Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 137 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

137 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

137 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 117 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Great quality Hibachi
7/14/2012

Customer review by 2live2love

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by 2live2love
by 2live2love

I love cast iron because it holds the heat (put mine on concrete pavers for safety)for a long time, it cooks so well, and is heavy duty. I paid $79. Very happy with this Hibachi. I first checked all the local stores in my area hoping I could just walk in and purchase it and take it home. This was not the case. I found online that Walmart had the best price and free shipping. It did NOT come within the shipping time frame, and I had to wait longer than expected,(was disappointed for the wait as it was a gift to my husband) but I did get it before the the 4th of July and was happy to have it for the occasion, and have used it daily for summer BBQ. This is a high quality product and will last a lifetime, and you will be able to hand it down to your kids, & grand kids. I Would recommend, in fact a few friends said they want one when they saw us cooking on it.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2live2love
WA, STATE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's a tank.
1/9/2013

Customer review by ChicagoB

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by ChicagoB
by ChicagoB

Impressions: It's built like the old indoor cast iron stoves that were used to both heat the house and cook on. Only this little guy is portable and obviously for outdoor use. As an avid griller and BBQer I have seen and used many smokers and grills. For the money you will not find a finer, better built grill on the market. Although the size of the grill is quite small, it's quality is top notch. This thing will probably spend more time on Earth than me. Cost: Before buying the grill I researched many of the smaller grills on the market. They range from $20-$150. However, the quality of the grills, even the $70-$150 models is sub-par when compared to this little guy. If you buy it from walmart.com or A.....com it will cost half the price you'd pay if you buy directly from the company. It's not a short term piece of equipment like some of the lower priced "name branded" models. Design/Cons (sort of): One of the most unique things about the grill is the design/construction. It's only about 7-9 pieces total, counting the screws/bolts, but it all fits together perfectly. If I had to find any weak point with the grill, I would say the handle and balance of the grill could be a little better for transporting. At 30lbs it's a heavy little sucker and it tends to tip forward when you pick it up by the handle. As you move forward with grill the front gate will swing open. It doesn't fall off, but it makes it a little awkward for transporting. In fact it's not really a big deal, because you can just pull the door off and place it in the grill. Which might pose a problem when the grill is hot if you don't have gloves. However, I've never faced this issue and always just carry the grill with the door attached.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoB
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We got this for my husband for Father's Day. He says it's totally heavy duty, old-school hibachi!! He loves, loves it, and we take it to the beach, river, backyard and it's awesome. He loves the whole charcoal thing:-)

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Clemente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/19/2011

Customer review by Hipowerjmb

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Hipowerjmb
by Hipowerjmb

IT' a great grill cooks food great watch out for hot dog they roll away

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hipowerjmb
DURHAM NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Be prepared for falling food !!!
4/9/2012

Customer review by bratburner911

2.0 stars 4/9/2012 by bratburner911
by bratburner911

It should have been designed to where the draft door will not slide off (create moveable or adjustable stops at each end. The coal door should have been hinged so it doesn't fall off accidentally. Most importantly the food grate should have a lip around the edge so food (like dogs and brats) do not roll off. Lastly a tool needs to be provided to remove the coal grate for easy cleaning underneath. It is extremely difficult to remove without tipping the grill itself. The product is very well constructed but poorly designed. Obviously not by a person who grills often. I would only recommend this to my friends if an improved version were created and would not buy it again unless it was improved.

Was this review helpful? (56) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bratburner911
Makanda Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
THIS IS BY FAR A GREAT PRODUCT AND WILL LAST
8/25/2013

Customer review by DEADEYEO86

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by DEADEYEO86
by DEADEYEO86

I READ THE REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND WAS IMPRESSED. I ORDERED ON A THURSDAY AFTERNOON AND IT ARRIVED ON SATURDAY MORNING . FOR REASON OUT OF MY CONTROL I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE IT FOR 10 DAYS. BUT WHEN I DID, IT COOKED THE BEST STEAKS THAT I HAVE COOKED IN YEARS. THE CAST IRON GRATE WAS EVENLY HEATED COMPARED TO THE WIRE RACK ON MOST GRILLS. I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO TRY DIFFERENT WAYS OF COOKING DIFFERENT ITEMS. I WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE OF THESE YEARS AGO. THIS WAS JUST OVER $60 WITH FREE SHIPPING WHEN I PURCHASED IT. YOU CAN FIND IT AT OTHER SITES FROM $89 TO $129. OR MORE I HAVE OF LOTS LODGE CAST IRON PRODUCTS AND I AM MORE THAN JUST SATISFIED WITH EACH AND EVERY ONE. COOKING WITH CAST IRON GIVES THE BEST FLAVOR BECAUSE OF THE EVEN HEAT TRANSFERRED TO THE FOOD WHERE AS THESE SO CALLED WIRE RACKS THE FOOD OFTEN STICKS . I SHOULD HAVE REALIZED SOONER THAT A CAST IRON COOKER WOULD DO THE SAME LIVE AS OTHER CAST IRON UTENSILS THAT I OWN LIVE AND LEARN . IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY ONE OF THESE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DEADEYEO86
ORANGEBURG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill
6/17/2014

Customer review by cloud40

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by cloud40
by cloud40

If your looking for a cast iron grill then you must already know that they can rust easily but they last forever. Knowing about rust issue I called Lodge and they told me to spray paint the whole grill (not the top cooking grill) with black outdoor grill paint to eliminate rust issue. I sprayed 4 coats of paint on the grill. Even though Lodge Seasons the top cooking area I still noticed a slight shade of rust in very small spots after the grill sat outside a while so I cleaned the top with vege oil then put more on and baked the top in my oven for an hour. Then I did that two more times. All is well now but it is recommended to season the top once in a while especially after a summer of use. So all that I have said is normal for a cast iron grill, thats why I gave it a 5 star if you like cast iron and cooking on charcoal. If the cast iron issue bothers you then go for the tin grill.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cloud40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Purchase
6/10/2013

Customer review by maryr1

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by maryr1
by maryr1

No doubt, This is a great product, but the icing on the cake is Walmart ships it free saving $28.00 compared to Amazon or dealing directly with the the manufacturer! How does Walmart do this?

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maryr1
Owego, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/25/2012

Customer review by DeeplyHondo

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by DeeplyHondo
by DeeplyHondo

My only complaint and others have voiced this as well is that there is no method of keeping the air or vent door from just falling off the hibachi. Other than that it is a really great piece of gear and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeplyHondo
Hondo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OOOOOOH YEEEEEEES!
6/16/2013

Customer review by Warriors4Jesus

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by Warriors4Jesus
by Warriors4Jesus

Okay folks, I'm into cooking with cast iron. And its Fathers Day. So my family blessed me with the Lodge Sportsman Cast Iron Grill. My review? Well, that little thing is the BOMB! THE BOMB! Wonderful, Wonderful! I cooked 4 filet mignons and several boneless/skinless chicken breasts. All the meat was perfect. Just the look of the meat made ya hungry. Its been 30 minutes since we all pushed back from the table and you could still cook on the Sportsmans Cast Iron Grill by Lodge. By the way, I only used 16 charcoal bricks to get the job done( 1 layer across the bottom) and the grill is still ready for action. Happy Fathers Day and God Bless you all.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Warriors4Jesus
Crossville,Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome little grill
6/7/2012

Customer review by YouWantThisReview

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by YouWantThisReview
by YouWantThisReview

Cast iron holds the heat. Nice flat, wide grilling space keeps burgers from falling into the fire. Easy to clean (don't use soap!) Portable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YouWantThisReview
Belmont, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Big Little Grill-Love it.
4/17/2013

Customer review by PrairieChef

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by PrairieChef
by PrairieChef

Had the best steaks ever. Can't wait to use it when the family & I go camping. Spray oil on both sides of the cooking grid before cooking easy clean up. Walmart - love your prices on outdoor cast iron.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrairieChef
Mandan, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/31/2012

Customer review by SGBoogie

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by SGBoogie
by SGBoogie

Being cast iron, the grate gets really hot. That cooks the meat instead of just smoking it and gives it the grill marks I like and gives it a great taste. I don't like when steak, chops, etc. are placed in a grill then covered and smoked until they are done.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SGBoogie
North Central Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Typical Lodge Quality
3/31/2013

Customer review by ZiggyFL

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by ZiggyFL
by ZiggyFL

This product shows the same quality materals and construction of the same item I had 20 years ago! Walmart price was spectacular! Free shipping clinched the deal

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZiggyFL
New Port Richey, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/29/2013

Customer review by 123Grillindog

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by 123Grillindog
by 123Grillindog

I expected quality from Lodge and that's what I got. Perfect little grill that should last a lifetime or two. Great for up to four people. Plus I got it at a Walmart price that was less than half of what other stores wanted and it was shipped to my door in three days.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123Grillindog
Terre haute In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is a LODGE
10/11/2013

Customer review by BearfootHillbilly

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by BearfootHillbilly
by BearfootHillbilly

The best cast-iron portable grill out their Perfect for tailgating or at hunting base camp for any cooking job.. And it is a LODGE product the best cast iron cook weir on earth. and Wal-Mart's price beats all others

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BearfootHillbilly
Rock Hill SC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Little Hibachi Grill
8/15/2013

Customer review by BackyardSmoker

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by BackyardSmoker
by BackyardSmoker

As with others, this is a great little grill and priced very nicely at Walmart.com It takes me back many years when we had campouts and cookouts. I use mine multiple times a week, burning both wood and charcoal in it. I actually put it in my gas grill so I can use the gas grill lid to keep the heat in and also to help smoke whatever I'm cooking. Positives, is it is quick to heat and stays hot for a long time. The top grill part is easy to remove and keep clean. I only use 10 or so charcoal pieces to start then I will typically put pin oak to generate any additional coals if needed. Negative as others have mentioned it is heavy and the handle is not balanced to keep the grill from tipping while carrying. Also the grate that holds the coals seems to already be rusting even though I thought it was suppose to be "seasoned". Maybe a stainless grate for the coals is a better solution. Overall, I am very pleased with it and would by another one if I had too; though this is built like a tank so I don't think that will happen anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BackyardSmoker
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great outdoor additional!!!
7/19/2014

Customer review by chraz

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by chraz
by chraz

Absolutely useful, practical and durable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chraz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Another great Lodge product.
9/18/2013

Customer review by Markontheroad

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Markontheroad
by Markontheroad

6 pieces fit together quite well and everything is held together with only 2 bolts with lock washes and nuts that hold the bottom to the oval shaped sides. There is a heavy duty steel wire handle, a lower cast iron grill that holds the charcoal above the floor of the grill allowing air circulation and the draft door to create a variable sized opening letting you to control how hot the fire is. The draft door itself just sits on the bottom and slides left and right for everything from a tiny hole to one of about 4" wide and about 1" tall. Finally the top grill is adjustable in distance from the flame but only by turning the griddle upside down. While this achieves the desired effect of making the cooking surface closer to the flame, you also end up with the 4 "legs" that are part of the cast iron top, pointed up. The product lives up to the claims of being broken in and if you make sure the grill is hot, meats won't stick.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Markontheroad
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sometimes a company creates a perfect product!
4/10/2014

Customer review by Viper39

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by Viper39
by Viper39

This is an exact replacement for the grill we raised our kids with for 15 years. When our youngest got married, we gave it to them, and now 20 years later we wanted to go back to the basics and found that Lodge was still making this perfect grill. The secret to its success is the ability to control the heat, the speed to have hot coals, and durability of the product itself. We've washed in the ocean, rivers, lakes, and everywhere else. Never warps and continues to do its job, no matter the use or abuse. An American legend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Viper39
Bonney Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews