Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 54 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Well worth the price for a spin bike
11/15/2010

Customer review by DogKlaus

4.0 stars 11/15/2010 by DogKlaus
by DogKlaus

I am an avid rider, and was a former certified cycle instructor. If you are a beginning rider or casual rider at home, this is a great spin bike for the value. If you plan to ride more then 30-45mins. and more the 4 times a week, I would invest in a higher grade commerical bike, but otherwise this bike will meet your needs. It has nice tension control, steady balance, and little comfort features like a water bottle holder and cages. NOTE: No clips for this bike, if that is what you want you need different pedals. The seat is a standard road bike seat, some people might want to replace or add a gel cover if you aren't use to a hard seat. I read one review that said the person fell off the bike backwards and it tipped over, I don't see how that is possible unless you assembled the stand backwards (the wheels to move the bike go in the front), all the weight is on the front, you would have to work hard to tip it over backwards. Great bike for the price.

Was this review helpful? (88) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogKlaus
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheapest bike does not mean worst one out there!
9/21/2010

Customer review by MisterJK

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by MisterJK
by MisterJK

I tried spin bikes that costed twice as much as this one and I was even more impressed by this one. The ride is very solid while the others were less stable during heavier pedaling. The price of this bike was the clincher. Why pay more for something else that isn't built any better than this one? Another thing, it is also quieter than other bikes I have tried. Great deal!

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterJK
Sunny Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Spinner for Price.
11/23/2010

Customer review by KyTrish57

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by KyTrish57
by KyTrish57

My husband and I are very pleased with our purchase. We have been pricing these kinds of Spin Bikes for about 4 or 5 years and couldn't justify spending over $800 for one. He used his bike trainer and was happy with that for a while but then he wanted to try looking again for a spin bike. We came across this one on Wal Mart and decided to try it, the price was right for us. It arrived in less than a week and was very easy to put together and set up. Doesn't take up a lot of space either. It's quiet compared to his bike trainer. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that some bikes do but to us that just ramps up the cost. Pro Form is a good name in exercise equipment, we have several pieces of this brand in our exercise room. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a basic spin bike to work out with.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KyTrish57
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I really, really want to like this product, but ..
4/14/2011

Customer review by AlsoKnownAs

2.0 stars 4/14/2011 by AlsoKnownAs
by AlsoKnownAs

I really, really wish I could rate this bike higher than a 2 but I just can't bring myself to do so. First the good. • The bike was really easy to put together except for the seat. Absolutely no directions on how to mount the seat. • The bike is very sturdy. • I really do feel like a get a good workout on the bike. I sweat like crazy, that's for sure. Now the bad. The very, very bad. • The seat. I ride a road bike so I'm used to small seats, but the seat that comes with this bike is horribly uncomfortable. I had to invest in a padded, gel seat cover just so I could stay on the bike for longer than 10 minutes or so. • The noise. OMG. The noise that this bike makes is somewhere in between an angry, 200 lb. bee on steroids and a fog horn that constantly blows. Watching television (or at least trying to listen to it while watching) is impossible. To make it tolerable I have to listen to my iPod at top volume. That pretty much drowns out the noise, but whatever is causing the noise causes the entire bike to vibrate so even if I can only sort of hear the noise (because my iPod is cranked to ear splitting level) I can feel it. Once in a while I can find a sweet spot on the resistance knob and the noise will die down to a loud hum (which would be perfectly acceptable and expected). If I try to change the resistance though, the sweet spot will have more than likely disappeared when I try to find it again. I cannot believe that of all of the people who have posted reviews here, very few of them mention having a noise problem. I called the toll-free number on the owner's manual about the noise problem and although the representative that I spoke to was very nice, she had absolutely no idea what could be done to fix the problem. I am still debating whether or not to try to return this bike. I really have no idea how that would be done - it's very heavy (a good thing) and would be impossible to put back it the box for shipping or for hauling back to Walmart. While I do feel like I get a great workout on this bike (like I said before), the negatives are really difficult to over look. I'm very disappointed in my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlsoKnownAs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Superior bike
11/23/2010

Customer review by Debra10

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by Debra10
by Debra10

One gets a superior workout on this bike. I replaced the original seat with a more comfortable, wider seat. I am on the short side and have made all the adjustments I could make, but I still find the bike is too high for me. I'm 5' 2". I love the bike. I'm so happy I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debra10
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY
9/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

GOT THIS BIKE ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO. ROAD IT ABOUT 8 TIMES SINCE THEN. IT'S BY FAR A GREAT BIKE FOR THE MONEY. NOW IT MAY NOT BE THE SAME QUALITY AS YOUR RIDE AT YOUR GYM. IT WILL GIVE YOU ALL THE WORKOUT YOU CAN STAND. BUY ONE AND SEE.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
PANAMA CITY, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike
2/7/2011

Customer review by Annonnn

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Annonnn
by Annonnn

Purchased two of these for my wife and I after reviewing exercise bikes on the web. This bike has the look and feel of much more expensive bikes, was easy to assemble, and gives us a great exercise. So many of the reviewers stated that the seat was uncomfortable, so we went ahead and ordered a wide gel seat. Though we haven't used the stock seat, it looked to be well padded and a quality seat. I think that anyone that hasn't biked in a while, will have a two or three week transition to any seat as we did. We found some bike videos on the internet that are taped from various bike ride's throughout the country and have enjoyed biking to these videos while enjoying the scenery of places like the pacific coastline, Yellowstone, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc. We chose Walmart's free shipping to the local store because we knew that if the product didn't meet our standards, we would have been able to take them back to the store for a full refund. We may add a computer later on that will give us some feedback as for time and distance, but for now we have enjoyed our 30 minute sessions at our own somewhat leisurely pace. Overall, a great product and I would consider ourselves very satisfied customers in regards to this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Annonnn
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
1/20/2011

Customer review by FreeFreddy

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by FreeFreddy
by FreeFreddy

This spinner is attractive, built solid, gets high reviews everywhere and looks like it'll last for years and years, an excellent value for such a low price. Easy to assemble and made-in-the-USA! I'd recommend adding the Cateye Velo for a low cost basic speedometer/odometer device. Walmart made the ship-to-store delivery option super easy. For a great low impact cardio workout at this price, the ProForm 290 is highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeFreddy
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Schwinn Incognito....
1/25/2011

Customer review by DudewithaBadCat

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by DudewithaBadCat
by DudewithaBadCat

During my Division I College hockey days, I would ride a Schwinn spinning bike very regularly. Being half the price, no sign of any weakness, smooth, quiet, and just as sturdy as a 700 dollar Schwinn spiinning bike....this bike is amazing. Comes with a 90 day warranty and a five year warranty on the frame. Bike comes assembled except for the handlebars, seat, and two horizontal balancing plates. I assembled it by myself in 10 minutes and rode like a mad man for one hour trying to find something wrong. The only problem I have is that the handlebars are a little loose now, but that can be remedied with the proper tools. Not sure if you can beat this quality for the price. I recommend that you buy some grease and some nail/screw glue if you want to really prepare your bike for the long haul.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DudewithaBadCat
Milwaukee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
1/23/2011

Customer review by Sportsfan15

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by Sportsfan15
by Sportsfan15

I did a lot of research before deciding on this product. For the price you really can't beat the quality of this product. Definitely a great piece of equipment. I purchased this to use at home and also picked up a heart rate monitor to maximize my work outs. Now I can squeeze in a good cardio workout in less time than it takes to drive to the gym while in the comfort of my own home. I am very satisfied with this product. Assembly was easy and quick. It's an easy machine to operate and a couple of minutes on YouTube will show you how to properly setup the bike. I would definitely buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sportsfan15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bike
2/22/2011

Customer review by ShoppingQueendom

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by ShoppingQueendom
by ShoppingQueendom

I ordered the bike online after reading reviews by other people. I was a little apprehensive. I went and picked the bike up and brought it back to my house. I wansn't sure how the assembly of this bike would be but it was fairly simple. There were only a few parts which needed to be put together. Total assembly time took about 20 minutes. I've been using the bike for several weeks now and love it. When I can't get to the gym or its snowing and cold outside this bike gives me the cardio workout I need. I love it and would reccomend this bike to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppingQueendom
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for the price!
12/30/2010

Customer review by betterdeals

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by betterdeals
by betterdeals

I ended my membership at my gym and wanted a spin bike that was just the same. This bike is even nicer than my gyms. I did my research and looked for a month. And this bike was by far the best deal. Other sport's store's carried this exact same bike and wanted 300.00 more for it. I've used it and love it. (The seat's a tad hard not to comfortable but that's an easy & cheap fix)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
betterdeals
Loveland Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for the Price
4/7/2011

Customer review by WellnessMom

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by WellnessMom
by WellnessMom

I just bought the ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike. I am loving it! It was very easy for me to put together by myself. It is very easy to adjust the seat and handle bars. The brake works great and it is fairly quiet when exercising. The seat could be a little more comfortable, but then, I have not ridden a bicycle in a very long time, so it will take some getting used to. I did purchased a padded seat cover that helps. Overall.. This was a great buy and it will last me for a good while : )

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WellnessMom
Tulare, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very pleased
1/14/2011

Customer review by MisterMaggie

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by MisterMaggie
by MisterMaggie

This was my first online purchase at WalMart. Everything went smoothly and shipping was free. I assembled this bike with no problems in about 40 minutes. It is very sturdy, I like to stand up while riding and you can dial up the resistance and stand up on this bike with no worries of it tipping or being unstable. Others have commented that this bike is noisy. I would disagree. I tested others before buying this one and I consider it to be very quiet. Overall I would rate this very good, and a great value at $299. Others I tested were at least $100 more, this one is more solid, quiet and stable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterMaggie
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Spin bike
4/1/2011

Customer review by Mousecar1951

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Mousecar1951
by Mousecar1951

A really nice spin bike for the price. I've used ones in health clubs and this one rivels any of them. Easy to assemble, very stable and comfortable to sit on. Lots of adjustments to fit you well. We are enjoying the rides.....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mousecar1951
San Jose, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great decision
3/14/2011

Customer review by shagrat

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by shagrat
by shagrat

I bought the bike because jogging was beginning to bother one of my knees. I did a lot of research because I wanted something well constructed without spending too much. I was willing to pass on fancy features. After 3 months of heavy use I conclude that the ProForm is likely to give me many years of additional use. It rides smoothly with very responsive tension control ( please note that instructions recommend the tension be tight when the bike is not in use ). Some have commented that the seat is uncomfortable. This is a common complaint with many exercise bikes. I have gotten more used to it and for periods of time I sit up straight in the seat while pedaling to shift weight. I'm not mechanically inclined, but was able to assemble bike with minimal problems by following the clear instructions. The only time I ran into a problem was when I didn't read instructions carefully about screwing in left pedal. I paid $300 for the ProForm, which I think is an excellent price for something of this quality. Please note under "specifications" the weight and dimensions of the box if you decide to pick it up at store. You will probably need an SUV or truck.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shagrat
Waterbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Exercise Bike
4/18/2011

Customer review by coffeeoficianado

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by coffeeoficianado
by coffeeoficianado

I am happy with this bike. It gives a nice ride for the money. You do have to get used to the "weighted" wheel at first if you are not used to a spinning bike. You will either have to use the brake or just slow down slowly. In other words, the pedals do not stop instantly since the weighted wheel has momentum. Two things I would improve: One-the brake is in an awkward place. It gets in the way when I am getting off and on the bike. Two- the seat is really uncomfortable. You will probably want a better one. A good exercise bike for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeeoficianado
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent bike for the price
1/27/2012

Customer review by motormouth3

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by motormouth3
by motormouth3

I have been going to spin classes since 2001. I have belonged to 5 different fitness clubs up and down the coast. This bike is as good or better than the bikes I have used in a professionally led class. The people who complain about the seat are just plain silly. I never had a comfortable spin bike seat. It is not meant for sitting on the whole time anyway. Spin bikes are made for cranking up the tension and standing up to pedal part of the time. I have also invested in a gel seat in the past but didn't find that it helped all that much. For people who complain about the noise...REALLY??? Every spin class I've been to has been extremely noisy and is the reason the instructors wear a microphone and blast the music.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motormouth3
Santa Maria, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Chain is Noisy!
4/18/2011

Customer review by BrightDiamonds

2.0 stars 4/18/2011 by BrightDiamonds
by BrightDiamonds

I was excited to get the bike home and set it up to ride. The setup is very easy and the bikes appearance is modern and appealing. I saddled up and began my ride. Click, Click, Click went the noisy chain. You can forget about "running" on the bike, the sound of the chain will make you think that it is going to break. I returned the bike and bought a more expensive model with a belt instead of a chain. I am happy to have a nice quiet ride. :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrightDiamonds
Lantana, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent stationary bike, exceptional value
2/6/2011

Customer review by RoWDy16

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by RoWDy16
by RoWDy16

Purchased this bike after reading many reviews about many products, as well as trying out several in the stores. This bike (to me) is virtually identical to any bike priced under $900. My ideal bike, a Keiser M3, costs around $1500, and is obviously in a different league, but this certainly meets all of my needs. I've been using for 4-5x per week for the last 3 weeks, and have no complaints. Solid construction. Fairly quiet (though, obviously, magnetic resistance with eddy currents would be quieter). I haven't had problems with a loose seat or handle bars (as mentioned in other reviews) once tightened properly. My only complaint is the lack of a computer, but for what you pay, I don't think there is a better value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoWDy16
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews