Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

49 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

49 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 43 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Will last a lifetime, heavyduty.
10/1/2011

Customer review by catchinonfast

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by catchinonfast
by catchinonfast

We bought for cub/boy scout campouts and home use. It comes with a small cookbook to get you started. It is already pre-seasoned so you can take it right out of the box and use it. Which is great! However I did lightly grease the inside of mine with cooking oil before I used it the first time just to make sure nothing would stick. It worked great. Nothing stuck. However we did accidently burn something while cooking in it later on. We didn't have our heat regulated right but I just used a scraper and most of it came right out. I waited until it cooled and put water inside the dutch oven to soak the rest and it came right out after just a short while of soaking. I don't think you can hurt these ovens unless you drop it or maybe put cold water in it while it is hot off the coals. It is pretty heavy. I'm glad I didn't get a bigger size because of the weight and also I don't think we would need a bigger size. I bought the 12 inch(8 quart) deep dutch oven and we have a family of four plus give or take a few neighborhood kids at every meal and we have more than plenty of food using this oven. I always rub a little cooking oil all over the oven once it is clean and I am storing it away to keep it nice. It has care instructions with it. Very easy to take care of.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catchinonfast
Blue Mound, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
cast iron dutch oven
9/5/2011

Customer review by corine

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by corine
by corine

Great for frying and cooking outside. The pot is large and heavy. Has handle for easy transport. Heats well with cover. My husband loves to use it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corine
jamaica n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for outdoor cooks
6/11/2012

Customer review by Brokew

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Brokew
by Brokew

The cast iron cookware turns out the best food ever, from main dish to deserts. The little book that comes with them makes you a perfect cook, and tells you how to care for them. One tip I learned is if you need to reseason put it in your oven and use the clean cycle, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brokew
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE IT!
11/29/2013

Customer review by JRLCT

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by JRLCT
by JRLCT

HAD IT 2 WEEKS AND ALREADY USED IT 3 TIMES. 2 CAKES AND COWBOY STEW. ITS BETTER FOR STEWS BUT DOES GREAT ON THE CAKES. THE SHALLOWER OVENS ARE SUPPOSE TO BE FOR BREAD AND CAKES BUT IF YOU USE ENOUGH HOT COALS (ON TOP) IT COOKS JUST AS GOOD IN MY OPINION. I'M LOOKING HARD AT THE L12CO3 AND L14CO3 TO USE FOR BISCUITS, ALTHOUGH THIS ONE WILL COOK THEM. COOKING RIBS AND CHICKEN BBQ TOMORROW NIGHT PER THE INCLUDED RECIPE BOOK. YOU WILL ENJOY IT IF YOU LIKE THE OUT DOORS. I,VE ONLY USED HARDWOOD COALS HAVEN'T USED CHARCOAL. DOES TAKE TIME TO GET COALS BUT WHY SUCH A HURRY. L.C.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRLCT
N. ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge Dutch Oven
10/12/2012

Customer review by JoyfulJewel

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by JoyfulJewel
by JoyfulJewel

Absolutely the cheapest place to purchase the real thing. Walmart rules with their free shipping to the home. Christmas will be very rewarding and affordable this year.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoyfulJewel
Layton, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good quality, preseasoned and good instructions.
10/26/2012

Customer review by NormVA

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by NormVA
by NormVA

This is the best quality Camp Dutch Oven I could find and the price at Walmart could not be beat. We used them for a campout the week they were received and the raves were out of this world! Cooks even, food was done to perfection and easy cleanup and seasoning.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NormVA
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one.
3/22/2014

Customer review by welder69

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by welder69
by welder69

This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one. Lodge has never let me down. I will be using this a lot this summer for campfire stew, and baking biscuits. Take care of your cast iron and your grandchildren will be using it, that is how I got started, some of my cast iron is more than 80 years old and made by Lodge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
welder69
East TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome cookin'
7/6/2013

Customer review by Dutchovenrookie

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by Dutchovenrookie
by Dutchovenrookie

We used the 8 quart and a 6 quart for a week of camping. Did some stacked cooking as well as just using them separately. The food was awesome. Even my finicky 12 year old was impressed with the stew. She want's us to make it that way all the time now. Clean up was easy, and you don't have to use very many coals for most meals. I think our food bill was a little lower than the last time we went camping.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dutchovenrookie
Somerset, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for camping - plenty of good recipes, too!
5/15/2012

Customer review by NCBBA11043

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by NCBBA11043
by NCBBA11043

This is my second Lodge dutch oven. We use the smaller 4 quart for small meals and desserts, and the HUGE 8 quart for roasts, stews, chili, etc. Unit comes preseasoned - ready to use out of the box. Easy to clean and care for. Will certainly last a lifetime, possibly two! This is the type of cookware that gets passed from generation to generation. A little expensive compared to others, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCBBA11043
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Heavy Dutch Oven!!!
9/15/2014

Customer review by dittybopp

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by dittybopp
by dittybopp

The 8 quart dutch oven by Lodge is HEAVY....and well made!!! The lid is very thick and designed to support the hot coals on top for more even cooking. This is a large item.... with "feet" to support the cookware in a open fire pit! Bear in mind that this is for OUTDOOR USE and is NOT intended to be used for stove top OR oven cooking. Use a regular dutch oven if that is your intention. I would HIGHLY recommend this item. Based on the construction, I'm sure that this will last for OVER 100 years....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dittybopp
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good dutch oven
3/6/2013

Customer review by GhanaMama

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by GhanaMama
by GhanaMama

Had to return the first one I ordered thru Amazon due to poor quality, then I ordered same item thru Walmart.com. Box arrived at site-to-store busted up, and the top rim of the dutch oven had similar problems as the first one ordered thru Amazon! The black surface coat is not solid around the top, and brown rust/oxidization can be seen... Over all the dutch oven (despite shipping box) arrived in better condition, and we look forward to years of use with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GhanaMama
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
trust the name
6/24/2012

Customer review by jhthornberry

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by jhthornberry
by jhthornberry

Exactly as ordered. Worked great, no problems. Fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhthornberry
75013
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
if your into camp cooking you got to get this
11/12/2013

Customer review by blackovenpot

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by blackovenpot
by blackovenpot

a great oven, already had a 12'' & 14'' reg. Lodge oven, been wanting a deep one, really cool being seasoned ahead of time, cooked a soup the very next day after getting it, American made, you'll never go wrong with it, great price Walmart & shipping !!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackovenpot
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed
10/16/2014

Customer review by OhioCampCook

5.0 stars 10/16/2014 by OhioCampCook
by OhioCampCook

This is a deep 12" Dutch Oven that has a capacity of 8 quarts. Lodge quality, made here in the USA and comes pre-seasoned. As a camp cook for many years, I have come to appreciate the Lodge brand of cast iron cookware. Pre-seasoned means you can start cooking with it pretty much right out of the box, but They recommend you rinse it out first. Instructions are included. The book says you can feed 12 to 16 people with this pot, but from experience, I would say 10 to 12 HUNGRY people would be about right. I just got this particular pot, but it replaces another deep 12" dutch oven that got loaned out and has not returned home yet. I have a group to feed in a week or so that will need to use this pot and if the other one finds its way home in the meantime, I'll have 2 of these pots (I am a camp cook, so I have several different sizes of dutch ovens and they all get used).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioCampCook
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Perfect Size
10/12/2014

Customer review by Greateats

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by Greateats
by Greateats

The Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven was the perfect addition to my outdoor cooking gear. It's the exact size I needed for my families favorite outdoor meal, slow cooked beer roast. It's also great for doing whole chicken and making enough stew, chili, soup etc for our family camping trips. I have used other brands of cast iron cookware but nothing beats Lodge for quality. When I found this Dutch Oven at this price I could not believe it.If you can find this Dutch Oven under $80 buy it, you wil not be sorry. Remeber to put cast iron cookware in your Will because it will last for generations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greateats
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Geat Dutch Oven
10/19/2014

Customer review by Sharab

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by Sharab
by Sharab

Great product and made in USA. I am a great fan of outdoors and when hungery, cooking outdoor comes next. I have tried cooking in my fire pit before but nothing tasted better than cooking in this Dutch Oven. This pot retains heat, and as result it cooks completely delicious meals. I have seen many cheaper Dutch Ovens in stores but I had my eye on Lodge Dutch Oven, since I had been researching on the net for some time. Get one, you will be happy you did. Walmart was amazing in handling and delivering it timely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sharab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A classic dutch oven
9/16/2014

Customer review by AccidentalCapitalist

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by AccidentalCapitalist
by AccidentalCapitalist

This is the dutch oven standard. Walmart offers this US made cast iron work horse at an attractive price. It is excellent in all ways. It's new so how can I rate durability? But the ones like this I have used in the past have lasted many years in my commercial kitchen where they get daily use and abuse.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AccidentalCapitalist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just as expected
6/17/2014

Customer review by ph60839

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by ph60839
by ph60839

The lid fit tight, casting was perfect, and the seasoning was just right. I would recommend lodge cast iron products to my family and friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ph60839
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
6/20/2014

Customer review by Rmber

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by Rmber
by Rmber

Just what I wanted

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rmber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great on-line Value
6/13/2014

Customer review by Stanley46

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by Stanley46
by Stanley46

This was one of the best quality, American made products at a great on-line price. With the Free shipping, it was a no-brainer. Can't wait for camping tryout.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stanley46
Marshall, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews