Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 30 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Should be "your baby can memorize"
9/18/2010

Customer review by poprocksandcoke

1.0 stars 9/18/2010 by poprocksandcoke
by poprocksandcoke

I was extremely dissapointed by this product. I didn't really expect that my baby would learn to read from it but I had hoped it would be helpful to my 3 year old who has been learning to read by watching the leapfrog talking words factory movie. But instead of teaching children to read using phonics (the system used by most schools) this simply displays the picture of an object, adds the word on the screen, then takes away the word while saying the word. And this is supposed to teach kids to read? Sure after watching it 5 times a day for 5 years they probably will recognize the words from the movie making it "appear" that they are reading but its not going to help them at all in reading words that aren't in the movie. If you want to hlep your child learn to read save your self some money and buy the LeapFrog movie at about 1/8th of the price. My daughter has learned a lot more from watching the talking words factory and playing with the leap frog fridge phonice and word whammer toys than she could ever learn with these movies.

Was this review helpful? (43) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poprocksandcoke
detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good value& concept, bad production quality
11/3/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/3/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I found this product at WalMart after contemplating this purchase from various outlets. I'd read on another site that a parent purchased it from WalMart at half the price as this other site and I quickly researched it and found that WalMart indded had the best value. [Kudos to WalMart!!] The product itself in good. I have 2 toddlers and a newborn. My toddlers LOVE it. They sing, jump, and dance around. This product is supposed to be for young children, however, and my 5 month old shows no interest whatsoever - doesn't even look at the screen so its just about as good as just playing random talking CDs in the background. The actual quality of the taping/production is DEFINITELY low budget. I'm not sure what they use all the money on! It's similar to watching a low budget film that stumbled on a good idea- you sometimes find it distracting when you're watching it because the quality of the production is so bad but you struggle to get past that because the concept is a good one. The word choices and examples are a bit odd at times ("elephant" or "chimpanzee" for a newborn?) and i would love to have them include a small section with more common everyday words that they'll use in everyday speech added to it (I, the, off, on, hot, and, car, truck, etc). Keep the challenging words but add some simple ones that always come up so they can immediately feel like "champs!" I'm a grown person and I NEVER use chimpanzee in a sentence (which is why i just wrote it in THIS one!) [smile]

Was this review helpful? (91) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
IT REALLY WORKS!!
4/1/2011

Customer review by UpAtMidnight

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by UpAtMidnight
by UpAtMidnight

I was more than happy to pay $89 for the product that is advertised for over $200 on t.v. My 2-yr old daughter was already reading a few words after only 2 days! My 8 month old watches the videos for a little bit but loves it and my 2-yr old thinks the flash cards and books are a game and has fun doing them. The only thing missing from this product is the last disc (Your CHILD Can Read) and the accompanying books that go with it. We are doing just fine with the videos and flash cards/books. I am so impressed with the product because it really does what it says it will do. You must be an active participant and be involved but it is truly worth it to see your infant/toddler reading!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UpAtMidnight
Moreno Valley, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product so far
8/3/2010

Customer review by Mom2AidenandLyla

4.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Mom2AidenandLyla
by Mom2AidenandLyla

I would give this product a higher rating but this product didn't include any directions for use so I had to do some additional searching online on how to use the product. My 16 month old son has been watching these videos for a few weeks now. He asks to watch the videos often & enjoys watching them. As an educator (HS age) I had to check this product out. I don't quite think it's teaching him to "read" but it seems like he's learning word association so far.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2AidenandLyla
St Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It does work!!
11/29/2010

Customer review by NJMamaDrama

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by NJMamaDrama
by NJMamaDrama

I bought this product for my one year old daughter, who, at the time was not really talking much or recognizing a lot of words (which had me a little concerned!). However, after watching the first video, she was saying the words, pointing to her nose, saying HI, and singing The Itsy Bitsy Spider, with the hand motions! Then, video 2 teaches Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes, as well as If You're Happy & You Know It... and she now sings the words AND does all of the motions. She also repeats all of the words on the TV. Bottom-line: If your child is not easily distracted and will actually watch the videos, this will MOST CERTAINLY benefit and teach them. There are some questionable and stupid word choices like "FUN", which they try to show by "running", and that's confusing... Also words like chimpanzee, gorilla, and monkey- all in a row, which confuses a kid, and I wouldn't have picked those words.... That said, I do think it is very valuable overall, as you can teach your child the more common words like "cup" and "hot" (and they should already KNOW those!! If they don't, you're not doing YOUR job, sorry!) I will say that I had her watch volume ONE once a day for about 5 to 6 weeks before she caught on. However, she caught on much more quickly with Volumes 2 and 3, and we are already ready for 4.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJMamaDrama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
its okay
12/22/2011

Customer review by naimomo

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by naimomo
by naimomo

its perfect it just needs better music and a less boring way of teaching the babies. my child pays attention but gets distracted about half way through. But I know it will pay off in the end.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naimomo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it
9/11/2010

Customer review by libby36

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by libby36
by libby36

had it for two weeks and watch a video once a day. my son has already memorized several words.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
libby36
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT PRODUCT A+++++++++++++
9/21/2010

Customer review by MomOf3Sonz

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by MomOf3Sonz
by MomOf3Sonz

Your baby can read is excellent! I started my son on it at 10 months old, he can now recognize and read over 50 words, and can recognize and name over 100 pictures and animals, as he is not even 2 years old yet! He loves reading books with me and playing word flash cards more then he likes playing with his toys. Although you may read a review that is disappointed that reading is taught through memorization not phonics, think about this... when you read as an adult, do you sound everything out? The answer is no. You read off of memorization. All the words you are reading you have memorized. Point being, this product works and is very effective. I rate it an A+++ all the way!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf3Sonz
Palm Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
something for learning
12/21/2010

Customer review by gotresults

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by gotresults
by gotresults

This is a good way to teach the way to read. As reading is the base to better education I would feel that this is a good way to start at a young age to develop reading slills.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gotresults
Orlando Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
favorite learning tool
9/1/2010

Customer review by fourg

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by fourg
by fourg

My toddler grandchildren love these videos and the 18 month old's vocabulary is amazing. I started her using it at 6 mos. The slide and learn book and lift the flap books are wonderful. My one year old grandchild wants these videos every time she's at my house. We're still working on word recognition, but they know the objects and songs.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fourg
oglesby, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps my baby boy occupied
10/12/2010

Customer review by ItsUnbiased

4.0 stars 10/12/2010 by ItsUnbiased
by ItsUnbiased

The minute the CD plays the foot steps of a baby my son starts smiling. He likes watching this and especially the rhymes part. I'm not sure how much of it he really understands but I feel comfortable seeing him watch this CD than to watch the same cartoon from on-demand over and over again. The best part is the price, though it is 1 CD short than the version thats sold on yourbabycanread website it is still a bargain as you can save more than $100. I'm comfortable with walmart return policy than buying it from other new websites.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsUnbiased
Hackensack, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
11/21/2010

Customer review by gabieandaubreysmom

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by gabieandaubreysmom
by gabieandaubreysmom

My son is verbally behind his age group by two months and we have had this for about two weeks and even in that two weeks with missing a couple days his vocabulary has grown, his want to talk has increased and he really does enjoy watching it! I enjoy watching it with him! We have such a fun time. I am currently pregnant and when it shows the word baby he points to my belly its just amazing and I am looking forward to using it for my daughter as well! It is really worth the price to have a learning system that actually works that they will enjoy, Once both my children are school age I plan on getting them the "your child can read" set as well! We use it twice a day just for the duration of the DVD, we have not even started the cards yet and its still working. Just find your flow with your own child and I am sure it will work for you as well!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabieandaubreysmom
Y
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Love this product!
5/27/2011

Customer review by LUSWAN

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by LUSWAN
by LUSWAN

My daughter is 14 months and really can read the words we work on with her using this. She signs too which makes it easy to know it's working. When she sees the word, she will sign it if she can't SAY it yet. I recommend and encourage the use of this product, especially at this great value!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LUSWAN
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
more memorizing
11/28/2010

Customer review by babyis2

3.0 stars 11/28/2010 by babyis2
by babyis2

my baby is 2, he does watch the videos, and do the cards, but it's more memorizing for him. however, for the price, it's a total bargain. and it does add words to their vocabulary

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babyis2
albany ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/27/2010

Customer review by cjoana

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by cjoana
by cjoana

My daughter started watching the video 3 months before her 3rd birthday.She can read all the words on the flash cards when she turned 3 and by 3.5 years old she was reading "Brand New Readers" books by herself. The earlier you start the better...100% recommended!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjoana
dallas,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
love IT
10/1/2010

Customer review by 123step

4.0 stars 10/1/2010 by 123step
by 123step

ok so if u think ur child has a short attention spand, and its keeping u from buying the "your baby can read" DVDs DONT let that hold u back bc i have three kids,two i baby sit and my own, 4 yr old, 1 yr old, and 5 month old and their all learning things from this DVD!! and neither of them fully pay attention, but if u play it everyday at least twice a day, their GOING to ketch different parts of the DVD!!! i love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123step
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/7/2010

Customer review by dadydaycare

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by dadydaycare
by dadydaycare

The product is great. it has all the items you will need to get your child involved and to begin reading. my 2 year old loves the flash cards. its only been 3weeks but she loves the comands from the video and has began to reconize some of the words.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dadydaycare
el paso, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Has done wonders for my Autistic 2yr old Son
12/16/2011

Customer review by Windom56101

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by Windom56101
by Windom56101

this product does not totally reinforce phonics but it does help children to get started on site words very well. it did not take my child long to learn the words we used the program just as educational entertainment it's getting hard to come by on TV anymore playing one vid. once a day during rest time, alternating threw all 5 just on week days after about 2 months we desided to try the slide cards. Our son has full on autism and is 2 yrs old we were amazed he knew about 80% of all 5 sets. on the cards that he could not verbally say he acted them out like (touch your toes) he would touch his toes.... now he did this without us saying the words or showing him the pic first.. weather it's reading or not he is getting the meaning of the words and that is just as important.... we really only used this program in a very casual way when he seemed interested in watching the vids. or looking at the cards we did not push him or let him watch them over and over either as Autistic kids will sometimes do. We found Your Baby Can Read to be quite a break threw with our son, ya that A-ha moment with tears!!!! and everything. You parents of Autistic children know what I'm talking about. We also learned from this program how much our son really knew it's hard with autism when your child is pretty much non-verbal. The vids. and the cards have sparked his speech in amazing ways.... Some times I wonder what if we had not tried this program????

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Windom56101
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Gift EVER!!!
9/22/2010

Customer review by SmartBabies

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by SmartBabies
by SmartBabies

We received this as a gift and my girls watch the videos ever night before bed. it took only a few days of 20 minute learning for my girls who are 2 and 4 to learn these word. You aren't supposed to teach the phonics but my girls both know their letters and sounds so i teach it anyways. My 5 year old nephew actually was jealous of my daughter he asked to borrow set 1 which my daughter has excelled at in a week so i decided since his birthday is next month i am buying this for him. Totally recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmartBabies
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish Walmart had it sooner.
7/5/2011

Customer review by whelephant

4.0 stars 7/5/2011 by whelephant
by whelephant

I bought this for my 4 year old, who is starting to spell/sound out words, and thought it might speed the process. The videos are too boring for him though, since he's seen much more interesting programming at the old age of 4. He does like the flip books and slide cards though, and sometimes even requests them at bedtime. I would have bought it for him as a baby, but it was only available through the product site, and cost too much money. If you have a baby or toddler, I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whelephant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews