Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 32 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Much nicer than a Netbook
8/11/2010

Customer review by LenNH

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by LenNH
by LenNH

As cute as Netbooks are they are pretty useless as a computer. Even for web browsing they are painfully slow. This computer has a real dual core processor in it and is capable of running applications like Office, Quickbooks and even Photoshop. Web browsing is very fast depending on your connection. I tried a Netbook first and had to return it--video would stutter and web pages opened very slowly. This computer may be slightly larger but it has a beautiful HD display, HDMI out so you can connect it to your HDTV, and great build quality. Aesthetically it rocks as well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LenNH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for travelling with a few cons
8/19/2010

Customer review by deer421

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by deer421
by deer421

Pros: - Screen is bigger than regular netbook. - More powerful than regular netbook. - Great full size keyboard. Very comfortable. - Play movies with no problem. - The touch pad has two buttons. - Comfortable weight for travel. Cons: - Display's contrast is too high. Images look washed out. There is no way to turn down the contrast. - The Fn key stops working sometime. It doesn't bring up the Fn panel. Very annoying, I have to restart. Hope Toshiba will come up with a fix soon. - Not very easy to turn up and down sound. Have to use the Fn key and nothing shows when you turning the sound up or down. - Battery life not so great. - Speakers are very weak. - The tab key is very small. - The touch pad could be bigger. Overall I am more satisfied than dissatisfied with this laptop. I just hope Toshiba will fix a few things I mention above.

deer421
Wyndmoor, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Design is a Niche!
10/5/2010

Customer review by marks4idmedic

4.0 stars 10/5/2010 by marks4idmedic
by marks4idmedic

Way better screen size than a 10", just as versatile. Great hybrid netbook/notebook. Very poor battery life in todays time. I have to spend much money to upgrade RAM to 4 GB, and procure a higher capacity battery which adds up unnecessarily. Much better than most netbook indices. Refined screen resolution. Video should have a 1080i panel output though. Good capacity and fast Hard Drive and processor. Great design, very sturdy, awesome keyboard feel and key click sound. Brand has been a success in my long history in durability and dependability. Toshiba has delivered another great all around value added package! Go Toshiba!

marks4idmedic
san diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Travel Computer
11/12/2010

Customer review by Scott

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by Scott
by Scott

This T215D is ideal for a work/entertainment computer on the road. Its lightweight package and 11.6" screen makes it comfortable to haul around and easy on the eyes when working for long periods. I mainly use it for working on word documents, slide presentations, and spreadsheets, and to watch movies on flights between destinations. It handles everything I throw at it with ease. The keyboard takes a little getting use to, but once you are use to the keys, typing is a snap. Having three USB ports is a plus. I can run my bluetooth mouse, an optical drive and charge my cellphone all at once. Great computer.

Scott
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fits in my inner coat pocket
12/5/2010

Customer review by rob342

4.0 stars 12/5/2010 by rob342
by rob342

works great, i have another toshiba satellite i use for work and i like it so much i bought this tiny one to carry around. i would not recommend anything smaller than this for extended viewing. 11.6" screen is perfect IMO. wireless works great everything works great. i wash the computer constantly and one of the rubber screen bumpers came off but i reattached it with 2 sided tape and it's been fine ever since. the internal wireless card works great with backtrack 4 linux. id buy another one, heck i'd buy two

rob342
darien il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Laptop
7/23/2010

Customer review by Manuel

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by Manuel
by Manuel

By far one of the best 11" laptops you can find for the price, the design is awesome, the button feel is absolutely correct not like the acers, the inside part of the laptop is mesh type hard plastic thats good for NO fingerprints all around. Nice screen. Added another 2gb DDR3 of ram since as stock it comes with 1X 2gb ram and one free slot ! 8gb max capacity, might upgrade later! Though with 4 is enough for this machine and the use someone could give to a 11.6" laptop.

Manuel
Tampico, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A perfect Mini-Laptop
10/16/2010

Customer review by Cattroll

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by Cattroll
by Cattroll

Not only an attractive appearance, but is a wonderful performer. I bought this unit as a much less expensive alternative to an iPad. It holds all the apps I need, and then some. Among the apps are Photoshop CS5, several useful plugins, and Lightroom 3, for travel use. It also contains a number of games for travel use. Its WiFi allows convenient transfer of files to my desktop and to my printer. It is a perfect travel tool.

Cattroll
Franklin, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful laptop marred by poor battery life
11/13/2010

Customer review by trem

4.0 stars 11/13/2010 by trem
by trem

I love everything about this laptop except the poor battery life - the real battery life is closer to 3 hours rather than the claimed 5 hours. What is great is the dual core speed, the size and low weight, the keyboard, the bright screen, the price, the aesthetics (people who see mine want it). I bought a 2nd 61WH battery since the stock one runs out so quickly. With a true 5 hours, this would be the perfect laptop.

trem
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like it but have issues
9/18/2010

Customer review by traveler

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by traveler
by traveler

I owned anASUS netbook before. Difinately like the Toshiba better. Better quality, speed, screen. I wish the TAB key is better and on many occasions. I plug the AC adapter in. It would indicate it is plug in but not charging. I have to start the computer. This several time a week. I use it daily.

traveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for!
9/6/2010

Customer review by Emily

4.0 stars 9/6/2010 by Emily
by Emily

Nice keyboard, hasn't frozen on me yet, nice sized screen for a netbook. Sometimes the cursor jumps around unprompted, not a lot of memory, and mine actually had a flaw in the screen when it was brand new. It's nice enough that I'm going to hang onto it, but I won't be recommending it to friends.

Emily
Would recommend to a friend? No
netbook size, laptop power
10/16/2010

Customer review by photons

4.0 stars 10/16/2010 by photons
by photons

Like: esata port ,makes backing up to esata ext HD very fast, the HDMI port, can watch streaming HD video on Large screen, comes with 2Gb RAM on ONE stick very nice, sharp bright display, multitouch pad works well Dislike: shiny silver keyboard surround, too much unnecessary trial software.

photons
Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Netbooks
8/18/2010

Customer review by Slick

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by Slick
by Slick

Purchased three (3) netbooks from Toshiba Direct, all were as advertised. My son and daughter and I have found the netbooks to be very well made and the performance is very good. Only negetive is speakers, sound is poor but you don't buy netbooks to listen to music, so this is not an issue.

Slick
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK.
8/10/2010

Customer review by C59

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by C59
by C59

A little slow. No Blue Tooth. Why I should have to remove memory to add additional memory is unclear to me. 2GB is fine but if I want more I need to throw away 1 GB. No optical drive but that keeps the weight down which was a concern of mine so that is an observation not a complaint.

C59
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satellite Netbook
8/6/2010

Customer review by CMV

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by CMV
by CMV

A solid and well performing Netbook. I am well satisfied with it's capabilities and performance. But anyone expecting Laptop or Desktop performance and capability will be disappointed. It's form factor and increased hard disk space makes if just right for how I intend to use it.

CMV
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Laptop
10/30/2010

Customer review by slls

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by slls
by slls

I really like this laptop for the price. It is replacing a Dell 12" with a DVD drive, but I paid alot more for the Dell. I have not had issues with heat. I added another 2gb memory and bought an external DVD. This laptop is light, sturdy and the keyboard very comfortable.

slls
Albany,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cassual user to date
11/7/2010

Customer review by ukluk

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by ukluk
by ukluk

I bought this lap top to travel with on my motorcycle perfect size when space is limed. Lighted key board and a fringer print reader would be a great improvement. I like the action of the key board beyond that I aim to new to computers to be of much use reveiw wise.

ukluk
Anza Boreggo desert/ ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Right Fit
8/31/2010

Customer review by Monk

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by Monk
by Monk

I bought this as a Windows test bed system and security scanning system. It fits the bill. Works great. Just the right size. Good battery life. Other than very stiff touch pad buttons, it is exactly what I hoped for and expected.

Monk
Laurel, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My laptop netbook
11/4/2010

Customer review by Rod

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Rod
by Rod

Best little laptop on the market. Full size key board, easy to add RAM,not like other netbooks on the market.This is my second Toshiba laptop in 6 yrs, and they are still up to snuff. My next Laptop will be Toshiba.

Rod
Pontiac, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Movies
7/17/2010

Customer review by n/a

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by n/a
by n/a

The 11.6' screen is great for a portable computer to watch movies. The picture qualtiy is fantastic and the AMD processer is very fast compared to an Atom. I like the keyboard and the touchpad has seperate buttons.

n/a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
exelent
7/12/2010

Customer review by david

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by david
by david

simply beautiful smaller and powerful DDR3 1066 awesome watching high definition perfect 720p 1080 HDMI..... exelent technology for the new 3D hard disk protection against falls.

david
norwalk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews