Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 58 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Problem Solver
12/18/2010

Customer review by jadapat

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by jadapat
by jadapat

When I received a blu-ray disk player for my birthday I was happy to learn that I could watch an unlimited number of movies from Netflix, which I subscribe to, with no increase in rates. Not being very computer literate, I went to a nearby electronics store to find out how to do this. They told me I needed a "bridge" of some sort, to receive the signal from my computer. Three rooms & a hallway seperate my computer from my High-Def. TV & Blu-Ray player. They said a WII or Play Station would work. I have neither of these & no desire to purchase one. When I saw this unit in a Walmart ad it was the answer to my problem & very reasonably priced. Installation was so easy even a senior citizen like myself could do it. I have Wi-Fi using a high speed cable modem & NetGear router & they connected with the push of a button on each unit. Movies run flawsly & having the computer turned on is not necessary. I absolutely love this product.

Was this review helpful? (94) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jadapat
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/27/2011

Customer review by jah38372

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by jah38372
by jah38372

it has exceeded what I was hoping for. I was not sure if I could even set it up but it was so easy to do that even those that are not what we call computer savvy can do this.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jah38372
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter
1/18/2011

Customer review by blc1839

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by blc1839
by blc1839

Pros: Very easy setup, works as advertised, can be used to convert many various cat5/6 wired network devices to Wireless-N. I use it on my Samsung Bluray player with Netflix and Pandora and it works GREAT! Has no trouble picking up through the wall between my entertainment center and my office where the wireless-N router is located. Cons: I thought it was a little pricey, but am still glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blc1839
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/12/2013

Customer review by PsuedoName

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by PsuedoName
by PsuedoName

For anyone with the need to convert wired ethernet to WiFi, you can't go wrong with this neat little package. I needed to connect my DVR to my home network. Wiring was out of the question due to distance. Luckily I have WiFi, but my DVR only has wired ethernet. Enter the Netgear WiFi adapter. It was very simple to set up as compared to others I have used in the past. Within 5 minutes of opening the package it was installed and working. I also didn't have a power outlet available, but there is a feature on this little device that works flawlessly. It can be powered by an available USB port on my DVR. If you have the need for conversion to wireless, this device is hard to beat, and the price is below other devices in it's category that have less features.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PsuedoName
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product with simple setup
3/28/2011

Customer review by bgandpg

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by bgandpg
by bgandpg

I bought this to use with my dishnetwork receiver and it works great. It also was very easy to setup.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bgandpg
Pendleton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2011

Customer review by Findlayguy

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by Findlayguy
by Findlayguy

Great Product, very easy to set up!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Findlayguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Home WiFi
3/24/2011

Customer review by DealODayMom

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by DealODayMom
by DealODayMom

Excellent for internet TV and net flix if you use a dvd player with netflix and wi fi capabliities! Great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DealODayMom
Jupitet, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wasn't what I needed
12/9/2012

Customer review by Brekke

3.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Brekke
by Brekke

I purchased this so I could watch Netflix on my family room big screen. Regretfully, it was not what I needed. It didn't say in the product description, that the TV needed to have wifi already. Mine does not. I thought this product produced wifi capability without all the cables/wires. I think I would recommend this if you DO have a wifi TV that has a bunch of wires and you want to get rid of the wires. But I cannot be sure. It will be returned to WalMart today. I hope the return goes well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brekke
Catlett, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does work well !!!
1/26/2013

Customer review by HomeUse

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by HomeUse
by HomeUse

No other Wifi adaptor does the work well of converting Wifi to Ethernet/USB better than this Netgear Universal Wifi...Now you can easily connect your Old electronics to internet without having hard wired internet wiring next to it.....works well specially for non-wifi printers....now keep your printer anywhere and print wireless..... But this is expensive....with tax $50 or more....Amazon sells a lilttle cheaper....But other cheaper options which I tried are just too hard to setup compared to this Netgear which was very easy to setup.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeUse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!
6/1/2012

Customer review by Ni278

4.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Ni278
by Ni278

This works great! I have a Sony blue ray player that has no wi-fi built in. In order for me to use this with my player I had to plug the adapter into my router first to configure the adapter to use with my player. Easy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ni278
Pennslyvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plug and Play
7/26/2012

Customer review by TheGMan5

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by TheGMan5
by TheGMan5

All I did was to take it out of the box, plug it in, press the button on the side, press the button on my Wi-Fi router, and began to wirelessly stream music to my receiver. The only thing that this device lacks is an on/off button. That's a big disadvantage when dealing with electronics.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGMan5
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/25/2012

Customer review by Darrin01311

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by Darrin01311
by Darrin01311

I bought this to use with my Samsung Blu-Ray player. As I use an encrypted wireless network I first had to connect it to my PC's ethernet port, enter my encryption passcode and then checked that it connected to my network. Once that was done I simply plugged it in to my Blu-Ray player and before I could check to see if it was working my player announced that a firmware update was available for downloading! After that completed I activated some other features on my player and sat back to watch streaming BBC News. An excellent product. Easy to set up of you READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. My only gripe is that the price seems a little high. If it was below $50 I'd probably buy another for my old Amiga computer instead of having to keep moving it between devices.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darrin01311
Louisiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
delivers as promised
4/26/2014

Customer review by mydogcody

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by mydogcody
by mydogcody

Extended my wifi got my smart tv fully charged

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mydogcody
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
att 2wire modem/router owners dont buy this
1/28/2013

Customer review by 2canchew

2.0 stars 1/28/2013 by 2canchew
by 2canchew

wont work with att 2wire router modem. tried to use with a Belkin router would not stay connected I returned for refund at local store

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2canchew
Huntington IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not good for long term use
5/5/2014

Customer review by LinuxUserGMICHIE

2.0 stars 5/5/2014 by LinuxUserGMICHIE
by LinuxUserGMICHIE

I have purchased three of these over the past three years. They all lasted about a year before needing to be replaced. They work great, and easy to use during the year. I don't think I will be using it again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LinuxUserGMICHIE
Would recommend to a friend? No
defective
6/6/2011

Customer review by Lyricsmith

1.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Lyricsmith
by Lyricsmith

Did not work upon arrival, red light (LAN) no matter where I put the adapter. After googling I see it is a very common problem with this model. Guess I should have googled first,lol.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lyricsmith
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/27/2011

Customer review by xwoman2010

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by xwoman2010
by xwoman2010

This is the second time I brought this item, it is easy to setup, and works great, with my computer and directtv reciever. Would buy again if I need another one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xwoman2010
New Windsor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
netgear is the apple of home networking
5/9/2012

Customer review by alexcr

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by alexcr
by alexcr

perfect, got this to work with my Yamaha A-3000 reciever to access the internet radio and such with 1 less wire yamaha sells an adapter to this for twice the price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alexcr
Works fine
3/7/2011

Customer review by DanielB52

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by DanielB52
by DanielB52

I have it connected to the Ethernet port on my Samsung Blu-Ray player. The only glitch is that I seem to need to reset my wi-fi router before streaming a movie from Netflix through my Netgear adapter. If I do not do this, the red light on the Netgear adapter indicating a poor wi-fi connection eventually comes on before the movie is over, forcing a pause while the streaming data is buffered. Any tips on how to cure this would be appreciated.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanielB52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed!
4/7/2013

Customer review by JCinme

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by JCinme
by JCinme

I am using this to provide a WiFi connection to my Sony A/V system, which has a TiVo and a BluRay player plugged into it via ethernet cables. The Netgear WNCE2001 is supporting all of it flawlessly. Setup was fairly straightforward, although I did have to reset the password on my router after the WiFi connection to the WNCE2001 was established.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCinme
Black Hills, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews