Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 494 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

494 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

494 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
260
4 stars
67
3 stars
32
2 stars
28
1 stars
107
1-20 of 489 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 489 total reviews
1-20 of 489 reviews
Best DIY Dye!
12/2/2012

Customer review by agnesbitt

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by agnesbitt
by agnesbitt

This is BEST hair dye and color I've ever used! It comes with a conditioner to use immediately after rinsing the dye out, which leaves your hair sooo soft, shiny and smooth! Use it once a week, every week and it helps the color to stay fresh and vibrant. The color does not fade that much and I've recieved many compliments on my hair and people always ask me who does it. I do my own hair! It's supper easy, just start back to front and wait. This is by far my most favorite brand and color. I have naturally strawberry blonde hair and it does NOT turn brassy. LOVE this stuff! Worth every single penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agnesbitt
Hillsboro, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I've used this product for years.
7/20/2016

Customer review by AuntHettie

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by AuntHettie
by AuntHettie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been using this product for well over 16 years and love it. It leaves my hair soft and full and I continue to get many compliments on the color. I also use coupons on my purchases which are available in the Sunday paper. Love the savings.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AuntHettie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/11/2016

Customer review by lambmomma

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by lambmomma
by lambmomma

I love this color! I have had very many compliments on my hair. The only down fall is that I cannot find this color anywhere! Now I have to order this color on line. Very disappointing.

lambmomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/23/2016

Customer review by Ronnee

3.0 stars 3/23/2016 by Ronnee
by Ronnee

I have been home coloring my hair for over 5 years. I have tried several brands but L'Oreal seems to be the best at covering my grays. I am a natural brunette and often use medium brown shades. I decided to try the new Cool Darkest Brown. I was nervous at first that it would be too dark against my fair skin. I was VERY pleased with the color. It seemed very natural and I have received multiple compliments on it. It's been just over 3 weeks and the grays around my hairline and temples are starting to show but this seems to happen no matter what I try. The one negative for me was that the application process seemed messier than usual. I had many drips during application that fell on my face, clothes, counter, even the floor. I always put a towel around me and wear old clothes. Thank goodness I did otherwise they would have been ruined for sure. That is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 4.

Ronnee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/9/2016

Customer review by E M J

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by E M J
by E M J

This color has received more compliments than any shade I have EVER used, including the salon coloring it has replaced. The perfect balance between brown and red, I am consistently complimented on my gorgeous red hair, which drives my naturally Ginger sister mad.

E M J
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/28/2014

Customer review by yumsy

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by yumsy
by yumsy

This is for UL51 I am asian with black hair and this worked to dye it a medium/ dark brown. I wouldnt say it looks ashy but it wasn't orangey either. It's more of a warm brown though, I'm sure if I had lighter hair it would have different results since asian black hair has alot of red undertone. Well at first I colored it and it only lifted my roots to the brown and my ends were still dark however I REALIZED that I DYED IT black months ago and it cannot lift permanent dark dye. So I went to sallys to get a color corrector/lifter and color corrected the ends only, my hair came out brown and I colored it with the dye on the ends and it all matches now lol!! So if you have VIRGIN DARK HAIR it WILL WORK but if you have dyed your hair dark and trying to go light you will have to strip it first then dye it or bleach. I love this and will stock up on it!! Thanks loreal don't ever stop making this one!! Please make one that will be super ashy for black color hair!!

yumsy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/12/2013

Customer review by Lynn67

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by Lynn67
by Lynn67

My natural hair is a dirty blond. I had applied Sublime Mousse 7 Dark Blond last year. I was unhappy with the muddiness, so I went to a salon and had it highlighted...stylist botched it...very large chunky highlights about 1 1/2 in from roots!! I then applied SAMY 7 1/2 A to that, thinking it would cover botched highlights it turned my hair very dark with a green tone. I then used Sublime Mousse Med Golden Blonde....it turned the roots bright yellow and the ends dark orange-brown. I then had it toned at a salon in Redken Irish Creme demi. I think it made it more orange, especially in incandescent light. I saw the Paris Couture 8RG, and thought maybe I needed the rose to cancel the ash out and blend the gold, yellow, and now, my natural roots. It came out BEAUTIFUL!!! It is very similar to my natural color of Medium to Dark Neutral Golden Blonde!! It is soft and shiny, and I am back to being my "Sunshiney" self! Thank you, L'Oreal, for making such a great product. Please, never, never discontinue this beautiful shade

Lynn67
Would recommend to a friend? No
5/24/2016

Customer review by Vic86

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Vic86
by Vic86

After trying four different shades of blonde, I settled on champagne 8.5 and love it. Preference left my hair soft, shiny and beautiful. Love the pink soft undertones and cool tone. It goes perfectly with my pale complexion.

Vic86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/16/2016

Customer review by NNiko

5.0 stars 3/16/2016 by NNiko
by NNiko

The new 3C Cool Darkest Brown is an amazing color! My old color was 4A Dark Ash Brown with Champagne Blonde ends. I did like the 4A a lot but it was never rich enough for me. I have naturally dark brown hair that turns medium auburn with sun exposure and I have never liked the extreme reddish brown hue on me. This new color is so rich and dark -it really enhances my hazel eyes and medium skin tone - very complimentary. It looked like melting milk chocolate on my hair as it was setting in so I knew it was vastly different from the 4A. I used to mix two different colors years ago to achieve the same results I was able to achieve with this one haircolor product. I hope that L'oreal keeps this color as it seems every time I find my perfect shade - it disappears! Thanks L'oreal for making a color that is so perfectly me!

NNiko
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/12/2014

Customer review by Vabluegrass

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by Vabluegrass
by Vabluegrass

I've been coloring my hair for years. I love this product. My natural color is dark brown so I use the 4 Dark Brown to color my hair. I love the color but have figured out over time that I have to leave the color in longer than the recommended time. Since I have a moderate amount of gray hair, the instructions say to leave the product on for 35 minutes. Also, since I am basically just trying to keep the same color over time, I use the instructions for touching up roots, applying color onto new growth at roots only, working from the front to the back of the head. After I've had the product on all of my roots for 35 minutes, I work the color through to ends for an additional 5 minutes. This makes for a total time of 40 minutes with color on my hair which seems excessive but it works perfectly for me. I have wavy hair that is of medium thickness. One of the best things about this product is the conditioner that comes with it. It's da bomb! Also be sure to use a shampoo that is mean't for colored hair, i.e. Sulfate-Free shampoos.

Vabluegrass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/31/2013

Customer review by 1barbiej

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by 1barbiej
by 1barbiej

I absolutely love this hair color. It was the first time I ever colored my hair. When I was trying to choose a product, a woman in the store suggested I try this one. She uses it and said it was easy. I matched my hair to the color chart, trying to get as close to my color as possible since I mainly wanted to keep my color and cover a small amount of gray. I was nervous the first time but the instructions were very clear and I found a video on YouTube with a woman using the same product and it looked easy enough so I tryed it. I have very long hair and I had plenty to saturate all my hair. It came out exactly like the color I chose! It was pretty easy to do, just messy. The second time I used it, I made sure I covered up well so I didn't get it on my skin. My hair came out so soft and bouncy. It looks better and healthier than it did before. I will definetely use this product again and would highly recommend it, even to first time users like me!

1barbiej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/15/2014

Customer review by BrandyW

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by BrandyW
by BrandyW

I love this shade! I've used it for 5+ years with the exception of the past 2 years, in which I decided I needed a change and went redhead. My natural color is very close to this shade on the box. A dark chocolate brown with a red tint to it in the sunlight. I started going grey in high school so this became my go-to shade. It covers grey wonderfully and without the very noticeable lighter hue on the roots or grey that some at home colors can do. It seems to start out very dark, though. To some, this can be discouraging or alarming. However, it is not a bad darker, it is actually a pretty darker. And you have to take in to account that lighting sometimes doesn't show what others see. And, after a wash or two, it lightens up nicely. I am switching back to this color next week. But I highly recommend it to those with fair skin that went grey sooner than they would have liked and want a pretty chocolate brown shade. I always get tons of compliments on my hair with this shade. Even after I first do it and it seems to be really dark!

BrandyW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/30/2014

Customer review by Caridad

2.0 stars 11/30/2014 by Caridad
by Caridad

The box color seems like a nice natural auburn color. I wanted my hair color to look like the model in the box. I follow the instructions and instead of warm medium auburn color, i get multi- colors of shades of red. My roots have a combination of bright fire red mix with orange. The rest of my hair got combination of bright red and auburn red. I was excited for a nice auburn color, now I do not know what to do. My hair is extremely damage and I'm unable to change the color until my hair gets at least a little better. I am a student and my school only allow "natural" colors, and what i have in my hair is not a "natural" color, I can be expel because of this (I will try to hide my hair as much as possible). I always been loyal to Lo'real but this time they put me down. This hair product is not trust worthy. I bother to rate this box a 2 stars because the color is not so bad after you deeply look at it but is nothing like the box color which was my exception. I have years of experience of hair coloring but this time I am pretty unsatisfied.

Caridad
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/3/2016

Customer review by Laura P

5.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Laura P
by Laura P

This is a word of warning to others that normally use 6R Light Auburn not to use Mousse Absolue 654 Light Auburn Brown and think your results will be similar to what you are used to. My result is a color darker than Dark Auburn. I will need to go to a professional to have my color corrected. I love the results of my regular shade 6R Light Auburn but the results of the Mousse Absolue, though shines and would be beautiful for someone looking for this dark color, is several shades darker than a light auburn.

Laura P
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/9/2016

Customer review by JaimeC83

2.0 stars 4/9/2016 by JaimeC83
by JaimeC83

Coverage is great but the fumes are horrible . my bathroom isn't exactly well ventilated so I understand they will be more severe in this case however I went outside while dyeing and still could not stand them. They need to alter the formula to avoid such strong fumes.

Comment from - 4/13/2016

We are so to hear this and would like to assist you! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 1023831

JaimeC83
Would recommend to a friend? No
5/7/2013

Customer review by MeganS

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by MeganS
by MeganS

I have been using Ash Blonde for several months and get tons of compliments, even from friends who spend tons on their color at salons which I simply don't have time in my schedule for. My hair is normally light to medium brown with a few highlights. I wanted to go lighter and this was a great shade. It kept the dimension of the the highlights I already had but now they compliment the ash blonde color I have, and so I no longer add additional highlights. My hair comes out a bit darker than the box but it's great overall. I use the conditioner for the first couple of weeks, then buy a very moisturizing conditioner for everyday use. Shiny, great color (no brass and no yellow) and very soft. Will keep using it. And now that I have been doing it once every 5 weeks for the past 4 months or so, the color is gradually making its way to the box color more and more, but still has variants in it to look more natural.

MeganS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/18/2013

Customer review by Christie

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Christie
by Christie

I was surprised with how amazingly this shade took to my hair. I used to have dark, permanently colored hair, and have been lightening it at home (just to give a little backstory on my hair). Right before I used Paris Couture Delicate golden blonde, my hair was porous, a little orange in some areas, and a little too ashy on my porous ends. I wanted a shade that would neutralize and balance my color out. I was a little scared that this would take too dark on my bleached-out hair, but that was not the case at all. My hair turned out beautifully! This color is perfectly balanced, with enough warmth yet not too much. "Delicate golden blonde" is the perfect name for this color because it ends up looking just as the name implies- very delicate and pretty. It's so shiny and dimensional that it almost looks like I had highlights and lowlights done on my hair, but the color is also very even. Highly recommended!

Christie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/2/2016

Customer review by Blanca

5.0 stars 4/2/2016 by Blanca
by Blanca

If you're looking for a unique hair color without the hair salon price this is the brand for you.It lighten up your roots perfectly with beautiful different highlights. It's getting harder to find in store, please don't discontinue it !!

Blanca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/2/2013

Customer review by sfdina

3.0 stars 4/2/2013 by sfdina
by sfdina

Although I'm not very please with my results, I'm reviewing this solely based on what it can do for other people. That is one of the only reasons I gave it 3/5 stars. One pro about this product is that there was little to no damage in the 20-25 minutes it took to lift my hair. My roots are a very dark, dirty blonde color and the rest of my hair was dyed several months ago and has faded into a very obnoxious light copper mahogany color. This product claims to neutralize the red tones, however, if anything, I feel like it added more. The section of my hair that I did use this product on was definitely even in color, but now not only was my previously dyed hair still relatively copper, my roots were too. The color was not at all similar to the picture in the photo but I wasn't expecting that since it is marketed towards people that already have medium to dark hair. I was given a nice color, no damage, and an even dye job. But it did not give me the color results I desired. However I do recommend this to people that actually fit the description of having medium to dark hair.

sfdina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/8/2014

Customer review by Blondi

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by Blondi
by Blondi

I've colored my hair with L'Oreal Preference for years. This brand of hair color was recommended to my mother and I by my grandmother. She tried all the brands in her day, and declared L'Oreal Preference to be the best! So my mother used it for years and I use it too and I'm 52 years old now. When my daughter, age 28, colors her hair, she uses this brand too! Four generations of us have used or are currently using L'Oreal Hair Color, so that says something, doesn't it? It's fantastic!! And L'Oreal keeps getting better as time goes by! I now have a lot of gray around my face and about half way back on my head. I started off with Champagne Blond in my 20's, and then in my 40's I used Natural Blond, but now in my 50's I have switched to the new Rose Gold 8RG. I absolutely love this shade! It is beautiful! Please don't stop making it, I love it! Thanks for a great product and fabulous shades!!!

Blondi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 489 total reviews
1-20 of 489 reviews