated. We had to add ice that evening. It didn't completely melt until Wednesday. We don't have kids- so it wasn't a bunch of kids getting into it. Plus the lid was VERY difficult to open. I read the reviews- and kept seeing that- but figured it was a bunch of pansies. LoL I don't think a small kid could open it and I could barely open it. The handle grips on the front- (to pull open) and the ones on the side are lacking. I know it's a pull along cooler- but there is still some times you need to carry it and there is no real good grip hold. I would not recommend this cooler. Functionality of the cooler itself is ok- but the actual design of it sucks. I wish I would have stayed with an Igloo.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turtlesoup610
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
MisLeading Advertising
9/22/2012

Customer review by harleyhalo

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by harleyhalo
by harleyhalo

Cooler states on label "Keeps ice up to 5 days at temperatures up to 90 degrees"...How can a company do that...everyone should be given their money back and Coleman should be made to give us a cooler that does what they advertise it will do...I think they forgot to put the insulation in this cooler.. I bought 2 one from walmart and one from the coleman outlet store both are suppose to be the same coolers but they were different colors and cost different, one had a top that snapped tighter than the other... I tested both of these at the same time.. they were tested with the same type, style and amount of ice. They remained on my front porch in no sunlight in daytime temps in highs of 77's and nightime temps in lows of 54's during Sep 19-21 in SC....They were only opened when i would check them once or twice a day..... The ice last 2 days and 3hours b4 it was completely melted.. It prob would not have lasted a day in 90 degree weather.. so how can a company advertise this cooler "Keeps ice up to 5 days at temperatures up to 90 degrees".. They must be talking about that dry ice stuff... So dont ruin your meats and foods with this cooler thinking it will last 5 days ...not even 3 in 70/55 degree weather..

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harleyhalo
Laurens, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
bad product
6/24/2012

Customer review by trav3491

1.0 stars 6/24/2012 by trav3491
by trav3491

i work construction so the idea of a cooler that holds ice for the week was what i wanted i purchased the cooler on tuesday evening around 10 pm i filled itwith my drinks and a large bag of ice with overnight tempsnot excedding 70 and no one opening it but still by 8 am i was opening it for thefirst time and no ice i called the mfg to find out the deal and was told this is made for walmart and walmart cheapened it up with a non insulated lid and to return it to the store they do not back this product

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trav3491
dayton oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/30/2012

Customer review by Steven27

1.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Steven27
by Steven27

I bought this cooler for a camping trip. I chose it becuse of this line..."The Coleman Xtreme cooler is built to keep ice for up to five days in 90 degree F weather." That is not true. We put ice in it in the morning and by the time we reached our destination it was already half water. We were gone for 3 days with temps in the low 80's and went through 2 bags of ice. Food wasnt all that cold either. Great price for a large cooler, but not worth it. I want a cooler that REALLY keeps the ice for up tp 5 days.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steven27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awful
7/3/2011

Customer review by JJJJ3333

1.0 stars 7/3/2011 by JJJJ3333
by JJJJ3333

I was dissappointed after filling this cooler with to the top with ice, most had melted after a day and half. Another draw back is when you extend the handle and begin to pull it, the melted ice water began leaking out the back of the lid because there is no true gasket to prevent the water from leaking out. The lid itself does not seem to be insulated whats so ever which I am sure seems to be a part of why the ice melted so quickly on a 82 degree day. Lastly the drain is in an inconvient spot and is difficult to get your hand into to remove the plug.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJJJ3333
Would recommend to a friend? No
No thank you on this product
6/26/2012

Customer review by 5324

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by 5324
by 5324

I will pay better attention to reviews I read before purchasing items in the future. I purchased and returned the Coleman Xtreem 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler. Product faults... It is cheaply made. The pull up handle did not lock in position when extended. It did not hold ice for 24 hours let alone 5 days. No wonder as the lid is not insulated. The handles on the sides are not much of a handle making them difficult to grab and use. The location of the drain plug is difficult to get to. Products positives... The wheels rolled easily. The cup holders on the lid were helpful. Lid closed tightly. Overall the cooler is a cooler and if you are willing to be satisfied with the faults so be it. I thought I would be, but after the ice melted so rapidly and ice cost as much as it does I was not a happy customer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5324
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great cooler for soccer tournaments and camping
8/8/2011

Customer review by ctkg99

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by ctkg99
by ctkg99

I love my inexpensive cooler! We bought this cooler to take along to summer travel soccer games and camping. We were drawn to the wheels and expandable handle on back side, perfect for placing an extra bag or tote on top. The cooler was great!!! The wheels are sturdy and can be used over grass. I liked the placement of the handle which is firmly retractable, not flimsy or loose. The cooler kept ice and food cold longer than any cooler I have had in the past and the water drainage spout is in an ideal location in line with the handle for easy draining. I camped for a weekend and only had to buy one bag of ice. The lid stays on tight. I even dropped the cooler in the garage from it's storage shelf and there was no wear, mark or breakage! I should have gotten two!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ctkg99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good overall design.
9/18/2012

Customer review by Pyrusticia

4.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Pyrusticia
by Pyrusticia

We've taken this thing on two camping trips now, and are pleased with it. It does a great job keeping stuff cold (filled it with ice at the beginning of a 3-day trip, and didn't need to add more ice for the whole trip). The wheels are large enough to roll over dirt and moderate rocks. The plug is well-placed, and it's very easy to drain the cooler simply by opening the plug and tilting it back using the telescoping handle. That being said, the telescoping handle is the one thing keeping this from being a 5-star rating. It's a little bit on the short side. My wife (who is 5'4") has no trouble using the handle to haul the cooler around, even when it's full of stuff. However, when I try to do it, I end up either stooping over while I walk, or just giving up and picking the thing up and carrying it. And I'm only about average height for a guy (5'9"). So I'd strongly recommend this cooler if you're a little shorter, but if you're my height or above, don't even bother factoring in the telescoping handle when deciding whether or not to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pyrusticia
Riverton, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lid hard to open
5/16/2011

Customer review by BittleGirl

3.0 stars 5/16/2011 by BittleGirl
by BittleGirl

Nice cooler and okay for the money, but it takes both hands to get the lid open--you really have to pull hard to open it. Kind of annoying!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BittleGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews