Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 117 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

117 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

117 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
30
1-20 of 111 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews
Performs better than expected
7/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this with my home made DB4 antenna w/ Di-pole and it definitely boosted the signal to the three television sets I have in my townhouse. I really like the ability to feed this preamp VHF and UHF antenna cables, thus eliminating the need for a seperate signal combiner. The selectable FM trap is also a bonus. Allowed me to pickup all OTA channels in the 96707 area.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kapolei, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works
8/2/2012

Customer review by QBack

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by QBack
by QBack

I live in a 1 Edge "red" reception area per tvfool.com and 25 miles from the transmission towers. All of the HD channels I wanted were high UHF channels broadcasting in the same direction. This required a single (uni) direction outdoor antenna. I purchased an Antennas Direct 43XG Uni-Directional UHF Only Antenna because of its high gain. (It's 4 ft long but not as ugly as traditional VHF antennas - there is the 91XG with a bit more gain but a few feet extra in length). I took off the satellite dish, used its mast that was already attached to my roof, as it was already in a good location, and ran a grounding wire down to my electrical outdoor meter mast to which my former telephone and cable boxes were also grounded to. Aimed the antenna towards the towers using the signal strength meter of my Tivo HD to find the strongest direction - literally had to aim within just a couple of degrees. The signal came great (versus nothing at all with any type of indoor antenna) and using about 10 feet of cable. But adding 125 ft of 75 ohm RG6 coaxial cable with a splitter - the db dropped considerably and I barely got signal and with lots of pixelation. Time for a Pre-Amp. I considered the more popular and twice the cost Pre-Amps, but decided to go with this one. Unfortunately, it does not give you specs for db noise, and no where is it found on the box or instructions. However, it claims ELN (extremely low noise) circuitry and has a UHF db gain of 22. It also has high gain for VHF and allows for dual input along with an FM Trap if needed. A Pre-amp is simply an outdoor amplifier versus an indoor distribution amplifier. The idea of a pre-amp is to add enough db at the source, to allow this cleaner signal to travel farther. Amps don't increase the actual performance of an antenna as whatever you get in terms of signal with the antenna is what you get. Amps just help compensate for cable runs and splits. Only thing you have to be careful with is sending too much db down the pipe, over-powering your receiver (plenty of sources explaining the science behind the db strength and the amount you need). A Pre-amp does not require any extra cable or electrical to be run to the mast as you use the supplied power inserter and connect inside the house (prior to any splitter) to feed the electrical current back through the coax to the pre-amp on the mast. In my case the power connection was after 100 ft of cable. Bottom-line, it worked great. During the marathon of watching the Olympics we rarely had pixelation, but maybe every couple of hours a one second jitter. All-in-all I'm happy with the product. It worked and I now have free beautiful DVRd HD TV using the right antenna, this pre-amp and a TiVo!

Was this review helpful? (90) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QBack
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
preamp
6/17/2016

Customer review by poguy

4.0 stars 6/17/2016 by poguy
by poguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Improved my fringe area reception signal strength from 20-25% on most stations to 50-60%. Closest station is 60 miles away.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blocked out channel 8
7/10/2016

Customer review by Thomas

1.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Thomas
by Thomas

I live in Sarasota county, and receive TV stations from Tampa with an attic log periodic antenna. I get occasional pixelation with low-powered WEDU (PBS station), due to signal level fluctuation down to less than 50% at times, so I decided to try a preamplifier. This preamplifier significantly amplified the TV channels, with the exception that channel 8 in Tampa (RF channel 7; virtual channel 8) was totally blocked; no signal at all. Without the preamplifier, I receive this channel moderately strong. Since this is the Tampa NBC affiliate, I really want to receive this channel. Since RF channel 7 (the "real" channel) is the first channel in the VHF-upper band (174 - 180 MHz), perhaps this issue was caused by the FM trap being way too broad in its frequency coverage (this trap is enabled by default). So I switched off the FM trap, which then allowed this channel to come in, but there was visual noise on some of the other VHF channels (possibly due to a strong FM station on 107.9 MHz only a few miles away), which was unacceptable. Therefore, I returned this preamplifier to Walmart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice amp
6/23/2016

Customer review by Retiredtech

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Retiredtech
by Retiredtech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good amp. Went from 9 stations to 21. Works as expected.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredtech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked for me
5/14/2016

Customer review by Rwelga

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Rwelga
by Rwelga

My problem was signal strength. I was experiencing frustrating picture and audio interruption on 7 of the 19 OTA channels available in my area. This made these channels unmatchable and included not only the usual weak channels like PBS and Independent networks but in my case, to some degree, the local CBS and FOX channels. It was easy to hook up to my antenna and immediately improved reception. No more frustration watching TV.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rwelga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great small item
4/12/2016

Customer review by Abraham

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by Abraham
by Abraham

The pre-amplifier, even though it comes with an electric adapter, seems to boost the signal (which was poor on some channels), and give a much clearer picture across all channels without having to point the antenna in a very narrow direction.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abraham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No improvemment
7/2/2016

Customer review by Bill

1.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Bill
by Bill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a roof mounted antenna and tried this unit in line at the antenna and at the TV. At best, there was no improvement. Some settings provided worse reception than without the pre-amplifier. Not worth the money or time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will not work if a splitter is in your coax run
4/24/2013

Customer review by myfirstonlinereview

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by myfirstonlinereview
by myfirstonlinereview
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The amplifier works great, once I figured out the best way to use it. I was this close to returning it when I first hooked it up because I lost all the stations I was originally getting. But through trial and error, I found out how to use it. I ended up having to move my antenna from the outside into the attic because my coax run was long and there were two splitters in the run between the antenna and the indoor plug part. By getting one 50' coax cable with no splitters, the signal was amplified and now all stations are coming in crystal clear and even a few more stations I was unable to get before. When reading other reviews on this product before I bought it, I did not see anything about not using splitters, so I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (93) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
myfirstonlinereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
more product info would be helpfull
5/19/2016

Customer review by Fritz

5.0 stars 5/19/2016 by Fritz
by Fritz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product ,easy to install . 10 db more gain would be helpfull.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fritz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works really well!!
7/15/2016

Customer review by Smurph

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Smurph
by Smurph
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works really good in rural areas, where the nearest towers are about 50 miles away!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smurph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
didnot help
7/6/2016

Customer review by wallnut

3.0 stars 7/6/2016 by wallnut
by wallnut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It didnot help

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallnut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by John908

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by John908
by John908
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had one channel about 40 miles away which I could not get in consistently with my outdoor antenna. Signal strength bounced from 20 to 60+. I installed the RCA Preamp and now have a consistently good signal in mid to high 70 range for that channel. Before installing I received 14 channels. Now I am receiving 21. I am very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John908
Normal, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DOA
7/3/2016

Customer review by carman6870

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by carman6870
by carman6870
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Unit would not function, DOA

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carman6870
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Such a nice Antenna Preamplifier
5/2/2016

Customer review by DRJOHN

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by DRJOHN
by DRJOHN

I BOUGHT THIS FOR A FRIEND, AND THE ITEM WORKS BEAUTIFULLY, WITH A SMALL ANTENNA I RECEIVED MORE THAN 30 CHANNELS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DRJOHN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greatly improved antenna signal strength
12/31/2012

Customer review by lady1184

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by lady1184
by lady1184
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have difficulty getting one TV channel through our roof antenna; the other channels are fine. We use a 3-way splitter from the antenna: to TV, to DVD player, and to receiver. Since we cannot go up on the roof to install the pre-amplifier near the antenna (as the instructions say), we installed it between the splitter and where the antenna enters the house. We installed the power inverter so it is protected by the surge protector. This significantly improved signal strength, and we now have no difficulty receiving that one TV channel. We turned the FM filter off, because having it on impaired signal to the FM radio.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lady1184
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Good
11/16/2012

Customer review by WannaGoSleep

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by WannaGoSleep
by WannaGoSleep
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The towers are about 60 miles from my house in plain sight. They seem to use less power during the night and I was losing stations. I got the pre-amp to boost the signal in this situation. I do get all the stations I normally do during the day after I installed the pre-amp, but a few still are coming in fuzzy and unwatchable. Daytime channels 26, without pre-amp at night 18, with pre-amp at night 26. Very happy with how it performs (no ghosting etc.) but probably should have attacked the problem differently by getting a bigger antenna in combination with the pre-amp of course.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WannaGoSleep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Free TV
1/28/2013

Customer review by mjfrongi

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by mjfrongi
by mjfrongi

I replaced my "Rabbit Ears" in my living room (which the reception was effected by bad weather) with the RCA ANT751R Outdoor Antenna Optimized for Digital Reception" for $40 and added a RCA Antenna Pre-Amplifier for an added $22. P plus coax cables for about $25. I installed the antenna in my attic and now I have great reception in all kinds of weather. My reception went from about 12 stations (plus a few more if I got up and moved the position of the ears) to 30 stations. I was a little nervous about the antenna being fixed but that is not a problem. I live in central MA and receive reception from Boston, Worcester, Providence, RI and Manchester, NH. Antenna installation was straight forward. The only issue was connecting the Pre-Amplifier. I connected it in reverse. After that minor issue, everything went great.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjfrongi
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst amp ever
6/7/2016

Customer review by image4ubyjp

1.0 stars 6/7/2016 by image4ubyjp
by image4ubyjp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Actually took away most of the channels. Only left main network channels. Waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
image4ubyjp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought Two-They Both Didn't Work!
6/18/2015

Customer review by Joanzin

1.0 stars 6/18/2015 by Joanzin
by Joanzin

I bought the first one...installed it easily. It worked for two days. It rained and went out completely. It was sad because it brought in every channel better and was more stable plus brought in a few more that I couldn't get prior. Removed and returned it. Ordered another....it was DOA. Installed it and it made reception worse to where I couldn't get a single channel. I did better with out it. The reason why it made reception worse is because the unit wasn't working at all!!! So if you get one and you mount it and get NO channels...it's because the unit is faulty!! I know this because the first one worked for a couple days well until it rained. These are poorly made as I found out the hard way. It's a shame...it's promising if they would build them a little better because when they work...they work well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joanzin
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews