Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

8 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

8 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-7 of 7 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Falls short
7/22/2010

Customer review by hsbgolfer

2.0 stars 7/22/2010 by hsbgolfer
by hsbgolfer

Having purchased a car with a free 3 mo trial with Serius satelite radio and enjoying it in the vehicle I searched hard to find a portable to use on the boat, golf cart and my other cars. This was the most expensiv,e but via Walmart was $161 ish versus the $199 retail. The Home Doc kit for me is almost worthless since my house has large trees covering almost all, so I cannot get reception at any location. If you dont have and aux-in as in my Mercedez, you must spend a bundle on a car kit which I chose not to do for cosmetic reasons. I have a boat and a golf cart I use it in but the battery will only last about 2 hours and the is not a 12 volt aux power supply. Also since I have to put the doc on the roof to even record anying it has been a disapointing purchase after paying the $200 plus years worth of subscription fees. All total I would not buy this again and most likely not even seek to get satelite radio. I can get GPS and Mobile signals under a tree but nada for satelites. I am not a review writer but thought my $400 plus experience could help someone else.

Was this review helpful? (101) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hsbgolfer
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Piece of garbage
11/21/2010

Customer review by Tsiyvwiyv

1.0 stars 11/21/2010 by Tsiyvwiyv
by Tsiyvwiyv

I bought this radio for one reason- to be able to record the shows that I like to listen to on satellite radio. Unfortunately, this radio can't seem to handle that simple task. The radio randomly changes the dates and times of the timers for no apparent reason. It doesn't record for the full time of the show that you set it to (for instance, it'll record half an hour of a six hour show even though you have it set to record for six hours). Or, it just won't record the show at all, even though the timer clearly shows that it was set to record. The software in the radio seems buggy, even after updating to the latest version. Menu items tend to disappear at times. Don't bother calling technical support when that happens. XM has horrible customer support. The tech people don't seem to be familiar at all with their own product, and just tell you to reset the radio. This isn't just a case of getting a bad radio either. I bought one radio, which did all the things I described above. I called technical support, who just told me to return the radio and get another one. I did that, and the exact same things happened again. Bottom line- this radio does not do what it is advertised to do. If you're looking for a radio with recording capabilities, this most definitely is NOT it. I'll be returning this piece of garbage, again, for a full refund, and sticking with my old Sirius Sportster, which can't record, but at least it does what it's supposed to.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tsiyvwiyv
Harvard, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
XM XMp3I
3/11/2011

Customer review by ElectronicsGuy4u

2.0 stars 3/11/2011 by ElectronicsGuy4u
by ElectronicsGuy4u

Radio Works Great if your in the open outdoors, but in a car or house with the headphone on reception is TERRIBLE !! totally disappointed. Would buy this product and try again if they did something with the antenna to improve reception

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicsGuy4u
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/6/2011

Customer review by MJHig

4.0 stars 10/6/2011 by MJHig
by MJHig

This unit is excellent. I don't get how the other reviewers find it inferior. It does as advertised. When you buy the XMP3i from WalMart it comes with the home dock. I also bought the Vehicle dock. Both together are @ $200. The XMP3i with home dock anywhere else is $200 alone. Following the directions I had no problems. I mainly wanted this unit for work. Using the Vehicle dock it works as well as my factory XM radio even with Power. When I take it out of the vehicle dock to use it strictly portable there is an issue with reception. The thing is, even in your chest pocket, the cloth will obstruct the antenna not to mention your body, so I found attaching it to my hat is the solution mostly. I didn't get it to be a recording device but it worked well setting up a scheduled XM recording (Rays game) the one time I did. I also bought 3 8 GB micro SD cards & loaded my gigantic MP3 library. Works very well even with PowerConnect (transmits to a vacant FM station on your factory radio). I'm very happy with it. It makes work much more tolerable. Battery life is a non issue for me. It's connected to the vehicle's battery predominately & when I take it out of the truck portably for an hour or so, it's never a problem.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJHig
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great service
7/5/2011

Customer review by Skippythepro

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Skippythepro
by Skippythepro

WalMart kept me informed of the status and shipping was very fast. Fair price for a good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skippythepro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful for delivery drivers
3/20/2011

Customer review by WorksalotJr

4.0 stars 3/20/2011 by WorksalotJr
by WorksalotJr

I enjoy having something to listen to that has a station like Backspin which plays all my favorite songs that were even before my time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorksalotJr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Device lacks quality, but music service is great.
8/22/2011

Customer review by Justinr999

2.0 stars 8/22/2011 by Justinr999
by Justinr999

The quality of the hardware is low - they obviously skimped. The battery doesn't snap into place so the back cover is all that holds it in and the device is lacking in software features. The operating system is menu-based, like a cell phone and is somewhat intuitive and fairly simple to learn. When connecting to a car kit and an aux port on a car stereo, even with the output turned all the way up, the sound is quiet (more like "appropriate" listening level), which will bug you if you like loud music. Hopefully your car stereo can adjust its auxiliary sensitivity. Other than the cheesy device, the service is great and sound quality is good and probably unnoticeable to all but audiophiles.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justinr999
Questa, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day