Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 484 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

484 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

484 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
252
4 stars
67
3 stars
31
2 stars
27
1 stars
107
1-20 of 479 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 479 total reviews
1-20 of 479 reviews
Best DIY Dye!
12/2/2012

Customer review by agnesbitt

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by agnesbitt
by agnesbitt

This is BEST hair dye and color I've ever used! It comes with a conditioner to use immediately after rinsing the dye out, which leaves your hair sooo soft, shiny and smooth! Use it once a week, every week and it helps the color to stay fresh and vibrant. The color does not fade that much and I've recieved many compliments on my hair and people always ask me who does it. I do my own hair! It's supper easy, just start back to front and wait. This is by far my most favorite brand and color. I have naturally strawberry blonde hair and it does NOT turn brassy. LOVE this stuff! Worth every single penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agnesbitt
Hillsboro, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1/24/2016

Customer review by Hsl0524

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Hsl0524
by Hsl0524

I dyed by virgin blonde hair in Janurary in an attempt to capture my lighter summer blonde thoughtout the winter months. My roots are now a very bright unnatural gold and the rest of my hair is a flat unnatural, unflattering, brass color. Very disappointed and already telling my boss I won't be in on Monday so I can have my hair professionally corrected.

Comment from - 1/27/2016

We are sorry to hear this and want to assist you! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Give ref # 804898

Hsl0524
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/4/2016

Customer review by ilovecats54

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by ilovecats54
by ilovecats54

I love this shade! I have blonde hair that picks up red/gold tones excessively, but this color along with my red/gold color corrector drops, eliminates this problem so well! I've had compliments on this color because it it a little darker than I was wearing previously, much like my natural color was. I have pale skin and have to be careful of the colors as it can make me look washed out, but this is a wonderful, rich, color. PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE IT! There are many of us who need the ash blonde and every time in the past that I have found anything that works for me it is discontinued (not all L'Oreal). KEEP THIS COLOR!!! Love It!!!!!!!!!

ilovecats54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/4/2016

Customer review by LaLu2MeMe

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by LaLu2MeMe
by LaLu2MeMe

I am a natural strawberry blonde and since grey hairs want to appear more and more as the years go by I am trying hard to keep them covered up. I have used lots of products and have found that with Loreal Superior Preference 9GR it comes closest to my own natural color and covers the grey fantastic! Plus I get lots of compliments from adults and children. They say my hair looks like gold! My hair is going grey and I have some that are very wiry and coarse but after coloring my hair they are soft and manageable. I highly recommend you use this shade if you're a light blonde or strawberry blonde.

LaLu2MeMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/4/2016

Customer review by Mary Poppins

1.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Mary Poppins
by Mary Poppins

Very disappointed. The color was so beautiful at first... But it faded in first week. Dye is still coming out every time I wash my hair. Even while using that special conditioner. Yes I bought shampoo that is for hair coloring! Waste of money. Now I'm trying the garnier fruitis.

Comment from - 1/14/2016

Wow we are really sorry to hear this and want to assist! Please give us a call @ 1.900.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Give ref # 781840 We look forward to hearing from you!

Mary Poppins
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/6/2015

Customer review by vonmac

4.0 stars 12/6/2015 by vonmac
by vonmac

Used this last night on dk blonde hair that was previously highlighted almost 4 mths ago. The color turned a pretty lt honey blonde w/lt strawberry blonde highlights and pale blonde highlights. My hair feels really nice and strong which is always a fear when coloring at home. I'm sick of wasting money on avg. hair at salons ($168) that doesn't last so I've gone back to L'Oreal. I used to use the Excellence but tried this since I was trying a new shade and actually prefer the hair quality this left. My only complaint was I have long thick hair and one bottle was adequate but cld've used another. Next time I will purchase 2 bottles.

vonmac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/28/2014

Customer review by yumsy

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by yumsy
by yumsy

This is for UL51 I am asian with black hair and this worked to dye it a medium/ dark brown. I wouldnt say it looks ashy but it wasn't orangey either. It's more of a warm brown though, I'm sure if I had lighter hair it would have different results since asian black hair has alot of red undertone. Well at first I colored it and it only lifted my roots to the brown and my ends were still dark however I REALIZED that I DYED IT black months ago and it cannot lift permanent dark dye. So I went to sallys to get a color corrector/lifter and color corrected the ends only, my hair came out brown and I colored it with the dye on the ends and it all matches now lol!! So if you have VIRGIN DARK HAIR it WILL WORK but if you have dyed your hair dark and trying to go light you will have to strip it first then dye it or bleach. I love this and will stock up on it!! Thanks loreal don't ever stop making this one!! Please make one that will be super ashy for black color hair!!

yumsy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/14/2015

Customer review by MarinaT

2.0 stars 12/14/2015 by MarinaT
by MarinaT

When you have gray hair, it is essential that the dye doesn't fade from the grays. I am very disappointed with this product because is does fade. Now, if you use at home hair dye just between one visit and another to the salon, it might work.

Comment from - 1/7/2016

Sorry to hear this! Let us help! Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-7PM EST Give ref # 763203

MarinaT
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/12/2013

Customer review by Lynn67

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by Lynn67
by Lynn67

My natural hair is a dirty blond. I had applied Sublime Mousse 7 Dark Blond last year. I was unhappy with the muddiness, so I went to a salon and had it highlighted...stylist botched it...very large chunky highlights about 1 1/2 in from roots!! I then applied SAMY 7 1/2 A to that, thinking it would cover botched highlights it turned my hair very dark with a green tone. I then used Sublime Mousse Med Golden Blonde....it turned the roots bright yellow and the ends dark orange-brown. I then had it toned at a salon in Redken Irish Creme demi. I think it made it more orange, especially in incandescent light. I saw the Paris Couture 8RG, and thought maybe I needed the rose to cancel the ash out and blend the gold, yellow, and now, my natural roots. It came out BEAUTIFUL!!! It is very similar to my natural color of Medium to Dark Neutral Golden Blonde!! It is soft and shiny, and I am back to being my "Sunshiney" self! Thank you, L'Oreal, for making such a great product. Please, never, never discontinue this beautiful shade

Lynn67
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/12/2014

Customer review by Vabluegrass

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by Vabluegrass
by Vabluegrass

I've been coloring my hair for years. I love this product. My natural color is dark brown so I use the 4 Dark Brown to color my hair. I love the color but have figured out over time that I have to leave the color in longer than the recommended time. Since I have a moderate amount of gray hair, the instructions say to leave the product on for 35 minutes. Also, since I am basically just trying to keep the same color over time, I use the instructions for touching up roots, applying color onto new growth at roots only, working from the front to the back of the head. After I've had the product on all of my roots for 35 minutes, I work the color through to ends for an additional 5 minutes. This makes for a total time of 40 minutes with color on my hair which seems excessive but it works perfectly for me. I have wavy hair that is of medium thickness. One of the best things about this product is the conditioner that comes with it. It's da bomb! Also be sure to use a shampoo that is mean't for colored hair, i.e. Sulfate-Free shampoos.

Vabluegrass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/10/2015

Customer review by FMahan

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by FMahan
by FMahan

Preference makes my hair so luminous & shiny. Color lasts up to 8 weeks. Always happy with this product.

FMahan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/7/2015

Customer review by sowen8

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by sowen8
by sowen8

FINALLY! I have tried color after color looking for that "perfect" color. Found it here. My hair is very hard to color and lighten. This did it without making my hair feel fried. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

sowen8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/31/2013

Customer review by 1barbiej

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by 1barbiej
by 1barbiej

I absolutely love this hair color. It was the first time I ever colored my hair. When I was trying to choose a product, a woman in the store suggested I try this one. She uses it and said it was easy. I matched my hair to the color chart, trying to get as close to my color as possible since I mainly wanted to keep my color and cover a small amount of gray. I was nervous the first time but the instructions were very clear and I found a video on YouTube with a woman using the same product and it looked easy enough so I tryed it. I have very long hair and I had plenty to saturate all my hair. It came out exactly like the color I chose! It was pretty easy to do, just messy. The second time I used it, I made sure I covered up well so I didn't get it on my skin. My hair came out so soft and bouncy. It looks better and healthier than it did before. I will definetely use this product again and would highly recommend it, even to first time users like me!

1barbiej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/15/2014

Customer review by BrandyW

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by BrandyW
by BrandyW

I love this shade! I've used it for 5+ years with the exception of the past 2 years, in which I decided I needed a change and went redhead. My natural color is very close to this shade on the box. A dark chocolate brown with a red tint to it in the sunlight. I started going grey in high school so this became my go-to shade. It covers grey wonderfully and without the very noticeable lighter hue on the roots or grey that some at home colors can do. It seems to start out very dark, though. To some, this can be discouraging or alarming. However, it is not a bad darker, it is actually a pretty darker. And you have to take in to account that lighting sometimes doesn't show what others see. And, after a wash or two, it lightens up nicely. I am switching back to this color next week. But I highly recommend it to those with fair skin that went grey sooner than they would have liked and want a pretty chocolate brown shade. I always get tons of compliments on my hair with this shade. Even after I first do it and it seems to be really dark!

BrandyW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/30/2014

Customer review by Caridad

2.0 stars 11/30/2014 by Caridad
by Caridad

The box color seems like a nice natural auburn color. I wanted my hair color to look like the model in the box. I follow the instructions and instead of warm medium auburn color, i get multi- colors of shades of red. My roots have a combination of bright fire red mix with orange. The rest of my hair got combination of bright red and auburn red. I was excited for a nice auburn color, now I do not know what to do. My hair is extremely damage and I'm unable to change the color until my hair gets at least a little better. I am a student and my school only allow "natural" colors, and what i have in my hair is not a "natural" color, I can be expel because of this (I will try to hide my hair as much as possible). I always been loyal to Lo'real but this time they put me down. This hair product is not trust worthy. I bother to rate this box a 2 stars because the color is not so bad after you deeply look at it but is nothing like the box color which was my exception. I have years of experience of hair coloring but this time I am pretty unsatisfied.

Caridad
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/28/2015

Customer review by MarcieCam

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by MarcieCam
by MarcieCam

I am a former hair stylist/color specialist for 15 years! I absolutely love this color line!

MarcieCam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/4/2015

Customer review by MarcelaJarava

2.0 stars 11/4/2015 by MarcelaJarava
by MarcelaJarava

I gave it the 2 stars just because I love the color but I hate the quality of the product. I've gave it 2 opportunities but it failed in both occasions. I followed every step in the guide but the color goes away in every wash (I wash my hair every other day), it has also ruined some of my clothes since it keeps losing color when my hair tips are wet.

MarcelaJarava
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/2/2015

Customer review by SallyMarie

5.0 stars 8/2/2015 by SallyMarie
by SallyMarie

I bought this hair color because I had coupons and found a great deal. I naturally have light brown hair and had dyed it an awful and failed strawberry blonde at the beginning of the summer. Then I went to a salon where she made my hair into highlights of brown and blonde which I hated. So I bought light ash brown in an attempt to get back to normal before school starts again. I was expecting my hair to feel dry after, as it has every time I've dyed it previously. However, my hair felt GREAT after! Soft and shiny and not damaged at all! And it looks great! It looks totally natural and helped to neutralize the terrible warm yellow/orange tones of my previously dyed hair. I'm SO happy with the results. And I love the conditioner that comes with, although the scent is a little strong.

SallyMarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/7/2013

Customer review by MeganS

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by MeganS
by MeganS

I have been using Ash Blonde for several months and get tons of compliments, even from friends who spend tons on their color at salons which I simply don't have time in my schedule for. My hair is normally light to medium brown with a few highlights. I wanted to go lighter and this was a great shade. It kept the dimension of the the highlights I already had but now they compliment the ash blonde color I have, and so I no longer add additional highlights. My hair comes out a bit darker than the box but it's great overall. I use the conditioner for the first couple of weeks, then buy a very moisturizing conditioner for everyday use. Shiny, great color (no brass and no yellow) and very soft. Will keep using it. And now that I have been doing it once every 5 weeks for the past 4 months or so, the color is gradually making its way to the box color more and more, but still has variants in it to look more natural.

MeganS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/18/2013

Customer review by Christie

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Christie
by Christie

I was surprised with how amazingly this shade took to my hair. I used to have dark, permanently colored hair, and have been lightening it at home (just to give a little backstory on my hair). Right before I used Paris Couture Delicate golden blonde, my hair was porous, a little orange in some areas, and a little too ashy on my porous ends. I wanted a shade that would neutralize and balance my color out. I was a little scared that this would take too dark on my bleached-out hair, but that was not the case at all. My hair turned out beautifully! This color is perfectly balanced, with enough warmth yet not too much. "Delicate golden blonde" is the perfect name for this color because it ends up looking just as the name implies- very delicate and pretty. It's so shiny and dimensional that it almost looks like I had highlights and lowlights done on my hair, but the color is also very even. Highly recommended!

Christie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 479 total reviews
1-20 of 479 reviews