Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 493 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

493 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

493 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
377
4 stars
69
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
37
1-20 of 480 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 480 total reviews
1-20 of 480 reviews
What Happened To My April Fresh Scent?!?!?!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Flowers4Happiness

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Flowers4Happiness
by Flowers4Happiness

I've been a faithful Downy user for more then 35 years and have always loved this product. Yesterday I opened a new bottle and was overwhelmed with the floral scent. I thought I had incorrectly purchased a scent other then original April Fresh Downy, but no I hadn't. Why has the scent changed? It still performs great on static, softness, and wrinkles, but the scent is so overbearing I'm unable to wear clothes that have been rinsed in it. Please bring back the tried and true original April Fresh scent we all have loved for years... From the reviews its very apparent I'm not the only one that feels this way. Let's hope P & G hears our pleas and brings back the scent we've all known and loved for decades. I'll keep checking reviews in the hope that the original scent returns, but until it does I won't be purchasing Downy again. So disappointed to say goodbye to a favorite product I've loved for years.

Flowers4Happiness
Cedar Rapids, IA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Downy Experience
12/16/2015

Customer review by quintaj99

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by quintaj99
by quintaj99

I have used Downy before, but normally when I find it on sale, but I always prefer liquid fabric softener over softener sheets. Using the Downy again just reminded me of how great it is over other fabric softeners. I just love the scents available and the original scent also has a fresh clean scent that just leaves my clothing smelling great for days. The way I use my fabric softener is with a downy ball in my washer machine during the washing cycle. I have found that using the ball takes the guess work out of remembering to add later in the cycle. I found also that the scent of the Downy last longer on my clothing than other fabric softeners. Downy is not expensive, but I can buy other softeners cheaper, and even coupons for the Downy are normally $.50 and really do not help. That's my only real con to the Downy is the price. I tested the Downy softener for free, but all opinions are my own.

quintaj99
Sherwood, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Multiple Uses, Same Results = Wonderful!
11/14/2015

Customer review by mmbrad02

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by mmbrad02
by mmbrad02

We have tried this product for multiple purposes at our house and it was been wonderful for everything! First off, my daughter had a box full of My Little Pony dolls with frizzy hair that we had been unable to do anything with. She would often comment that they were no longer beautiful and as a result, no longer wanted to play with them. However, Downy came to the rescue! Equal parts of Downy and water made combing the pony's hair manageable, and today we have nice smooth manes and tails! So thankful this product brought toys back to life that otherwise would have ended up in our yard sale pile. Bonus is the the wonderful scent our pony's now have! Secondly, we love this product for laundry! From my daughters clothes to bed sheets, we love how soft our clothes feel! And the smell is delightful! I received and tested this Downy Fabric softener for free, but the opinions are mine. Would highly recommend this product!

mmbrad02
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The new smell is beyond offensive!
1/10/2016

Customer review by Alex163

2.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Alex163
by Alex163

Even though Downy still delivers as far as softness, etc., the new smell is horrible! I started to notice it late last year and thought it was my color safe bleach. My husband developed an allergy to whatever it is they've added. The smell is overpowering and I still find clothes and sheets that have that nasty smell. I'm seeing newer reviews about how wonderful the new scent is, and quite honestly, I don't believe them. It smells like a toilet mint. Seriously. A toilet mint - and it never, ever fades away until you rewash it. It also leaves kind of a lanolin type feeling on your skin and hands - and not in a pleasant way. Bottom line - excellent product before they "improved" it. Please - go back to the old way. Who decided this was a good idea - lol? Sheesh!

Alex163
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
I used to Iove Downy
11/4/2015

Customer review by Kevin

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

I used to really, really Iove your former product. Downy April Fresh. My Great Grandmother used Downy, My Grandmother used Downy, My mom used Downy and I used Downy. The scent was wonderful and left things smelling really fresh and clean. Sadly, it appears you've elminated the scent altogether. Every single bottle being made had this really, really strong new scent of Downy.... And it's radically different. Like a cheap perfume that's really really sweet. I went to four stores tonight and was able to locate seven bottles of the Old Downy with the old scent. But once they are gone... I'll probably stop using Downy altogether. I just don't understand why you guys would change the scent. This is Downy. It was amazing as it was, why did it need to change? I hope you guys will consider switching it back although I'm sure it won't happen. It's just disappointing. This was a wonderful product and it's now ruined.

Kevin
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love all the Downy scents
12/18/2015

Customer review by Sylvia22886

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Sylvia22886
by Sylvia22886

I have tried many kinds of fabric softeners from cheaper to pricer but here recently Downy is my go to ! Now many fabric softener promise that the scent will last for weeks only to disappoint me and fade with in a few day. : '/ However Downy scent actually last at least almost 2 weeks I'd say I've noticed for sure. That is a big reason I have decided Downy is our go to softener from now on. They also have many scents so you are sure to find one you love. I received a sample size bottle of April Fresh in my #PumpkinVoxBox for free to test and give my honest review. Now to be honest o do love the smell , the softness and everything about it but I have found a scent I liked a little more . Downy Infusion Lavender Serenity but even so I keep both in the house because April Fresh smells amazing too.

Sylvia22886
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Smells
1/18/2016

Customer review by hans1436

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by hans1436
by hans1436

I used to love this product, however since they had changed the smell I will no longer buy it. Since they have changed the product to protect it sinks. I did one load of laundry and all the clothes smell so bad. I had to wash 4 more time with draft to get the smell out and it still has a slight sink. I am so bummed out used to love this product. Talked with my sister in another state and she is having the same issue.

hans1436
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Smells and feels terrific!
12/16/2015

Customer review by Skarlitmcgrady

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Skarlitmcgrady
by Skarlitmcgrady

Ultra Downy April Fresh Liquid Fabric Conditioner blew me away. I didn't think that it would be much different than the products that I had been using, boy was I wrong. Upon opening the bottle the smell was fabulous. I added the softener to my laundry and the whole house smelling wonderful while I was doing laundry. As I was pulling the clothes out of the dryer, I immediately noticed how soft and fluffy the towels were (yes, I purposefully used it on the towels). Days later I could walk into the bathroom and smell my Downy. It is a new staple in my laundry room supply cupboard. I did receive the sample and tried the product free. And it was well worth it. I will buy the product and recommend it to all I see.

Skarlitmcgrady
Troutdale VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
softness you can feel
11/24/2015

Customer review by smaddox

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by smaddox
by smaddox

***I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes only. These are my honest opinions and I was not paid for anything*** Downy although it is scented it didn’t break out their skin or cause any irritation. The smell is amazing. It’s just like the commercial. You just put the clothes up to your face and smell it. I know that when I wash my sheets I just fall face first on the bed. The sheets are still warm and the scent is amazing. It doesn’t stain clothes or anything. The little bottle Influenster put in the box was enough to last me like 10 loads. It wasn’t all that big. A small amount goes a very long way even in big loads. I know it might be hard to tell but everything feels a lot softer. I know for some stuff I have to air dry and they still feel soft even after they dry.

smaddox
monterey, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Will give 5 stars if original scent returns
1/7/2016

Customer review by Kp41

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Kp41
by Kp41

Been using Downy April Fresh for years-at least 35. My mom always used in our laundry and friends would complement me on how good my clothes smelled!! Please bring back the original scent!!! The new fragrance is too strong..smells like cologne, not fresh clean laundry. Product has also become too watery. Will definitely switch if original fragrance doesn't return...so sad!!!!!

Kp41
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
love it
1/22/2016

Customer review by Casey

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Casey
by Casey

Smells good and keeps my clothes fresh

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Casey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I hate the new smell!
1/5/2016

Customer review by Kelley25

1.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Kelley25
by Kelley25

I am so disappointed that you changed the original scent. It has always been such a great and reliable product and I always was complemented on the smell of my house after washing clothes as well as my clothes. Now I hate the smell! There is nothing original about it!!

Kelley25
Easton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is a must have!!!
12/10/2015

Customer review by Strideswife

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Strideswife
by Strideswife

I used Downy for the first time and i love this product. I will never buy anything else again. This product worked very well for my family and I! It left my clothes smelling amazing and fresh. The scent does last a long time. With 3 small children and playing sports it is nice to have their clothes smelling fresh and clean and long lasting! Downy will forever be a keeper in our home. I have not found many products like this one that the scent actually lasts long. Some products smell amazing but the scent doesn't last and with Downy softener it DOES last a long time. Kept my clothes fluffy and soft as well. Thanks Downy! *** I tested Downy Softener for free but all opinions our my own***

Strideswife
East Alton, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smells like Spring!
12/18/2015

Customer review by chalupa8525

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by chalupa8525
by chalupa8525

I really never used Downy before so I was excited when Influenster sent me a adorable little bottle for testing purposes. I am so in love with how soft my sheets,sweaters and towels are thanks to it. My sheets are a bit old and Ultra Downy April Fresh made them feel like they are brand new plus the smell fills my house & of course my laundry, feels like spring! The flowery yet not overwhelming scent is so amazing! If you aren't using this you are truly missing out! Even through I received this for testing purposes my opinion is my own!

chalupa8525
Altoona Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor packaging
1/14/2016

Customer review by Greg

3.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Greg
by Greg

Ordered 6 one was leaking. Packaging was not the best

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great scent, not too overpowering!
12/10/2015

Customer review by Tara203

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Tara203
by Tara203

This fabric softener is terrific! My husband complains his uniforms are too stiff so I used Downy to attempt too "soften" them and after my first use it made a difference, after a few there was a noticable differance. Also my husband works in law enforcement and doesn't want to smell life "flowers" and this scent was perfect, it leaves a slight scent but not overpowering. I also have twins with sensitive skin so I have to be careful what I use and thankfully not only did it pass the hubby test but the twins also. I will definitely continue to use. I received this product for free for review purpose . This is my opinion!

Tara203
Cheshire, ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eliminates strong odors!
12/8/2015

Customer review by AlwaysKatie

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by AlwaysKatie
by AlwaysKatie

I received a sample of this product for free from Influenster, in exchange for my honest review. I had a huge tub of clothes that I let sit for a couple of years. The clothes had been packed since we lived in an apartment whose previous tenant smoked like a chimney, so they were packed away already smelling bad and came out smelling worse. For the last year, I've washed items but they never stayed smelling good. The stale smoke smell always came back. One wash with our low-scent homemade detergent and this Downy product, and my favorite Christmas shirts smell totally normal again, and have stayed that way for a few weeks! I'm so thrilled!

AlwaysKatie
Monroe, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Downy is amazing!
12/17/2015

Customer review by cremesoda34

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by cremesoda34
by cremesoda34

I have always been a downy fan and one thing I can say is their products continue to get better every time. I used this on my white clothes as I want super soft whites and using bleach that makes clothes stiff I knew this is what I needed to try it on. My first impression was when I opened the dryer and the wonderful fresh scent was fabulous. I then reached in and I did not feel stiff crunchy clothes , instead I grabbed soft clothes that felt like silk. I will never use another brand. Nothing compares to Downy.

cremesoda34
Per,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 480 total reviews
1-20 of 480 reviews