Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 27 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
inexpensive way to combine remotes
1/17/2011

Customer review by rpi1949

3.0 stars 1/17/2011 by rpi1949
by rpi1949

Controls my Sanyo TV, Cable DVR, and VIZIO Blu-ray...basic functions and some, but not all, advanced functions. The back is curved, so it won't lay flat...you have to hold it to push the buttons, not so good for those with limited hand strength/movement. Easy to program. Cheap price. Summary: Pros = Cons, does plenty for the cost, will meet the need of the average user. I'm ok with the functions & price, but need one that lays flat so I can push the buttons.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rpi1949
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does OK
3/28/2011

Customer review by JAYMO31029

3.0 stars 3/28/2011 by JAYMO31029
by JAYMO31029

I've had my remote 6 months and haven't replaced the batteries. It controls my LG tv and Dish DVR/Satelite receiver but not my Panasonic Blu ray or Emerson vcr. I bought it in hopes of consolidating four remotes into one. Actually had to buy one more to reduce the number from four to two.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAYMO31029
Forsyth, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awesome Value
4/3/2011

Customer review by reerun

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by reerun
by reerun

As soon as I got this, I programmed it into the TV, and it works great...

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reerun
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/29/2012

Customer review by eddiesgirl1

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by eddiesgirl1
by eddiesgirl1

nice remote, especially when watching movies at night i like that it lights up so i can see what the heck im doing. easy to program once you figure out the instructions, but not that big a deal.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eddiesgirl1
atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Replaces RCA RC246
8/30/2012

Customer review by Woodman13

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Woodman13
by Woodman13

I bought this to replace the remote for my RCA L40FHD41 LCD TV (The infamous RC246, uses code 12434) and was pleasantly surprised when I was able to program it for all my AV stuff. ONE REMOTE TO CONTROL THEM ALL!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woodman13
Vanleer, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy Set-up
6/1/2011

Customer review by lssReviews

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by lssReviews
by lssReviews

Very easy to set up. I hooked up a digital converter box, TV, HD Directv box and DVD player, all worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lssReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy for Streaming Media Player control
10/16/2013

Customer review by daweth

2.0 stars 10/16/2013 by daweth
by daweth

Bought this remote in-store specifically because it said it could control Digital Streaming Media players like Roku. It even has the codes in the instruction sheets. But alas, none of the codes for any of those streaming players works. Every one I tried for the different makes all flashed the code for 'not a valid code'. It does control the TV, DVD player, and Digital Converter Box just fine though, all buttons work as they should.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daweth
Davenport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great for my JVC DVD player
7/31/2012

Customer review by CCEntertain2M

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by CCEntertain2M
by CCEntertain2M

This works great for my JVC DVD player, and saved me about 60% (about $15 less than one from JVC) in the cost for a new JVC DVD player remote from JVC (about $26 (including shipping and sales tax) vs. the RCA 4-Device Universal Remote $10.78 ($9.96 + sales tax (no shipping or waiting because the Walmart Supercenter store that I went to had many in stock, since Walmart.com said that the store near me had them in stock. (Aside: I REALLY like shopping on Walmart.com as well as at the Walmart Supercenter stores (the biggest Supercenter stores, NOT the newer smaller Walmart Supercenter stores or the smaller regular non-Supercenter Walmarts. I like the big stores the best.)). Programming the RCA Universal Remote Control: If you follow the instructions for programming, especially the "Direct Code Entry" method (but the "Auto Code Search" method works too), you shouldn't have any problems programming the RCA Universal remote control. The only thing that the RCA Universal Remote Control would not do that my original JVC DVD Player remote did, was "open" the DVD tray, which is a very minor inconvenience, to have to press the button on the DVD player, instead of pressing a button on the remote do it. Also, there were 3 codes for the JVC DVD Player, so make sure to try all the codes, because only 1 of the 3 codes gave the most use of the remote, with the other 2 codes for a JVC DVD Player not working all the functions on the RCA Universal Remote Control for my particular model of JVC DVD Player. I'm very glad that I tried the "RCA 4-Device Universal Remote Control" (model: RCRN04GR) from Walmart, instead of calling JVC and ordering a more expensive JVC remote from them and having to wait for it to arrive, and the JVC company remote did NOT have the "backlit keypad" feature, so the RCA remote is easier to use in low light or in the dark.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCEntertain2M
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Remote for any tv
11/21/2013

Customer review by Minecraft1330

4.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Minecraft1330
by Minecraft1330

Although my TV is older it still got the job done. it was easy to setup and had an okay value. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Minecraft1330
Binghamton NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Controller
1/15/2015

Customer review by Mailman53

5.0 stars 1/15/2015 by Mailman53
by Mailman53

This item is an excellent value for the money. I have a RCA 60"projection screen . I brought it 15 years ago. This remote gave me excess to all functions.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mailman53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly What I Wanted
9/8/2014

Customer review by Pgabber

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by Pgabber
by Pgabber

I needed a universal remote that would allow me to access input channels on an old tv (for video games) and this remote was the perfect solution for less than $5.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pgabber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well.
8/4/2014

Customer review by Iwillc

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by Iwillc
by Iwillc

Very good at controlling devices.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iwillc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy set-up
12/29/2014

Customer review by 1mgw

4.0 stars 12/29/2014 by 1mgw
by 1mgw

I bought this model several years ago and really like it. However, after awhile the mute button didn't work, next the one button and finally the four button didn't work. I recently replaced it with a different brand; the new one was not user friendly and did not have some of the functions I like the best. So I returned the other remote and went back to the RCA model. The RCA model is very easy to set up and works really well. I just hope I don't wear out any of the buttons on the new one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1mgw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Remote Control
12/6/2012

Customer review by TMow

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by TMow
by TMow

This works very well. It replaced a remote that just gave out. The only bad thing about this is periodically a battery comes loose and I have to stick back where it belongs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TMow
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Helpful Universal Remote for a beginner
10/27/2014

Customer review by MzShel2014

4.0 stars 10/27/2014 by MzShel2014
by MzShel2014

Great remote with an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MzShel2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great remote
11/26/2014

Customer review by Moon123456

4.0 stars 11/26/2014 by Moon123456
by Moon123456

I have an rca flat screen that for reason a regular universal remote wouldn't synch with. I bought this one and it worked. Only thing that I don't like is the illumination feature. Absolutely terrible. Does not illuminate the keys. Can't use it in the dark at all, not legible. But that's not why I bought it. I needed a universal that worked with my flat screen and this one worked.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moon123456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Backlit key pad
5/3/2014

Customer review by Alkov

2.0 stars 5/3/2014 by Alkov
by Alkov

I purchased this remote because I always us one in a darkened room. The so called back light only lights up the OK and arrow buttons which no where near affects the other keys. To refer to it as having a "partially backlit keypad" is an embarrassment. It did program my Digital Adapter and Sanyo TV very well however and if someone prefers only that quality I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alkov
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Didn't work with my Dish Network receiver
7/16/2013

Customer review by hugs78

1.0 stars 7/16/2013 by hugs78
by hugs78

It didn't work with my VIP612 DVR Dish Network receiver.None of the codes for Dish Network worked for me. My original dish network remote quit working, thus this option plus I didn't want to pay $29 for the Dish Network remote at walmart.I was trying to save money being on a tight budget. It did work with my LG led tv but I didn't need a control for my tv. The only positive I can say is it used 2 AAA batteries instead of 4AAA like my old Dish Network remote uses in it. I tried this being one of the other reviews said it worked on their DVR Dish but it sure didn't work for my receiver as stated above.Needless to say,it didn't serve it's purpose for me,so I returned it.It stinks apparently no companies make a inexpensive remote under $20 to work a Dish Network VIP612 DVR receiver.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hugs78
Indiana,USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Will not fully work Fios DVR Box
9/9/2012

Customer review by MyrSam

3.0 stars 9/9/2012 by MyrSam
by MyrSam

works great with the tv and changing the channels on the FIOS box but has no buttons for the FIOS DVR or the On Demand and since its not a learning remote you cant program other buttons to do the same thing. This is getting returned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyrSam
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Won't control new PROSCAN 39" LED HDTV
12/21/2012

Customer review by WhizPTC

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by WhizPTC
by WhizPTC

Really great looking remote with lots of features and nice sized buttons, but bought it as a second remote for a brand new PROSCAN 39" LED HDTV and it won't program for that. There are proscan codes included, but they don't work!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhizPTC
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews