Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

219 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

219 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
187
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 198 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
Probably the best hibachi on the market
6/11/2016

Customer review by Photogfr1

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Photogfr1
by Photogfr1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have occasionally read poor reviews about this grill based on it burning fuel too quickly or not being able to maintain low temperatures. It's not a smoker, obviously. It's a hibachi type grill and probably the best one available. I love it. It burns hot, 375-600 degrees depending on the kind and amount of fuel you use and could surely go higher if you desired. It's not huge, but doesn't claim to be and is portable. But at over 30 lbs. I wouldn't say it's packable. I use it at home or camping and love it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photogfr1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love lodge cookware
1/12/2017

Customer review by Petite

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by Petite
by Petite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love cast iron , special is lodge produce I love it is made in USA , all that I own is lodge cookware then the last one that I try is sportsman grill , I bought at Walmart 89$ , I looked somewhere is more then hundreds no way , thank you Walmart that I can save some money . You dry it you gonna love it .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Petite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Practical and Portable Cast Iron Grill
5/27/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like all cast iron products, this grill is perfect. I wish it came with a lid, but it is hibachi style. I wrap everything in foil to smoke my food. I also use as a small fire pit for my kids to roast marshmallows. Very low maintenance. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Purchase
6/10/2013

Customer review by maryr1

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by maryr1
by maryr1

No doubt, This is a great product, but the icing on the cake is Walmart ships it free saving $28.00 compared to Amazon or dealing directly with the the manufacturer! How does Walmart do this?

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maryr1
Owego, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lodge Sportsman's Grill
7/17/2016

Customer review by scott8353

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by scott8353
by scott8353
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Weber charcoal grill, but sometimes I just want to grill a steak or piece of chicken for myself and wife. This is perfect. We have had it a week and I've used it 3 times. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scott8353
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great outdoor additional!!!
7/19/2014

Customer review by chraz

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by chraz
by chraz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Absolutely useful, practical and durable.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chraz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Packaging and Missing Parts
8/24/2016

Customer review by DLGG

1.0 stars 8/24/2016 by DLGG
by DLGG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The grill was not in the original box and was missing 3 of 8 of the parts-unusable after paying $93. Took it to a Walmart and got a cash refund then went to a shelf in the store where it was on Clearance! Bought this one for half the price-that made up for the inconvenience. The grill is awesome-great heavy duty materials and cooks an awesome steak!

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLGG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inside the house grill
9/29/2016

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 9/29/2016 by Mike
by Mike
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this so I could grill indoors. Inside my masonry fireplace It is as well made as I could expect from Lodge and worked perfectly

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THIS IS BY FAR A GREAT PRODUCT AND WILL LAST
8/25/2013

Customer review by DEADEYEO86

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by DEADEYEO86
by DEADEYEO86
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I READ THE REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND WAS IMPRESSED. I ORDERED ON A THURSDAY AFTERNOON AND IT ARRIVED ON SATURDAY MORNING . FOR REASON OUT OF MY CONTROL I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE IT FOR 10 DAYS. BUT WHEN I DID, IT COOKED THE BEST STEAKS THAT I HAVE COOKED IN YEARS. THE CAST IRON GRATE WAS EVENLY HEATED COMPARED TO THE WIRE RACK ON MOST GRILLS. I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO TRY DIFFERENT WAYS OF COOKING DIFFERENT ITEMS. I WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE OF THESE YEARS AGO. THIS WAS JUST OVER $60 WITH FREE SHIPPING WHEN I PURCHASED IT. YOU CAN FIND IT AT OTHER SITES FROM $89 TO $129. OR MORE I HAVE OF LOTS LODGE CAST IRON PRODUCTS AND I AM MORE THAN JUST SATISFIED WITH EACH AND EVERY ONE. COOKING WITH CAST IRON GIVES THE BEST FLAVOR BECAUSE OF THE EVEN HEAT TRANSFERRED TO THE FOOD WHERE AS THESE SO CALLED WIRE RACKS THE FOOD OFTEN STICKS . I SHOULD HAVE REALIZED SOONER THAT A CAST IRON COOKER WOULD DO THE SAME LIVE AS OTHER CAST IRON UTENSILS THAT I OWN LIVE AND LEARN . IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY ONE OF THESE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DEADEYEO86
ORANGEBURG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Another great Lodge product.
9/18/2013

Customer review by Markontheroad

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Markontheroad
by Markontheroad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

6 pieces fit together quite well and everything is held together with only 2 bolts with lock washes and nuts that hold the bottom to the oval shaped sides. There is a heavy duty steel wire handle, a lower cast iron grill that holds the charcoal above the floor of the grill allowing air circulation and the draft door to create a variable sized opening letting you to control how hot the fire is. The draft door itself just sits on the bottom and slides left and right for everything from a tiny hole to one of about 4" wide and about 1" tall. Finally the top grill is adjustable in distance from the flame but only by turning the griddle upside down. While this achieves the desired effect of making the cooking surface closer to the flame, you also end up with the 4 "legs" that are part of the cast iron top, pointed up. The product lives up to the claims of being broken in and if you make sure the grill is hot, meats won't stick.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Markontheroad
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality Hibachi
7/14/2012

Customer review by 2live2love

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by 2live2love
by 2live2love

I love cast iron because it holds the heat (put mine on concrete pavers for safety)for a long time, it cooks so well, and is heavy duty. I paid $79. Very happy with this Hibachi. I first checked all the local stores in my area hoping I could just walk in and purchase it and take it home. This was not the case. I found online that Walmart had the best price and free shipping. It did NOT come within the shipping time frame, and I had to wait longer than expected,(was disappointed for the wait as it was a gift to my husband) but I did get it before the the 4th of July and was happy to have it for the occasion, and have used it daily for summer BBQ. This is a high quality product and will last a lifetime, and you will be able to hand it down to your kids, & grand kids. I Would recommend, in fact a few friends said they want one when they saw us cooking on it.

Was this review helpful? (65) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2live2love
WA, STATE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little Hibachi Grill
8/15/2013

Customer review by BackyardSmoker

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by BackyardSmoker
by BackyardSmoker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As with others, this is a great little grill and priced very nicely at Walmart.com It takes me back many years when we had campouts and cookouts. I use mine multiple times a week, burning both wood and charcoal in it. I actually put it in my gas grill so I can use the gas grill lid to keep the heat in and also to help smoke whatever I'm cooking. Positives, is it is quick to heat and stays hot for a long time. The top grill part is easy to remove and keep clean. I only use 10 or so charcoal pieces to start then I will typically put pin oak to generate any additional coals if needed. Negative as others have mentioned it is heavy and the handle is not balanced to keep the grill from tipping while carrying. Also the grate that holds the coals seems to already be rusting even though I thought it was suppose to be "seasoned". Maybe a stainless grate for the coals is a better solution. Overall, I am very pleased with it and would by another one if I had too; though this is built like a tank so I don't think that will happen anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BackyardSmoker
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill
6/17/2014

Customer review by cloud40

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by cloud40
by cloud40
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If your looking for a cast iron grill then you must already know that they can rust easily but they last forever. Knowing about rust issue I called Lodge and they told me to spray paint the whole grill (not the top cooking grill) with black outdoor grill paint to eliminate rust issue. I sprayed 4 coats of paint on the grill. Even though Lodge Seasons the top cooking area I still noticed a slight shade of rust in very small spots after the grill sat outside a while so I cleaned the top with vege oil then put more on and baked the top in my oven for an hour. Then I did that two more times. All is well now but it is recommended to season the top once in a while especially after a summer of use. So all that I have said is normal for a cast iron grill, thats why I gave it a 5 star if you like cast iron and cooking on charcoal. If the cast iron issue bothers you then go for the tin grill.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cloud40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sportman's Grill - Fantastic anywhere
7/10/2016

Customer review by JohnT

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by JohnT
by JohnT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After searching and searching I finally found the best little grill there is. It's prefect for camping or picnicing with a small group. And it's at its best at a party where guests can make their own satay, grilled shrimp, grilled vegtables or shish cabobs, among others. Your options are only limited by your imagination (try grilled pineapple with brown sugar). The air vent makes heat adjustment easy regardless of whether you are using even or indirect heat and the access door makes it very easy to add, move or even decrease coals allowing for hours of continous use - a feature found almost no where else. Also - the spacing of the grill grate is great - almost nothing slips through. And with the adjustable / removable grill grate you can go from dinner to s'mores with one fire. The only issue - it's a bit heavy, but that weight also enhances the heat distribtion - surrounding grill which adds to cooking quality. In short it's fantastic!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OOOOOOH YEEEEEEES!
6/16/2013

Customer review by Warriors4Jesus

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by Warriors4Jesus
by Warriors4Jesus

Okay folks, I'm into cooking with cast iron. And its Fathers Day. So my family blessed me with the Lodge Sportsman Cast Iron Grill. My review? Well, that little thing is the BOMB! THE BOMB! Wonderful, Wonderful! I cooked 4 filet mignons and several boneless/skinless chicken breasts. All the meat was perfect. Just the look of the meat made ya hungry. Its been 30 minutes since we all pushed back from the table and you could still cook on the Sportsmans Cast Iron Grill by Lodge. By the way, I only used 16 charcoal bricks to get the job done( 1 layer across the bottom) and the grill is still ready for action. Happy Fathers Day and God Bless you all.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Warriors4Jesus
Crossville,Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We got this for my husband for Father's Day. He says it's totally heavy duty, old-school hibachi!! He loves, loves it, and we take it to the beach, river, backyard and it's awesome. He loves the whole charcoal thing:-)

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Clemente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect addition
2/11/2017

Customer review by Paddy

5.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Paddy
by Paddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's the perfect addition to a smoker. Add a nice sear to smoked chops

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy great product
1/25/2017

Customer review by Koda

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Koda
by Koda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything I expected from a Lodge product.Great grill

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Koda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge Heavy Duty Sportsman's Grill
2/14/2016

Customer review by KeithL

5.0 stars 2/14/2016 by KeithL
by KeithL

I had owned this product many years ago and over the years lost track of it. For table-top use, with heat protection underneath, for grilling it is ideal. When I just want to cook burgers or kabobs I don't want to fire-up the larger grills. The only thing that you have to remember is that it is cast iron and that, eventually, rust will develop. Stay on top of it by removing the rust and using a high heat paint such as Rust-Oleum. Treat the grill surface as you would a cast iron fry pan. The only problem I encountered in ordering this was that I was never sent an email notification as requested when the product arrived at my local store. Fortunately the tracking code provided the information.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KeithL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heavy and well made, in the USA
1/10/2017

Customer review by TMac

5.0 stars 1/10/2017 by TMac
by TMac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm not one to BBQ, but I bought this as a gift and it was so nicely built that I got one for me! This purchase is for an alternative cooking source if things go south. I might even try to do some Kabobs when the weather allows.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TMac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews