Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 241 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

241 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

241 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
147
4 stars
65
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
1-20 of 233 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 233 total reviews
1-20 of 233 reviews
Bought 1, 2, 3, 4... of them!!!!
8/22/2013

Customer review by AlabamaKayaker

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by AlabamaKayaker
by AlabamaKayaker

I bought one of these (end-of-season price $219), brought it home and put it in the pool and tried it out. Husband went back and bought him one. Then since taking friends and kids kayaking, I bought a 3rd one, then he went back and bought a 4th one. So now we can always take a couple of people with us kayaking and not pay rental fees!!! We did take out the screws on the side holding the footrests and placed a cement sealant around the opening and screwed them back in (one at a time, not all at once). This eliminated water leaking around them into boat. Also keep a can of WD-40 and spray the plug to easily put it back in. No other problems. I had a disk in my inflamed, so purchased a padded boat seat ($30) from Wal-Mart and it fits in there and is great! (It takes 4-5 hours down Terrapin Creek.) We tied strings under our deck to hold each end and turn them upside down and store them out of way. These are really easy to handle. Really like the paddle so far (and makes the $219 value even better!).

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlabamaKayaker
Gadsden, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
nice
1/15/2014

Customer review by yarmon

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by yarmon
by yarmon
Top 1000 contributor

i moved to Oregon a year ago i live right in the Williamson river i watched all the kayaks going up and down the river it looked like so much fun and great exercise so i started looking for one this year January 2014 these things are expensive until i looked in Walmart and fount this one i got it put it in the water the next day and was blown away at just how much fun it was what a great way to explore my new home. now it says 250 pound weight limit i'm a 5ft 11 260 pound body builder and it easily handled me with ease i fit perfectly inside with lots of room to spare the paddle it comes with worked great as well i have never kayaked before and in just a short time got the hang of how to paddle with ease a great new hobby.. i did read allot of reviews on this one and all the others the one complaint that was concurrent was that it came damaged so if you can avoid it have shipped to Walmart pick it up at Walmart so you can examine it as i did and it was in perfect condition at the store and there will be no hassles of having to returning it for a new one. so that's it i hope this was helpful in making your decision..

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yarmon
chiloquin or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Beginner Kayak
10/28/2010

Customer review by Calebjw

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by Calebjw
by Calebjw

I bought this kayak to use at my cousin's lake house last summer. I was looking for a cheap, hard shell kayak that I could knock around and not worry about. I was excited to when I found this kayak because it was the cheapest hard shell kayak I could find. I was impressed by the kayak's quality . It was extremely light. It was constructed to be very easy to handle and carry. It's very sturdy and doesn't feel like a "cheap" kayak. I must admit, the seats could be more comfortable, but that is the only problem that I have had with the product. I highly suggest it to an casual kayaker looking for a cheaply priced hard shell kayak that is going to give great results and preform like a much more expensive kayak.

Was this review helpful? (365) (80)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calebjw
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good product but shipping is rough on the finish
6/13/2012

Customer review by customerdejour

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by customerdejour
by customerdejour

ordering was easy, good price, shipped quickly, however when we received the kayaks (we ordered two), we were disappointed with the amount of damage on the kayaks. They are shipped only in a plastic bag which offers no protection during transport. We contacted customer service because one had a big gouge in the side and they promptly sent a replacement(good cust service folks) but upon its arrival it was about the same as the others. So plan on your "new" kayaks arriving in a slightly "used" state. We were going to return them to the store but they do not carry the yellow colors and were out of the blue ones.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customerdejour
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice inexpensive kayak for beginners.
7/22/2012

Customer review by chobeeap

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by chobeeap
by chobeeap

Went kayaking for the first time with my son in an inflatable kayak and enjoyed it, but after that trip and considerable internet research, felt a hardshell would be more enjoyable. Based largely on user reviews, ratings and pricing decided to give this one a try. Was not disappointed at all. Kayak is very stable, tracks quite well with proper stroking technique, and is very maneuverable. For the occasional recreational user this kayak should meet the need. Found some simple solutions for problems other users mentioned. A bit of dishwashing soap on the drain plug and it will slip right back in the hole with moderate thumb pressure. Applied a section of plastic automotive door edge guard along the inside of the front edge of cockpit opening between the thigh pads to prevent chance of skinning shins getting in or out (less than $4.00). Did notice the same problem that those who bought online had with the kayak being scratched on the bottom during shipping even though mine was purchased in the store. Pointed out the minor scratches and received a 10% discount. Other than these minor things the kayak seems well built for the price and I am looking forward to many enjoyable trips in it.

Was this review helpful? (97) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chobeeap
Okeechobee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Happy with the Purchase
5/15/2016

Customer review by shoppinmam

4.0 stars 5/15/2016 by shoppinmam
by shoppinmam

For a starter kayak this is great. Based on some of the reviews I was fearful of how the item would arrive. I bought two and they arrived when promised and without damage. They fit perfectly in my truck bed (tailgate down) with less than 2 feet of overhang. My 11 year old uses it with ease and fishes from it too. I have watched videos on modifications I can make to the kayak like adding a rod holder, more bungee cord, storage, etc. I will consider those things after more use. I would definitely recommend a padded cushion for your bottom but overall this was a great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppinmam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat it for the price!
7/2/2012

Customer review by PepsiFL

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by PepsiFL
by PepsiFL

This is a great kayak for those who don't need or want some state of the art high dollar kayak. I use this for purely recreational purposes. I am not going to race or do any white water rapids. This kayak is perfect for me. It is well built and user friendly. This is not my first kayak but, it may well be my last. It serves all my needs. Also love the rigid seat back as I have back problems.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PepsiFL
Marco Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value, very happy with my purchase
8/24/2012

Customer review by amdwarner

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by amdwarner
by amdwarner

We bought this kayak in the spring. It's now near fall and we've taken this on some easy rivers: the Illinois River in Arkansas and Oklahoma, the White River off Beaver Dam, and several lakes in the area. It feels very stable when on the water and paddling it is a breeze. We also have a Pelican Apex 100 and Apex 80 which in comparison might be faster, but feel a bit more unstable. The only problems (which would be no means a deal breaker) are that the little storage hatch on the back is by no means water resistant. It stays relatively dry if I'm in it (130 lbs), but when my husband, who is very near the weight limit, paddles in it, it swamps the hatch entirely. If used for storage, you'll need a watertight box if you want anything to stay dry in there. Do not expect things you put in there to stay dry! Another thing that is a little annoying (again, not a deal breaker), is that the seat back folds forward. This is good when transporting it, but when you are trying to get into the kayak, it has a tendency to fold forward, making the entry portion of your kayaking experience rather awkward as you have to hold it up while getting in. I would also suggest buying a different paddle than the one that comes with it, as I'm not a fan of the flat ended sort. It seems to catch the water differently than the paddles I typically use. However, that is just my personal taste. All in all, I'm very happy with this purchase. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in getting a kayak for the first time.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amdwarner
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Deal
5/12/2016

Customer review by HappyMom

4.0 stars 5/12/2016 by HappyMom
by HappyMom

I set out to buy two basic kayaks for my son and myself and found this one (mine is Pink) online. I went to my local Walnart and checked one out in person. I searched other retailers for styles and prices- this very same kayak is sold for as much as $379 at some retailers without the paddle!! This is an awesome deal and a great value. My son and I will get a lot of enjoyment out of them! Thank you, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Research any item first!
6/23/2016

Customer review by customer

4.0 stars 6/23/2016 by customer
by customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It appears to live up to all the positive reviews I have read online. It is a basic platform to build upon and personalize. Many videos on Youtube show how to personalize and outfit the kayak and upgrade.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged
4/30/2016

Customer review by Rock

2.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Rock
by Rock

Both kayak' s arrived damaged. Delivery guy did not seem.surprised and said that a lot of the one's he has delivered have been damaged. The kayak is 2 peice construction that is screwed together. I question how long before the screws rust out. On a positive note, they.are very light and come with a paddle. I found a better quality kayak at Cabela' s for $199. Had to buy paddles so that pushes the true cost to $230 but they are 1 piece, not as flimsy and the seat is a much better quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rock
Would recommend to a friend? No
beware shipping
6/11/2012

Customer review by retired60

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by retired60
by retired60

Kayak was great. Had it delivered to the house - the shipper must have dragged the kayak by one end account plastic was torn on one end and that corner bottom was all scratched up. hadn't heard of this shipper- came in a tractor-trailer.

Was this review helpful? (52) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retired60
Fort Payne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect size
4/29/2014

Customer review by Kyla132

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Kyla132
by Kyla132
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this kayak. Made a custom cooler out the storage compartment and bought a shower radio to enjoy while paddling. Price is cheap and quality is high. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kyla132
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dented
4/30/2016

Customer review by Paddler

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Paddler
by Paddler

Don't buy a kayak you haven't seen. It was freight shipped to me (the only way you can buy it), and it came with the rear end smashed in. Very easy return to store. Thanks Walmart for the easy return. Freight shipping a kayak in a bag just isn't a good idea.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paddler
Would recommend to a friend? No
Aruba sun dolphin
6/10/2016

Customer review by Lilrowdy

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Lilrowdy
by Lilrowdy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great kayak for the money. Glides easily through the water. It came complete with all accessories. Only down side is it was not able to be shipped to my Walmart and took 2 weeks to get to me. Other than that no problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilrowdy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Kayak great price!
5/13/2011

Customer review by Bones8107

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by Bones8107
by Bones8107

Bought 2 of these last weekend, great boat for a great price!! Very easy to transport, super light and very controllable, well built and fun.

Was this review helpful? (181) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bones8107
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sun Dolphin kayak
4/24/2016

Customer review by JackM

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by JackM
by JackM

It's a little heavier than I expected but not too bad. Easily handled by one person. Comes with all the bells and whistles...even a pretty nice paddle. Great quality and excellent price...oh, free shipping too? I like that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Kayak
6/10/2016

Customer review by dave

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by dave
by dave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice kayak! Shipping was fast and I was very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent kayak for the money!
9/28/2013

Customer review by brickwar

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by brickwar
by brickwar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do way too much research before I buy an item and picked this one due to the price, free shipping and the other reviews. I was a little nervous that the kayak looked cheap on the website however in person it looks much better. For the paddle being basically a free bonus its not bad would be good for maybe a child is fairly light. The kayak does come with no bottom seat cushion however I already knew this and I was surprised to find that it did come with thigh braces. The storage compartment is nearly watertight can be made easily completely watertight with a little glue on the seam of the gasket. Tracks very well for a 10 foot kayak and banged off several rocks no issues with holes or cuts. Bottom line if you're looking for an inexpensive 10 foot kayak this is the one to get.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brickwar
Lafayette Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item
4/16/2014

Customer review by Roxyboo2005

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Roxyboo2005
by Roxyboo2005
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great kayak. Good for waters with little current. Tracks pretty good for the price and has several storage compartments. Perfect for beginners and people who just ride kayaks casually.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roxyboo2005
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 233 total reviews
1-20 of 233 reviews