Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 264 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

264 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

264 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
181
4 stars
43
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 stars
13
1-20 of 236 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews
Awesome toy for toddlers!
11/24/2012

Customer review by wvmtngal

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by wvmtngal
by wvmtngal

My son (almost 3) recieved this computer as a gift about a year ago. At first he wasn't real into it and then all of a sudden a couple months ago he fell in love with it! He will sit and play with this for at least 30 min. sometimes. Great toy for car trips also. SO many different things in can do. The ONLY drawback is that the display is not backlit. If the lighting in the room is dim it is very hard for him to see the display. This toy was one that really occupied him during a recent power outage (that lasted a week!) and it was very hard for him at times to see the screen. He would have to manuver around quite a bit near a window to be able to see it. Also, this is his 2nd one because the 1st one got water on it and stopped working for about a week. Now only some of the buttons work. So with such an affordable price I was able to go out and get him a new one that works perfect!

wvmtngal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
leapfrog my own leaptop - new version
12/31/2013

Customer review by butterfingers

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by butterfingers
by butterfingers

I just bought this for my 3 year old son for his Christmas gift. I have several leapfrog products and taught this would be a great addition but I was wrong. The number 1 complaint from my son is that it does not have a backlight for the screen, so my son can only use it in bright places but definately not in the car when it's dark out. Another thing that dissapointed me was that I did not know that with the new version you can not connect it to the computer to customize it. I had read that it would even pronounce your kid name and was able to get emails from mom and dad but that is with the old version and not the new version, which to me is just dumb. I mean why would leapfrog update a toy and yet remove those things!!! If i would have known this before I would have gotten the older version and for much cheaper than the new one. But the one flaw that both the new and old version have is that there is no backlight....come on leapfrog....add the backlight and don't "update" toys by removing great features that to me are awesome (hearing your childs name on a toy). I would definately return this product.

butterfingers
south gate, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not happy with the new laptop
1/6/2016

Customer review by louford18

3.0 stars 1/6/2016 by louford18
by louford18

I pay my own laptop for my son and he still use it loves it. so when my twins come up to where they all three was fighting over using the laptop I told myself for Christmas the twins would get my own laptops too. the one my son has is the older one that is white and green. I loved how I could personally it and how he could get messages form myself, husband, etc. when you turn the laptop on it says his name. the new ones you cant do that. I was very upset about that. I was hoping I could personally them. Leap frog no longer make them. am kool with the update and making new ones but why take that away. that is the only thing am upset about the new update. my girls still like them and my son ask why does theirs not have there name or messages form everyone. I hope when leap frog updates this again they go back to that

louford18
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great for kids under 2, as well
9/23/2011

Customer review by Shanton

5.0 stars 9/23/2011 by Shanton
by Shanton

I bought this for my son when he was about 15 months old. We had a 30 minute commute home from daycare after I got out of work, so I wanted to find him something educational that he could play with during the long drive. I knew it was a little old for him, but thought he would enjoy it anyway, even if he was not going to get too much out of it. Unbeknownst to me, he flourished with this LeapTop. He learned his letters, their sounds, and words associated to all of the letters of the alphabet within 6 months. He is still not even 2 years old yet, so I guess we'll start teaching him to read next. :-) He learned these things without us even noticing, for the most part. We really realized how much of an influence it had on him when we began teaching him the letter sounds, since he had learned his alphabet by 18 months. He picked up the letter sounds extremely fast, and then unprompted, began to tell us words that started with these letters. When he started mentioning words that we would never have said to him, such as "Newt", we realized that he had picked these up from the LeapTop. Incredible toy! If I could give it more stars, I would.

Shanton
Boston Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed at removed features
12/23/2014

Customer review by Neil

2.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Neil
by Neil

When I bought this product two years ago for my niece, she loved it. My brother and I connected it to the computer, customized the names and the content of the messages and the songs just for her, it was a neat feature and provided her much entertainment. Flash forward to today, when I've bought the newest model for my own 2 year old son. Advertised with the same customization, but gone was the USB. I was skeptical but optimistic. However, skepticism was confirmed upon unboxing and reading the vague instructions of "boot while pressing P and M and follow onscreen instructions." What this does is allow you to type out your childs name, and nothing more. At no point in time does the toy actually say this name. The only time this name crops up is in the spelling mode, where if you press the first letter the name comes up to finish spelling. Further, the screen has no backlight or contrast control, and is nearly impossible to view in indoor lighting. I am supremely disappointed, and will be returning the product. My trust in Leap Frog to provide a quality product is also severely diminished, and I will not be buying any more of there toys for my child or others.

Neil
Reston, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
My daughter Loves her Leaptop! :)
2/15/2011

Customer review by Kimmie

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by Kimmie
by Kimmie

My daughter recieved this as a birthday gift for her 2nd birthday.I connected it to our computer and downloaded her name and the emails and was able to choose a learning song to add to her play list plus 5 melodies.She helped me pick what she wanted and we can go back to change at anytime..which means once she outgrows it..I can change the name for her younger brother to use! I really like how it shows each letter on the screen,says the letter and the sound..its hard to find something that is simple enough for a toddler to use and to understand without having to sit there and do it for them.She can do this on her own.She loves the animals and the emails and that it says her own name.I think this is a perfect gift for her age!A great educational start! Makes learning fun! we are very happy with this product.

Kimmie
Strongsville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
old version better
6/12/2016

Customer review by mike664

3.0 stars 6/12/2016 by mike664
by mike664

bought this for my daughter and she loved it but a lot of the button stopped working. she really wanted another one so i purchased her a new one. They changed the design, the new version you cannot customize like the old one. You used to be able to write an email from you to your child and it would pronounce your childs name but now it will only spell the name and no more personalized emails. very disappointed in the changes if i would have known i wouldn't have bought again.

mike664
Bensalem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
not the same as before! 2nd review submission
3/24/2015

Customer review by starsky

1.0 stars 3/24/2015 by starsky
by starsky

this is my 2nd review of this product - the first one was never published. we bought 2 of these leap pads for our 2 year olds. I purchased them based on reviews that indicated how fun and interactive this toy was and that you could connect it with your own computer. the online instructions even indicate that this is how the leap pad operates. clearly this is not the case any longer. we have since returned the pads. LEAP FROG should remove the reviews that do not accurately represent the revised and what I consider to be a watered down version of the original leap pad. there is very little a 2 year old can do with this toy. the online instructions that are downloadable should also be updated to the new version. very disappointed.

starsky
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
FANTASTIC, FUN, Educational Device
3/25/2011

Customer review by lovingINmama

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by lovingINmama
by lovingINmama

Please BUY this laptop! I am very fortunate to work in a top childcare center and my son is enrolled in the center as well, but due to our schedule, i bought this laptop to help further his education. I am so impressed with Leapfrogs attention to detail and how they make learning fun! They encourage speech enhancing verbal skills, and children are a sponge at such a young age(birth-5). So to hear the correct pronunciations is very important. I love the email , my son loves this as well, he is overjoyed when he gets a email from a loved one! This is perfect for a child who loves to sing, play, and explore at their finger tips! He also loves this in the car- as a smart alternative to a movie! GREAT BUY! HAPPY MOM!

lovingINmama
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New (2013) model not as good as the old one
12/25/2013

Customer review by BenFitzgerald

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by BenFitzgerald
by BenFitzgerald

We have two of these, one green older model one, and one pink 'new' model one. We did not realise when we bought the new one that the personalisation feature has been very much removed. One the old unit that our son has, we personalised this so that for example when he presses the email button, he sometimes gets an email from mummy or daddy, and you get the biggest cuddle that makes the toy worth every penny. The new one does not have this feature and it is a pity it has been removed. However the toy is still good for leaning the alphabet, and avoiding the keys on daddy's big laptop being ripped off so both still worthwhile.

BenFitzgerald
Lonodn, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could be better
3/8/2014

Customer review by brinamarie

3.0 stars 3/8/2014 by brinamarie
by brinamarie

We received this as a gift. My 2 year old daughter loves that she can pretend she's typing but it doesn't have any options to add things or change things like the ipad one we have. The screen is also very light. Some of the words that it gives as examples for the letters are very unusual. For example it says B is for Bumble Bee. Just Bee or Bug would have been good. D for Dinosaur. I would have thought of Dog. U for Umbrella Bird. Not many people know what an Umbrella Bird is. And X for Ox. Ox does not begin with the letter X. So this is a little disappointing. I was hoping since it was a laptop it would have more options.

brinamarie
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
5/18/2012

Customer review by MommyP

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by MommyP
by MommyP

My daughter received this for her first birthday. At that point I couldn't imagine her using it. Just a few months later I pulled it out for her to play. She fell in love with it as it was "her" computer. She learned her animals and their sounds first. At 20 months now, she knows & says 20 of her letters. The ones she can't say, she can make their sounds ("W" is "Wha" or "G" is "Ga"). She is saying the letters on my computer even as I am typing now. I can write any letter & she knows it! She reads letter on signs everywhere we go. I know this product has jump started us to a road of successful reading and spelling.

MommyP
Bloomington, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
6/9/2011

Customer review by Natacha

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by Natacha
by Natacha

My daughter just turned two and we got this for one of her birthday presents. We thought it would be good for her to have something like a lap top to use when we are on ours. We bought this today and I must say it has been wonderful. She usually gets bored with things after a few minutes but, she literally carried this around with her ALL day long. I just can't wait for her to see it in the morning because I just programed it to say her name and to have emails from Mommy, Daddy, and Nana. This is a great buy. We also have the My Pal Violet and she loves it too, Leap Frog is just brilliant.

Natacha
Ormond Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Difficulty Personalizing
8/14/2011

Customer review by 1momof2

1.0 stars 8/14/2011 by 1momof2
by 1momof2

My son received this toy as a gift for his birthday and we were really excited because it said you could personalize it and the setup was easy. The setup was not easy for our Mac. I had to download the alternate Leapfrog Connect program for it to work. Then when it finally loaded it wouldn't let us personalize the leaptop. Messages kept popping up saying "redirecting..." but it never redirected. After 3 hours working on this problem while the kids were dying to play with it I gave up. They're having fun with it, but it would have been nice to use it as it was advertised.

1momof2
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful for Families That Live Far Away!
3/26/2012

Customer review by MommyTesters

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by MommyTesters
by MommyTesters

This is an excellent little learning computer and it teaches animals, sounds, letters etc. We love the buzzing bee sound the most. My most favorite feature is how you can program in names of family members. I was getting my 2 year old ready for a trip to Australia to visit relatives and programmed it so she had an email from Daddy saying he missed her and mail from my sister (who we were visiting) saying she can't wait to see her. Her mind was blown! This toy kept her very happy and busy in the airport and through long customs lines. Worth every penny.

MommyTesters
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love leapfrog products!
1/16/2012

Customer review by JMB922

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by JMB922
by JMB922

We have been watching the letter factory with our son for over a year and I highly attribute that video and the letter fridge phonics as to how he learned his letters AND the sounds they make. We own MANY products by leapfrog. He received the leaptop as a holiday gift and he immediately loved it! I had to pry it away to program it for him. Very easy to program your child's name and personal emails and music. My husband and I both had iPads, and our son loves to carry around his 'puter just like mom and dad! Great product at a great price!

JMB922
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my daughters christmas gift
12/29/2012

Customer review by KimL

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by KimL
by KimL

My daughter received this as a gift a week ago. She also received another laptop that is a different brand. She would rather play with this one. Granted she is only 1 and I don't think the gifter really paid attention to the age on the box. It will grow with her though and I plan on buying 1 for my neice this spring for her birthday. Best toy she received by far. Have always loved LeapFrog products with all 5 children. Thank you for sticking with great products. I'm a forever customer. Even when the grandkids come years from now.

KimL
Oklahama City,OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Purchase!
7/13/2011

Customer review by kwozniak

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by kwozniak
by kwozniak

My son recieved this LeapTop for Christmas this past year. He is now 2 1/2 years old and still enjoys it. He gets such a riot out of hearing his name in the personalized emails! He loves playing the songs and listening to the alphabet along with all of the other wonderful attributes it has! At this moment, he is sitting next to me reading his emails and listening to songs...it's just a perfect toy and I'm sure he will enjoy it for years to come! I will be sure to purchase one for my second child due in a few months!!

kwozniak
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product; not an educational toy
2/5/2011

Customer review by FatherOfOne

4.0 stars 2/5/2011 by FatherOfOne
by FatherOfOne

This product was a gift to my son for Christmas of 2010. He's 3 and a half years old. He toyed with it for hours on Christmas day plus a few days afterward. I downloaded the Connect software and was able to personalize it with a few songs we know our son likes. (The alphabet song in particular.) But there wasn't enough to do with the toy after he spend a few hours with it. He sometimes turns it on when he's bored, but spends only a few minutes with it. Mostly just pushing the same button quickly to make a sound.

FatherOfOne
Twin Ciites, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not as good as the old version
2/23/2014

Customer review by CherylS

1.0 stars 2/23/2014 by CherylS
by CherylS

This is a big disappointment compared to the old version. I was so excited to buy this for my second child as the old version was the favorite toy in our house for over a year. This version has almost none of the amazing features of the old version. It will spell your child's name, that is it. The old version had a song about your child's name, you could customize emails to be from family members. The old laptop actually taught my son how to spell his name with the cute little song.

CherylS
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews