Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 228 reviews
5 stars
194
4 stars
27
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 207 reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Probably the best hibachi on the market
6/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have occasionally read poor reviews about this grill based on it burning fuel too quickly or not being able to maintain low temperatures. It's not a smoker, obviously. It's a hibachi type grill and probably the best one available. I love it. It burns hot, 375-600 degrees depending on the kind and amount of fuel you use and could surely go higher if you desired. It's not huge, but doesn't claim to be and is portable. But at over 30 lbs. I wouldn't say it's packable. I use it at home or camping and love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Purchase
6/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No doubt, This is a great product, but the icing on the cake is Walmart ships it free saving $28.00 compared to Amazon or dealing directly with the the manufacturer! How does Walmart do this?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Practical and Portable Cast Iron Grill
5/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Like all cast iron products, this grill is perfect. I wish it came with a lid, but it is hibachi style. I wrap everything in foil to smoke my food. I also use as a small fire pit for my kids to roast marshmallows. Very low maintenance. Love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great outdoor additional!!!
7/19/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Absolutely useful, practical and durable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love lodge cookware
1/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love cast iron , special is lodge produce I love it is made in USA , all that I own is lodge cookware then the last one that I try is sportsman grill , I bought at Walmart 89$ , I looked somewhere is more then hundreds no way , thank you Walmart that I can save some money . You dry it you gonna love it .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge Sportsman's Grill
7/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have a Weber charcoal grill, but sometimes I just want to grill a steak or piece of chicken for myself and wife. This is perfect. We have had it a week and I've used it 3 times. Love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Inside the house grill
9/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this so I could grill indoors. Inside my masonry fireplace It is as well made as I could expect from Lodge and worked perfectly
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Packaging and Missing Parts
8/24/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The grill was not in the original box and was missing 3 of 8 of the parts-unusable after paying $93. Took it to a Walmart and got a cash refund then went to a shelf in the store where it was on Clearance! Bought this one for half the price-that made up for the inconvenience. The grill is awesome-great heavy duty materials and cooks an awesome steak!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THIS IS BY FAR A GREAT PRODUCT AND WILL LAST
8/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I READ THE REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND WAS IMPRESSED. I ORDERED ON A THURSDAY AFTERNOON AND IT ARRIVED ON SATURDAY MORNING . FOR REASON OUT OF MY CONTROL I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE IT FOR 10 DAYS. BUT WHEN I DID, IT COOKED THE BEST STEAKS THAT I HAVE COOKED IN YEARS. THE CAST IRON GRATE WAS EVENLY HEATED COMPARED TO THE WIRE RACK ON MOST GRILLS. I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO TRY DIFFERENT WAYS OF COOKING DIFFERENT ITEMS. I WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE OF THESE YEARS AGO. THIS WAS JUST OVER $60 WITH FREE SHIPPING WHEN I PURCHASED IT. YOU CAN FIND IT AT OTHER SITES FROM $89 TO $129. OR MORE I HAVE OF LOTS LODGE CAST IRON PRODUCTS AND I AM MORE THAN JUST SATISFIED WITH EACH AND EVERY ONE. COOKING WITH CAST IRON GIVES THE BEST FLAVOR BECAUSE OF THE EVEN HEAT TRANSFERRED TO THE FOOD WHERE AS THESE SO CALLED WIRE RACKS THE FOOD OFTEN STICKS . I SHOULD HAVE REALIZED SOONER THAT A CAST IRON COOKER WOULD DO THE SAME LIVE AS OTHER CAST IRON UTENSILS THAT I OWN LIVE AND LEARN . IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY ONE OF THESE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Little Hibachi Grill
8/15/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
As with others, this is a great little grill and priced very nicely at Walmart.com It takes me back many years when we had campouts and cookouts. I use mine multiple times a week, burning both wood and charcoal in it. I actually put it in my gas grill so I can use the gas grill lid to keep the heat in and also to help smoke whatever I'm cooking. Positives, is it is quick to heat and stays hot for a long time. The top grill part is easy to remove and keep clean. I only use 10 or so charcoal pieces to start then I will typically put pin oak to generate any additional coals if needed. Negative as others have mentioned it is heavy and the handle is not balanced to keep the grill from tipping while carrying. Also the grate that holds the coals seems to already be rusting even though I thought it was suppose to be "seasoned". Maybe a stainless grate for the coals is a better solution. Overall, I am very pleased with it and would by another one if I had too; though this is built like a tank so I don't think that will happen anytime soon.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great quality Hibachi
7/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love cast iron because it holds the heat (put mine on concrete pavers for safety)for a long time, it cooks so well, and is heavy duty. I paid $79. Very happy with this Hibachi. I first checked all the local stores in my area hoping I could just walk in and purchase it and take it home. This was not the case. I found online that Walmart had the best price and free shipping. It did NOT come within the shipping time frame, and I had to wait longer than expected,(was disappointed for the wait as it was a gift to my husband) but I did get it before the the 4th of July and was happy to have it for the occasion, and have used it daily for summer BBQ. This is a high quality product and will last a lifetime, and you will be able to hand it down to your kids, & grand kids. I Would recommend, in fact a few friends said they want one when they saw us cooking on it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Another great Lodge product.
9/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
6 pieces fit together quite well and everything is held together with only 2 bolts with lock washes and nuts that hold the bottom to the oval shaped sides. There is a heavy duty steel wire handle, a lower cast iron grill that holds the charcoal above the floor of the grill allowing air circulation and the draft door to create a variable sized opening letting you to control how hot the fire is. The draft door itself just sits on the bottom and slides left and right for everything from a tiny hole to one of about 4" wide and about 1" tall. Finally the top grill is adjustable in distance from the flame but only by turning the griddle upside down. While this achieves the desired effect of making the cooking surface closer to the flame, you also end up with the 4 "legs" that are part of the cast iron top, pointed up. The product lives up to the claims of being broken in and if you make sure the grill is hot, meats won't stick.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Grill
6/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If your looking for a cast iron grill then you must already know that they can rust easily but they last forever. Knowing about rust issue I called Lodge and they told me to spray paint the whole grill (not the top cooking grill) with black outdoor grill paint to eliminate rust issue. I sprayed 4 coats of paint on the grill. Even though Lodge Seasons the top cooking area I still noticed a slight shade of rust in very small spots after the grill sat outside a while so I cleaned the top with vege oil then put more on and baked the top in my oven for an hour. Then I did that two more times. All is well now but it is recommended to season the top once in a while especially after a summer of use. So all that I have said is normal for a cast iron grill, thats why I gave it a 5 star if you like cast iron and cooking on charcoal. If the cast iron issue bothers you then go for the tin grill.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OOOOOOH YEEEEEEES!
6/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Okay folks, I'm into cooking with cast iron. And its Fathers Day. So my family blessed me with the Lodge Sportsman Cast Iron Grill. My review? Well, that little thing is the BOMB! THE BOMB! Wonderful, Wonderful! I cooked 4 filet mignons and several boneless/skinless chicken breasts. All the meat was perfect. Just the look of the meat made ya hungry. Its been 30 minutes since we all pushed back from the table and you could still cook on the Sportsmans Cast Iron Grill by Lodge. By the way, I only used 16 charcoal bricks to get the job done( 1 layer across the bottom) and the grill is still ready for action. Happy Fathers Day and God Bless you all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sportman's Grill - Fantastic anywhere
7/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After searching and searching I finally found the best little grill there is. It's prefect for camping or picnicing with a small group. And it's at its best at a party where guests can make their own satay, grilled shrimp, grilled vegtables or shish cabobs, among others. Your options are only limited by your imagination (try grilled pineapple with brown sugar). The air vent makes heat adjustment easy regardless of whether you are using even or indirect heat and the access door makes it very easy to add, move or even decrease coals allowing for hours of continous use - a feature found almost no where else. Also - the spacing of the grill grate is great - almost nothing slips through. And with the adjustable / removable grill grate you can go from dinner to s'mores with one fire. The only issue - it's a bit heavy, but that weight also enhances the heat distribtion - surrounding grill which adds to cooking quality. In short it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We got this for my husband for Father's Day. He says it's totally heavy duty, old-school hibachi!! He loves, loves it, and we take it to the beach, river, backyard and it's awesome. He loves the whole charcoal thing:-)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge Heavy Duty Sportsman's Grill
2/14/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had owned this product many years ago and over the years lost track of it. For table-top use, with heat protection underneath, for grilling it is ideal. When I just want to cook burgers or kabobs I don't want to fire-up the larger grills. The only thing that you have to remember is that it is cast iron and that, eventually, rust will develop. Stay on top of it by removing the rust and using a high heat paint such as Rust-Oleum. Treat the grill surface as you would a cast iron fry pan. The only problem I encountered in ordering this was that I was never sent an email notification as requested when the product arrived at my local store. Fortunately the tracking code provided the information.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/31/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Being cast iron, the grate gets really hot. That cooks the meat instead of just smoking it and gives it the grill marks I like and gives it a great taste. I don't like when steak, chops, etc. are placed in a grill then covered and smoked until they are done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My only complaint and others have voiced this as well is that there is no method of keeping the air or vent door from just falling off the hibachi. Other than that it is a really great piece of gear and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sometimes a company creates a perfect product!
4/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is an exact replacement for the grill we raised our kids with for 15 years. When our youngest got married, we gave it to them, and now 20 years later we wanted to go back to the basics and found that Lodge was still making this perfect grill. The secret to its success is the ability to control the heat, the speed to have hot coals, and durability of the product itself. We've washed in the ocean, rivers, lakes, and everywhere else. Never warps and continues to do its job, no matter the use or abuse. An American legend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640688, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-