Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 555 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

555 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

555 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
410
4 stars
71
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
62
1-20 of 542 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 542 total reviews
1-20 of 542 reviews
Used to be good!?!?!
12/23/2014

Customer review by Amy

1.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Amy
by Amy

I don't know what you did to the original formula. Downy used to work great and smell nice. Now it gets all clumpy and clogs up the dispenser (which I clean frequently). You blame the thickening on temperature extremes. They must have happened during shipment to the grocery store. This never used to happen before, I would bet that you changed the formula to save money. Hard to believe that temperature is to blame, we have lived in the same climate for 50 years. I can't use this stuff and would like a refund.

Amy
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Scent I remember
5/3/2017

Customer review by curlyheadedmomma73

5.0 stars 5/3/2017 by curlyheadedmomma73
by curlyheadedmomma73

I am so happy Downy April Fresh smells as it did when I was a child again. I'm in my forties, by the way. For a while there, when the scent of the Downy April Fresh had initially been changed, it didn't smell like the Downy I grew up with. It smelled more like rotten fruit punch, than April Fresh, so I stopped buying it. Now it smells like the April Fresh I use to know and love. I am back to buying it again, and my clothes come out smelling wonderful and feeling nice whether I use my dryer or line dry. Although I will admit, April Fresh and line drying is the freshest scent ever!!! Thank you for making it smell the way it use to again.

curlyheadedmomma73
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Soft and fresh
3/21/2017

Customer review by Bird

5.0 stars 3/21/2017 by Bird
by Bird
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you want your clothes to smell good and feel soft this is the product the only one I will ever buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bird
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Downy April Fresh
3/19/2017

Customer review by Janie

5.0 stars 3/19/2017 by Janie
by Janie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been using this product for years. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Downey April Fresh Liquid Fabric Softener
3/13/2017

Customer review by starlightbasket

5.0 stars 3/13/2017 by starlightbasket
by starlightbasket
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love Downy Fabric Softener! It is the only brand I use. You never have to worry about static and your clothes smell so good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starlightbasket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Howard from the south
3/11/2017

Customer review by logan007

5.0 stars 3/11/2017 by logan007
by logan007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love this product. We have tried practically every one kind on the market but this is my husband's favorite. It doesn't smell like perfume to him.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
logan007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5 star EXCELLENT
3/11/2017

Customer review by Brooklyn

5.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Brooklyn
by Brooklyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Downey no matter what you compare it to it still turns out the best you could use. There really isn't any comparison it always comes out smelling better and softer for longer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooklyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Downy
3/1/2017

Customer review by Geee

5.0 stars 3/1/2017 by Geee
by Geee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love downy and would buy it whenever it's on sale
4/4/2017

Customer review by Carmen G

5.0 stars 4/4/2017 by Carmen G
by Carmen G
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the way my clothes smell when I use it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Carmen G
Chicago,Ill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As Expected
3/17/2017

Customer review by rachelmae

5.0 stars 3/17/2017 by rachelmae
by rachelmae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good Product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rachelmae
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved prior to reformulation!
1/8/2015

Customer review by Winter81

1.0 stars 1/8/2015 by Winter81
by Winter81

The scent of Downey April Fresh was a constant all through growing up and into adulthood in my home. It just smelled fresh, not overly perfumey, and comforting. The reformulation is disgusting! It pains me to say I cannot use my old favorite anymore, and have since switched to Snuggle because I've been able to find a couple of scents in that brands line that I find pleasing without being overpowering. Why would you reformulate? It's thicker now and clogs up my machine (it just gets gunky). The smell isn't remotely like the old April Fresh. I don't understand changing a scent entirely and keeping the old name. The scent is so pungent and cloying, it smells like cheap perfume and just hangs there. I also feel like my clothes don't feel as soft with the reformulated version. They feel coated and odd. Just very disappointing when a brand changes a classic for unknown reasons and makes it horrible. I periodically will check to see if the old scent is back but I honestly doubt that it will ever return. Very disappointing. I miss that fresh smell and I hate this overly perfumey impostor. If it smelled decent, it would be less of an annoyance, but it makes me ill to the point I had to rewash laundry I washed using this reformulated version. Twice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Winter81
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why did you change the April Fresh scent?
3/23/2017

Customer review by Rae58

1.0 stars 3/23/2017 by Rae58
by Rae58

I don't understand why you would change such a warm and comfortable sense memory. It was pleasant and it was "home". Now I find it overwhelming and not pleasant at all. Why must my fabric softener overwhelm my perfume. I don't want my fabric softener to become my perfume. The long lasting scent...really?! Please bring back the old scent and my memories of home. I only chose one star....had to....not three

Rae58
Winona MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT PRODUCT
4/28/2014

Customer review by Malificent59

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Malificent59
by Malificent59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THIS IS THE BEST SOFTENER ON THE MARKET. I KNOW THAT IT KEEPS THE CLOTHES SOFT AND FRESH SMELLING FOR A LONG TIME.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malificent59
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a tough one
2/20/2017

Customer review by rts923

5.0 stars 2/20/2017 by rts923
by rts923
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used Downy April Fresh for years...I just love the way it makes our clothes/sheets smell. However, the freshness does not last as long as Gain. I have made the switch but ALWAYs have Downy in my cabinet when I need that Fresh outdoor scent!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rts923
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the same scent as before.
3/11/2017

Customer review by Camille

1.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Camille
by Camille

I used to buy Downy years ago because I loved the smell. I recently purchased a bottle of the April Fresh scent and it is TOTALLY DIFFERENT!?? Why change something so good? It smells like very cheap softener to me. Will not buy again.

Camille
Atlanta Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Rosie
2/15/2017

Customer review by rosieh26

5.0 stars 2/15/2017 by rosieh26
by rosieh26
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Always use Downy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosieh26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Always a trusted brand.
2/14/2017

Customer review by Rmre

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Rmre
by Rmre
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Keeps clothing smelling fresh for days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rmre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mrs.
8/2/2016

Customer review by Cooked

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Cooked
by Cooked
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Downy is the only fabric softener I will use in my laundry. it gets your close soft, static free, and smell great. A little goes a long way It is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cooked
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 542 total reviews
1-20 of 542 reviews