Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

134 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

134 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
36
1-20 of 128 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Performs better than expected
7/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this with my home made DB4 antenna w/ Di-pole and it definitely boosted the signal to the three television sets I have in my townhouse. I really like the ability to feed this preamp VHF and UHF antenna cables, thus eliminating the need for a seperate signal combiner. The selectable FM trap is also a bonus. Allowed me to pickup all OTA channels in the 96707 area.

Was this review helpful? (32) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kapolei, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works
8/2/2012

Customer review by QBack

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by QBack
by QBack

I live in a 1 Edge "red" reception area per tvfool.com and 25 miles from the transmission towers. All of the HD channels I wanted were high UHF channels broadcasting in the same direction. This required a single (uni) direction outdoor antenna. I purchased an Antennas Direct 43XG Uni-Directional UHF Only Antenna because of its high gain. (It's 4 ft long but not as ugly as traditional VHF antennas - there is the 91XG with a bit more gain but a few feet extra in length). I took off the satellite dish, used its mast that was already attached to my roof, as it was already in a good location, and ran a grounding wire down to my electrical outdoor meter mast to which my former telephone and cable boxes were also grounded to. Aimed the antenna towards the towers using the signal strength meter of my Tivo HD to find the strongest direction - literally had to aim within just a couple of degrees. The signal came great (versus nothing at all with any type of indoor antenna) and using about 10 feet of cable. But adding 125 ft of 75 ohm RG6 coaxial cable with a splitter - the db dropped considerably and I barely got signal and with lots of pixelation. Time for a Pre-Amp. I considered the more popular and twice the cost Pre-Amps, but decided to go with this one. Unfortunately, it does not give you specs for db noise, and no where is it found on the box or instructions. However, it claims ELN (extremely low noise) circuitry and has a UHF db gain of 22. It also has high gain for VHF and allows for dual input along with an FM Trap if needed. A Pre-amp is simply an outdoor amplifier versus an indoor distribution amplifier. The idea of a pre-amp is to add enough db at the source, to allow this cleaner signal to travel farther. Amps don't increase the actual performance of an antenna as whatever you get in terms of signal with the antenna is what you get. Amps just help compensate for cable runs and splits. Only thing you have to be careful with is sending too much db down the pipe, over-powering your receiver (plenty of sources explaining the science behind the db strength and the amount you need). A Pre-amp does not require any extra cable or electrical to be run to the mast as you use the supplied power inserter and connect inside the house (prior to any splitter) to feed the electrical current back through the coax to the pre-amp on the mast. In my case the power connection was after 100 ft of cable. Bottom-line, it worked great. During the marathon of watching the Olympics we rarely had pixelation, but maybe every couple of hours a one second jitter. All-in-all I'm happy with the product. It worked and I now have free beautiful DVRd HD TV using the right antenna, this pre-amp and a TiVo!

Was this review helpful? (100) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QBack
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will not work if a splitter is in your coax run
4/24/2013

Customer review by myfirstonlinereview

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by myfirstonlinereview
by myfirstonlinereview
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The amplifier works great, once I figured out the best way to use it. I was this close to returning it when I first hooked it up because I lost all the stations I was originally getting. But through trial and error, I found out how to use it. I ended up having to move my antenna from the outside into the attic because my coax run was long and there were two splitters in the run between the antenna and the indoor plug part. By getting one 50' coax cable with no splitters, the signal was amplified and now all stations are coming in crystal clear and even a few more stations I was unable to get before. When reading other reviews on this product before I bought it, I did not see anything about not using splitters, so I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (108) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
myfirstonlinereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blocked out channel 8
7/10/2016

Customer review by Thomas

1.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Thomas
by Thomas

I live in Sarasota county, and receive TV stations from Tampa with an attic log periodic antenna. I get occasional pixelation with low-powered WEDU (PBS station), due to signal level fluctuation down to less than 50% at times, so I decided to try a preamplifier. This preamplifier significantly amplified the TV channels, with the exception that channel 8 in Tampa (RF channel 7; virtual channel 8) was totally blocked; no signal at all. Without the preamplifier, I receive this channel moderately strong. Since this is the Tampa NBC affiliate, I really want to receive this channel. Since RF channel 7 (the "real" channel) is the first channel in the VHF-upper band (174 - 180 MHz), perhaps this issue was caused by the FM trap being way too broad in its frequency coverage (this trap is enabled by default). So I switched off the FM trap, which then allowed this channel to come in, but there was visual noise on some of the other VHF channels (possibly due to a strong FM station on 107.9 MHz only a few miles away), which was unacceptable. Therefore, I returned this preamplifier to Walmart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great device
9/6/2016

Customer review by Nuge

4.0 stars 9/6/2016 by Nuge
by Nuge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works very well. Love the FM trap. Easy to install. If your not sure you need one. Get it anyway. Much easier to put it on when you are putting the antenna up. Than having to take it all back down to install it on the pole later.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nuge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
preamp
6/17/2016

Customer review by poguy

4.0 stars 6/17/2016 by poguy
by poguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Improved my fringe area reception signal strength from 20-25% on most stations to 50-60%. Closest station is 60 miles away.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solved my issue
1/20/2017

Customer review by WIpolarbear

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by WIpolarbear
by WIpolarbear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live less than 5 miles from my TV towers. One tower is in my direct view, but the other is blocked by a school building and the houses behind ours on a slight hill. While I have very strong signals I was experiencing signal drop out on the channels partially blocked. Another reviewer tested this and said it was good at leveling strong signals and so I thought I would try it. I also have a very long run of cable from the antenna to the TV. It's perhaps 75 feet? After readjusting the direction of the antenna this pre-amplifier solved my problems completely!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WIpolarbear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No help I returned it
1/27/2017

Customer review by dammad

1.0 stars 1/27/2017 by dammad
by dammad

This amp actually filtered out the two weak stations I hoped to improve. The strong stations came in well. The weak ones which I can get at night and when the weather is clear had no signal. I tried turning the FM trap on and off no difference. I returned it. Thanks Walmart for good returns policy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dammad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Greatly improved antenna signal strength
12/31/2012

Customer review by lady1184

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by lady1184
by lady1184
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have difficulty getting one TV channel through our roof antenna; the other channels are fine. We use a 3-way splitter from the antenna: to TV, to DVD player, and to receiver. Since we cannot go up on the roof to install the pre-amplifier near the antenna (as the instructions say), we installed it between the splitter and where the antenna enters the house. We installed the power inverter so it is protected by the surge protector. This significantly improved signal strength, and we now have no difficulty receiving that one TV channel. We turned the FM filter off, because having it on impaired signal to the FM radio.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lady1184
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by John908

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by John908
by John908
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had one channel about 40 miles away which I could not get in consistently with my outdoor antenna. Signal strength bounced from 20 to 60+. I installed the RCA Preamp and now have a consistently good signal in mid to high 70 range for that channel. Before installing I received 14 channels. Now I am receiving 21. I am very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John908
Normal, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked for me
5/14/2016

Customer review by Rwelga

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Rwelga
by Rwelga

My problem was signal strength. I was experiencing frustrating picture and audio interruption on 7 of the 19 OTA channels available in my area. This made these channels unmatchable and included not only the usual weak channels like PBS and Independent networks but in my case, to some degree, the local CBS and FOX channels. It was easy to hook up to my antenna and immediately improved reception. No more frustration watching TV.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rwelga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is it!
12/29/2016

Customer review by Dock

5.0 stars 12/29/2016 by Dock
by Dock
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If your looking to improve the quality of the signal from your outdoor antenna then this is the product you need to get! When properly installed (closest to the antenna) it works like a charm. Quality of signal is much improved, fewer issues with pixilation, more channels, etc. There may be better units but for the price this does the job!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great small item
4/12/2016

Customer review by Abraham

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by Abraham
by Abraham

The pre-amplifier, even though it comes with an electric adapter, seems to boost the signal (which was poor on some channels), and give a much clearer picture across all channels without having to point the antenna in a very narrow direction.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abraham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WAY BETTER THAN Channel Master CM-7777
12/23/2016

Customer review by Jerrymc7

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Jerrymc7
by Jerrymc7

I've used 3 of these RCA pre-amps at 3 different homes in various parts of Los Angeles and San Bernardino Co. and they are perfect! I had the CM-7777 at my home and it began failing in COLD weather, so I quickly swapped it with the RCA model and all my channels returned! AND I even receive about 20 more channels! WAAAY BETTER THAN Channel Master CM-7777 (At a 3rd the price!)

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerrymc7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice amp
6/23/2016

Customer review by Retiredtech

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Retiredtech
by Retiredtech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good amp. Went from 9 stations to 21. Works as expected.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredtech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fire Hazard Use CAUTION
7/27/2016

Customer review by HotDogOnAStick

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by HotDogOnAStick
by HotDogOnAStick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upon installing, as per the printed instructions. The power unit plugged into the wall outlet became so hot it could not be touched. And, upon unplugging was still so hot after 30 minutes, you still could not hold it. If the unit had not failed to emit no signal, and we were not required to recheck, it could have very well started a fire within home.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotDogOnAStick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Free TV
1/28/2013

Customer review by mjfrongi

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by mjfrongi
by mjfrongi

I replaced my "Rabbit Ears" in my living room (which the reception was effected by bad weather) with the RCA ANT751R Outdoor Antenna Optimized for Digital Reception" for $40 and added a RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier for an added $22. P plus coax cables for about $25. I installed the antenna in my attic and now I have great reception in all kinds of weather. My reception went from about 12 stations (plus a few more if I got up and moved the position of the ears) to 30 stations. I was a little nervous about the antenna being fixed but that is not a problem. I live in central MA and receive reception from Boston, Worcester, Providence, RI and Manchester, NH. Antenna installation was straight forward. The only issue was connecting the Pre-Amplifier. I connected it in reverse. After that minor issue, everything went great.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjfrongi
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Good
11/16/2012

Customer review by WannaGoSleep

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by WannaGoSleep
by WannaGoSleep
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The towers are about 60 miles from my house in plain sight. They seem to use less power during the night and I was losing stations. I got the pre-amp to boost the signal in this situation. I do get all the stations I normally do during the day after I installed the pre-amp, but a few still are coming in fuzzy and unwatchable. Daytime channels 26, without pre-amp at night 18, with pre-amp at night 26. Very happy with how it performs (no ghosting etc.) but probably should have attacked the problem differently by getting a bigger antenna in combination with the pre-amp of course.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WannaGoSleep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RCA TV Antenna Amplifier
12/16/2016

Customer review by Obie

4.0 stars 12/16/2016 by Obie
by Obie

RCA TV Antenna Amplifier - Good TV Antenna amplifier that is a two unit type. with the amplifier unit being mounted on the antenna mast near the antenna, and a power injector unit that is mounted down inside. Just remember to use a single cable between the two units that is long enough for your needs. No splitters should be placed between the two units. and the power injection unit should be plugged into an energized outlet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Obie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great--easy to install
12/26/2012

Customer review by HomeDIY

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by HomeDIY
by HomeDIY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Before installing this pre-amp, I used signal boosters at each TV outlet (purchased at Radio Shack). Antenna reception seemed good enough, but recently I started having poor or no reception for some channels at one of my house outlets. I was considering a more expensive signal booster for the TV, but after checking around at antenna websites, the idea of a pre-amp mounted at the antenna sounded like a better alternative. The pre-amp I first considered cost about $60-$70 (internet order from an outfit selling Channel Master antennas I think). Then I ran across this RCA pre-amp at Wal-Mart for less than $25 and pick it at my local store for free shipping. The unit was easy to install. I attached it inside at my attic antenna and left the pre-amp power supply in the attic as well. The antenna wire after the pre-amp connects outside to a 3-way splitter where the cable wire used to connect to the house. I get better reception results at all three pre-wired in-house outlets since adding the pre-amp. I still have the signal boosters at each TV, and now have the RCA pre-amp as part of my system as well. With the added benefits of the per-amp, channel reception went from arouind 50 to 80. Previous poor recption problem was corrected, and I hope it continues even during the hot Texas summers when the attic really heats up.

Was this review helpful? (26) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeDIY
Corinth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews