Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
92
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 152 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
Great Beginner Kayak
10/28/2010

Customer review by Calebjw

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by Calebjw
by Calebjw

I bought this kayak to use at my cousin's lake house last summer. I was looking for a cheap, hard shell kayak that I could knock around and not worry about. I was excited to when I found this kayak because it was the cheapest hard shell kayak I could find. I was impressed by the kayak's quality . It was extremely light. It was constructed to be very easy to handle and carry. It's very sturdy and doesn't feel like a "cheap" kayak. I must admit, the seats could be more comfortable, but that is the only problem that I have had with the product. I highly suggest it to an casual kayaker looking for a cheaply priced hard shell kayak that is going to give great results and preform like a much more expensive kayak.

Was this review helpful? (293) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Calebjw
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent boat for the small lake near my house.
1/23/2014

Customer review by xoaster

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by xoaster
by xoaster

I feel real comfortable and secure in this kayak. Moves through the water easily.

Was this review helpful? (102) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xoaster
Davenport, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Kayak great price!
5/13/2011

Customer review by Bones8107

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by Bones8107
by Bones8107

Bought 2 of these last weekend, great boat for a great price!! Very easy to transport, super light and very controllable, well built and fun.

Was this review helpful? (151) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bones8107
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value, very stable, and comfortabe to sit in
5/15/2014

Customer review by HappyPaddling

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by HappyPaddling
by HappyPaddling

My son bought two of these kayaks at Walmart for $250 bucks each, including a paddle. When my wife tried his she loved it, so now I've bought two for her and I, except ours were only $233 each including a paddle through Walmart.com with free shipping to our local store. I've seen a few reviews where people paid under $200 each w/ paddle, but I thought ours were still a great deal compared to others I looked at at Amazon, Home Depot On-Line, Costco, and Sports Authority. We have only had ours out a couple of times so far on a small lake about 10 minutes from our house, but they are easy to paddle, very stable, and comfortable to sit in for a couple of hours at a time. Not sure how they will perform in a river, but they have handled well on the lake. I consider my wife and I beginning kayaker's, but I would recommend these for older folks who still want to get out and go with their kids and grand kids. Happy paddling.

Was this review helpful? (83) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyPaddling
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice inexpensive kayak for beginners.
7/22/2012

Customer review by chobeeap

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by chobeeap
by chobeeap

Went kayaking for the first time with my son in an inflatable kayak and enjoyed it, but after that trip and considerable internet research, felt a hardshell would be more enjoyable. Based largely on user reviews, ratings and pricing decided to give this one a try. Was not disappointed at all. Kayak is very stable, tracks quite well with proper stroking technique, and is very maneuverable. For the occasional recreational user this kayak should meet the need. Found some simple solutions for problems other users mentioned. A bit of dishwashing soap on the drain plug and it will slip right back in the hole with moderate thumb pressure. Applied a section of plastic automotive door edge guard along the inside of the front edge of cockpit opening between the thigh pads to prevent chance of skinning shins getting in or out (less than $4.00). Did notice the same problem that those who bought online had with the kayak being scratched on the bottom during shipping even though mine was purchased in the store. Pointed out the minor scratches and received a 10% discount. Other than these minor things the kayak seems well built for the price and I am looking forward to many enjoyable trips in it.

Was this review helpful? (73) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chobeeap
Okeechobee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Item except it was damaged
1/10/2014

Customer review by Rioraton

4.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Rioraton
by Rioraton

Great product except it was DAMAGED see attached photo. Upon unpacking product damage was noted. Perhaps during shipping or during receiving hard to say but the damage was significant. I hope the problem will be settled satisfactorily.

Was this review helpful? (51) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rioraton
Laughlin Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy and stable
4/30/2014

Customer review by ron464

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by ron464
by ron464

I bought two of these kayaks. The price was excellent. I weigh 200 lbs and glide along easily. The kayak has foot rests inside to give you leverage when paddling. The seat is comfortable. There is storage in the back for lunch, a jacket, and a water bottle holder in front for easy access. It is stable when getting into it and while paddling. Overall for the price its a great kayak. It will be lots of fun. I bought the orange color to have better visibility from power boats when in a lake.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ron464
newburyport, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
beware shipping
6/11/2012

Customer review by retired60

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by retired60
by retired60

Kayak was great. Had it delivered to the house - the shipper must have dragged the kayak by one end account plastic was torn on one end and that corner bottom was all scratched up. hadn't heard of this shipper- came in a tractor-trailer.

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retired60
Fort Payne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
nice
1/15/2014

Customer review by yarmon

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by yarmon
by yarmon

i moved to Oregon a year ago i live right in the Williamson river i watched all the kayaks going up and down the river it looked like so much fun and great exercise so i started looking for one this year January 2014 these things are expensive until i looked in Walmart and fount this one i got it put it in the water the next day and was blown away at just how much fun it was what a great way to explore my new home. now it says 250 pound weight limit i'm a 5ft 11 260 pound body builder and it easily handled me with ease i fit perfectly inside with lots of room to spare the paddle it comes with worked great as well i have never kayaked before and in just a short time got the hang of how to paddle with ease a great new hobby.. i did read allot of reviews on this one and all the others the one complaint that was concurrent was that it came damaged so if you can avoid it have shipped to Walmart pick it up at Walmart so you can examine it as i did and it was in perfect condition at the store and there will be no hassles of having to returning it for a new one. so that's it i hope this was helpful in making your decision..

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yarmon
chiloquin or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Bought 1, 2, 3, 4... of them!!!!
8/22/2013

Customer review by AlabamaKayaker

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by AlabamaKayaker
by AlabamaKayaker

I bought one of these (end-of-season price $219), brought it home and put it in the pool and tried it out. Husband went back and bought him one. Then since taking friends and kids kayaking, I bought a 3rd one, then he went back and bought a 4th one. So now we can always take a couple of people with us kayaking and not pay rental fees!!! We did take out the screws on the side holding the footrests and placed a cement sealant around the opening and screwed them back in (one at a time, not all at once). This eliminated water leaking around them into boat. Also keep a can of WD-40 and spray the plug to easily put it back in. No other problems. I had a disk in my inflamed, so purchased a padded boat seat ($30) from Wal-Mart and it fits in there and is great! (It takes 4-5 hours down Terrapin Creek.) We tied strings under our deck to hold each end and turn them upside down and store them out of way. These are really easy to handle. Really like the paddle so far (and makes the $219 value even better!).

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlabamaKayaker
Gadsden, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great buy—pleasantly surprised!
6/4/2014

Customer review by HumanisticNaturalist

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by HumanisticNaturalist
by HumanisticNaturalist

My husband and purchased 2 of these for lake exploring (not rapids)—not only are they good looking, but they are much better quality than I was expecting. I've rented a lot of kayaks in my day (Caribbean, Mexico, Hawaii) and these are nice. Also WAY better than the sit-on-top style. I don't see the need for more pads, there is a nice one for your back already and the adjustable foot rests are awesome. The paddles that come with are perfect for us (we just adjusted them so both were lined up the way we like them). When we picked them up from the store (I read too many complaints about shipping), the plastic bags they came in looked like they'd barely survived Hurricane Katrina but remarkably only one was a teeny bit scuffed up. Not scratched, but something blackish on it. I spoke to the manager and rec'd a $10 gift card as a compensation, and went home and pretty much cleaned it off. No biggie. The blue is very nice BTW--looks pretty on the water and doesn't scare birds!

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HumanisticNaturalist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Kayak. Extremely Poor Shipping.
2/20/2014

Customer review by kayakingdoggy

3.0 stars 2/20/2014 by kayakingdoggy
by kayakingdoggy

Rented this kayak last year at the lake. Great kayak, very stable. Shipping on the other hand is terrible. Was shipped in a plastic bag. Got it home, unpacked and noticed the big dent in the front. Very similar to the above review. See the attached photo. Would recommend the kayak, but check it very good before leaving the store. Waited 10 days for it to arrive and hoping we can find the same one close to home so it will be a simple return and pickup.

Was this review helpful? (34) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kayakingdoggy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great light weight, affordable kayak!
5/17/2014

Customer review by bebacklater

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by bebacklater
by bebacklater

We have an Old Town double kayak and love it, however I like to go out more often than my husband so we decided to look into getting a single one too. I needed something light weight that I could handle by myself that wouldn't be really expensive. We just picked up our Sun dolphin and loaded it inside our Prius. I could get it in and out by myself and it handled a lot better than I thought. Having the foot rests in it and padded back to the seat were great! I am looking forward to many fun and relaxing times on the water! Service was great and it arrived at the store when expected.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bebacklater
Show Low, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat it for the price!
7/2/2012

Customer review by PepsiFL

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by PepsiFL
by PepsiFL

This is a great kayak for those who don't need or want some state of the art high dollar kayak. I use this for purely recreational purposes. I am not going to race or do any white water rapids. This kayak is perfect for me. It is well built and user friendly. This is not my first kayak but, it may well be my last. It serves all my needs. Also love the rigid seat back as I have back problems.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PepsiFL
Marco Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
sun dolphin aruba 10'
4/8/2014

Customer review by orange4949

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by orange4949
by orange4949

I used this kayak last summer and it went really fast, I never used one in my life it was comfortable and fast. I just wish I knew where to buy a cover for it so water doesn't drip in on your lap. I bought 2. I had them shipped to the store. Don't have them shipped to your house, they come all dented. I had it shipped to the store and I didn't check it at the store because it had plastic around it and my friend picked it up, it was all gouged underneath pretty bad. I kept it anyway.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orange4949
lakeville, Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/10/2012

Customer review by SwuanneeRiverRat

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by SwuanneeRiverRat
by SwuanneeRiverRat

Great kayak for the price. I plan on buying a second one. Very stable, I let my 5 year old grandson paddle around in it with no troubles. Little trouble keeping it going straight, but that got better with a little adjustment of my paddling technique.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwuanneeRiverRat
Chiefland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good product but shipping is rough on the finish
6/13/2012

Customer review by customerdejour

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by customerdejour
by customerdejour

ordering was easy, good price, shipped quickly, however when we received the kayaks (we ordered two), we were disappointed with the amount of damage on the kayaks. They are shipped only in a plastic bag which offers no protection during transport. We contacted customer service because one had a big gouge in the side and they promptly sent a replacement(good cust service folks) but upon its arrival it was about the same as the others. So plan on your "new" kayaks arriving in a slightly "used" state. We were going to return them to the store but they do not carry the yellow colors and were out of the blue ones.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customerdejour
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better Than Expected
7/27/2014

Customer review by BSWW

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by BSWW
by BSWW

I purchased this for my daughter for her 22nd birthday. She loves pink and sent me the link to this kayak. She absolutely loves it. I am experienced kayaker and had my doubts as to what we'd be getting for the price. Surprise, it's a nice little kayak. My daughter has paddled other kayaks in the lower price range and was very happy to find this one tracked better and didn't have miscellaneous items attached in locations that would interfere with paddling. The kayak itself has a large cockpit making it easier to get in and out of. As well, the width makes it more stable on the water. The included paddle is a nice touch. If you want a kayak for the kids to play around in or to see if kayaking is something you'd like I wouldn't have any problem recommended this one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BSWW
Grapeview, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this kayak the day before I went out and used it, it was a great buy for a beginner very stable, the only problem is the paddle leash hole leaks when you lean to one side

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value, very happy with my purchase
8/24/2012

Customer review by amdwarner

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by amdwarner
by amdwarner

We bought this kayak in the spring. It's now near fall and we've taken this on some easy rivers: the Illinois River in Arkansas and Oklahoma, the White River off Beaver Dam, and several lakes in the area. It feels very stable when on the water and paddling it is a breeze. We also have a Pelican Apex 100 and Apex 80 which in comparison might be faster, but feel a bit more unstable. The only problems (which would be no means a deal breaker) are that the little storage hatch on the back is by no means water resistant. It stays relatively dry if I'm in it (130 lbs), but when my husband, who is very near the weight limit, paddles in it, it swamps the hatch entirely. If used for storage, you'll need a watertight box if you want anything to stay dry in there. Do not expect things you put in there to stay dry! Another thing that is a little annoying (again, not a deal breaker), is that the seat back folds forward. This is good when transporting it, but when you are trying to get into the kayak, it has a tendency to fold forward, making the entry portion of your kayaking experience rather awkward as you have to hold it up while getting in. I would also suggest buying a different paddle than the one that comes with it, as I'm not a fan of the flat ended sort. It seems to catch the water differently than the paddles I typically use. However, that is just my personal taste. All in all, I'm very happy with this purchase. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in getting a kayak for the first time.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amdwarner
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews