Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
24
1-20 of 93 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
It works
8/2/2012

Customer review by QBack

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by QBack
by QBack

I live in a 1 Edge "red" reception area per tvfool.com and 25 miles from the transmission towers. All of the HD channels I wanted were high UHF channels broadcasting in the same direction. This required a single (uni) direction outdoor antenna. I purchased an Antennas Direct 43XG Uni-Directional UHF Only Antenna because of its high gain. (It's 4 ft long but not as ugly as traditional VHF antennas - there is the 91XG with a bit more gain but a few feet extra in length). I took off the satellite dish, used its mast that was already attached to my roof, as it was already in a good location, and ran a grounding wire down to my electrical outdoor meter mast to which my former telephone and cable boxes were also grounded to. Aimed the antenna towards the towers using the signal strength meter of my Tivo HD to find the strongest direction - literally had to aim within just a couple of degrees. The signal came great (versus nothing at all with any type of indoor antenna) and using about 10 feet of cable. But adding 125 ft of 75 ohm RG6 coaxial cable with a splitter - the db dropped considerably and I barely got signal and with lots of pixelation. Time for a Pre-Amp. I considered the more popular and twice the cost Pre-Amps, but decided to go with this one. Unfortunately, it does not give you specs for db noise, and no where is it found on the box or instructions. However, it claims ELN (extremely low noise) circuitry and has a UHF db gain of 22. It also has high gain for VHF and allows for dual input along with an FM Trap if needed. A Pre-amp is simply an outdoor amplifier versus an indoor distribution amplifier. The idea of a pre-amp is to add enough db at the source, to allow this cleaner signal to travel farther. Amps don't increase the actual performance of an antenna as whatever you get in terms of signal with the antenna is what you get. Amps just help compensate for cable runs and splits. Only thing you have to be careful with is sending too much db down the pipe, over-powering your receiver (plenty of sources explaining the science behind the db strength and the amount you need). A Pre-amp does not require any extra cable or electrical to be run to the mast as you use the supplied power inserter and connect inside the house (prior to any splitter) to feed the electrical current back through the coax to the pre-amp on the mast. In my case the power connection was after 100 ft of cable. Bottom-line, it worked great. During the marathon of watching the Olympics we rarely had pixelation, but maybe every couple of hours a one second jitter. All-in-all I'm happy with the product. It worked and I now have free beautiful DVRd HD TV using the right antenna, this pre-amp and a TiVo!

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QBack
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will not work if a splitter is in your coax run
4/24/2013

Customer review by myfirstonlinereview

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by myfirstonlinereview
by myfirstonlinereview

The amplifier works great, once I figured out the best way to use it. I was this close to returning it when I first hooked it up because I lost all the stations I was originally getting. But through trial and error, I found out how to use it. I ended up having to move my antenna from the outside into the attic because my coax run was long and there were two splitters in the run between the antenna and the indoor plug part. By getting one 50' coax cable with no splitters, the signal was amplified and now all stations are coming in crystal clear and even a few more stations I was unable to get before. When reading other reviews on this product before I bought it, I did not see anything about not using splitters, so I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (49) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myfirstonlinereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by John908

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by John908
by John908

I had one channel about 40 miles away which I could not get in consistently with my outdoor antenna. Signal strength bounced from 20 to 60+. I installed the RCA Preamp and now have a consistently good signal in mid to high 70 range for that channel. Before installing I received 14 channels. Now I am receiving 21. I am very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John908
Normal, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/3/2012

Customer review by shaunpt

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by shaunpt
by shaunpt

with this pre amp we are getting channels 60 miles away in indianapolis, even during bad weather. there is a total of 22 channels just facing it to indianapolis. its great would recommend for everyone. not to bad of a price either

Was this review helpful? (28) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shaunpt
peru indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Performs better than expected
7/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Used this with my home made DB4 antenna w/ Di-pole and it definitely boosted the signal to the three television sets I have in my townhouse. I really like the ability to feed this preamp VHF and UHF antenna cables, thus eliminating the need for a seperate signal combiner. The selectable FM trap is also a bonus. Allowed me to pickup all OTA channels in the 96707 area.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kapolei, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great--easy to install
12/26/2012

Customer review by HomeDIY

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by HomeDIY
by HomeDIY

Before installing this pre-amp, I used signal boosters at each TV outlet (purchased at Radio Shack). Antenna reception seemed good enough, but recently I started having poor or no reception for some channels at one of my house outlets. I was considering a more expensive signal booster for the TV, but after checking around at antenna websites, the idea of a pre-amp mounted at the antenna sounded like a better alternative. The pre-amp I first considered cost about $60-$70 (internet order from an outfit selling Channel Master antennas I think). Then I ran across this RCA pre-amp at Wal-Mart for less than $25 and pick it at my local store for free shipping. The unit was easy to install. I attached it inside at my attic antenna and left the pre-amp power supply in the attic as well. The antenna wire after the pre-amp connects outside to a 3-way splitter where the cable wire used to connect to the house. I get better reception results at all three pre-wired in-house outlets since adding the pre-amp. I still have the signal boosters at each TV, and now have the RCA pre-amp as part of my system as well. With the added benefits of the per-amp, channel reception went from arouind 50 to 80. Previous poor recption problem was corrected, and I hope it continues even during the hot Texas summers when the attic really heats up.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeDIY
Corinth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Good
11/16/2012

Customer review by WannaGoSleep

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by WannaGoSleep
by WannaGoSleep

The towers are about 60 miles from my house in plain sight. They seem to use less power during the night and I was losing stations. I got the pre-amp to boost the signal in this situation. I do get all the stations I normally do during the day after I installed the pre-amp, but a few still are coming in fuzzy and unwatchable. Daytime channels 26, without pre-amp at night 18, with pre-amp at night 26. Very happy with how it performs (no ghosting etc.) but probably should have attacked the problem differently by getting a bigger antenna in combination with the pre-amp of course.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WannaGoSleep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets all expectations.
10/15/2012

Customer review by oldguy81

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by oldguy81
by oldguy81

When coupled together with a C4 Clearstream antennae, there's no need to pay for cable, unless you like special channels.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldguy81
Ormond Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Greatly improved antenna signal strength
12/31/2012

Customer review by lady1184

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by lady1184
by lady1184

We have difficulty getting one TV channel through our roof antenna; the other channels are fine. We use a 3-way splitter from the antenna: to TV, to DVD player, and to receiver. Since we cannot go up on the roof to install the pre-amplifier near the antenna (as the instructions say), we installed it between the splitter and where the antenna enters the house. We installed the power inverter so it is protected by the surge protector. This significantly improved signal strength, and we now have no difficulty receiving that one TV channel. We turned the FM filter off, because having it on impaired signal to the FM radio.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lady1184
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Free TV
1/28/2013

Customer review by mjfrongi

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by mjfrongi
by mjfrongi

I replaced my "Rabbit Ears" in my living room (which the reception was effected by bad weather) with the RCA ANT751R Outdoor Antenna Optimized for Digital Reception" for $40 and added a RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier for an added $22. P plus coax cables for about $25. I installed the antenna in my attic and now I have great reception in all kinds of weather. My reception went from about 12 stations (plus a few more if I got up and moved the position of the ears) to 30 stations. I was a little nervous about the antenna being fixed but that is not a problem. I live in central MA and receive reception from Boston, Worcester, Providence, RI and Manchester, NH. Antenna installation was straight forward. The only issue was connecting the Pre-Amplifier. I connected it in reverse. After that minor issue, everything went great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mjfrongi
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Over the air digital TV reception N. County SD
5/2/2013

Customer review by DocWho

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by DocWho
by DocWho

I am using this pre-amplifier with an RCA ANT 751 outdoor antenna. I have the antenna indoors in an upstairs bedroom, just sitting on a bed, and pointing 317 degrees magnetic---> Arcadia. The RCA pre-amplifier greatly improves the performance of the already excellent RCA ANT 751. I am able to reliably receive LA TV stations broadcast from towers in Arcadia, 104 miles away. As well as the two local San Diego TV stations that broadcast from Mt. Soledad, which are 10 miles line of sight from my home.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocWho
N. County, San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/6/2013

Customer review by komatom

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by komatom
by komatom

I had bought an exterior antenna that got much better results after having a few flat interior antennas that did poorly. It is easily installed and gave me much clearer stations and even added about 4 that I had not received previously. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
komatom
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing works
4/10/2013

Customer review by Triple3d

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Triple3d
by Triple3d

I live about 30 miles from town this product took a bad signal and made it great

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Triple3d
Kcmo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
improved reception and worth the small price
6/17/2014

Customer review by born2w1n

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by born2w1n
by born2w1n

Reception now brings in all the four major networks and three ETV channels. Previously no ETV or CBS. I live 30 miles from closest tv tower surrounded by tall pine trees in SC.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
born2w1n
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good economical option for intermediate pre amp
7/29/2014

Customer review by Blatzman

4.0 stars 7/29/2014 by Blatzman
by Blatzman

Ease to understand and set up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blatzman
Hartland, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worthless
3/1/2014

Customer review by TVFreedom

1.0 stars 3/1/2014 by TVFreedom
by TVFreedom

Before I hooked it up was getting roughly 45 channels after hook up only 22. Also when I finally gave up and went to unplug the cord it was hotter than heck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVFreedom
Sanger Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Appears to work fine
12/31/2012

Customer review by carnut66

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by carnut66
by carnut66

Installed with an external antenna in an attic. Using antenna to run 2 TVs, signal is good for both sets.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carnut66
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked very well
8/13/2014

Customer review by a379

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by a379
by a379

I installed 2 RCA pre-amps on different antennas and both increased signal strength.Works even better with a antenna rotor.Antenna set up is the key to any antenna reception.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a379
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Solid Results (specifics given)
10/3/2014

Customer review by ChicagoSheldor

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by ChicagoSheldor
by ChicagoSheldor

When I lived 20 miles west of Chicago, I would get all major channels on the same antenna I am using now. But when I moved to about 30 miles due west of Chicago, I had no luck getting WBBM Channel 2. All the other major channels had no problem. I hooked this up and Bazinga! Channel 2 and even some weak signals (but viewable) channels in the UHF are now strong and clear. Pros: - Inexpensive - Simple to install, just hook up the coax cables and plug it in - Does what I expected it to do - Works on both VHF and UHF Cons: - Just a nitpick. The manual states that the FM trap and combined UHF/VHF signal are the default, and that the factory sets these switches to “On.” However, mine arrived with both set “Off.” So I used a screwdriver and turned them both "On" - an easy fix. - If you are looking for the most powerful pre-amplifier out there, this is not it. It is more of a middle boost amplifier (but please read comments below) Comments: - Even though this is made to attach to an exterior antenna, I am using it on an indoor Zenith ZHDTV1 (no longer made by manufacturer unfortunately) antenna located on a second floor. The antenna itself is not amplified. It would likely not be effective or might even degrade the signal on an amplified antenna, so I would not recommend doing so. - Consider the fact that my entire cost including this amplifier and the Zenith antenna is about $50. So you don't have to pay hundreds of dollars to get good reception. - My first thought when looking for an amplifier was to get one of the most powerful available, but when I did research, I found that people who did that would actually LOSE channels when hooking it up because it was over amplifying the signals and the noise associated with it. So, from my experience I would say (at least in the Chicagoland area), if you live Within 25* miles of the broadcasting source, you shouldn't need a pre-amplifier at all. 25- 50* miles from the source, this pre-amplifier would be ideal over 50* miles, this may work, but you may need to look for something more powerful * - Antenna effectiveness varies greatly, so scale these numbers accordingly. For example, if you know someone that is getting all channels in your area with a particular antenna model with no amplifier at 40 miles, the same antenna (if pointed correctly) with this pre-amp will likely work at 60 miles. Tips for better reception: - Point your antenna using a strength meter if possible (I’m connected to a computer, so I use software for my tuner card, but some cable DVRs have them, some analog to digital tuner boxes have them that display strength bars with the channel info) - Put the amplifier close to the antenna to reduce noise - Don’t over amplify - Use decent quad-shielded coax cable (not the cheapie thin wire stuff) - Minimize the number of coax connections between the antenna and TV - Splitters reduce signal strength, use them sparingly - Never kink a coax, use arcs around cornersc

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoSheldor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Boosts signal to support multiple television sets.
5/11/2014

Customer review by NorthwoodsSquire

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by NorthwoodsSquire
by NorthwoodsSquire

This preamp boosts the signal from my attic antenna enough to allow it to be split between three televisions. Without the preamp the signal could only drive one TV.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorthwoodsSquire
Northwoods of Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews