Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-14 of 14 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good boat for the money
10/11/2010

Customer review by BigAlJ

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by BigAlJ
by BigAlJ

I bought this boat and matched it with a 5 hp Briggs 4 stroke. The boat does really well- however- I am a big fella and it does set a little low in the water (but not as low as a metal boat). It is very water tight and for small lakes and rivers it is an excellent choice. I still have a few things I need to do - add a seat for me because after 5 hrs of fishing the bench is so low it makes my back hurt, I also bought the fishhawk fishfinder that is a good accessory if you like to fish. Overall - it is a great boat for the money - I have a new 12 foot boat and motor for less than $1500.00. If you are older or are not very strong - you will need a trailor- at 110 pounds it is a chore to load and unload off of a truck by yourself- if you add a motor (I got the briggs- add another 50-60 pounds) and you got yourself a good workout to get on the water. It is plastic- so I am a little careful about rocks and gravel- apparently holes have to be repaird with a plastic welder. The plastic can be hard to work with- the trolling mount is on the front and there is not a lot of room on the back to add a trolling motor if there is an outboard on- and the way the plastic is rolled in the back- there is not a way to add the trolling motor without adding a brace (which is kinda strange- ussually for a boat like this everything is in the back- motor, etc.- do they expect you to move to the front to operate a trolling motor?- ever try walking in a jon boat?) I have had it on the water several times and it handles well- a little wobly- but it it isn't a full bass boat either. It is safe. It has a double hull with foam in between- you could fill it with water and it would probably still float - hence coast guard approval. You need to understand what you are getting before you buy- if you have never been in a jon boat before- try one out before you pay your money- if you decide they are what you are looking for- I would rate this among the best for the money. I would probably match with a diffirent motor as well. The two strokes are lighter and produce a higher rpm- the briggs is a putt-putt outboard with failry low rpms = lower speeds. And it is heavier than the two strokes of similiar horsepower. You cannot leave a motor on the boat - (unless you are keeping it in the water) another reason to consider weight of the outboard. I hope this helps and I would be happy to talk to anyone if you have questions.

Was this review helpful? (386) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigAlJ
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
For a budget fishing boat, its a good one.
4/23/2013

Customer review by bobatkin

4.0 stars 4/23/2013 by bobatkin
by bobatkin

A good boat but could be better with just a little help. It needs a small storage space with a door. It needs an eye-bolt in the rear for a motor safety chain. You can't just go drilling or cutting on this material. The floor is pretty but there is not a pathway for water to flow towards the rear for bailing. Other than those items its a winner....

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobatkin
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for taking my son fishing
12/30/2013

Customer review by FancyNan1

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by FancyNan1
by FancyNan1

The boat had no packaging so when it arrived, it had a few gashes in the bottom but they didn't go all the way through the material so I didn't go to the trouble of returning it. Also, there seemed to be confusion around the boat on the website. I read a review that indicated it didn't have the holes for oars/oars holders but mine did. I also thought you could seat 3 in the boat but the sticker on the boat says max. 2 people. I haven't measured the boat but wonder if I received the correct boat???? I don't think it's 12 feet. Can't wait to put a motor on it and go for a little cruise up the creek.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FancyNan1
Stafford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some concerns
4/17/2014

Customer review by lilrlz

3.0 stars 4/17/2014 by lilrlz
by lilrlz

Boat appears to be acceptable and what I expected but I have a concern about not having through seat drains. In the owners manual, the "Deluxe" model has through seat drains but the model I received does not so there is no way to drain the forward and middle sections. Talked to KL Industries and their only suggestions was to use a mooring cover or turn it upside down during the rain. This is really disappointing because of the hassle and cost of a mooring cover or having to keep it drained during a rain storm. Haven't decided what to do but probably would not have bought the boat if I had known about the lack of drains. May just drill drain holes myself or use the old stand by, a blue tarp. Not of the other reviewers mentioned the lack of drains.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilrlz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bravco for excellence costomer service!
1/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The boat arrived ahead of schedule and in perfect condition. Thanks so much.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
N/A
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fine boat for a pond
6/21/2013

Customer review by rangeredj

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by rangeredj
by rangeredj

I like it

Was this review helpful? (18) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rangeredj
vandalia, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
exactly what I ordered
6/11/2014

Customer review by 0043

4.0 stars 6/11/2014 by 0043
by 0043

its wonderful but too heavy for my husband and me to move; my dream was to have a boat on our creek like when I was kid; I am not a kid anymore so we have to have help getting it in and out of water; not possible to leave for fear of it being taken; I have it and will use when family can go with us; the oars are a challenge for me but only been out in it once.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
0043
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good boat for entry level boaters
7/14/2014

Customer review by SkFisher76

4.0 stars 7/14/2014 by SkFisher76
by SkFisher76

This is a great boat, good for a beginner boater or just a fisherman who needs a small boat to fish off of. It could use a couple minor improvements though. My biggest complaint is lack of a solid floor. It would be an easy fix to have a reinforced floor that is self bailing on top of that. In addition, there is virtually no storage space. I used a circular saw and a couple of pressure treated boards to make a floor that was stable(but not self draining). Then I added carpet and a console. The console works great for not only storage space but space for gauges, fishfinders, and even a steering wheel. All in all, great boat, nice hull, but just needs some minor improvement.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkFisher76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
arrived in good shape and is as advertised
3/15/2014

Customer review by DesertRockhouse

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by DesertRockhouse
by DesertRockhouse

Looks dandy, can't wait to try it out.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertRockhouse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst Delivery Ever - Don't ever use Pilot Freight
4/29/2015

Customer review by Scratchboat

1.0 stars 4/29/2015 by Scratchboat
by Scratchboat

Says on-line that the boat weights 110 and the shipment weighs 180lbs . Driver shows up alone with scratched boat in thin torn plastic bag and tries to pull off the truck by himself. There is no way you can not scratch it. Driver wrote "Bottom of boat scratched, bag torn, this is possible concealed damage", had an attitude, expected to be tipped. Shipment #057926389 You can buy this boat for a few dollars more elsewhere and perhaps it will come in at least a cardboard box - when you spend over $700 for something it should not be scratched, the way they pack it and deliver it with one driver and wrapped in a very thin bag, it is impossible not to.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scratchboat
Would recommend to a friend? No
jon boat
4/16/2014

Customer review by badswimmer

2.0 stars 4/16/2014 by badswimmer
by badswimmer

looks good and very stable goes good with 2.3 honda motor

Was this review helpful? (6) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badswimmer
Machias, Maine 04654
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
2/15/2015

Customer review by KFairfax

5.0 stars 2/15/2015 by KFairfax
by KFairfax

I love this boat. Easy to row. Holds two people with fishing gear. Lots of room.

KFairfax
Stafford Springs, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
American Jon 12
4/30/2015

Customer review by Crazymae

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by Crazymae
by Crazymae

I love this boat...My 12 year old son won this at a fishing tournament... He practically lives in this boat... It's super light weight & very durable... We put 2 adults and 3 children with poles & tackle in this boat and fit comfortably...

Crazymae
Dade City, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great boat
7/4/2015

Customer review by seawolf

5.0 stars 7/4/2015 by seawolf
by seawolf

I love this boat great rowing and fishing ,light weight and well made.

seawolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male