Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-15 of 15 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A monster sized dutch oven for a miniature price.
12/7/2012

Customer review by CastIronSkilletCook

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by CastIronSkilletCook
by CastIronSkilletCook

I have been using Lodge brand products for several months now and have found them to be supreme quality for a reasonable price. I had bought the 5 qt dutch oven at my local Walmart, and ever since had been wanting the biggest one (without the legs) I could get to cover the spectrum in size. Most places want at least $80-$100. Amazon and Walmart were the only ones to have it for the astounding price of $59, and of the two only Walmart had them in stock online. What was even more amazing is this 22 pound beast only cost me $3.97 in shipping costs (it would have been free if I had it shipped to my local Walmart!) Diameter is 13 1/4", and it stands 4 3/4" tall. These are outside dimensions. Inside it is about 12 3/4" (approx.) at the top tapering smaller to the bottom a bit, and it goes about 4 1/2" tall from inside bottom to lip. The lid, I believe, will fit the Lodge 13 1/4" cast iron skillet (also on my "to-get" list.) So there is yet more utility out of this than just the dutch oven part itself. It has the bail handle (the only option available in the 9 quart "non camp" dutch oven line. As with any Lodge product it comes "pre-seasoned", but what they always fail to really clarify is that to get it into a "non stick" phase it needs more seasoning. The thing is that cast iron that is not shipped pre seasoned is done in a wax (to keep it from rusting) that must then be removed by the purchaser and then a seasoninregimenne started. The Lodge form of seasoning keeps the pans from rusting in transit, and if need be allows instant use. So, as always, season your cast iron (I give at least 3 good coatings before really starting to use them.) There are tons of ways to season cast iron, so I won't bother with those details. If you need a spacious dutch oven, this is your pick. If you are looking only to dabble more in a general sense I would suggest splitting the difference between the 9qt and 5qt by getting the 7qt (also available from Walmart). The 5qt will fit a 5-6 pound chicken for roasting, but would be too small to do a good sized batch of dutch oven cinnamon buns, something the 9qt will do no problem. Thus the 7qt should give you the best of both worlds. In my Lodge dutch ovens I have roasted chickens (wonderful!), made soups and have joined the "dutch oven artesian bread" movement (super wonderful!). No matter what size you choose you can't go wrong with one of these black beauties!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CastIronSkilletCook
Goffstown, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great value for a high quality Dutch oven.
7/13/2013

Customer review by JLBonifay

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by JLBonifay
by JLBonifay

I purchased a well used vintage Griswold #8 5 qt. Dutch oven online a few days prior for the same amount plus shipping cost as a baked bean pot. After spending weeks looking for a large #12 9 quart, I just could not justify the $300.00 ebay was getting for the vintage ovens. After reading many reviews for the Lodge ovens and comparing prices I decided to pull the trigger and order one from Walmart, and have it delivered for free. Hey I thought if it doesn't pan out, I will return it. "Flash forward, that is not going to happen". I am beyond pleased by the quality, value, and excellent workmanship of this oven. It is very heavy cast iron (about 12 lbs,) as it should be for proper heat transfer and retention. The lid mates perfectly with the deep smooth inner lip of the pot. The self basting inner lid is a plus, and the pre-seasoned oven baked finish is perfect. This is not a wax finish as some manufacturers provide, but a true oil baked on finish. The large spring handle centered on the heavy wire bale is a pleasant feature for added comfort when the oven is full. Couple all this with the fact that it is made in the USA by a family owned company for nearly 100 years, and you have the perfect package. Use this beauty on the stovetop, oven, grill, or camping, for the best, easiest, tastiest, healthy, and most durable cooking adventure you will ever experience. My wife and I are in our sixties, and have tried every type of cookware out there, including that stick to it glass Corning Vision Ware back in the early 80's, but have happily added the old cast iron back in the kitchen as of late. We still use our stoneware for some things, but for hearty meals, and an old fashioned tasty breakfast, cast iron cannot be beat. So if your thinking about it, do it, give it the good ole' American try, and you will not be disapointed. Oh, and the beef stew we cooked as the first meal out of this pot was just like mama used to make. Be well, J. Linton

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLBonifay
Flushing, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great size and USA made.
2/14/2014

Customer review by kiefersdad

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by kiefersdad
by kiefersdad

Nice American made product and it will hold plenty of chicken. Made enough for our family of five with left overs. I am glad I own it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiefersdad
MILTON, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice seasoned oven.
9/11/2012

Customer review by RGFF

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by RGFF
by RGFF

The product arrived at my local store undamaged and timely. Lodge products are always a value and excellent quality. I purchased this one to use as a fish fryer. The cast iron holds heat so you get even cooking. I hated to put it on open flame of my propane cooker as the amber preseasoned surface looks so good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RGFF
Creal Springs, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I love this huge and versatile dutch oven!
6/15/2014

Customer review by TacoMonster123456578

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by TacoMonster123456578
by TacoMonster123456578

I bought this 9 quart version with no campfire legs because I wanted a huge heavy duty cast iron dutch oven that I could use indoors or outside on the fire. It is perfect. It weighs a ton and it holds a ton. I have used it on the stove, in the oven, in my wood stove, and over the camp fire. Every time I use it I get compliments. People admire it and ask if it is a family heirloom. It has an old time look to it, and it probably will be an heirloom because it is built to last. It came factory seasoned, but I cleaned it and soaked it in oil anyway. It is very quick to develop a tiny bit of surface rust if you miss any spots with the oil or if it stays wet after washing, which is annoying, but all cast iron is like that and it will get better as it ages and gets more oil baked on. The big handle is comfortable and lets me hang it over the fire. It makes it easier to carry, but it isn't easy to carry as it weighs a ton, especially once it is full of food.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TacoMonster123456578
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best deal around
8/30/2013

Customer review by snapdog11

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by snapdog11
by snapdog11

looked at gatlinburg OUTLET!!!!! they wanted 85 dollars for the same piece. went online and found it for 63 with 21 dollars shipping. The same!!!!! Walmart shipped it to me for 45.18 free freight. Unbelievable,

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snapdog11
effingham IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Lodge 9-Quart Dutch Oven is Wonderful
1/10/2014

Customer review by MonteRay

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by MonteRay
by MonteRay

This 9-quart bad boy will cook anything from Beef Burgundy to a small turkey at a fraction (about 1/10th) of the price you'd pay for some fancy French enameled pot, and what a great way to cook bread in your oven! Ya' gotta' love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MonteRay
Monterey, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/24/2012

Customer review by Cryptkeeper

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Cryptkeeper
by Cryptkeeper

I saw this on Walmart's web site at a reduced price not the size I was looking for but even better than the smaller 5-Qt oven and cheaper too. I bought his to cook on my grill outdoors. See www.bbqpitboys.com

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cryptkeeper
Hattiesburg,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This is a wonderful iron dutch oven
4/7/2014

Customer review by tarham926

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by tarham926
by tarham926

I used it today and am very pleased with my purchase. I was disappointed that it did not have a 'mini' cookbook/tip book with it. The only improvement I can think of - is to say there should be more room between the handle of the lid (not the bail handle) and the base of the lid. There is not much room for your hand when you have a potholder in your hand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tarham926
Seneca, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awsome dutch oven
3/23/2014

Customer review by hh78

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by hh78
by hh78

I have made several meals not one bad one yet. I love going from the stovetop to the oven. Great for deep frying for holding the heat. Made cowboy bread and cornbread. It was all gone even the crumbs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hh78
Schoharie, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cookware at the head of the class
3/25/2014

Customer review by Sirhc4

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by Sirhc4
by Sirhc4

Durable, heat-retaining, and non-stick. I truly enjoy using a product that will gladly accept metal utensils and does not slowly leach Teflon into every meal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sirhc4
PHX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This was just what I wanted.
5/27/2014

Customer review by ARMONDO

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by ARMONDO
by ARMONDO

This is heavy cast iron that is nicely preseasoned.I will only be using this in case there is a power outage.I will use this as a roasting oven and baking-oven.The 9 quart size is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARMONDO
AUSTIN,TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/10/2013

Customer review by John516

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by John516
by John516

Original promised delivery date was delayed/extended. Upon receipt/inspection this AM, product was unacceptable. It looked like a factory 2nd or reject.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John516
Exton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dutch Oven
1/16/2015

Customer review by 4CLNN

5.0 stars 1/16/2015 by 4CLNN
by 4CLNN

Well made. Good price. Large volume. I use it for bread making and it can easily handle a large loaf.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4CLNN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great DO!!!!!!
7/13/2014

Customer review by LoyaltoLodge

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by LoyaltoLodge
by LoyaltoLodge

Love this 9 qt DO. Hats of to Lodge for another great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoyaltoLodge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.