Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-19 of 19 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good value for the money
10/21/2010

Customer review by Kyleservicetech

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by Kyleservicetech
by Kyleservicetech

I have a large collection of digital multimeters, ranging from several cheap $3.98 meters from Harbor Freight to several $350 Fluke 87 meters. These meters have accumulated over a 40 year span as an electronics service tech. This meter was purchased for show and tell at a club I belong to. I've checked it against my $350 Fluke meters, and it is well within accuracy specifications. I keep it in my tool box for club activities. Is it as good as a Fluke? No it is not. But that Fluke meter sells for 15 times more than the Etek model.

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kyleservicetech
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great buy for a Pro or Beginner.
7/9/2012

Customer review by 4bye41

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by 4bye41
by 4bye41

I had asked a question about this product that didnt get answered. I had that Q answered when I went to Walmart to buy it. Told me on the packaging what I wanted to know. This meter does all I would ever want one to do. It is by far a better one than I was using, even though it did cost twice as much, the old one never was of this caliber. I had used a small pocket size digital for years and got fed up with the battery usage and the fact that its batts were the little wafer type. This 10709 Etech uses the common "Triple A" , easy to get anywhere and it functions very accurately. On the 2 VDC scale I am able to measure Radiator voltage down to the hundredth of a volt. Very useful along with the temperature probe (either in liquid or against a solid object). It does have the audible signal for continuity tests! Forget trying to buy expensive meters just to do the ordinary, or the high tech either, THIS METER will do most of it very well. For just under 20 bucks, I dont think you can beat it!! I have been in the automobile diagnosis business for more than 50 years and I highly recommend purchasing this 10709 Etech meter for your personal needs or for the pro in a shop!

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4bye41
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent entry level meter
5/31/2013

Customer review by Malagent

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Malagent
by Malagent

The first one I purchased had the continuity test tone continuously sounding, even without probes attached. I returned and exchanged it. The replacement meter meets all my exceptions for this price-point, and exceeds many of them. Whilst it's obviously not a high-end or professional meter, it is adequate for the average home owner, electronics hobbyist or auto troubleshooting. As of this writing, the Walmart website incorrectly states "[the multimeter] uses one "AA" battery, which is included." This is incorrect, as the device uses two AAA batteries. Which are included. The probes are of decent quality with ratings printed on them. The caps are not solidly retained, but are a nice included item. Test probes were somewhat difficult to insert but securely attach. Each probe is insert is fully shrouded for safety, eliminating the risk of accidental contact with them if not fully inserted. Safety. The meter seems to be of solid construction. Batteries are easily accessible for replacement with one screw. The screw has a threaded metal insert, which I did not expect for a meter of this price point. As it is likely you will have to replace batteries more than a few times in it's life, this will save some pain. Self tapping screws into plain old plastic are fine for situations in which they are rarely, if ever, removed. However, for a battery compartment, this metal insert is a must! If dropped, the device may suffer from the lack of a distinct protective enclosure or rubberized armor. The outer yellow case does offer some protection, but I would recommend avoiding dropping it, just in case. (like that's going to be possible) Inclusion of the temperature function and probe is nice, whilst not a necessity or something I would commonly use. My initial testing showed it to be reasonably accurate, although somewhat unstable in the reading. Again, a nice feature for this price point, however. The non-contact voltage detection is a good feature and functioned as expected. I would not recommend using this meter in lieu of a dedicated voltage probe for safety. They are cheap enough that you should have one if you plan to do much (or any) work on AC wiring. Better to spend a few dollars than to die saving them. Just my opinion. Another great feature is the large display with backlight. The numbers are clear and distinct and the amber colored backlight is not overbearing, whilst adequately illuminating the display. Onscreen range indicators are small and easy to overlook. As with any manual ranging multimeter, care should always be taken to ensure the proper selection to avoid damage and or injury. The included carry "case" (bag) is adequate, especially for a sub $20 meter. I've surely overlooked several things, but that is my initial impression. I would recommend this meter for the price, features and quality. You really cannot ask for more at $20 or less. Compared to the $3-10 junk meters, this is an exceptional device. Compared to the $400 advanced meters, it is still adequate for general use. It's likely that if you need a $400 meter, you would not be considering this one and already know that.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Malagent
Hutchinson, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
9/4/2012

Customer review by OhioHarleyRider

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by OhioHarleyRider
by OhioHarleyRider

Ok, I know I'm and old cuss who still has to resist the temptation to call gadgets like this a VTVM (for you youngsters, that means Vacuum Tube Volt Meter), but this multimeter has all the functions most will ever use, from home handyman to service tech. An added feature that is pretty useful is the temperature probe, which comes in handy when trying to isolate just which component on a motherboard is overheating and causing your computer to crash. Overall, this thing works well and is worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioHarleyRider
Oregonia, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value
12/9/2012

Customer review by Mulada

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Mulada
by Mulada

This is a good multimeter priced appropriately. I use this for general electronics work and I'm pleased with the accuracy. I doubt that the professionals out there would be satisfied with it, but then it's clearly at a consumer price point. One thing to note - I accidently tested something I shouldn't have and blew the fuse. I was happy to see that the fuse is easily replaceable. On some "value" meters, the fuse is soldered directly to the board. If I had it to do over, I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mulada
Northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for the money
6/7/2013

Customer review by Terrell1

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Terrell1
by Terrell1

For working on my car and other odd jobs around the house, this multimeter is perfect. I've been using an analog multimeter from RadioShack for years, but I needed one which gave me digital readout in tenths and hundredths for my low voltage project, and this Etek 10709 fits perfectly. The very low price makes me wonder how accurate it is, but after testing on various batteries, it seems accurate enough. I've not tried the temperature probe yet. The build feels solid, the case is plastic, so it will probably break if dropped on a hard surface. But at this price, who cares? One thing I did discover is the display (which is easy to read) jumps around a lot unless you have a solid contact with what you're measuring. I found using clips helps it be stable. For all the bells and whistles this has, at this price, it's wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terrell1
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great multimeter
4/25/2014

Customer review by AJLTech

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by AJLTech
by AJLTech

This multimeter is outstanding. It is extremely accurate. If you're on a budget, you cannot go wrong purchasing this. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJLTech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Short Life
12/22/2014

Customer review by LeftyRepairer

1.0 stars 12/22/2014 by LeftyRepairer
by LeftyRepairer

Purchased a year and a half ago for use in repairing a TV. Worked fine then. Been stored since, with batteries removed. Today, I used it to test continuity of a fused circuit. Continuity buzzer started going off as soon as the selector dial was set to the continuity test position. Leads were not connected to anything--a completely open circuit--but buzzer just kept alarming. I unplugged the test leads from the unit and the buzzer continued to alarm. Switched to ohms setting and touched leads together. Numerical readings did not go to zero as they should. Looks like I need to buy a replacement and cast this one into the junk bin. I was impressed with the rugged appearance of this device when I first bought it, but rugged outside does not make up for unreliable internal design/manufacturing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeftyRepairer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Feature rich but lousy leads
2/10/2014

Customer review by mrjovi

2.0 stars 2/10/2014 by mrjovi
by mrjovi

The product is feature rich but one big problem with it is that the test leads don't fit snuggly into the unit and remain loose... How can one make a rekiable measurement with loose connections?!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrjovi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good at first, but now it doesn't work at all.
12/29/2014

Customer review by SADaboutThat

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by SADaboutThat
by SADaboutThat

At first I thought this was really great. I bought this for my dad, and it seemed to work great and do everything he needed and more. But then after a few months, and I know that he did not use it very many times - just to test batteries a few times, it doesn't work at all any more. I have tested the batteries and the leads and they are fine, so it must be some internal flaw in it. Not sure if I can take it back now since I no longer have the receipt. I have had it for only 6 months. Certainly not a good deal!! Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SADaboutThat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great digital multimeter for the price
1/17/2013

Customer review by Cibernetic

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Cibernetic
by Cibernetic

Usually I have several multimeter, I like this because it has too many options added, for example, it includes the temperature measurement, indication of voltage without cables, etc. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cibernetic
Homestead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product
1/31/2013

Customer review by dvrwallyguy

4.0 stars 1/31/2013 by dvrwallyguy
by dvrwallyguy

Has alot of features and is easy to use. I would recommend this product based on features and price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dvrwallyguy
Englewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
continuity buzzer wont go off.
1/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 1/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this meter home and put the batteries in, tested a few batteries voltages and did continuity test and it worked fine. Within 20 minutes the continuity buzzer would not go off when switched to continuity tester. Going to return this meter for a new one and see if the problem is solved. Good value for all the functions it has.... only if it works tho.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
I liked It
1/8/2013

Customer review by Snatrone

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Snatrone
by Snatrone

I really can't give an honest review of this item because i gave it to someone for a gift. But I can tell you that I wouldn't have minded owning it myself. I almost wanted to buy them something else. From what I saw off it, it seemed pretty well made. And it had a real nice range for measuring ohm. It even had a flashlight built into the end of it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snatrone
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap and multifunctional
5/9/2014

Customer review by CarbondaleHarryPotterFan

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by CarbondaleHarryPotterFan
by CarbondaleHarryPotterFan

It exceeds my expectation! Wonderful product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarbondaleHarryPotterFan
Carbondale, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by Julian88999

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Julian88999
by Julian88999

Amazing functionality per price. Temperature sensor comes as a separate cord that you plug in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julian88999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
low cost, feature-rich
4/13/2015

Customer review by 2004done

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by 2004done
by 2004done

It has a Hold Display button, audible Continuity, and a Lighted Display (10 or 15 second auto-off). If it timed out instead of an 'off' rotary switch setting, I'd be pig-in-stuff happy. Nothing to complain about, works every time, does everything I need (no longer need my calibrated Fluke ). I lost the fuse a year ago on a trip, and gum wrapper tin-foiled a new one. Still works, and sack fits in glove compartment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2004done
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
11/21/2013

Customer review by bconover4

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by bconover4
by bconover4

does just what I was lookinhg for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bconover4
Ffanklin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the Bucks
8/19/2013

Customer review by 54highlander

4.0 stars 8/19/2013 by 54highlander
by 54highlander

Haven't used it much, but I do love the no touch volt meter. Over the years I have paid more for less.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
54highlander
Winnipeg MB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.