Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 517 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

517 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

517 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
388
4 stars
72
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
47
1-20 of 504 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 504 total reviews
1-20 of 504 reviews
Mrs.
8/2/2016

Customer review by Cooked

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Cooked
by Cooked
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Downy is the only fabric softener I will use in my laundry. it gets your close soft, static free, and smell great. A little goes a long way It is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cooked
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New smell is horribe for April fresh
8/13/2016

Customer review by Jd1981

1.0 stars 8/13/2016 by Jd1981
by Jd1981

I have used this product for years until now. I hate the new smell. It smells horrible. Bring the old scent back!

Jd1981
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
pricey fabric sofener does as advertized
7/21/2016

Customer review by Sparky44

4.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Sparky44
by Sparky44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

clothes feel softer and smell better than the cheaper brands I think it is still overpriced

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sparky44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Downey Fabric Softener
8/14/2016

Customer review by Cookie

5.0 stars 8/14/2016 by Cookie
by Cookie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is the only fabric softener that I use. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing product Innovation
7/12/2016

Customer review by Chandra

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Chandra
by Chandra

My husband got 5-6 superman/superheroes towel for home usage and all were folded like paper napkin.When I tried opening each towel OMG it was so crumpled and hard and I was so upset and almost screamed at my husband for having such insane love for superheroes that he even got kitchen towels of their print and now I have to handle this. After this my husband suggested me to try Downy for softening and you will not believe this product creates miracle.I took picture and wanted to write reviews so that others should also try and use this product

Chandra
Celebration,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality
8/1/2016

Customer review by Ayesha

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Ayesha
by Ayesha

This size container for this price is very good. Downy is a great product that works well with making smelly clothes refreshed and fluffy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ayesha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it ! Can't stop smelling my laundry
7/21/2016

Customer review by Keona24

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Keona24
by Keona24

I love it ! My laundry smells wonderful and it's so soft ! Omg

Keona24
Virginia Beach, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This really is deodorant for your clothes!
6/28/2016

Customer review by StefanieInfluenster

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by StefanieInfluenster
by StefanieInfluenster

I used this in my laundry today and my clothes smell fantastic, I can really tell a difference between the intensity of the scent from the brand that I was previously using. It has "motion-activated fresheners that neutralize bad odors with with a fresh scent as as you move through your day." I absolutely love it! I received this product from Influenster for testing purposes but all opinions are my own.

StefanieInfluenster
Green, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What Happened To My April Fresh Scent?!?!?!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Flowers4Happiness

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Flowers4Happiness
by Flowers4Happiness

I've been a faithful Downy user for more then 35 years and have always loved this product. Yesterday I opened a new bottle and was overwhelmed with the floral scent. I thought I had incorrectly purchased a scent other then original April Fresh Downy, but no I hadn't. Why has the scent changed? It still performs great on static, softness, and wrinkles, but the scent is so overbearing I'm unable to wear clothes that have been rinsed in it. Please bring back the tried and true original April Fresh scent we all have loved for years... From the reviews its very apparent I'm not the only one that feels this way. Let's hope P & G hears our pleas and brings back the scent we've all known and loved for decades. I'll keep checking reviews in the hope that the original scent returns, but until it does I won't be purchasing Downy again. So disappointed to say goodbye to a favorite product I've loved for years.

Flowers4Happiness
Cedar Rapids, IA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Multiple Uses, Same Results = Wonderful!
11/14/2015

Customer review by mmbrad02

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by mmbrad02
by mmbrad02

We have tried this product for multiple purposes at our house and it was been wonderful for everything! First off, my daughter had a box full of My Little Pony dolls with frizzy hair that we had been unable to do anything with. She would often comment that they were no longer beautiful and as a result, no longer wanted to play with them. However, Downy came to the rescue! Equal parts of Downy and water made combing the pony's hair manageable, and today we have nice smooth manes and tails! So thankful this product brought toys back to life that otherwise would have ended up in our yard sale pile. Bonus is the the wonderful scent our pony's now have! Secondly, we love this product for laundry! From my daughters clothes to bed sheets, we love how soft our clothes feel! And the smell is delightful! I received and tested this Downy Fabric softener for free, but the opinions are mine. Would highly recommend this product!

mmbrad02
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I used to Iove Downy
11/4/2015

Customer review by Kevin

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

I used to really, really Iove your former product. Downy April Fresh. My Great Grandmother used Downy, My Grandmother used Downy, My mom used Downy and I used Downy. The scent was wonderful and left things smelling really fresh and clean. Sadly, it appears you've elminated the scent altogether. Every single bottle being made had this really, really strong new scent of Downy.... And it's radically different. Like a cheap perfume that's really really sweet. I went to four stores tonight and was able to locate seven bottles of the Old Downy with the old scent. But once they are gone... I'll probably stop using Downy altogether. I just don't understand why you guys would change the scent. This is Downy. It was amazing as it was, why did it need to change? I hope you guys will consider switching it back although I'm sure it won't happen. It's just disappointing. This was a wonderful product and it's now ruined.

Kevin
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
My Downy Experience
12/16/2015

Customer review by quintaj99

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by quintaj99
by quintaj99

I have used Downy before, but normally when I find it on sale, but I always prefer liquid fabric softener over softener sheets. Using the Downy again just reminded me of how great it is over other fabric softeners. I just love the scents available and the original scent also has a fresh clean scent that just leaves my clothing smelling great for days. The way I use my fabric softener is with a downy ball in my washer machine during the washing cycle. I have found that using the ball takes the guess work out of remembering to add later in the cycle. I found also that the scent of the Downy last longer on my clothing than other fabric softeners. Downy is not expensive, but I can buy other softeners cheaper, and even coupons for the Downy are normally $.50 and really do not help. That's my only real con to the Downy is the price. I tested the Downy softener for free, but all opinions are my own.

quintaj99
Sherwood, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New April Fresh Smell is Horrible!
5/19/2016

Customer review by JD2324

1.0 stars 5/19/2016 by JD2324
by JD2324

I have used Downy April Fresh fabric softener for years but since they added the Fabric Protect it smells too strong and powdery! I can't use it - please change it back. I've tried the freshness beads but they don't soften the clothes. For me and others to take the time to write a review on a fabric softener must tell you there is something wrong with the new product. Please change it back!!

JD2324
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Loved prior to reformulation!
1/8/2015

Customer review by Winter81

1.0 stars 1/8/2015 by Winter81
by Winter81

The scent of Downey April Fresh was a constant all through growing up and into adulthood in my home. It just smelled fresh, not overly perfumey, and comforting. The reformulation is disgusting! It pains me to say I cannot use my old favorite anymore, and have since switched to Snuggle because I've been able to find a couple of scents in that brands line that I find pleasing without being overpowering. Why would you reformulate? It's thicker now and clogs up my machine (it just gets gunky). The smell isn't remotely like the old April Fresh. I don't understand changing a scent entirely and keeping the old name. The scent is so pungent and cloying, it smells like cheap perfume and just hangs there. I also feel like my clothes don't feel as soft with the reformulated version. They feel coated and odd. Just very disappointing when a brand changes a classic for unknown reasons and makes it horrible. I periodically will check to see if the old scent is back but I honestly doubt that it will ever return. Very disappointing. I miss that fresh smell and I hate this overly perfumey impostor. If it smelled decent, it would be less of an annoyance, but it makes me ill to the point I had to rewash laundry I washed using this reformulated version. Twice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Winter81
Would recommend to a friend? No
I like the newer version.
4/12/2016

Customer review by tigereyes19806

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by tigereyes19806
by tigereyes19806

I never used the original Downy April Fresh fabric softener so I can't compare the newer version with that one. I like a lot of scent on my clothes and the newer version makes our laundry smell sooo good! My current laundry combo is Tide Original, Downy April Fresh and Bounce Outdoor Fresh dryer sheets. This laundry combo makes our laundry smell fresh and clean, soft and static free. If the newer version is too strong for you, I suggest cutting it 50/50 with an unscented fabric softener (it could even be a store brand version) or using less fabric softener per load. If you still don't like the newer version, you could try Snuggle Blue Sparkle.

tigereyes19806
Brighton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra Downey April Fresh Softener
2/15/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Mary
by Mary

Downy April Fresh Softener has proven to be the best softener product by far. It's smell is great because it has no negative impact on my allergies. It left my clothes smelling so fresh and clean! And the price was absolutely the cheapest I have found. NOTE: I purchased this product through my DreamMall and it was ready for pick-up within hours of the purchase. Not only was it ready, I picked it up the next day, and between the time I ordered and the time I picked it up, there was a sale. By the time I got home and checked my email, WalMart had refunded my credit card $.53. Now that may not be a lot to some, but the simple fact they saw the price drop and took the steps to refund me AFTER I left the store is totally awesome. I will always shop at WalMart and will as much as possible shop on-line. I recommend everyone buying this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't fix things that are not broken!
3/4/2016

Customer review by Chelle

1.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Chelle
by Chelle

My family has used April Fresh Ultra Downy for as long as we can remember. The recent changes have me and my family more than disappointed. Our trust in this company and product has been broken. We have horrid smelling clothing and linens and a pile of medical bills after we all had reactions to whatever this new junk product is that they are peddling as our beloved Downy. I came online to find out if the old formula was still being offered and if my store just wasn't carrying it but now I see we are not the only ones less than thrilled with these unnecessary changes. I am terrified to buy another bottle of Downy in a different fragrance as I am not sure I can trust what is inside. We have never used another fragrance other than April Fresh.

Chelle
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT PRODUCT
4/28/2014

Customer review by Malificent59

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Malificent59
by Malificent59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THIS IS THE BEST SOFTENER ON THE MARKET. I KNOW THAT IT KEEPS THE CLOTHES SOFT AND FRESH SMELLING FOR A LONG TIME.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malificent59
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 504 total reviews
1-20 of 504 reviews