Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
51
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 178 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews
Bought 1, 2, 3, 4... of them!!!!
8/22/2013

Customer review by AlabamaKayaker

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by AlabamaKayaker
by AlabamaKayaker

I bought one of these (end-of-season price $219), brought it home and put it in the pool and tried it out. Husband went back and bought him one. Then since taking friends and kids kayaking, I bought a 3rd one, then he went back and bought a 4th one. So now we can always take a couple of people with us kayaking and not pay rental fees!!! We did take out the screws on the side holding the footrests and placed a cement sealant around the opening and screwed them back in (one at a time, not all at once). This eliminated water leaking around them into boat. Also keep a can of WD-40 and spray the plug to easily put it back in. No other problems. I had a disk in my inflamed, so purchased a padded boat seat ($30) from Wal-Mart and it fits in there and is great! (It takes 4-5 hours down Terrapin Creek.) We tied strings under our deck to hold each end and turn them upside down and store them out of way. These are really easy to handle. Really like the paddle so far (and makes the $219 value even better!).

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlabamaKayaker
Gadsden, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
nice
1/15/2014

Customer review by yarmon

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by yarmon
by yarmon
Top 1000 contributor

i moved to Oregon a year ago i live right in the Williamson river i watched all the kayaks going up and down the river it looked like so much fun and great exercise so i started looking for one this year January 2014 these things are expensive until i looked in Walmart and fount this one i got it put it in the water the next day and was blown away at just how much fun it was what a great way to explore my new home. now it says 250 pound weight limit i'm a 5ft 11 260 pound body builder and it easily handled me with ease i fit perfectly inside with lots of room to spare the paddle it comes with worked great as well i have never kayaked before and in just a short time got the hang of how to paddle with ease a great new hobby.. i did read allot of reviews on this one and all the others the one complaint that was concurrent was that it came damaged so if you can avoid it have shipped to Walmart pick it up at Walmart so you can examine it as i did and it was in perfect condition at the store and there will be no hassles of having to returning it for a new one. so that's it i hope this was helpful in making your decision..

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yarmon
chiloquin or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Beginner Kayak
10/28/2010

Customer review by Calebjw

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by Calebjw
by Calebjw

I bought this kayak to use at my cousin's lake house last summer. I was looking for a cheap, hard shell kayak that I could knock around and not worry about. I was excited to when I found this kayak because it was the cheapest hard shell kayak I could find. I was impressed by the kayak's quality . It was extremely light. It was constructed to be very easy to handle and carry. It's very sturdy and doesn't feel like a "cheap" kayak. I must admit, the seats could be more comfortable, but that is the only problem that I have had with the product. I highly suggest it to an casual kayaker looking for a cheaply priced hard shell kayak that is going to give great results and preform like a much more expensive kayak.

Was this review helpful? (356) (79)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calebjw
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good product but shipping is rough on the finish
6/13/2012

Customer review by customerdejour

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by customerdejour
by customerdejour

ordering was easy, good price, shipped quickly, however when we received the kayaks (we ordered two), we were disappointed with the amount of damage on the kayaks. They are shipped only in a plastic bag which offers no protection during transport. We contacted customer service because one had a big gouge in the side and they promptly sent a replacement(good cust service folks) but upon its arrival it was about the same as the others. So plan on your "new" kayaks arriving in a slightly "used" state. We were going to return them to the store but they do not carry the yellow colors and were out of the blue ones.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customerdejour
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice inexpensive kayak for beginners.
7/22/2012

Customer review by chobeeap

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by chobeeap
by chobeeap

Went kayaking for the first time with my son in an inflatable kayak and enjoyed it, but after that trip and considerable internet research, felt a hardshell would be more enjoyable. Based largely on user reviews, ratings and pricing decided to give this one a try. Was not disappointed at all. Kayak is very stable, tracks quite well with proper stroking technique, and is very maneuverable. For the occasional recreational user this kayak should meet the need. Found some simple solutions for problems other users mentioned. A bit of dishwashing soap on the drain plug and it will slip right back in the hole with moderate thumb pressure. Applied a section of plastic automotive door edge guard along the inside of the front edge of cockpit opening between the thigh pads to prevent chance of skinning shins getting in or out (less than $4.00). Did notice the same problem that those who bought online had with the kayak being scratched on the bottom during shipping even though mine was purchased in the store. Pointed out the minor scratches and received a 10% discount. Other than these minor things the kayak seems well built for the price and I am looking forward to many enjoyable trips in it.

Was this review helpful? (94) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chobeeap
Okeechobee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great value, very happy with my purchase
8/24/2012

Customer review by amdwarner

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by amdwarner
by amdwarner

We bought this kayak in the spring. It's now near fall and we've taken this on some easy rivers: the Illinois River in Arkansas and Oklahoma, the White River off Beaver Dam, and several lakes in the area. It feels very stable when on the water and paddling it is a breeze. We also have a Pelican Apex 100 and Apex 80 which in comparison might be faster, but feel a bit more unstable. The only problems (which would be no means a deal breaker) are that the little storage hatch on the back is by no means water resistant. It stays relatively dry if I'm in it (130 lbs), but when my husband, who is very near the weight limit, paddles in it, it swamps the hatch entirely. If used for storage, you'll need a watertight box if you want anything to stay dry in there. Do not expect things you put in there to stay dry! Another thing that is a little annoying (again, not a deal breaker), is that the seat back folds forward. This is good when transporting it, but when you are trying to get into the kayak, it has a tendency to fold forward, making the entry portion of your kayaking experience rather awkward as you have to hold it up while getting in. I would also suggest buying a different paddle than the one that comes with it, as I'm not a fan of the flat ended sort. It seems to catch the water differently than the paddles I typically use. However, that is just my personal taste. All in all, I'm very happy with this purchase. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in getting a kayak for the first time.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amdwarner
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Can't beat it for the price!
7/2/2012

Customer review by PepsiFL

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by PepsiFL
by PepsiFL

This is a great kayak for those who don't need or want some state of the art high dollar kayak. I use this for purely recreational purposes. I am not going to race or do any white water rapids. This kayak is perfect for me. It is well built and user friendly. This is not my first kayak but, it may well be my last. It serves all my needs. Also love the rigid seat back as I have back problems.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PepsiFL
Marco Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
beware shipping
6/11/2012

Customer review by retired60

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by retired60
by retired60

Kayak was great. Had it delivered to the house - the shipper must have dragged the kayak by one end account plastic was torn on one end and that corner bottom was all scratched up. hadn't heard of this shipper- came in a tractor-trailer.

Was this review helpful? (50) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retired60
Fort Payne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Kayak great price!
5/13/2011

Customer review by Bones8107

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by Bones8107
by Bones8107

Bought 2 of these last weekend, great boat for a great price!! Very easy to transport, super light and very controllable, well built and fun.

Was this review helpful? (176) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bones8107
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect size
4/29/2014

Customer review by Kyla132

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Kyla132
by Kyla132
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this kayak. Made a custom cooler out the storage compartment and bought a shower radio to enjoy while paddling. Price is cheap and quality is high. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kyla132
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item
4/16/2014

Customer review by Roxyboo2005

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Roxyboo2005
by Roxyboo2005
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great kayak. Good for waters with little current. Tracks pretty good for the price and has several storage compartments. Perfect for beginners and people who just ride kayaks casually.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roxyboo2005
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this kayak the day before I went out and used it, it was a great buy for a beginner very stable, the only problem is the paddle leash hole leaks when you lean to one side

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent kayak for the money!
9/28/2013

Customer review by brickwar

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by brickwar
by brickwar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do way too much research before I buy an item and picked this one due to the price, free shipping and the other reviews. I was a little nervous that the kayak looked cheap on the website however in person it looks much better. For the paddle being basically a free bonus its not bad would be good for maybe a child is fairly light. The kayak does come with no bottom seat cushion however I already knew this and I was surprised to find that it did come with thigh braces. The storage compartment is nearly watertight can be made easily completely watertight with a little glue on the seam of the gasket. Tracks very well for a 10 foot kayak and banged off several rocks no issues with holes or cuts. Bottom line if you're looking for an inexpensive 10 foot kayak this is the one to get.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brickwar
Lafayette Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kayak, durable
8/9/2013

Customer review by HoneybooboobooBooboo

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by HoneybooboobooBooboo
by HoneybooboobooBooboo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought 3 kayaks from 3 different places, 3 different brands . the Walmart kayak came in a bundle package sale priced with free delivery to our front door. This package deal was by far the most affordable and in the water this kayak is every bit just as great as the other two kayaks. You don't need to spend 1,000$ on a kayak to have a great water experience. We have had this kayak less than two weeks and it's been hauled in a cavalier with the back seat down, to the river six times already. It is durable and easy to use. Lightweight so a single person can handle it. Highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoneybooboobooBooboo
Edgewater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Kayak for the money.
8/26/2013

Customer review by BrienB

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by BrienB
by BrienB

I've had numerous canoes but no Kayaks. Today I bought this and gave it a shot. It is a very stable Kayak and pretty ez to maneuver. Seat comfort is good but I added a foam kneeling pad to sit on. Tracking is decent with a tight paddle. Go wide with the paddle and not so much. Paddle is in itself just acceptable. Will be a good spare. Well made fun little bargain if you ask me. Ya ain't gonna win no races in this ... but other than that it seems to be a great value for the money. I can see it lasting for quite a while as long as it's stored out of the sun.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrienB
Schuylerville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice simple starter kayak
10/9/2013

Customer review by PujetSoundIslander

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by PujetSoundIslander
by PujetSoundIslander
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Small enough to transport with my Versa. Easy to carry down to shoreline from parking lot. Great for lazy summer evening sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PujetSoundIslander
Shelton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We love our kayaks
4/22/2014

Customer review by FEMR

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by FEMR
by FEMR

We live in FL and had been wanting kayaks for years. I was searching Craigslist looking to spend no more than 500 for 2 used singles for my husband and I. A couple we know had purchased these and said they were very happy with them. Since this would mean we'd get new kayaks in my price range, we went ahead and purchased them. We are very happy with the kayaks. No, you are not going to cut through water like the more expensive, long and narrow kayaks, but they get the job done. We have used them in the ocean, river and springs. They work great! Obviously the calmer the water the better, and paying attention to tide currents helps as well. Once, we were in some shallow waters when the tide was out and my husband went in a tight area. He got stuck on top of an oyster bed, pushed himself off no problem. Naturally, some plastic peeled and there were some deep cuts from the sharp shells, but it didn't hurt the kayak at all. The only thing I'd like to warn about, and why I give the kayak a 4 stars vs 5, is inspecting your kayak before you purchase it-specifically the nose and rear of kayak. We didn't notice it at the time, but one of our kayak's dry storage didn't have a tight seal. When we compared the 2 we realized one of them was slightly bent upward in the rear. When we returned to Walmart, the woman in returns was very kind and went over several kayaks with us. It turns out, from shipping, the kayaks must not have been completely secure and slid back or forth in the truck. All of them had some degree of right or left bend at the nose or rear, some worse than others. Mine wasn't bent right or left, it was bent up in the rear and as I said this made the dry storage not seal completely. But I rather have a straight nose on my kayak so it cuts through the water better, so we decided not to exchange it for another and kept the one I had originally purchased. We use my husband's storage for dry stuff and use mine as a cooler. It's not a big inconvenience. We highly recommend these kayaks-a great value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FEMR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginners kayak
4/17/2013

Customer review by PamlicoLady

4.0 stars 4/17/2013 by PamlicoLady
by PamlicoLady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I took kayaking lessons several years ago and wanted an inexpensive yet durable kayak to enjoy on the creek which I live. This kayak will meet my needs and is a good value for the money spent. My only concern is the seat. I am not sure that it will be truly comfortable on longer excusions.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PamlicoLady
Washington NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok for the price
8/21/2013

Customer review by oscar982

3.0 stars 8/21/2013 by oscar982
by oscar982
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: includes paddle stable boat Cup & paddle holders included Small sealed storage compartment Cheap price Cons: top plastic is flimsy Damaged during shipping Paddle is cheap Had this shipped to the store and when I picked it up it was wrapped in plastic so I did my best to look it over before leaving with it. Several days later when I was loading it on my car to go camping I noticed a huge gouge in the bottom, almost all the way through the hull, by then it was too late to bring back. The top plastic is flimsy and thinner than the hull plastic and the paddle seems like it would break after a couple seasons. But...for a beginner like me its worth the money and I took it out on the lake without sinking so that says something.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oscar982
Schuyler, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for recreational kayaker
7/4/2012

Customer review by Lbast33461

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Lbast33461
by Lbast33461

I was very please with the handling and comfort of the kayak. I used it on a small "river". Definitely good value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lbast33461
Kennett Square, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews